223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Assateague Island National Seashore was rated 8 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (410) 641-1441
CGID1325

Assateague Island National Seashore

Camp Information
Sites
143
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   10   9   9   10   7   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2014
$10
This is a great park with some considerations, there are no hookups except for the Host sites, no hot water at all even at showers, restrooms are clean but primitive. On the plus side, there are sites for every size unit even the biggest Riggs, all sites and roads are paved and your either on the ocean or the bay. Cell service was fair, of course there is no internet unless you have your own. TV reception on a boosted antenna was really great. Our price was with a National Park pass, which is half price. They are open year around, reservations can be made from mid April to mid Oct, otherwise first come first serve. I can say in the summer don't try without a reservation it will be FULL. We like the ocean side, less bugs and gen are permitted in all sites, bag side allows gen in A loop only. All rules are STRICTLY ENFORCED. Have fun We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$33
Great park. Nice sites with fire rings. Only reason I didn't rate it higher was the high price for basic boondocking. No water, sewer, or electric at the sites. Water fill up at the entrance and also near the recycles. Beautiful ponies and easy access to a great beach. Plenty to do if you like bike riding, hiking and beach time. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$10
Great place, nice paved sites that will accommodate any size rig. Our rate reflects a seniors National Park pass. We travel in a 40' fifth wheel with a generator. Very quiet with great walking and biking areas, not far to Ocean City area. Sites are very large with fire rings. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
Not much that I can add that hasn't been said before. Well run, friendly rangers, beautiful beach right over the dunes. Liked the visitor center, hated the occasional bug. Like the ponies, annoyed at times by the wind. Great dry camping. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
We booked the National Park because we could not get into the Maryland State Park. The campsite was on the bay side- and the bugs were bad. The park is very clean and nice, but it is a minimalist park- the bathrooms and showers are not as big and are not as nice as the Maryland State Park they are clean- but not fancy. Try to get oceanfront reservations- the prevailing winds are off the ocean and the bugs are not a problem on the Oceanside. I would however highly recommend this park. This place is a treasure. The National Park annual pass is a deal even if you are day visitor- with the pass you pay one price for any National Park entry for the year. We were in a motorhome so the bathrooms did not matter as much. The dumping station is easy access and not very busy (the neighboring state park the dump station had a waiting line). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$10
Thursday, Friday – June 28-29 Assateague Island National Seashore, Maryland. This is one of our favorite places to stay, just a dune away from the ocean. There are two loops near the ocean, plus tent sites in the sand and more loops on the Bayside of the park. We have never camped here in June when the flies come out. The Bayside Loops are not the place to be when they do. The Oceanside Loops have a nice breeze which controls them, but they are still there. This is just a beautiful park with wild horses that come into your site and on the beaches. Hiking, biking and windsurfing on the Bayside. We saw more horses than we do in April or May, because they are trying to get away from the flies by escaping to the main road, Oceanside Loops and the beach. It is a beautiful long beach with a public beach to the north of it and one to the south, but the section in front of the camping loop never really gets crowded. There are no hookups, but there is water, cold showers and clean pit toilets in each loop. We had a thunderstorm around ten last night for about an hour, so some of the tenters left this morning. Tenters need extra long stakes to stay here. It’s a great place to camp and it cost us $10 a night with a pass. Reservations can be made online on the recreation.gov website. Beautiful place and the wild horses just add to the whole atmosphere. Another park is just to the north of this park, so don’t confuse the two! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$10
We were fortunate enough to enjoy this park off season with no bugs, insects or mosquitoes. Our Oceanside site was gorgeous! What a view! Day 3 we asked to be moved to the bayside and they accommodated us without a problem. The wind! Continous wind for 48 hours! You could feel the motorhome moving. Bayside site 45 gave us full protection and you'd never know there were high winds outside. We were able to do some biking and walk the different trails. All the sites are very spacious and afford privacy. We did see lots of ponies in and around the campground. The rangers were all happy and friendly. The visitor center is nice and the movie informative about the island and the ponies. The rest rooms were kept extremely clean even though I never saw anyone cleaning them! Hope to return someday. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$22
This was our first experience at this park and I can assure you we will return. It is nature at its absolute best! The unspoiled beaches and wildlife rival anything we have experienced. The campground itself offers little to no amenities, but the openness, privacy, and good all-around feeling is worth the trip. We camped in Loop C bayside and found the site a very good fit for us. The rangers and other staff members we interacted with were friendly and happy people. Who wouldn't be working here? We were early enough in the season that bugs and insects weren't an issue. The ponies were all around us all weekend. Just one note or helpful hint: Study the campground maps very closely when choosing a site. All traffic in the loops is one-way and if you choose a drive-thru site on the wrong side of the road for your rig, you may find your door opening to the roadway rather than the picnic/patio area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$10
Big sites right near the ocean and bay. You are parked in the dunes! Has great access to beach. We had extremely strong winds while here, but we managed. A short ride to Ocean City boardwalk, good bike paths and kayaking area in the marches. Strictly boondocking, no hookups. We liked this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$10
Senior rate, still an outstanding value here. We stayed on the Ocean side again, site 40. A nice big back-in. Lots of fruit flies this time, so fly tape and bug spray are really needed here. We would come again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
Wonderful place to stay in the off-season (when biting bugs are no longer a problem!). Lots of wildlife (ponies, deer, and even crabs wandering thru the campgrounds). Large, clean ocean beach just a few dozen yards away. Dogs are allowed on the beach near the campground loops. The bay side has some excellent kayak launches to explore the smaller marshland islands (where you're likely to see ponies grazing and swimming between the islands!). No hookups at sites, but there is a nice dump station with fresh water available. Entrance fee is $15 for 7 days and no extra fee is charged if pulling a towed vehicle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
We stayed in the ocean side campground. It was nice and open. No shade. Short walk to the beach. We paid $20 per night but you also have to pay a park entrance fee. We paid $15 which was good for 7 days. Very big rig friendly with one minor exception. To register you have to pull into a parking lot which was not designed for big rigs towing a car. It's doable but a little tight. It was very easy to find wild horses and deer to photograph. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
The staff there were all very friendly. The sites were all well taken care of. The only concern I had was all the horse crap all over the park. This was my first time camping there, and I will return again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$16
Beautiful park. We've been to some run-down national parks in the past, but this park is NOT. Very well-maintained grounds and sites--large, scenic, and level. We stayed in the Bayside Loop because it was windy and chilly and other reviewers suggested that this area was less windy. True. We had site 46--water view and very nice. And to have the wild ponies just walk by your site...priceless. Toilets are of the pit variety (but clean); showers are cold. But if you're set up for boon docking, this is the place. Lovely walks (dunes, forest, marsh), too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
We stayed here for 4 nights for our very first trip in our travel trailer in the Bayside loop. The sites are well maintained. All roads and sites are paved and in good condition. There is water and a dump station available as there are no hook ups. Flies and mosquitoes could be a problem here in the summer so we would only want to stay here in the spring or fall. We did not have any problem with either during our stay. We will be camping here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$10
We really liked this campground, nice, and quiet. Sites are very large and close to ocean, short walk over dunes. Sites have no hook-ups, you could use your generator from 7am-10pm. There was a dump station. Horses would come right into your site. There was a nice visitor center at the entrance, a must stop - great information about Assateague National Park. Price reflects Golden Age Pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
This review is about the National Park, not the state park further north. I will not go back, please read to see why. We stayed on Ocean view site 25. This site was right next to the beach and is full sand. The area is interesting with wild ponies wandering everywhere. Because of this there are mountains of horse manure everywhere, and I mean mountains! The beach is covered with manure, too. This attracts a lot of biting flies everywhere. These flies waited at the door of our travel trailer and every time someone opened the door at least 10 flew in. We must have spent an hour trying to kill these things; they just wouldn't leave! There is no power either, meaning that on summer days like the weekend we stayed it gets very very hot. Heat, biting flies, sand all over the camper, no power, and two frustrated children did not mesh well. We left after two days. Not going to go back. I'd rather spend $30 more a night for a full service campground and just visit the island, not sleep there. I'm giving the campground a 10 because it's not the fault of the management for the way nature works. I should have known better so I give my judgment a 1. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
We stayed here for 4 nights in the C Loop. We had a wonderful private shady site with a view of the bay. The wild horses came through our loop a couple times and rabbits and birds were plentiful. A great place to hike, and bike. It's very pet friendly. We must have been here at the perfect time because the weather was warm (not too hot), sunny and the flies were not in abundance, although the ticks were. Although they said the campground was full it didn't seem to be. Had empty campsites and since it was still off season, there were minimal visitors and traffic. This was one of my must do RV trips but unfortunately it turned out so well it will have to go back on the must do again list. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$10
Golden age rate paid, $20 is regular rate. All sites are level and paved. Oceanside loops are all backin's. Bayside has some pull throughs and double wide sites. Bayside loop B is a no generator loop. All others have quiet hours of 10pm till 6am. No problems with biting insects while we were here, but the flies were all over the place and in the MH. Bring some fly tape with you. Ponies were all over the place, including one of them sticking their head into our toad and eating just outside our door. Also check the visitor center: good movies at no cost. We also attended two of the Ranger programs: "Sea" S.I. Assateague and Horsing around at Assateague. Several others available as well: Surf Fishing Demo, Aquarium Feeding, Happy as a Clammer, Beautiful Swimmers, Beach on the Move and Life of the Dunes Walk. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
If you don't mind mosquitoes and cold windy weather, then this is the place for you. We were completely miserable! It was cold when we were here in June: had to go buy sweatshirts. The wind was non-stop and blowing sand was an all day, everyday event. The scenery was beautiful and the horses were magnificent to watch. If we ever go back, it will be to look and leave! If you decide to stay, take plenty of Off with DEET. I would not recommend tent camping here to anyone. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$10
I reviewed this campground last year around the same time and much of the information will be the same except Bayside Campground is open again with new bathrooms. We stayed at the National Seashore at the Oceanside Campground Loop 1 in the same site as last year. There is another section Bayside which has a number of loops that are on the Bay and these sites are warmer with less wind than Oceanside. Oceanside has two loops just a dune away from the ocean for RV’s, pop ups etc and tents (make sure you bring extra long stakes) as well as three loops just for tents that you have to walk in over the dunes. These are real nice and the walk in sites are quite private. There is a Maryland State Park Campground just before you enter the National Seashore – they have some electric and these sites are close together in a line but the state park is not always open so check starting and closing dates. The National Park campsites have only pit toilets and no hookups at all but climbing over one dune is the most beautiful beach that goes for miles with the softest sand. The place is beautiful even in the rain. The Bay sites face the Bay and on that side you can go clamming, crabbing, boating, wind surfing and kite surfing. This year is colder than last year so we did not see as many people taking part in those activities. There are miles of bike trails all over the island. I think everyone should visit this gem of our National Park System. Now the wild ponies ( we saw them all over riding our bikes, ) like last year a few came into our campground and campsite. Last year the full moon was out and the beach was beautiful but this year they forecast rain but we had one storm at night and on and off rain for only one day while we were there. This campground is not for everyone but it is rustic and we love it and plan to visit this area whenever we head south from Rhode Island. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
Love it here! Sites are big. We always have a great time. Don't forget your bug spray and to put all food (including dog food) away every night and away from the horses! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$10
Assateague Island National Seashore – Assateague Island, Maryland sites ? April 19,20- $10 a night with golden age pass. We stayed at the National Seashore at the Oceanside Campground Loop 1. There are two campgrounds Bayside (The NPS has closed the three loops in the Bayside while they work on redoing the bathrooms etc – they are going to be open this summer) and Oceanside. Oceanside has two loops just a dune away from the ocean for RV’s, pop ups etc and tents as well as three loops just for tents that you have to walk in over the dunes. These are real nice and some of the sites the walk is not bad at all. There is a Maryland State Park Campground just before you enter the National Seashore – they have some electric and these sites are close together in a line. The National one has pit toilets and no hookups at all but climbing over one dune is the most beautiful beach that goes for miles with the softest sand. Sometimes you see campers riding their horses. The place is beautiful. The Bay sites face the Bay and on that side you can go clamming, crabbing, boating, wind surfing and kite surfing. There are miles of bike trails all over the island. I think everyone should visit this gem of our National Park System. Now the wild ponies – we saw them all over riding our bikes, along the roadside and a bunch came into our campground and campsite. The days we were there the full moon was out and the beach was just beautiful to watch from the boardwalks from the campgrounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$10
No hookups. Few bay-side sites have view of water, no sea-side sites do. Wild horses wandering around. Quiet in off-season. Lots of places to ride your bike. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
This was our first overnight at the national park campground. We usually go to the state park but it was full. The NPS website (recreation.gov) allows you to see exactly which day each and every campsite is available. And they don't require a multiple-night stay if camping includes a Saturday. During this busy season, we only spent a Thursday night because that's all that was open. We were very impressed. After you purchase the $10 park permit (good for one week), the campsite was only $20 per night - a bargain. If you camp often, you can buy an annual access pass for only $20. There are no hookups, so you'll hear a generator running on occasion. We were reluctant to turn ours on because it is noisier than most. So we only ran it for a short while to charge the batteries while we took onboard showers. Quiet hours are 10 pm to 6 am. The park has cold showers. So cold in fact that my wife couldn't stand it! There are portable toilets available as well as a fresh water spigot. The beaches are clean. The campsite was generally quiet. We had a relaxing time walking on the beach and riding our bicycles on the flat, bicycle-only lanes. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
This was a very nice place to camp. There is no electric, water or sewer. You are there basically for the atmosphere, which is great. The mosquitoes are really bad at the beginning of the night but usually go away by 9pm. We ended up making a fire and were not bothered at all by the bugs. The beach is very deserted because the sites are spaced far away from each other. So when we sat on the beach, we were the only ones out here. The horses even came and joined us on the beach. At night you can hear them walking past your camper. I would definitely stay here again. They fill up fast so you need to book early. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
Fantastic place to camp, and commune with nature and all its beauty. We loved the presence of the beautiful wild ponies and sitka deer. It's terrific, too, if you're a bird watcher. Best of all for me was the beautiful beach. Love, love the ocean. We've already made reservations for this upcoming season again. It's a special place to be cherished, and hope it will always remain accessible for those who love the simplicity and beauty if offers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$20
We camped during a Noreaster which made it quite exciting. The waves were huge but fishing was out of the question. Great beach combing though during high tide. This place is great for self contained units as rest room and shower facilities are primitive. Especially if you have kids. A bike riders paradise and great trails to hike. A great place for viewing wildlife also. Did not see many ponies due to the weather , but a lot of deer. Open year round. If you want to camp on one of the best beaches on the east coast , than tis place is for you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2006
$22
We actually stayed in the Maryland State Park just up the road but took a bike ride through the National Park. As others have said it is rustic camping at its best. No hookups, vegetation was a bit overgrown (because its nature!) but the BUGS! In the 25 minutes we rode through the park, we were eaten alive by green heads and mosquitos. My wife and kids had sprayed themselves heavily with Deep Woods Off and it had no affect. I counted 25 mosquito bites on me. Also the bathrooms looked like port-a-potties. The State Park apparently sprays and keeps the vegetation in the camping area somewhat controlled. Also the State Park has bath houses. I think I only had 1 mosquito bite all week in the State Park. As others have said - it is beautiful in both parks, but to us the State Park is so much nicer considering bugs. I don't know how anyone could sit outside at night there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$15
Camping loops are right off the ocean, not 500' from the surf. Although they have a limited number of electric sites, we had no services. Park is quite interesting with wild horses and deer wandering all over. Many families. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$20
As a previous review stated, this is what camping is all about. There are no extras here, but the beauty of this spot makes up for it. Ocean front although a view is obstructed by dunes. The beach access is a very short walk away. There is a boat house. However, during our visit, it was closed. This is a great place to unplug. Bike paths are level and expansive. There is access to both the bay and the ocean. Restaurants and shopping are just a short drive to Ocean City. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2005
$25
Beautiful. Wild ponies, beach, sun...what more do you want? We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2005
$22
The campground is spartan, and the area is quite buggy, but everything is clean, and the beach is great. Make sure you bring DEET with you. The mosquitoes killed us while we were there. A very quiet campground! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2005
$25
We usually go here early or late in the season. The heat and insects in the summer are just a bit much! But when we go it is truly heaven. (to be sure bring insect repellant each time you come!!) We bring our bicycles and walking shoes. The ponies and other wildlife are abundant. Such joy to see the ponies but keep your lunch in the RV. I have seen ponies helping themselves!! And you do not interfere!! It's their home! Nothing more beautiful than sunrie and sunset on Asseteague Island!! You have to buy a 7 day pass for the park in addition to your camp fee. The pass is about $10 if I remember correctly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$20
To me this is what owning an RV is about. Camping in Assateague is for people who really enjoy the great outdoors, and who do not need hookups or planned activities. I wish there where more places like this to go to. We stayed in the Ocean side camp sites in really bad weather in April and still had a good time. Sites where large with plenty of room between sites. We will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com