206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Narrows Too Camping Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 59 user reviews. Phone: (207) 667-4300
CGID1319

Narrows Too Camping Resort

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$60



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   7   8   5   8   7   8   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$60
We had a water front site that had fantastic views of Bar Harbor Island. The site are very narrow and meant to be back-in, we drove straight in and put hook-ups under the coach. Because the sites are so narrow it was no problem. The roads are dirt and gravel so very dusty. Not sure if we would stay here again if we could not get water front. Enjoyed our time in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
We originally made reservations for an oceanfront site, but the one available was a tight fit for our RV so we opted for one of the Select pull thrus. Rate reflects that site classification. This is in our opinion, truly the only big rig park in the area that has full amenities and is on the Island Explorer route. Both the back in sites down towards the water and even the Select Pull Thrus had a view of the water when you were outside. Site and park was beautifully maintained. The laundry facilities, bathroom and shower rooms were excellent. Check in procedure was well organized with a nice office and camp store. Personnel were helpful and professional. The seasonal sites are away from the transient sites and are neatly maintained as well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
Rate is with Ready Camp Go. Very nice spot with clean pool, level sites, close to water, and close to shops / national park. One drawback is the proximity to the airport - luckily there are not too many flights. Overall though worth the money. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Staff was exceptional, campground was clean, sites were level, and power was even. Would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$41
I don't think we would stay here again. This park lost points as follows: Minus 2 points for Tengo internet, that was horrible, and we had to pay extra for it, Minus 1 point for extreme dust, Minus 1 point for noise (the camp ground is at the end of the runway for the Bar Harbor airport) and Minus 1 point for lack of enforcement of rules. We have encountered a number of dogs off lead and people race through here like they are on fire (including the employees and work campers), which is horribly unsafe and creates clouds of horrible dust. We drove through many other RV parks here that we would stay at before ever returning here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$48
Location good, sites level, water pressure 60+, electric good all week until today with only 104 and 113 on the two lines. One A/C can run. Most difficult is the dust. No one adheres to the 5 mpg and there is NO effort to minimize the dust created through an oil base or periodic water. Would still return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$66
It's clean, almost spartan, this Corporate entity. Highly impersonal, it lacks identity. A heated pool, and cable, some trees but very few. Over a "hundred" bucks for what they claim is "Ocean View". Overall for what you get, it all seems overpriced. Even with a discount, I paid $66.00 a night. I've looked about and realize, no reason to return, a score of "7" out of 10, is what the "Narrows Too", has earned. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$91
This campground is 1 mile before crossing over the bridge to Mount Desert Island, home to Bar Harbor and Acadia NP. But still under 10 miles to Bar Harbor, and 6 miles to Acadia NP. The upside is this is the only campground where you can get an oceanfront site with 50 amp, sewer and cable. You can get Wi-Fi at their hot spot free, or $$ on site, $5.95 per day or $16.95 per week. Pretty basic campground with level gravel sites. Premium oceanfront sites in season are $104 per night +++ resort fees and taxes take it to $120. You could probably get a hotel for the same price!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$17
PA rate. Excellent CG in a fantastic location on the Mount Desert Narrows, great views. There are sites on the bluff above the water, but none have direct access to the water. There is a trail which serves the CG but the beach is rocky and slimey, difficult walking. The CG sites are in great condition, 619 and neighbor sites are extra wide, gravel and very nearly level. Utilities are good and cable TV brings lots of channels. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Lobster Pound at every turn and great. Acadia National Park is close and lots to see and do. The CG entrance is a little difficult because contractor is widening and paving the highway and the CG intersection is not well marked. There will be a traffic signal there when the project is finished. Past the airport just watch for the CG sign on the left. This is a pleasant CG inspite of the light aircraft in & out of the airport, almost next door. NP tour bus begins running later this month and stops in the CG. We will return when in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$34
This was a PA rate for a beautiful, large site down by water. Our site was not "on the water" but we had a direct view of the harbor. Site was level, hook ups were great, and cable TV was good. Help in the office was friendly and helpful with any questions we asked. There is a pool but it wasn't open for the season yet. Laundry room was available, however, we didn't use it. Grounds were kept neat and clean. Lobster restaurant across the street (Gateway Lunts Lobster Pound) was reasonable and incredibly good. We would definitely come back if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
Have stayed here several times. Great for easy access to Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor without being stuck on Mt Desert Island in heavy traffic. Nice big sites with a water view, easy in and easy out for our BIG RIG. Best feature: the staff here are VERY accommodating and helpful. Will definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$44
The location is convenient to Acadia and Bar Harbor. Don't come in after dark. There are no lights on to the sign and you'll drive right by the park. If you have to look for a sign, look for the Open Hearth sign on the opposite side of the road. This is next door to the Hancock County - Bar Harbor Airport with business jets departing about once an hour during the day time. Gravel roads and sites are in this park. We put our 36' motor home with a toad in a level, pull through gravel pad that had 50 amps available. Water pressure was 40 PSI and our SurgeGuard had no faults indicated. The sewer caps are not threaded. Most sites are not tree covered. The WiFi is supplied by TengoInternet for $5.95 a day or $16.95 a week. There is great Cable TV. There is no trash pick up. Verizon cellular is 4 out of 5 bars. Out of 200 sites, only 19 are "on the water." We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$51
We customarily stay at Bar Harbor campground but this year they were packed, nothing reasonable available for our 38' motor home, so we made a change and are glad we did. We have been at Narrows Too nearly two weeks thus far. Our rate of $51 is based on a weekly rate of $360 for a medium-priced site -- reasonable for area, our site not on the water but with a partial water view. Add a $3/day resort fee plus taxes. Attractive, wide open park, great for big rigs. Mostly open sites but a few shaded available. Some cabins and trailer homes for rent too. For a really big rig towing a car/motorcycle trailer, you can be accommodated here. Our site is nearly level and adjacent to a large grassy area, convenient for our two small dogs! Have enjoyed meeting friendly people, staff very helpful and pleasant. Not crowded. Clean, well equipped laundry room -- a bit pricey at $2.50/wash and $2.00/dry, but plenty of machines. Nice heated pool with plenty of lounge chairs. Very close to local lobster pounds, located just outside the causeway to MDI. About a 15 minute drive to downtown Bar Harbor and close to Ellsworth with good grocery stores and a Walmart super center. We like it here and plan to return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$52
Very nice, well maintained campground, convenient to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Easy access for our 39' fifth wheel. Lots of grass and green space, but a bit pricey. Ours was one of their cheaper sites, nearer the road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$48
Rate includes a $3/day “resort fee” but I don't know what that covered since this is definitely not a resort. Unless you get an oceanfront spot, save your money and get the cheapest available. The rest of the spots are all about the same, mostly level, gravel with grass between, no water views. The place is full of big rigs as very few trees and wider roads make it easy. Clean restrooms but some showers had mold. Steady electric and good water pressure, friendly office personnel. Nothing here for children except a pool. Only one activity held during the entire week. WiFi is Tengonet, costs $$$, very slow and keeps disconnecting. Cable TV good with about 50 stations. Small, tiny ocean access area is rocky and no swimming (water is way too cold). There is an airport next door. If you’re around during the day you will see and hear many small planes and private jets taking off and landing (the noise stops at night). I can understand why people want to camp on Mt Desert Island as it takes a while to drive into Bar Harbor. Free LLBean shuttle bus stops here but with all the stops it makes you need to allow an hour to get into Bar Harbor. Acadia NP is beautiful with lots of hiking and biking trails and on a clear day the view from Cadillac Mountain gorgeous. Take the free shuttles or go early as parking lots fill up quickly. Those with children should ask about the Junior Ranger Program. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$52
This park is not really a "resort," in that there is not much landscaping and few trees, except down by the water. This allows for good satellite TV reception, but the park does look barren. Staff was friendly and helpful. We rented a kayak. They have a few onsite: and we really enjoyed exploring the "narrows." The location is good, close to attractions. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$60
Very clean. Easy to navigate big rigs. Wide sites that should be more level. No Cable! Satellite works great due to no trees. Wi-Fi is sub contracted for a fee which is misleading. Nice laundry facilities. Too far from Bar Harbor to charge what they do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$92
The rate includes extra person and tax. We opted for a "best ocean view" site and it was worth the extra price! I think that otherwise this park would just be average to ordinary. But the view sites were great: hedges on both sides and the windshield looking at the bay. No problem connecting heading in if you have sewer extensions. WiFi was fee based but we got AT&T OK so used that for Internet. They do have a free hot spot that we used once, but it was quite far from most sites. Toilets also were few and far between. One cool thing about this park is you can go to one of the nearby lobster pounds and get fresh and cooked seafood to bring back to the RV! There is also a free shuttle to the National Park but we didn't use it. Cable TV is provided with good quality. Overall a nice but pricey park. We will return next time in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$22
This is a large, wonderful RV park. There are a variety of different types of sites available and they are level and roomy. We were there very early in the season and the price reflects our Passport America rate. Our original plan to stay four days turned into almost a month. It is a great location for visiting Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor since both are just minutes away. The members of the staff were all very friendly and willing to help in any way they could. The laundry room is clean and is the best that we have used in our travels. The restrooms and showers were also clean and well-maintained. This is a great location and we would definitely return when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$22
Price reflects Passport America for a pull-through site. Large, spacious RV park. We were here "early" in the season so lots of spaces open. One area was full and we understand seasonal RVers are the reason. Prices run from reasonable to outrageous - "private waterfront" sites for $100 when Joe Blow can park near the road for $35. Views of Cadillac Mountain in Acadia National Park are to die for though. Lots of foggy days so you had to catch glimpses when you could. Area has lots to do, but campground does not. Heated swimming pool was it. Bathhouses and laundry are very clean. Free Wi-Fi is available at laundry building or you can pay for service through Tengo Internet at your own site. Staff and campers all seemed happy and we saw many folks going around greeting each other. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$59
This is a wonderful RV Park. I almost downgraded it to an 8 or a 9 because the beautiful sites on the water are all set up for trailers and not motor homes. This means that when a MH pulls in to the best sites to have a view the connections are on the wrong side. Disappointment for us. Bummer that the designers didn't have the planning to cater to all RVers and put posts on each side. That having been said, everything about this place is first class. Dave, one of the bosses, was totally in charge, the maintenance folks were ever present in fact all employees were so very pleasant and helpful, the power was consistent, water pressure was perfect and the views from the ocean sites were to die for. So, forget about the 8 or 9 rating for one little design flaw. This place is among the finest RV parks in all of America (and we have RV'd in 33 states.) Can't wait to return since our 5 nights weren't enough. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$42
What a great place, ocean views even without the close up $$ ocean sites. Level and large sites. Quiet park, Easy access to Bar Harbor and Arcadia will come again. Was a bit expensive, but worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
We had checked this place out a couple of years ago when we were in their sister campground. Our site is level, satellite friendly, and wide enough for awnings. We have no problem with the traffic from the highway, as it goes away in the late evenings, but there are some who would find it offensive. If we are back in this area, we would stay for an extended period of time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$64
We moved here from another Bar Harbor site because we wanted cable TV, and sewer which weren't available there. There were only a few waterfront sites, but we got one. It was clean, level and everyone was very friendly. The laundry was extremely clean but pricey at $2.50 per load and $2.00 per dryer load. The showers and toilets were also extremely clean. We didn't use the pool, but it looked nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
Due to the fact that we're hitting some of these parks at the end of their season, the staff seem tired and ready to close (not very helpful) and in this park two of the three restrooms and showers were closed for the winter and that is very inconvenient for campers who have paid for these services. We camped here with a READY CAMP GO card which brought our rate down to half of what the going rate is. A little pricey for "off season". A beautiful place to visit, however, so we would definitely come back and camp here. Wi-Fi and cable were excellent, even during a major wind and rain storm. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2010
$45
Our site was very level. There is nothing special about this park. There are other campgrounds that are closer to Bar Harbor. We were assigned a site that was right next to other trailers while empty areas were available. I will not return to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$56
Nice clean park with large level sites. I thought they were a little to pricey. Wife complained about the cost of doing laundry. We stayed here for three nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$56
Nice park, but expensive if you have a water front site. The other sites offer very little. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
This was a great park. Very Clean and well maintained. The Staff was extremely helpful and very friendly. The sites were from pull through (in the open) to back in's with some shade. Quiet, mostly adults where there when we stayed. Lots of motorhomes and 5th wheels. Just across the bridge from Mt. Desert, Acadia Nation park and Bar Harbor. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2010
$65
I would give this a 10 if the roads were paved. Our site was all rock and narrow, but we did have a view of the harbor. 50 amp fluctuated up and down, even when the park wasn't full. Over priced for what you actually got. We we also parked next to a small ravine, and it often smelled of sewer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
We absolutely love this campground. The area is awesome with so much to see and do. People at the resort are very friendly. Yes, the bay has high tide and very low tide. But to wake up in the morning and smell that salt water is heaven to us. The winds kick up in the afternoons and you have to be careful with your awnings but other than that, we really enjoy it. Heated pool is really nice too. Spent the whole month of Aug. there and the only complaint was that the time went by too fast. We could have used an exercise room for all the lobster dinners but no complaints there either. The walks were nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
Rate reflects monthly rate. We really liked this park. Great location, friendly staff, any type of site you would like. However, daily rates are steep, particularly waterfront. The connections on the waterfront sites are placed for backing in a 5th Wheel. In a motorhome you either run everything underneath, or back in, losing the view you are paying for. The speed limit is ignored, resulting in lots of dust if it hasn't rained. We were here five weeks and they never mowed our site. I know they were concerned about rocks hitting our coach, but ignoring the site is not the answer. Verizon coverage (phone and broadband) was very poor. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$58
We stayed here for a week in a back in site with a little shade. It was average size gravel with a little grass. It was nice not having anyone on either side of us. However, our neighbor 2 sites over had a very smoky fire every night forcing us to close the windows. I could not justify the high price for a small premium site with a water view ($100 + fees and taxes). For 7 nights, we still paid $58 per night (only 2 people) after including resort fee and taxes. This is still too much for an average site. Every morning around 7-9 AM and evening around 4-8 PM, the airport noise is very loud. The noise comes from small aircraft circling the area before landing and after taking off. There are some large aircraft, but the smaller ones make noise for a longer time. Next time we are in the area, we will look for a more reasonably priced RV park away from the airport. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$60
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this park. The location is convenient to Acadia and Bar Harbor as it only takes 10 minutes to get everywhere. We had a back-in site with an ocean view. The sites in that area are short and it can be tight getting in or out when full. The ocean-front sights are very close together and sometimes front doors will be facing each other when motorhomes "nose in" among trailers. The views are very nice in the water front area, however, they are at a premium price for small sites. The interior back-in sites are really large and the pull-throughs are very long and can accommodate larger rigs. The facilities are nice and satellite is no problem with the exception of a small, forested area. Cable is provided. The staff is friendly and helpful with a smile. We would recommend this park and would stay here again but would probably ask for an interior site as they are much bigger. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$99
I paid dearly for oceanfront lot ($100) with FHU but the campground was not what I call resort caliber. The grounds were not spectacular but rather un-mowed, dusty dirt roads, and many empty campsites. Maybe they are too proud with their prices. In any event the campgrounds offer all that was advertised but was far from being a resort is my opinion. Many seasonal campers from seasonal workers in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$85
Very quiet campground gear towards older families and motorhomes "Big rigs" just traveling or staying a few days. No playground for kids and only a few activities like ice cream social if are on site 309 or 310, Please note it is a companion site. The motorhome pulls in for great views and a the other camper backs in. Site shares a fire pit. I asked for a fire pit because we did not know the family coming in. I would suggest this site for people traveling together and they should inform you about this site. They told me it was a site that was in the "best view" with trees site. Was very awkward and no privacy between us and other site. Major bummer! They gave us the choice to move or free wood and Wi-Fi! WOW! But the view made up for it. Good luck to others. Request to stay in site 311, 312, or 313. Very private and secluded for the price you pay! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$49
Beautiful well kept campground on the ocean. I camped here the week of the 4 of July. Sites were large and clean. I really like this campground except for one thing. They close the pool at 4 pm. This is high season for Maine, and they close there pool at 4 pm. That is the only thing that I have to complain about. Who closes their pool in the summer at a resort at 4 pm even if it is he 4 of July? We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$51
A campground that has undergone extensive upgrades over the last few years, with positive results. Paved entrance, with gravel roads and site, which is level and long. Good satellite reception. Office staff pleasant and helpful. A well-maintained campground. Excellent views, even if you are not on the waterfront. Good location for exploring Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
Ready Camp Go card rate + $3 guest fee charged at all Encore parks. Has good gravel, level sites; and friendly office staff. The Tengo WiFi worked well for $5/day; cable TV was excellent. Had a modern, clean bathhouse. It was a convenient location for both Bar Harbor and Ellsworth; be sure to visit the Oceanarium. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$70
We selected an oceanfront "Best" campsite because they were the only campground with full hookups right on the water. It was expensive but the views were great. The only reason it wouldn't warrant a 10 is the price and the fact that you can hear the automobile noise from the causeway to Mt. Desert Island. Verizon cell phone coverage was dicey. Wi-Fi is additional through Tengonet ($5 for 24 hours or $15 for a week). Your broadband cellular card will not work here. We'd definitely "glamp" here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
This is a very nice place: if and when we return we'd gladly stay here again. There is a free shuttle to town; it's near excellent restaurants and the Acadia Nat'l Park. Verizon didn't work well at all: so cell and internet for us was all but nonexistent, which is okay for a few days. The work campers on duty were the best! Spaces are spacious enough; the staff was helpful and when we asked to move they were very accommodating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
A very nice place with a great view of the Bay. The park was neat and clean. It is convenient to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. My only complaint was the pool being too hot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Really nice park, gravel on the pull throughs with a nice lawn area. Wide sites all around except the sites close to the ocean are very tight, some people had their awnings touch, plus these are very expensive. Very clean, people were nice, not too far from Bar Harbor without all the traffic problems. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$37
This park was beautiful. Oceanfront sites were very nice. There's plenty of pull-through sites. I definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$40
This was the only campground open in the Bar Harbor area the last week in October and we stayed their last two nights of operation. Even though we were the only ones in the entire campground, they stood fast to their tiered pricing rule, so $40 got us fully serviced 50-amp sites in an open area near the highway with no view. A site with a distant view of the adjacent inlet would have cost $50 and to be right on the inlet $65, which were all discounted over peak rates. On top of that, wifi is $5/day. Most other campgrounds we stayed at this late in the season let us take whatever site we wanted when the place was empty, and it gave us a bad taste that they didn’t give us a free upgrade. Besides that pet peeve, the host was helpful, the 50-amp utilities worked fine, the gravel site was level, and there was a lobster pound next door that was still open. Our Dish satellite worked well in the open area, and they also have 70-channel cable. The campground’s facilities were closed when we stayed here so perhaps the amenities make the high cost more justifiable in the summer, when all the RV campgrounds near Bar Harbor price gouge anyway. The camp is on the mainland side just across the bridge from Mount Desert Island, adjacent to a narrow inlet that they refer to as being on “The Ocean.” Acadia National Park is a 20-minute drive and Bar Harbor is 25 minutes away (probably more in peak season). The Narrows’ other campground and Bar Harbor Campground are about 10 minutes closer to those attractions. In town we enjoyed Poorboys Gourmet restaurant and bike riding along Acadia National Parks carriage roads. (866) 917-4300 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$46
Very big rig friendly. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Bath facilities were large and clean. Pet friendly with lots of grass areas. Oceanfront sites were actually back in so you might find yourself rigging a long sewer or water line to pull in. We found pull-thru site 700 to be a much better view and not muddy when it rained. Would highly recommend this campground for its openness even though a few minutes further from Bar Harbor than other campgrounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$99
We found this park very over priced for what we got. Premium water site was on a bay not the ocean, and was nice while the tide was in but not so nice when it was out. We were told that the brush would be cut for a better view of the water but in four days there it was never done. The grass on our site #315 had not been cut in several days. Sites could have been better manicured for this price. At $99.00 per night you would expect a lot more. We could not get lodged on to the Wi-Fi and were never told about it at check in or if there was a fee for use. Out of about 200 sites only about 25 were occupied while we were there at the end of June. We will not return to this park. However we did find the staff very nice, better than a lot of parks we have been at. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$99
We stayed in an ocean front premium site (their nicest category). Most expensive site I've ever stayed at, although it's hard to complain about that -- the view was spectacular right on the ocean. Biggest difference between premium and non-premium sites are proximity to neighbors and foliage. Non premium oceanfront sites are tight and narrow with no separation. Location is about 15 minutes from downtown Bar Harbor. Trenton is next town over and has plenty of options, including 4 lobster "pounds" (restaurants) in walking distance. Amenities of campground nice and everything is new. As it was off-season, it wasn't a very happening place. Mostly empty. Biggest negative of this campground was that the bugs made it hard to enjoy the campsite scenery at night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$45
Had just recently opened for the season. Staff still needed training that the manager seemed incapable of providing. Now owned by ELS and apparently only gives discounts to 1000 trails members, and no longer accepts Good Sam. This should be verified as confusion reigned in the office. Good access and Sats. were no problem. The park had been rebuilt and the facility looked very nice. Its seven tier price structure was very confusing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$75
Mostly empty when we were there in October. Way over priced at $150 a night (peak) and $75 a night (off peak). Probably crowded in summer during the peak season. We would recommend staying in Bangor (Pumpkin Patch) if you don't have kids, and commute over. Save lots of money that way and have fewer ankle biters to boot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$35
This campground went out of the way for our group of campers. They had free firewood, rings and chairs set up for us. They helped with a central hall for a pot luck and were generally great. Stay here! It is great! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2007
$70
For a newly renovated campground you think it would receive all 9’s and 10’s, but not at this campground. We tried to make reservations at their sister campground the Mt. Desert Narrows, a family campground, we were told that there were no sites available with electric, water and sewer. They told us that we would be just as happy with their other campground the New Narrows Too. They have built all new sites, Store, Bath House and Activity Center. The Too stands for too much money for their sites and activities. I guess they want to recoup their investment all in one or two seasons. When checking in, their staff asked us to walk down to check the site to see if we would be happy in it, that should have been the first clue of the things to come. The site they wanted to put us on would have had a nice view of the bay, but we would have been tripping over the water and electric hook ups at the next site. The site we picked and moved to was along and between the almost only trees in the campground. When asking the staff questions about anything they would look at us like we were the first person to ever ask any question. The store is the worse stocked store I have ever seen in my past 10 years of camping. You would be better off going down the road to the small IGA or the Wal-Mart. The camp fires they want you to enjoy is a Community Fire, very nice way to meet new people, but not enough firewood. I spoke to the staff about what if you needed more firewood, their answer was to walk to the other fire pits not being use to get the wood placed there. Their activities start and end when the staff wants them to not when they are scheduled to. Families stay far away from this one, nothing for kids to do here. Found out by a past guest that when they added all the new sites, they bulldozed over the mini-golf. All their play ground has to offer is a kid power merry-go-round and a ball catch. Oh yeah the pool does have two slides and is heated, the only good thing about this campground. They promote that they have a shuttle to Bar Harbor and the area, but the truth be told, it is operated by LL Bean. The bus takes over an hour for a 25 minute ride stopping at every campground in and around Bar Harbor, not just their two campgrounds. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2007
$99
We did not stay here, because of the very expensive rates. We stopped at the office; discovered the rates; drove through the park; and departed. The campground was recently renovated completely, and it appears that they are trying to recoup their investment in one season. Their waterfront sites are $109/night, recently reduced from $149/night. They also have 'cheap' sites at $49/night. However, those 'cheap' sites are almost on the highway that goes into Mt. Desert Island; therefore very noisy with all the traffic. The grass needed obvious mowing. Even some of the expensive water front sites had very high grass. One would think that at over $100/night would get one a paved site, a paved patio, and free WiFi, but at Narrows Too, one gets none of the above. There are much more affordable campgrounds in the Ellsworth/Bar Harbor area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$75
We stayed here for a week for the same reason as almost every camper I met, It's new. Paying $75 per night E/W/S & cable for a family of 5 on a site with a perfect view of the bay 25 yards away. If you ever lived in a new development that's what this is like. In a few years grass & trees will grow in. Arrived on a Monday & didn't like our site, the office gave me a list of open sites to choose. They have community fire pits due to the erosion pads put down to grow grass, It was nice sitting with people each night. They do need a park & activities for the kids & update the pool with a new liner, all to come I'm told. Trolley stops there, Lobster pounds next door. Bathrooms/shower, laundry & store rooms all bright & clean. In my 4 year with a motorhome I've never used showers ANYWHERE except for here! I've stayed at the KOA & passed through all other campgrounds on the Island, they pack'em in! This place has some elbow room. They're new & have more work to go. One last item, AVOID the Lobsterman & ask for the Pie Couples phone #!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2007
$90
Why did we ever stay here!!! This place is a disgrace to Maine (and I live in the state). The price is outrageous for the location (not even on Mt. Dessert/Acadia Island). The sites are crowded and almost devoid of trees or vegetation, with some on a very busy highway. The really sad thing was the people running the place, who were rude and insulting. I apologize to all "out-of-state" people who may end up here...this is not the true Maine. Look elsewhere for a park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$90
Its a nice new campground with clean restroom, etc., but of course they should be given they are new. The sites still need work, but are a good size. The campground is right on the bay outside of Bar Harbor, but not conducive to surf casting or clamming. The pool was clean and warm, and the best part is the public transportation to Bar Harbor. The negatives would be the cost - very expensive for what it is, and given their newness, they just didn't have their act together. Scheduled activities did not happen as advertised, dumpsters weren't emptied soon enough and there were community fire pits, not fire pits at each site. Other than that, its pleasant enough and nice to be right on the water. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$75
This is a beautiful park, but too highly priced for the area. WIFI is $4 a day. We called to make reservations for their other campgrounds, but where told this one was the same price and brand new and nicer. They do not have all the things they advertize available yet and the price is higher than we were quoted at the Rally in Perry, GA where they had a booth. They only allow community campfire circles they have set up, but they do provide free firewood at the fire rings. The park may be nice when they finish and provide the ice cream socials and pancake breakfasts that they state they provide, but for now it is not worth $75 a night. We would not have booked it if we had known that they would charge us that much, now we are stuck with no refund if we leave. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$50
The Narrows Too has been COMPLETELY RENOVATED. All of the sites and buidings and pool are brand new. The sites are level and have cable and full hook/ups. The Wi-fi signal is very good in our site. We went to the pool today and it was warm and very clean. Many sites have a view of the water. We are very happy with this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2001
$35
This could be a wonderful park, but the park Nazis (old women actually) and their associated attitude made us cross them off our list. We were there in person to view the park and make reservations for next year. However, it became clear quickly that demand is high enough that these people don't care if you come back or not. Before they will show you a map or allow you to view any of their sites, you must leave your driver's license with one of the matriarchs. Only then will they get up and actually talk to you. I even asked what it was about me they didn't trust. Turns out they don't trust anyone! Seems people are constantly trying to rip these people off (or so they claim). When I pointed out that I was in a rented Toyota, I was told "you might have a tarp and stuff in the trunk". What a bunch of loonies. Anyway, it's a shame that they can get away with their attitude, because this could really be a wonderful place with a little customer relations. Compared to other RV parks where people have gone out of their way to accommodate us, such as taking us for a guided tour in the park's golf cart, etc., these folks have alot to learn. I've been made to feel more appreciated buying a coke at Wal-Mart. Even though they have a problem with trust, trust me, I won't be back to either of their parks - Narrows Too or Mt Desert Narrows. We visited both and were greeted with the same policies, arrogance and indifference. If you're in the Bar Harbor area, I strongly suggest you go meet the nice people at Hadley's Point. You won't be disappointed with the RV park, and you'll be delighted with the people. We were !!! We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com