221698 User submitted reviews online!!
Wells Beach Resort Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 52 user reviews. Phone: (207) 646-7570
CGID1322

Wells Beach Resort Campground

Camp Information
Sites
231
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$62



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   8   4   8   10   9   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$62
This is the fourth time we have stayed here and really enjoy it, especially during the off season. Staff is great, sites are well taken care of, electric, water, sewer and cable all work well. We will keep coming back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$82
This is a great campground! We stayed on a Premier RV site which was $82-90 depending on what day of the week you are staying. I'm glad we spent the extra money because the Premium and Deluxe RV sites would be very tight for any motorhome. Location is very convenient to beaches and restaurants. Wifi isn't the greatest....can't always connect, and it's rather slow. Pleasantly surprised at how quiet it was here. We will definitely be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$54
Nice park! Clean sites. Older staff helpful, younger staff friendly. Water pressure good, but had sediments (make sure to have a screen on the connector). Electricity good and cable good. WiFi had strong signal but only work one day of our four day stay. The office staff blamed TengoNet for the lack of service. I would expect the park to make sure the service works, it's part of the package offered and charged for. ATT 4G was also weak at this location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2013
$90
Visiting friends in the area, so made reservations here because of their proximity and listed amenities. Their website is misleading and not true. Very close together sites with fire rings practically on top of you. Advertised "HEATED POOL" is only 79 degrees. Clerk said it's too cool at night to get it warmer. (Weather has been in the upper 80's for days and 60's at night). No activities. Very over-rated & over-priced for a so-called "RV RESORT." We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$95
This is a rather expensive campground. I am put off by campgrounds who charge per kid ($10 per night). I have 4 kids and you can do the math. But the location and cleanliness were good. Campsites are tight and barely fit the tow vehicle on site with trailer. Very strict with quiet hours and fires are put out at 11:30. The bathrooms were clean but a little dated. I really don’t have to many complaints. Sites were raked after previous camper left. Staff in office/store where very friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$80
Fantastic campground....we have been reviewing campgrounds for many years and this place is awesome...lots of staff and security and everyone is so pleasant and helpful...WiFi is fast, the park is clean and tidy and McDonalds is next door.. We will be back next year for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$78
This is a clean, well organized campground. There are many employees around to make sure the day runs smoothly. Each site is cleaned before a new camper arrives. Wells Resort has a clean laundry room and a nice-enough store. The swimming pool is a bit on the small side, but again, well maintained. There are several different tiers of campsites available. The least expensive are the sites closest to the road. I would not want these sites. Too cramped and too close to the road. All of the other sites seemed fine to me. The most expensive sites, the ones to the back, had the most room. There are free movies every Wednesday and Saturday evening, otherwise, there were no planned activities. Wells Resort is a part of the trolley system. This system runs through Wells and connects to several near-by towns. There is a $1.00 fee per person every time you get on the trolley. Children under 18 years old are free, and you can buy a $3.00 pass for the day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$50
Real nice park. Very clean and great location. Would definitely go back. It has everything you need including large lots. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$55
We were in a premier RV site. This was a back-in site on the perimeter of the campground. Spot was flat level gravel, with grass on one side and a carpeted patio on the other. There was a table and fire pit. The spot was about 70 feet long. Access roads were paved and easy to maneuver on. Internet was Tengo internet and even though free, the internet was very slow and kept kicking me off. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$63
This is a very convenient campground to all the little coastal towns and beaches. We were out front where it is not very pet friendly, can not put dog pen on grass, only gravel and since our 40 foot unit left little room on the gravel the dogs couldn't be out. It is quite pricey as well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$63
Mature trees make this park not satellite friendly. Rules are not enforced for workcampers. Was concerned for fires not being put out; security who goes around to check left early. Office staff did not care. Could not open windows because of smoke. With not much space between sites fire is a concern. This used to be a great park. It has lost its appeal and we will be looking for a different park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$55
We stayed here for 5 days. We really liked this campground and perfect to see the Maine coastline. Don’t forget to visit the Portland Head Light in Portland, ME. It is about a 40 min drive up I-95 and worth your time. It is a lighthouse build in the late 1700s. The campground is well managed, clean and each site is perfect for RVs of all sizes. Great amenities like laundry and pool. The roads coming into Wells are poor but then again, all the roads are poor in New England. It is a little pricey and many of the visitors were from Canada but very friendly. The park is ideal for families and has a lot of things for kids to do including miniature golf. Their prices are rather high at the store and you can get better deals for supplies in town. There is a MacDonald’s right next door. I paid nearly $9.00 for a small bag of firewood – you can get 3 times this amount at the hardware store down the road for $5.00. The Wi-Fi was TengoInternet which we dislike but workable. One day it was great but as soon as the place filled, bandwidth dropped noticeably. We would have given them a higher rating but the sites are not level and the Internet problem drove us crazy. The best sites are the ones in the front or near the office. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$58
Outstanding park close to everything you'd care about in Wells and the south coast of Maine. Office staff was the best we've come across: friendly, outgoing, capable. Grounds were kept immaculate. Dumpsters were emptied daily. Nice angled pull throughs with deep grass between packed, level gravel pads. Wi-Fi was exceptional. Even on Labor Day Weekend when it was packed to the gills, nights were quiet and relaxing. All interior roads are paved and easily negotiable. Rate reflects pro-rated seasonal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$65
Had a great week at this well run campground. Staff couldn't be more helpful. If I were to come back I would choose a site along the fenceline, at the front, or in the far back. The Premium sites definitely are nicer. Lots to do in and around the area and we did not need a car. Wi-Fi worked well and there is a lovely pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$49
A pleasure to stay at Wells Beach Resort. It is a little pricey for a lengthy stay. It is a very clean and beautifully kept RV Park. We would definitley recommend it to our friends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$60
This is a beautiful, well maintained park with easy access to all the Well area attractions and a shuttle stop right at the entrance. There is easy access off of route 1. The roads are paved and wide. The pull through sites are nice but a little tight; with a mostly level gravel pad and a carpeted patio area with picnic table and also a grass area with in ground fire ring. The staff and all guests we met were all friendly. While they do allow pets there is no designated dog walk area. I would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$59
This is a beautiful park, easy to find using the park's web site directions. The office staff is very helpful and friendly. The sites are gravel but have outdoor carpet right next to them with picnic tables. Our site was mostly level. We were given a site in the front area so there was a little road noise, but nothing too bad. It was quiet at night. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$88
Very well kept campground right off Route 1: very convenient to everything in the area. I felt it was a little pricey considering the pull through site was very small. Had a nice pad for the table, but little green space for the dogs and we were not allowed to put their pen on the grass. The sites back in off the highway further seemed to have more room than the "premium" site we were in. Extremely well maintained: as people pulled out, they were right there to rake the site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$78
Expensive but worth it. Probably best campsites and cleanest one I've ever stayed in. Trolley car is at entrance of campground. No need to use your car really. The only 10 I've ever given to any campsite. Only minor beef was our Wi-Fi didn't work but we were furthest site from the office. I'd stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$70
Based upon some negative reviews my wife and I almost canceled our reservations, but I am glad we didn't. What a wonderful home base to explore the area. Well worth it; campground clean and well maintained, quiet. No complaints at all. Staff helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$77
This was our third trip to Wells and our third stay at Wells Beach Resort. It is convenient to area towns, eateries, grocery, beach, etc. Trolley stops at campground for those of you without a car. Grounds are always clean, rules are strictly enforced. WiFi was not working during our stay. The office should have given a few $ off the very high price for this inconvenience. The rates are going up every year. I am not sure if I will pay this rate again when I can stay down the road for about half price. If you want to pay, get a premium RV site in the far back section. Lots less traffic, decent space between sites, and some grass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$70
Very nice, clean park with friendly staff. The sites are spacious. We spent three nights there and wish we could have stayed longer as there was so much to see and do in the immediate area. The ocean was just one mile from the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$65
We love Maine and this is a very nice former KOA campground. Very good access for our 41' M/Home. We especially liked the roomy back in site along the nicely built, stone paver wall. The sites were level with crushed gravel and a grass matted carpet (Astro turf) patio. Very well equipped camp store and helpful staff. Treed and open sites are available and there was ample room for an almost 13' tall rig. It is on the expensive side but well maintained and with such a short season they are justified. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$65
This was a great park: very clean. Restaurants were everywhere. Was a good location for all the local sites. This was our second time staying here and it won't be our last. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$58
We were in a premium site and enjoyed it. It offered a "grass" carpet patio and backed to trees. There was plenty of room between you and your neighbor. It is close to restaurants, shopping and the Atlantic Ocean. The staff were friendly and helpful; we were able to receive our mail there from FedEx. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2009
$70
This place could be the poster child for what is wrong with many so-called "RV Resorts". Cold, impersonal, crammed to the gills, rude, and disinterested. The almighty dollar rules here. We arrived a few minutes early after being stuck in the famous Wells traffic jam. My husband wanted to park the RV for few moments to use our bathroom. Not a chance even though every RV parking spot for checks in was wide open. We had to get back into the traffic and drive down the road to park for 10 minutes. It's a sad commentary when a dying man can't park his RV for a couple of moments to pee. Read their rules carefully. While we didn't have a problem with it, TENT CAMPERS beware. You have to get your gear picked up and out of the way on Thursdays so they can mow the lawn. Even though you've paid for the site, if they think you left, they reserve the right to rent the site to someone else. Make sure it's very obvious you are still in possession of the site. The problem with the park is they have too many people with clipboards. Locals told us the parents owned this former KOA park and were the nicest people in the world. If you want to pay out the wazoo for a cramped noisy park and the heart of traffic, hosted by people who only care about money, this is your place. Wild horses couldn't drag us back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$72
The density of this place reminds me of my days of living in an apartment complex - people packed into almost every square foot of the property. If you want to find a large grassy area to walk your dog, good luck. As others have mentioned, it is extremely well maintained (and has great interior roads) but it has the ambiance of a college apartment house on a Friday night (continuing with my previous metaphor.) There are large numbers of seasonal sites here. This park began life as a KOA, so that will give you an idea of its design. Most of the park is NOT satellite friendly with its preponderance of trees, but the cable TV was quite good with channels up into the 90s. Wells Beach itself is crowded and parking at the beach is almost non-existent. My advice is to skip this place, and I'd also skip Wells Beach if you can. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$65
The campground is very clean and the sites are level, but very small. It was a very busy campground even during the weekdays. The pool is small but heated and very clean. The was no planned activities for the kids which was fine b/c there is a lot to see in the area. Bathrooms and shower were clean but very busy in the mornings. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$67
Nice Campground. Price is a little high for what you actually get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$66
This is a nice park, conveniently located to the beach, which you can access via the local trolley. We were told we got the last spot available, however, that was only on weekends. The rest of the time, the spot next to us was empty. The park is spotlessly clean and the showers and laundry are very nice, although the laundry is the most expensive we have paid ($2.50 to wash and $2.50 to dry). While it lists itself as a resort, it does not have a resort feel and the spaces are very close together. We would probably check around for something more reasonable next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
The very best campground I have ever stayed in! A true resort. Clean, very well run, excellent staff. Everything was perfect. Would stay here all summer if possible. This is a MUST visit site if you're in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$43
Easy route from I-95. Our site was a back in to the woods but had ample room on both sides with slides out and in back. The 50 amp sites were very big rig friendly. These sites also had 50'x6' of outdoor grass mats. Entire campground was kept clean throughout the day. Nice paved roads thought the campground. Close distance to all area resorts - Kennebunk, Kennebunkport, York, Oqunquit, Perkinds Cove. Within 3 miles of many family friendly restaurants. Would camp here again anytime. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$50
Stayed there at the start of our trip and again at the end. Very satisfactory! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$61
This is a top notch park in our opinion. We have been here several times and always get a premium site. This year we had #140. Nice quiet and relaxing and that is what we like. This park doesn't have much for activities but is ok with us, there is enough in the area if you want it. It also has one of the cleanest laundry areas we have ever seen. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$45
This is one of the nicest campgrounds we have stayed in and would highly recommend anytime you are visiting this area. While the campground is in a commercial area it is extremely quiet and we had no problem with noise. Bathrooms and showers were always clean as was the laundry area. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$68
Well maintained and very clean all around...friendly staff and great location..near ocean and nice surrounding towns to visit.My two children were happy with pool and playgrounds..but there are no sched. activities, but no problem finding things to do in the area! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$55
We rated it a 9 for cleanest and sites were large enough but staff were not very friendly although not rude just took the money and goodbye, we did not consider this park to be a resort type park and over priced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$35
Sites were very nice - some shaped and some not. We were part of a group and they provided a meeting area. Owner is not nice and yelled at several members of our group. Way to many rules and regulations. But, yes, we would definitely stay there again as the park was great. You should definitely consider staying here. It is about 1 mile from the beach and next door to McDonalds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
This is a beautiful, well-maintained park in a very nice area! Very "woodsy" and quiet feeling for being in a city. You CAN walk to local restaurants, but it's a long stroll; it's about 1 1/2 mile to the beach. We will stay here again, when in the area! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$58
Great location for getting to the beach. Very friendly staff. Nice miniature golf course in front of campground. The ocean was still a little cool in August but scenery was great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2007
$61
We were too close to the people next to us and it was very expensive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$70
The only two things I can say bad about this park are:, the very small pool & lack of activities for the kids. So get them tired at the Ocean. A very friendly staff & perfect location. Our site had the astro turf & a lawn light with free WiFi. The trolley system is $3 a day for adults, kids under 18 are free. The beach is 5 minutes away, make sure you use the trolley! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$89
Great location! If you're "camping" and want a destination park or rustic experience in the woods of Maine, go inland. If you're "traveling" up the coast with kids and want a great base camp in the middle of everything (between the Rite Aid Drugstore and McDonalds), this CG will make you happy. Interior roads are paved and sites are gravel. Deluxe sites in back are level, shaded, and have huge concrete patios. Stayed 3 nights and had no problems. Very safe. Appears to be the nicest park in the area. Whale watching in Kennebunkport is only 20 minutes away. Will stay here next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$48
Nice park. But it is over rated and over priced. Wireless internet is available for $10 a day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$43
One of the best maintained and landscaped campgrounds. Good size sites,good roads. A lot of amenities if that is what you need. To high a price to stay for more than a few days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2006
$55
The park is vary nicely done landscape-wise and the staff is over friendly. However the pool is too small for the amount of campers. The fires out by 11pm rule is just wrong and the sites are crammed together. The rodes are too narrow and they do nothing to control the speed people drive. It is not a family friendly camp ground. We will not go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$66
Nice park, very clean. Great playgrounds for the kids, and a Putt-putt golf at the entrance. McDonnalds is next door if you want to send the kids out for breakfast. My only complaints are that I asked for a satellite friendly site, and didn't get one, even though there were alot available. I was also not told about the different types of sites "premium", non-premium, and stuck into a premium site which I considered way overpriced. If I had picked a site, I would have picked one of the sites behind the office that were surely to be satellite friendly, and much less expensive since they weren't the premium sites. I would have also stayed more than one night, but since the satellite internet wouldn't work, the price was 66/night, we decided to leave Wells Beach and head on up the road. We had origionly planned on staying 2 nights in Wells Beach. The WiFi was free, but didn't work very well in the Motorhome. I was able to go sit on the steps outside the office next to the pool and use the WiFi with no problems. I could hit it every now and then from the Motorhome, and my site was one of the closest to the office. I don't know why parks bother with WiFi if they can't get a full signal to every site. (It's easy to get full signals to every site with several cisco WiFi routers, no wires needed, Hint Hint!) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2004
$45
The campground itself was super: sites big enough for the biggest of rigs; good voltage; good water pressure; and the campground was very clean. The campground is in a great area, with lots of things to do, and good restaurants abound. However, the Gestapo tactics used by the "greeting guards" was terrible. We and our family in another motor home, were verbally abused a number of times. We were threatened with eviction for not having our parking pass on the rearview mirror. Our parking pass was in clear view on the dash, because the pass, hanging from the mirror, obstructs vision. The 'guard' said that we would have to do exactly what he said, or else. The 'else' to us is that we won't return. It's really too bad because we really like the area and the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$45
We have camped here for several years and find it great. The swimming pool is on the small side but you can see the ocean only a mile away. Guests are on the expensive side which is a drawback. It is very clean, and they continually ride through and keep it that way. Bathrooms were immaculate. We found the management very helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2002
$42
I don't disagree with the first post. The park is very clean. They do a good job on that. However, the park certainly does not rise to the level of "RESORT." There is only one pool and it is not large enough for the number of sites. It was very crowded. There is no lounge, the game room is tiny and the store is small. The sites are packed in like sardines. Very small and there is no view of anything. There is a mini-golf on site which costs extra. Other than that there are no activities. I can see where the situation in post #2 could have happened. There just doesn't seem to be a friendly atmosphere at this place. Security is at the front gate as well as all over the grounds. They are helpful in directing you to the office (as if we couldn't figure out where that was) but it seemed as if they were more interested in keeping out the rif raf or making sure you went to the office to pay your money. I just don't think I got good value for my money. I'll look for some other place in the future. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2002
$42
Rude, obnoxious owner. In addition to site fees they charge $7 pp for "guests use of the park." On Sat nite I had to pay $20 for my in-laws to have them over for dinner inside my trailer. (they didn't use any facilities in the park) On Sun my two sons and daughter-in-law stopped in to wish me a happy birthday. They were there for a half hour. I was confronted by security and told I had to pay again. (once again they were inside my trailer and not using any of the CG facilities) When I refused, the owner came to my trailer and in a very loud tone of voice began to threaten to have me arrested for "theft of services" and "trespassing" if I did not pay up immediately or leave. He also made derogatory comments about people form Maine. As far as I'm concerned the charges were unreasonable and his behavior was unacceptable. I'll never return. There are many other more reasonable and more friendly CG's in the area. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$45
Great park. Trailer Life and Woodalls give it good ratings and I agree. The place is immaculate. Within 30min of a departure a clean up crew arrives and makes each site look as if no one had ever been there. They even rake out the tire tracks. Nice, clean, large pool. Plenty of playground equipment for the kids. Kids especially like the paved roads for bike riding. They were everywhere. They have sites for everytype of camper from the smallest tent to the largest motorhome with toad. Sites are plenty wide enough for slides and awnings. Each site has a grassy area. There's plenty to see and do in the Wells Beach area. The CG is less than 1 mile from a nice sandy beach. Great vacation spot for a weekend or a month. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com