218147 User submitted reviews online!!
Destin West RV Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (850) 200-4533
CGID13303

Destin West RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
54
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$99



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   1   8   8   10   10   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$99
Destin West is actually in Fort Walton Beach right on the Bay, literally ten minutes outside of Destin proper. This turned out to be a huge plus due to traffic. This resort is all paved with extremely level pads. The pads are actually cobblestone. We didn't need to put our jacks down at all, but we do just to have the additional stability. They hit the pad, and we were done. There are no pull-throughs here, but they do have pull-ins. We had one that when we raised the front shade, we were looking at boats and water (site 10). The hookups are well maintained. The cable TV had over 100 channels. There is a pool with a nice shower and bathroom. On Friday night they set up a screen for a swim up movie. Lounging there you are looking right out at the water. However, there is only one restroom each for men and women that I know of. There may be a bathroom and shower in the front office, so you may want to confirm if that is a need. If you are a large family who really needs the additional facilities that could be an issue. A cobblestone/paved path surround the park for walking which is very nice. We would walk it each morning with the dogs and stop to look into the bay to count the crabs and creatures we saw swimming about. We saw dolphins on one of our morning walks right from the resort. Doggie bags and trashcans are positioned throughout. There is a small private beach as well, but the horrible storm the week before still had it submerged. One site has an unobstructed view, but everyone going to the beach would have to pass it (site 39). There are a couple of unique features to this resort which you may or may not like. First, there is a gate right from the walking path which links the resort to Fuddpuckers, a family friendly arcade/beach bar/ grill right next door! Great views. You can rent watersports here, and we took a pontoon up to Crab Island. Fuddpucker's does have live music on the weekend, so if you are looking for real quiet this may not be for you. However, I am a fairly light sleeper, and I didn't have a problem at all. Also, when you stay here you have access to all the Ramada resort offers across the street. Access is challenging due to traffic, but there is an elevated crosswalk. There are more restaurants, pools, beach and a swim up bar. We will go back. I only have a few dings. The Wi-Fi is spotty at best. We used our phones as hotspots most of the time. The good thing is, unlike many RV resorts, there was no additional fee for the Internet. They have one very clean BBQ grill, but I think for this price each site should have their own. They need larger trashcans as well. Regular size trash bags won't fit. You must use grocery bags. For this price point, most places have valet trash pick up. The maintenance men come around on golf carts several times a day, so it wouldn't be difficult to add this feature. All in all, this was one of the best RV vacations we have had. We are already planning to make this an annual trip. The best deal is to stay for a week with a Sam's club discount. We actually added one more day, and, with tax, it came up to $109. But, you get what you pay for, and I would call this a high-end park. One point to note, on the web site, they say it is restricted to Class A, Class C, and fifth wheels. That was not the case when we were there so still consider it if you have a travel trailer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$75
Very clean, beautiful park. Right across the road from the beach. Excellent restaurants nearby. Pads are concrete pavers, very nicely done. View of the sound. Excellent RV resort, we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2014
$70
This place looks good but what you don't see can be really bad. There is a bar within 70 feet of the RV sites that has bands on Fri, Sat & Sun nights from 9 pm to 1:30 am. Sleep impossible. Also one of the office staff very rude. Told me when I complained about the poor WIFI that it was the customers fault for having to many gadgets. Also when I complained about the music I was told that it was a resort area and I should expect. The sad news was that the office person told me that the owner of the park was part owner of the bar and knew how loud the music is. And, the big deal about the Ramada was worthless. The pool was not heated and right next to the Ramada is a great public beach with ample parking. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$71
We stayed here 4 nights for spring break. As stated by others, the facilities were beautiful and well kept. Staff was friendly and helpful. Heated pool was great as weather was a bit cool. Location was good for accessing restaurants and stores. However the small bathhouse was not compatible with our family's needs. We have 6 in our party so we need access to facilities. Bathhouse had only one shower that was also a restroom. In addition, code to get in bathhouse was long and complex. Made access difficult. Beach at Ramada was very nice as were pools. However access was challenging. Road was too dangerous to cross. Pedway over street was nice but had to walk through area with no sidewalks to get to it. Overall nice place but not best fit for our family. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$42
The park is immaculate and the staff and other campers are extremely friendly. Their top priority is upkeep of the property. However, the downside for us (and maybe you can take this as a warning), the bars have activities and live bands planned every night of the week that have very high levels of bass that thump all night. Sat and Sun till 4am and weekdays till 1am. I had to buy earplugs to fall asleep. If this does not bother you please disregard and enjoy a very nice campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$22
Rate reflects monthly fee/discount. Well designed park. Facilities work and maintained as expected. Good maneuverability for big rigs. Sites very comfortably spaced. No shade (not a concern for us in the winter). Nice location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$21
We are here for 2 months and have been extremely happy here except for the weather. Previous reviews are accurate with not much to add but confirm their accuracy. The staff here is excellent which helped us to make up our mind to re-up for 2015. Only problem is that I will go home with a few extra pounds as the area has no shortage of great restaurants. Our rate was computed using our monthly rate of $650 which includes electricity. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$64
This is an exceptionally well-maintained resort! The staff is awesome in all the important areas: friendly, courteous, helpful, attentive, and go the extra mile. They pick up garbage at your site any time of day up to around 4:30. They hand deliver mail to your door! They can be seen walking around the resort tidying up all day long. At our site, electrical power was good. Water pressure maxed out at 40 PSI. Would have liked for it to be a little better. Wi-Fi is spotty at times. Noise from Hwy 98 (Miracle Strip Pkwy) can be heard at all hours of the day. Not too bad, though. Fudpucker's restaurant is next door and there is a fence walk-through from the resort. Guests are allowed to use the Ramada across the street for beach access, exercise room, etc. The only downside is the exercise equipment is dated and in poor shape. The biggest problem with the sites is the location of the pad with the picnic table. On many sites we saw, the pad is not where the RV awnings are, rather, placed more toward the front of the site. When you back all the way into the site, the pad is now at the front of your RV. Not useful if you want to sit out under your awning. When you exit your RV you step right into wood chips. There's not enough area to place your chairs under the awning. This is a poor design. Big rig friendly. The largest of RVs can easily maneuver here. Paved road and all sites are decorative brick and level. No shade but nicely landscaped. Heated pool is kept warm in winter. We really enjoyed out stay and will be back when visiting this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$24
The park is very well maintained with clean restrooms and showers. The pool is heated with plenty of chairs and loungers. You even get access to the Ramada across the street which had several pools, hot tub, exercise room and beach access. There are weekly movies at the pool. It is within a mile of supermarkets and close to everything else. The only downfall is the Wi-Fi. We were within 20' of the antenna and could not connect. We had to walk to the office to get a good connection. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$42
This is a relatively new park, with long, paved (with pavers) sites and patios. In spite of the name, it’s actually in Fort Walton Beach. It’s on the bay side, and right on the water. The facility is well maintained and most utilities were excellent (Wi-Fi was very spotty). The paved interior roads are wide and the sites are very large with grassy areas between rigs. The sites are a mix of back-in and drive-in styles situated around a single loop road. Several near the water have extra space beside them. Unfortunately, the paved sites are on the narrow side and the apron area fronting the interior roads was designed to be too narrow for many larger rigs to enter/exit the sites without driving off the pavement. This is apparently a known issue, since roving maintenance staff appear periodically to rake out the ruts left behind. Like a lot of Florida parks, they are also working to control ants. The “fun house”/restaurant next door can generate some noise, but generally not late into the night. With access to the Ramada facilities across the street (busy US-98 with no crosswalk, though) and gulf beaches very close, this is a nice destination for a stay in Fort Walton Beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$99
This is a very nice park located right on the bay with great spots for the kids to play in the calm bay water. Well kept with great facilities. Management was very accommodating. I would recommend this place to all. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$109
This is without a doubt the best campground we have ever stayed at. Grounds are manicured and immaculate. Sites are brick and level. Sites are long and easy to back or pull into. The amenities are great. When you stay here you have full use of all amenities at the Ramada Plaza Beach Resort across the street with two outdoor pools, a hot tub and a kids water pool. One pool is heated. Easy access to the beach. Free parking at the Ramada or the parking garage next door. There is a pedestrian bridge that makes walking across the highway to the Ramada and beach easy and safe. Campground is on the sound with access to the sound side beach just a short walk away. Pool on premises is clean. Staff was great. This is a well maintained campground! So many restaurants nearby and plenty of places to go within a few miles. I traveled with my son, so if you have children you will find plenty of places for a family to enjoy like the huge water park about 8 miles away! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$109
We recently stayed at Destin West RV resort, and had a great time. Sites were large and open, plenty of room for parking towed vehicles and anything else. Staff was friendly and welcoming. Destin West RV resort is well worth the price. All the sites are easy in/out with a large motorhome. Access to Ramada and usage of all facilities is directly across the street and access to the overhead walkway is very convenient. We will stay her any time we visit Destin/Fort Walton area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$99
Nice park, very clean, and courteous staff. Family friendly and many kids. Many "residents" have more than one vehicle. They need to keep them from parking on landscaped areas. Lots of unauthorized traffic driving through park and parking seaside for a walk along the beach area. They need no parking signs as well as "ALL Vehicles other than tenants MUST Register at office" and enforce it. A gated system should be included for the price that they charge. WiFi was poor overall, and when the park filled on weekend, was unable to log on at all. Amenities at the Ramada across highway is included. Over all great view. Park is new and needs some oversight on a few issues. Very clean grounds and facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$23
This relatively new RV park is located just south of Okaloosa Island Bridge which makes it central to everything in the area. The park is very well kept with a very helpful maintenance staff. The sites are all paver bricks with spacious parking for RV and another vehicle. The free Wi-Fi worked perfectly with a strong signal. There are no large trees which makes it very satellite friendly. The park backs up to a small beach on the bay, furnishing a nice view of the water with park access. The park is very dog friendly with paved dog walking paths that connect to the private beach. A heated swimming pool is always very clean and is located at the end of the park next to the bay. The amenities of the Ramada Inn across the street are available to RV resort guests. A laundry is available and was very clean, although we did not use it. We enjoyed all aspects of this park and have reservations for next winter. The daily rate reflected is based on the winter monthly rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2013
$52
I was very pleased when we first arrived, clean, great Wi-Fi, the bay one our side of the road, the ocean on the other side. Full use of the Ramada Inn pools, beach front etc. BUT then the construction began. They are putting in mini golf course next door. Trucks beeping from 6:30 AM to 6PM, Usual construction noise and we are about 10 steps away. Then they started sanding the water tower. I have never been subjected to this much noise in my life and I am paying for it. I asked then to move us to the other side of the park (we are here for a month) and they couldn't do it. They did not offer a monetary compensation for the racket even though I asked. Customer service sucks. I will not be back. If you come, bring ear plugs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$52
Rate is Good Sam. Small park with a nice small pool and little else. Right on the water with some sites pull in allowing rigs to face the water.. Very small laundry and very few toilets and or showers. Great staff and convenient to Ft. Walton Beach and Destin and the beaches. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2013
$60
We stayed here for a week with some other snowbirds. We love Destin but usually stay at another park. This park has loud construction sites on both sides of the park. The workers using large generators started them about 6 in the morning. The amenities are just OK. This park is definitely not worth the price they are charging. The manager said the going rate during the on season was $109.00. I about dropped my drawers. Not worth the price. Try another place instead. Lovely! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$22
The nightly rate reflects a 2 month stay; the single night rate is considerably higher as one would expect in a beach area resort. The sites are nicely spaced and are paved with bricks that match the patios. Each site has a table and benches. The laundry room is small but clean and is open 24 hours a day, as is the pool. The draw back is the lack of shade and the noise from the boats on the Santa Rosa Sound and the jets from the nearby air bases. Nevertheless, it's clean and in a great location. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$99
This park had only been open for 3 weeks. Still putting finishing touches on the handicap accessible path to Choctawhatchee Bay beach and getting garbage cans installed. They have done a nice job building this park. Ample, level, brick sites that are generously spaced for a beach property. All services were working well, Wi-Fi, cable, heated pool with handicap accessibility, seating and grill. Brand new laundry. The office also carries some RV supplies, t-shirts and coffee. The bathrooms are beautiful tile and clean. The view was incredible from my site. I really enjoyed the bay beach front access. I was able to kayak straight from the campground! This park is dog friendly in more than words. Dogs are allowed on the bay side beach I was able to get in a short walk by walking towards Pensacola and he enjoyed his swim with stick chasing. This is a real bonus since dogs are not allowed on the beaches and walking the busy road is less than relaxing. This is also where the Great Blue Herons are nesting so it was fun to watch them. I also found that if you walked in either direction down the road at the entrance to park, there were options for longer walks. If you head towards Destin then there is the National Park parking lot that you can walk in. If you head towards Pensacola I was able to walk by the Nature Preserve, The Ospreys were nesting there. You can then circle around the convention center lawn and then to a quiet back street that leads to a park but there are no dogs allowed in the park. Both of these options were on the same side of the road as the park. There is also green space on one side of the park and down the middle for those dogs who need less exercise. You have access to all amenities at the Ramada Plaza Beach Resort (sugar white sand beach, cabana heated pool, grotto pool with rock waterfall and swim up bar, hot tub, kiddie pool and children’s Splash Garden, seasonal children’s activities, bars and restaurants). There is also a walkover available so you can avoid walking across the 4 lanes of traffic. This is an amazing beach area, you are close to the National Seashore Park so within a few minutes’ walk up the beach, it’s just beach, no buildings! Go the other way and you have dinner and drinks. You never have to leave this strip of sand. You can also enjoy a longer expanse of beach and boat ramp, on the bay side at the National Seashore park just 4 properties towards Destin. Dogs are not allowed on beach but able to be in parking lot. This park is nestled in between resort properties, so it was fun to be able to get some nature and resort activities at the same place. The grocery store is just a short drive over the bridge and water sports, fishing etc. are all close by. I still shudder at the price of this spot but I do feel like it’s a value, especially for a family that can get all the amenities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$99
This campground is family oriented and caters to Class A, C & 5th Wheels. North of the campground is Choctawhatchee Bay and south, across US Hwy 98, is the Gulf. Grounds are new, 2 weeks old at time of this review. All sites are full hookup with brick paver pads. Roads inside grounds are asphalted. Pool and wet deck are perfect for families and has a pool house with 2 showers. Shower and laundry are also at main entrance. Small beach located on gulf side. Pier not yet built but in the works per mgmt. All campers have permission to use all amenities across road at the Ramada Resort. No shade due to immature palms. Grounds and lawn are very nice and maintained. Management helpful and pleasant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$100
New park with minor growing pains but well worth it. Advertised as 'gated' but no gate. Not to be snobby but should restrict to Class A and maybe 5th wheels. Only one shower/restroom facility for 54 spots. Need another. Other than that, a great facility and yes we'll be back. Excellent location, price is a bit much and should be adjusted down to be competitive. Great staff, very clean facilities. The Destin/Ft. Walton Beach area has some of the most beautiful beaches and water in the world. This RV resort is between the intercoastal waterway and the Gulf of Mexico with full use of the Ramada Inn facilities across the street. Off season rates are reasonable, on season rates are pretty high, but if this facility grows healthy and in the right direction it will continue to be worth the stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com