223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Little Bennett Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (301) 528-3430
CGID1327

Little Bennett Campground

Camp Information
Sites
91
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$47



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   5   9   10   7   9   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$47
We really like this park. First stayed because it was close to our daughter and grandkids. Shaded sites. Can't get satellite from roof mounted dome but over air TV is fine. We stay in "D" loop which has electric hookups. Park's website has good info on the sites. Usually will give you requested site. This trip, main trees on main entrance/exit road really needed trimming. Branches getting heavy and could not swerve around all of them. This is our only complaint. Very convenient to shopping/restaurants. 50 amp sites cost a few dollars more than 30. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$37
Stayed here for 5 nights while visiting the attractions in the DC area. Very good location for that, convenient to the Shady Grove Metro and the District, Gettysburg, and Antietam, just to name a few. Nice campground with gravel sites which could use a little work on the leveling, so the rating reflects that. Clean bathroom/shower buildings, reasonably well-designed. Very friendly staff. The rate seems a little steep for a County Park campground with no water/sewer hookups, but you're basically paying for the location. Best campground I've found yet in the DC area, but keep your leveling blocks handy. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$41
Excellent location, close to DC Metro, lots of shopping and restaurants around. Clean park. Alas every site in the electric loop is unlevel. So much so that our auto levelers were not enough. Next time we will try another site even though none of the sites seemed level. 50 amp electric was nice, common water spigots throughout campground, and clean dump station. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$41
We really enjoyed this park. It is very wooded and quiet. There is no Wi-Fi or cable TV, and no view of the southern sky for satellite dishes. Water is available for every few sites, so you have to fill your tank and then use your pump. The only dump is at the park entrance. It was very peaceful and serene. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$37
One of the most wonderful campgrounds we have ever stayed in. Huge level sites, clean restrooms and showers, incredibly nice staff, gated. It is 15 minutes to the Shady Grove Red Line stop to go into DC. Convenient to major shopping. Outstanding. Would definitely stay here any time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$37
Nice Regional park close to a couple of Metro stations for an exciting ride into DC. Very basic. Electric only. Water stations every 100 yards or so in the RV loop. No sewer. Dump station at park entrance. Interesting interpretation of their "Maximum 2 vehicles per site" rule. A MH is a vehicle, so you may only have 1 other. A trailer/ 5'ver is not a vehicle, so you may have 2 vehicles in addition. Is a MH a vehicle by legal definition? Certainly. Is it a vehicle when it is parked and now a camper? In practice, no. But, it's their take on the rule and they stick to it. Strictly enforced too. Usually not a problem, but we were here visiting family, so we had to move our car out to the maintenance parking lot before visitors arrived. Kind of silly, really. Picked up a load of "stink" bugs too. They don't really stink. Trying to get rid of them does. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
Very pleased with this campground. Not really a destination but a good base camp for area attractions or visiting friends or family in the area or even Washington DC for that matter. The sites were beautifully maintained, compacted gravel, totally level and well draining. No mud and no litter. There are no water hookups but the communal faucets fill up a 5 gallon container in about 10 seconds! It was like a fire hydrant. The campsites are huge and they will let you pick and reserve in advance. Our site was about as big as our lot that our house sits on and was wooded. Lots of shade and very good privacy. The maintenance crews are out and about early and their efforts really show. The security gate is a nice plus. Surprisingly uncrowded for summer. Friendly reception and laundry room was fine. Necessities are not far from this park as it is in a suburban area. They have the mosquitoes under control but just beware of the flying roach things that will come inside at night if you leave the door open even for a brief while. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$28
An excellent local campground. Nice activities for the kids, fun ice cream socials, and huge campsites! Dog friendly and did I mention huge campsites? No water hook-ups, but nice, well maintained electric loop. Newly improved playground area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
Nice quiet campground with access to DC via the bus stop down the road a pinch. The greeter gave us info on riding the bus to the subway into DC which we did with no trouble. We missed having WiFi access but you can get it at the shopping mall by Staples down the road 5 miles or so. There is a sewer dump as you exit the campground. We found this to be a really nice campground to stay at for our visit to DC. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
I camped here in late August in my VW camper. It's a great little regional park. When I was there, it was not very crowded. The sites are shaded and nicely spaced, although mine was pretty slanted. Some of the quietest sites are a little bit of a hike to the restrooms and showers. Those facilities are fine, though not the best. You can get firewood from the ranger's office, but that's it. At night, you really feel away from the DC metro area. As far as things to do, there's a great network of trails for hiking. There's also a nature center. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$20
We love this campground. Beautiful large sites with tons of shade. Staff was friendly, very quiet campground with lots of play areas for kids. Very pet friendly campground, even nearby Black Hills Park has a dog park, also a huge lake for fishing and boating. No swimming anywhere but still a great little campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$20
Tremendous county run park about 30 miles from DC, very convenient to Metro. Quiet, wooded sites in 5 loops, 1 loop for RV with 30A electric. Centrally located bath houses, fresh water spigots throughout park. Several large play fields and several playgrounds for kids. On site nature center has some planned programs, mostly weekends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$23
I lived in the area and used to go to Little Bennett as a close-to-home warm up camp area for the season. The rate I quoted was for Non-county resident, a site with electric, on a weekend. It could be less depending on a few factors. It's a nice little place and I have camped here many times. The only thing was that it's a few miles from Interstate 270 and in the fall when it was quiet, you could hear the big rigs in the distance. The other thing is that it's a Montgomery County Maryland park and they DO NOT allow alcohol. That being said, I have *never* had a problem with that. Just be discreet, use a cup or mug and behave like an adult and no one will be the wiser (wink!) Once in the Fall, in September, we took a night hike with a ranger (a small group) in the area and that was a real eye-opener as to nature's goings-on at dusk and thereafter. It was one of the neatest thing I've ever done and I remember it fondly, and it was about 10 years ago! Overall, it's a nice place to visit. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com