218945 User submitted reviews online!!
Searsport Shores Oceanfront Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (207) 548-6059
CGID1314

Searsport Shores Oceanfront Campground

Camp Information
Sites
110
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$80



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   6   9   10   9   10   10   10   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$80
Oceanfront camping was amazing. Site 3, our site was the best available. No one to our one side an we were able to leave blinds open all the time due to our elevation. The shade and ocean views were perfect. Beach is rocky and water a little chilly for our Southern tastes. Kids had a blast searching for shells while we sat in our beachchairs with our toes in the stones. Only desire was a pool. Bring your largest pot for lobster boils. Lots of local seafood close to camp. Ice was 3 dollars for a small bag, my only complaint. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$49
We had one of the 30 amp electric with water sites for our price. All the sites are in wooded areas and are either grass or gravel with dirt. We could not get any TV reception at all. We did not find a lot of close-by area activities. This is a campground, not an RV park. The campground did offer waterfront Searsport Harbor on the Penobscot River access, not ocean access. When tide is out, the beach is very rocky. We did not see any tidal pools as advertised. The roads are gravel & could use grading. Restrooms & laundry area were very clean. There was a resident wood artist, but we did not take advantage of visiting with him. We thought the rate was a tad high for this campground. The campground was OK for overnight, but we would try another if in the area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$55
Nice woodsy park. Fairly quiet. Most sites are back-in with a little gravel and a lot of grass. Park is on the waterfront, so you can take nice walks on the rocky beach. Roads are all dirt/gravel. No sewer at any of the sites but there is a sewage dump as you exit the park. No cable TV at any of the sites and we weren't able to pick up even one station with the digital TV antenna. Store is pretty well equipped for RV supplies. Nice laundromat on site. Staff is pleasant and helpful. They have several "classifications" of sites. We were far up inside the park for $55 per night. Waterfront sites were $84/night. Overall nice park, but far too expensive for what it is. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$55
This is an excellent location when seeking a place to relax and kick back. Searsport is a quiet town, well within reach of Bangor (if you need something from a big box store or miss the crowds). Location is excellent, right on the bay. Park has a great feel to it, owners and workers are very friendly. Free pump out service since there is no sewer at each site. Access to the waterfront is very easy. Traveling with a dog seems to be a requirement here, everyone around us had their dog with them too. Dog Park is very useful if you have an energetic dog who needs to run around off leash, like ours does, to burn some energy. A bit pricey, but you can see why considering the location and amenities. My only knock would be the proximity to your neighbors. You care pretty packed in, some spots right along the waterfront barely have room to park your tow vehicle (you are assigned a place to park nearby) and some of the trees are in bad spots that hinder pulling into spots with larger RVs without some effort. Staff is very helpful, guides you into your spot. We would stay here again, but we want site #3 next time! (room for a large fifth wheel and its tow vehicle right at the waterfront) We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$47
This is one of the most family friendly campgrounds in Maine. They have a gorgeous piece of oceanfront land and they have created great access to the rocky beach. They have an artist's studio surrounded by gardens where they have programs for kids every day for July and August. Just an all around great campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$71
This is a very beautiful campground right on the ocean. We stayed at site #7 and were amazed by the view! There are very pleasant owners who make your stay a nice one. There is a nice playground for the kids. The staff organized a scavenger hunt. There are canoe rentals. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$58
This was the best campground I have yet to stay at. The owners were so friendly and accommodating. It was obvious they take a great deal of pride in their facility, which is well maintained and kept. The lobster bakes on the beach were quite an experience and was so tasty. While some may feel this campground is pricy, you definitely get what you pay for. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$58
After a very bad experience at the campground next to this one, we were thrilled to stay here! The owners and staff are wonderful and friendly and did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. This is one of the best campgrounds we have ever stayed in with plenty to do for all ages, such as dances, sports, wonderful lobster bakes, kayaking, and a wonderful dog park for our dog. They are very dog friendly and family oriented. The sites in the back are large with a mix of sun and shade. The air smelled like pine trees and salt water. The ocean sites had a wonderful view. We will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$68
This is a very friendly and clean family campground. The staff goes above and beyond . The lobster bakes on the beach every Saturday night are by far the best in the state of Maine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
We were very disappointed with this campground. It does advertise itself as being family and kid friendly. The children are welcome, there's just not a lot for them to do. My son renamed it Camp No Kids. The "store" does not offer necessities - only items that you don't want - candy and souvenirs. The owners were friendly. We watched one seasonal person with 3 dogs walk around and allow his pets to do their duty wherever they wanted including available sites. The waterfront sites are not reachable by car, therefore you need to carry all camping equipment in from a distance. It was not the worst we've seen, but we will not return. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$48
Searsport had received a good review in a magazine and looking at the website we thought this would be a great place for kids! What a joke! We had just returned from Danforth Bay in New Hampshire that had loads of activities for the kids, was neat and tidy and the people were friendly! Then we arrived at Searsport. It bills itself as a family campground on the ocean. First of all, don't expect a sandy beach it is very rocky. The kids had fun looking for crabs, but it isn't a good place to swim. In terms of "activities" for the kids - they had a "walk" to the state park one day - no one else showed up so we went as a family - that was okay - that was the activity for the day! The next night the one activity for the day was a fairy/documentary sort of movie. Not very exciting for two boys. We had booked for 5 nights and realized that this campground is more of a stopover point or a place for two nights. We asked to get our money back and leave a couple days early. That was not permitted as they are running a "business". There is a lot this business could do to improve. The sites are $48, 58 or 68 dollars depending on the "ocean view" - they are charging resort prices for absolutely no amenities. I know they are promoting "family" camping, and while I don't expect my boys to be too highly stimulated, if they are charging that price, they should be offering something for it. The lawns aren't cut, the sights are small, potholes. They don't give you any information for families to do in the area, not many kids at all there, not a lot around, no pool, etc. It is just very hokey. On a rainy night, they started kicking everyone out of the garage/rec hall at 9:00- it would have been good customer service for the many tenters there to offer a dry area during the downpour. If you do go - don't book - just go - they had at least 50 empty sites on a Saturday night in mid-July and the rest of the week, many, many sites. Don't make the mistake we did and book for a block - believe me, if you want to stay there will be a site available! We left a day early and lost our money, but the boys were much happier at Lake Pemaquid down the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$50
We camped here for 3 nights. We really enjoyed our stay. The owners were very nice and helpful. The kids enjoyed the playground. Our site was on the water. Campground is clean and spacious. WI-FI worked great. Roads are gravel and dirt. Campground has a hiking trial. We saw a moose near the State Park as we walked down the beach which was the highlight of our trip. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2008
$60
Watch Out! We paid a $200 deposit for a planned 4 day stay. The owner stated that I had to commit to a 7 day stay. Because we were driving from FL to Maine, I said OK. When we got to the park, it was not as promised: un-kept and seedy. We decided not to stay and went down the street to the other park. I told the owner that I was going to forfeit my deposit. She said no. She was going to charge my card for the full 7 days for a total of $495.00 plus. We were in a 45' big rig. Since being in the area, have heard nothing but bad things about the park. Would rate the place a negative 1 if available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$50
Fun, well run campground. Site sizes vary so make sure you call and tell the owners what you are looking for. This place has sites to accommodate any type of camper. We found it to be clean, quiet, and well maintained. The beach is very rocky, yet it is great fun to walk around as the tide recedes to look for wildlife. Well stocked store, and the owners were very helpful whenever we had an inquiry. If you are considering, I would highly recommend. You won't be disappointed. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2008
$50
My wife and I wanted a tenting spot on the ocean; meaning on the ocean, on a beach, like you crawl out of bed, and you see the surf. I looked at the pictures on their web site, and asked them to verify for me that the Gold or whatever lot was indeed "on the water", on a beach, and I was assured it was by the fellow in the office. Well, the actual site was approx 25 or 30' from the rocky shoreline, behind a stand of trees, on an elevated piece of land. No view, no beach, no privacy. We arrived with our THREE kids after driving a ways, and needless to say we were not happy campers. Oh, AND there was a wedding gearing up, which blocked access to the only beach on site totally messing up a Saturday's beach time. No warning, no mention of it. I approached the owner, and was told flatly that too bad; it's as described...no faulty advertising, or misleading pictures. I can't recall exactly, but we MAY have gotten a refund at some point. It was not a good first time camping experience on coastal Maine.. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$40
We absolutely loved this campground! If you want to be at a clean, well run campground, with spectacular views of the ocean, this is the one you need to visit. The road into the campground is level, the sites are clean and the bath facilities were recently redone. They have a wonderful play area for children as well as kayak rentals. One of the co-owners has to be the friendliest and most helpful camp owner we have had the good fortune to meet when on the road. One of the mornings we had some rain so our bike trip was delayed. She gave us fabulous recommendations for a museum, lunch and coffee house as well as restaurant choices that we would never have found on our own. We pull our car on an 18' trailer and we had a great spot to unhook and store the trailer while staying here. This is a campground where you can see that the owners care about their place and work very hard to make it a wonderful location for their customers. We will certainly be back on our next trip to Maine! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$36
This campground is well-kept. The owners are friendly. The oceanfront sites are great. There are wooded sites at a lower price. A beautiful coastal community nearby and lots to do. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$38
A beautiful campground situated on the bay, wonderful views of the ocean. Easy to get to and the sites were wide and level. Strong water and electric supply, only no sewer available. The owners and staff were very helpful with directions and with things to see and do in the local area. Good shopping nearby and antique stores in abundance. Staff cleaned the grounds every day. Some lawn mowing and minor maintenance was needed on some sites. One of Maines best campgrounds, very conveniently located. Kayak rentals a little steep, a nice picnic area with pavilion is on their own beach area, which is abundant with ocean wildlife and sea creatures. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$26
After searching for a campground on the water, on the coast of Maine, found "Searsport Shores Camping Resort." Their website is both user friendly and well organized. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The facilties are well maintained and always clean. The varieties of campsites, RV's, tents, or the rental cabin and the newly added park model trailer allows even the non camper the ability to camp and take in the beauty of the region. The campground has activites for all ages, from jungle gym to swings, to a sandbox and basketball court and arcade games. All which keep children playing for hours. You can also relax in their lawn furniture on the beach and take in the beauty anytine of day or night. Indoors they have billard board table, ping pong table even a book and movie library. They even have a sitting room with a "homey" feeling a fireplace with comfortable furniture where you can read or talk to new and old friends. The organized Lobster Bakes are scrumptious. The bonfires on the beach at night with toasted marshmallows and "smores" are truly alot of fun. They also have ice cream smorgasboard, arts and crafts,entertainment, even campers stepping up their talents. On the 4th of July several neighboring towns set off their fireworks displays, all visible from the beach and the reflection off the water is truly beautiful. The campground store is well stocked with snacks, camping accessories and souveniers. They also have fresh doughnuts and fresh brewed coffee either for a quick breakfast on the way out to the sights and attractions or even to sit back and relax at the campground. One thing is for sure, there is always a smiling face behind the counter. The surrounding area besides it's scenic views, are rich in shops, where you could find something unique. The museums and the restaurants have offerings for everyones taste. Start off a day with fresh brewed coffee, a daily newspaper, camera and binoculars. You can watch the sunrise come up with a untouched mirrored water, a family of ducks swim by, a otter poke its head from fishing. What a beautiful way to start a day. At the end of the day, as the sun goes down, the smell of campfires, the laughter around the campfires, as adults and children alike sit and tell jokes and stories. With the waves crashing the shore, it is never a problem to fall asleep. What a way to end a day. In this hectic paced world, we all need a place to relax and get away. I've found no better place then "Searsport Shores Camping Resort". Told everyone we know and will have some joining us on our next visit. Have yet to see all there is to see in the Searsport area and looking forward to our next trip. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$38
I have camped at Searsport shores off and on for the last four years and plan on going back this season. I found the owners to be very friendly and the campground to be very neat and clean. Most of the campers who camp there are very friendly. The campground tends to cater to families although they do not overwelm you with planed activities because the feel that the families need time together. On the fourth of July they have a float that is decorated by the kids in the campground, then the kids get into costumes, provided by the campground and ride the float in the Searsport parade. This is just one of many planned activities the have throughout the season. there are ice cream socials with all you can eat sundays,scavenger hunts on the beach with prizes for the kids,night time candy hunts with flashlights, concerts, arts and crafts. In one of the above mentioned reviews, it was mentioned that there were some migrant workers there while that person was there and they did not feel safe. One of those migrants was a concert pianist who gave a concert at the campground this past summer. I only hope to return next summer so this gentleman can play again. They were very well behaved and polite, more so than some of the campers I have delt with in my travels.I have been camping since 1979 and put Searsport Shores at the top of my list of favorite places. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$40
We stayed in this park and had a wonderful time! The owners were more than accommodating and we asked for alot! Our children were homesick for their dogs and the owners were kind enough to share the Newfoundland that someone wrote such horrible things about. This dog was fabulous. We shared much of our time with him over the course of our two week stay (we extended 3 times) and had the opportunity to observe him around countless children, many dogs (including an aggressive german shepard) and never saw anything but the most gentle of giants. The campgrounds were impeccably maintained and the showers sparkled. The activities were creative and educational. Who needs a sandy beach when there are miles of tide pools to explore and a knowledgable staff to answer all of our questions? We've already booked for 2003 and have encouraged all of our friends. Who ever wrote the bad review was just having an off week. The campers we talked with had nothing but great things to say about this park: definitely a 10! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2002
$45
This park charges for a rocky beach and smoking fires from a lot of tenters. Not really for RVers with big rigs unless you don't mind cleaning the sap from all the pine trees and the ones that are there have been there for ever with all the junk around them. The owners will tell you anything to get you there. They told me it was handicapped accessable...NOT. They told one man "if you are going to stay one nite I just assumed you didn't stay at all". Then there was a women there who had an encounter with the owners dog who was walked by a young boy who let go of the dogs leash and then the huge newfoundlander dog attacked her two dogs. Imagine this was you with your child or your grandmother!! They didn't even go and ask how the woman was doing, how her dogs were and if her camera was really broken the next day or the remaining days she stayed. She had to leave early because she was so distressed by the whole experience. One of the owners parents grabbed her upper arm and even left a bruise. I can't believe this place and want to tell you STAY AWAY they are very rude and you can tell that they have no concern for the RVer just for the $$ and will tell you what you want to hear. They go the Big E in Massachusetts and told me they had cable, sewer, etc. So if you go there you go at your own risk because after all the things I saw go on there for the week that I stayed I can honestly say that they certainly do not have your best interest in mind or safety. They even charge you for emptying your tank an extra time an additional $10. This place is a dirt road to a rocky beach and a total rip-off! There are a lot of RV parks for the RVers all around the area so please stay out of harms way and go elsewhere and if you do go there don't say I didn't warn you...HAPPY TRAILS :) and BE SAFE! We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2002
$40
When we stayed they had 50+ migrant men workers staying there. We did not feel safe letting our girls go to the playground alone. They don't monitor their sites to see how people are setting up camp. The second day a rv pulled in facing us so close we could have shared their awning. We did have fun checking the rat trap along the fence each morning. That was not a joke either. They did provide a lot of activities, but they could have spent a little more time monitoring the CG. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$36
Park has many features to lure the family or the couple with no kids. They have planed activities. I especially like the clambake on the beach on saturday nights. there are also planed activities for the kids.The owners are exceptionally friendly. Pets are weclome as long as they are kept under control. The thing I noticed most is that even with the kids in the park, it is quiet. I thoroughly enjoyed the times I have been there with my wife. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com