223426 User submitted reviews online!!
Happy Hills Family Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (301) 678-7760
CGID1332

Happy Hills Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
280
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   5   6   7   6   7   8   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$38
I'm glad that we stayed in our small camper and didn't bring our 39-foot 5th wheel because the sites available to those who are not seasonal campers are small and unlevel, and tree branches are low. I watched one 5th wheel break a small branch off a tree. Be prepared to be out of service for outside communication. Cell service is very poor, and my phone's data service wasn't strong enough to pull in the Internet. The park has Wi-Fi for $3.95/day, but I was not able to connect. One of the seasonals told us that it doesn't work well. They do have cable TV. The speed limit is 5 MPH. Cars were going much faster than that. There's a trail that connects to the Western Maryland Trail about a mile away. Walk your bikes on it! It is full of ruts and rocks and is very muddy if there has been any rain. We took the road to the trail. However, it's a long hilly ride back up to the campground. The store is well stocked, but it is open only until 5. The staff is friendly. Be prepared to pay extra for miniature golf. (We weren't interested in playing it, just mentioning this FYI.) I don't know whether or not there is a charge for the pool. It was not open when were there. They were draining it, I guess for some sort of repair, and the water was running down the road. People there were friendly. It was okay to stay a couple nights so that we could ride our bikes on the trails in the area. However, I would not return. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$34
Review on AllStays seemed nice so we booked an overnight stay on our trip. We were given alternate directions on phone because of low hanging trees on the GPS route. Thank goodness for that. Even with the improved directions we hit leaves and branches about seven times but no damage. The campground is in the middle of nowhere so would never use for an overnight again. When we arrived we were offered two spots to choose from. After a tight tour around the campground we went back to office as both were really not very level. The gentleman said to my wife, "Oh, you are in the ginormous rig." We are 35' feet, hardly ginormous in the motorhome world. He told her about a couple other sites, both of which were fine. We had a great night. Electrical (30 amp) was fine, water fine. Did not use sewer but hookup was convenient. The staff was quite nice though they should have warned about the lack of big rig facilities. Area was quite rural and very full with campers having a great time. Lots of four wheelers. Lots of families. Lots of long term residents. Several of the long termers had really improved their lots with decks and cookers and tables. If you are looking for a longer stay with a fifth wheel or a camper, this would really be nice - certainly a four or five. I could receive no Wi-Fi but did not ask about details. Bathrooms were older but pretty clean and adequate. We were really concerned about the noise from the carts and four Wheelers but by bedtime all was nice. Evening was quiet. There was even a wedding that day along with a reception. We walked by the area while to reception was going on and thought the music was a bit loud until we realized the door was open. When the door shut, we could barely hear it. I guess I have a bit of a problem with campgrounds that want to be everything to all people. They should have let us know about the tightness of the spots. Our slot was a pull-through but we had to back out to keep from running over short stumps. I guess that is why I chose a three instead of a four. We enjoyed the people and the place but the initial hassle was not worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$38
As has been pointed out before, the biggest downfall is the seasonal residents and their powered activities in the form of weed whackers, four wheelers and gas golf carts. The wifi is extra and you have to sign up on line and pay via paypal. I couldn't get it to work on my IPAD. AT&T doesn't get a signal, so be prepared to be without communication. The cable is about 26 channels, so don't count on watching your shows. If you want to enjoy the western trail, your best bet is driving the 7 miles back to town. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
Just when we thought the roads into a campground couldn't get any worse, we found this place. And the low-hanging branches over my site were bad enough that I did my own pruning prior to leaving. It was very quiet while we were here, since we were located at the end of the "seasonal area" where nobody seemed to reside at the time. Bathrooms and showers were old but adequate. The park WiFi was good, Verizon signal was weak. Our site was an end spot very close to to the next one, but spacing was sufficient in most areas. The 30A power and water pressure were good. Our site included a picnic table and fire ring. The staff was very friendly. There was access to the fantastic C & O Canal Rail Trail from the park, which was nice. Services in the small town of Hancock were about a 15-minute drive away. This campground is probably fine for most folks traveling in smaller units for a weekend, but the roads and sites are not intended for larger rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$38
This is my second time at this campground. The major drawback here, is all the seasonal campers and their ATVs and 4 wheelers driving around all day. There are a few ATV type trails at the end of the campground that they ride at, but you can only have an ATV or 4 wheel vehicle if you are a seasonal camper, so this doesn't serve well for anyone wishing to check that out. The sites fairly level, we had w/e/s and cable. They offer wifi service, but you have to pay, and the cell signal here is very weak, so don't bother paying for the wifi. The campground is run by a family, and they offer weekend activities that are fun. Both of my trips here, they had a live band play on Saturday night, which was fun. If you want to ride your bike or walk, the Western Maryland Rail Trail ( a paved trail ) is 3/4 of a mile from the campground. You could also drive into the town of Hancock ( maybe 5 minutes ), and access the trail there. That trail is very nice, paved and flat, and mostly shady. They don't seem to be strict here for noise, and do not come around and monitor you, which is nice, so they let you enjoy your camping. There isn't a lot in the area besides the bike trail and a possible day trip to Berkley Springs. The Potamac River is nearby, but I am not sure how to access it near this campground. They could use more help in the office, which they also have a snack shop run by the same folks running the desk, so its very busy and not organized. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$38
This park has some great attributes and a few problems. The approaching road is steep and needs resurfacing, but it is not impassable. The park is 7 miles out of town, so no road noise. The sites are a little tight, and many are seasonal and/or permanent, but they are mostly very well-cared for, with landscaping, patios, etc. The people are mostly friendly but we did feel a little like outsiders. However, start a conversation and everyone is friendly. The breakfast buffet on weekends ($6.95 all you can eat) is really good. The activities are varied and would appeal to all ages. It is a little noisy, with many ATVs and golf carts cruising around regularly. The pool is huge and clean, but opens whenever the kids guarding feel like opening it. It is also open to the locals (for a fee) but even on Labor Day weekend was not overly-crowded. The park is run by a large family, and while they are friendly and helpful they are somewhat disorganized. Reservations are not computerized and we witnessed a big mix-up at the front desk, plus then neighbors of ours were sent to 4 different sites trying to find one that was available and would fit their 36-foot 5th wheel. Showers were clean and free, but operated by a pull rope and you cannot adjust the temperature. Water was blazing hot, which is not what I wanted on a 90-degree day, and rinsing long hair with one hand is difficult. All in all, however, this is a decent place to stay and the only game in town, so we would stay again. We were here to bike on the Western Maryland Rail Trail, which we would highly recommend. C&O Cycling in town has knowledgeable and friendly employees, and the Triangle Restaurant is a great place for a tasty and reasonably-priced meal. Check them out! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
This was a nice CG with friendly staff. It is a large one with lots of permanent sites with most of them being maintained. Maintained with a nice camp/snack store,huge pool, scheduled activities, there is a horse barn available for use which we were camping near but didn't bother us. It is nestled in the mountains with bike/hiking trails leading into town. Fire rings are provided and wood is offered. Gravel roads and sites, not all sites are level. We are not sure about WiFi as we use a Mifi card through Verizon and cell phone w/USCellular but didn't get any reception with either. We stayed in a 38' fifth wheel and would not have fit into every site but were very happy with our pull through site. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Nice clean campground. Room sites, but not necessarily level. Only problem we had was pool (in mid August) closed at 6pm. Grandchildren were disappointed - especially since the pool was very nice and exceptionally large for a campground. We would, however, stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$38
I certainly agree with previous comments regarding the large proportion of seasonal/annual folks vs short term campers. The campground does have a bit of a "trailer park" appearance. Having said that, the people that were around us were EXTREMELY friendly and helpful. Pros - full service store with food service; very nice and helpful staff; incredible Halloween weekend activities; set in a nice area off the beaten path. Cons - trailer park atmosphere; playground is run down; not many level sites. Bottom line, we would return for a weekend primarily due to its proximity to us, and we enjoyed the people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
We just stayed the weekend at this park which is very close to Berkley Springs. The personnel at the front office were very nice to us. My wife had a great time talking to the people at the horse stables. We will come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
I agree with the other comment about this place being more like a trailer park than a campground. Not only do you pay to stay there but you have to pay for use of the amenities as well such as the pool, miniature golf etc. This should be included with your stay. The campground was well off the beaten path, which is nice but there were more regulars there than there were guests. The office was a bit unorganized and pricey. I will not stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$38
I am a seasonal camper at happy hills. I not happy seeing people bash it for the having seasonal campers, or for the management being on a personal level with the seasonals. They don't "Cater" to us as they referred, its just a friendly family environment . I used to be a weekender and decided to become permanent due to the great facilities and the people. What's wrong with everyone knowing each other and being a campground family . Don't condemn it for that, come back a few times, get to know us and you will become family too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2009
$38
We camped in April 2009 and would never go back. It was in a very secluded location and well off the beaten path. It is more like a trailer park then a campground. I think there were only a few rows that would accommodate weekenders. The rest were either seasonal or permanent residents. We went Easter weekend and they did have activities for kids like a hay ride and Easter egg hunt. However, we felt like outsiders because everyone seemed to live there. The office was run by the owners children and although they were polite they were clueless. We ended up getting charged 2x for the same stay because their bookkeeping is so poor they didn't know if we had paid a deposit and then couldn't remember that we paid the remainder when we arrived. Instead of asking they just charged us again. It seemed like the older kids kept themselves busy by riding golf carts and four wheelers around all day. Of course when you have young children like we do, it was a little dangerous for them to even ride their bikes for fear of being ran over by the endless riding around of golf carts and four wheelers. The campground is in a great location and could be a nice park if they got rid of the permanent residents and most of the seasonal campers. Did I mention that they also burn their trash in a big pile in the back? We would never camp there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
The campgrounds is out of the way, which we loved. There was lots to do at the campgrounds, however, everything closed up much too early. We wanted to play mini-golf and it was closed at 5:00pm. The office/store closed early as well. A great campground, just make sure you take your own entertainment. Campsites were not level at the bottom of the hill. They definitely cater more to the seasonal campers. Cell phones don't get out and even the air card for the computer doesn't work in this area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
Large campground located out of the way with access on twisty and narrow (but paved) roads several miles out of town. Washroom facilities were average to a little worse but acceptably clean. While there are indeed many un-level lots and they cater primarily to seasonals, we were directed to a level and convenient pull through by friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2006
$32
This park has more sites with seasonal people than the regular vacationer. The sites were close together and roads were narrow and gravel. They do allow horses but there were piles of horse waste on the roads that were not cleaned up. We were placed in the back of the campground which resembled a parking lot with a horse barn closeby and a few trailers that were parked there for storage. The area we were in was dirty and not taken care of. The pull through sites were very narrow and some were on a slight hill which would be hard to level a large motorhome. Our advice if you have a large motorhome (anything over 34 foot) would be to avoid this park. Also no sewage and the dump station hose was broken so you could not use it. We were told to go into an empty site the day of our departure and just use that sewage system there which would have been rather inconvenient for us. This is one park that we do not intent to return to for a visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$35
Nice campground. Bathrooms and showers clean and working. Very nice pool with kiddie pool too, staffed with a lifeguard. Lots of seasonals, but the overnight pull throughs are fairly small sites. Be choosy, many are sloped, a few are flat. About 7 miles from I-70, but the narrow, twisting, bumpy road feels more like 20 miles! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
Park was well run and staff friendly. This was our first visit here & won't be our last. Great pool with life guard on duty! Road to and from campground is tight, we camped here in a 34' class A with no problems. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2006
$35
Didn't stay here just adding website (difficult to find) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2005
$28
Very nice campground in the hills of western Maryland. Large and roomy pull through sites. Permanent sites are very well kept with landscaping and decking. Stable for horseback riding campers too. Close to the Potamac River and C&O canal for biking, riding, ATVing and walking. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$25
We stopped at this location on the way back from our vacation for one night. It was okay but not a place I would probably stay a long vacation. Most sites are seasonal however very well kept. It is next to a National Forest so it looks like there are lots of hiking. Horse trails and stable. Be careful. The campground is up a long narrow winding country road. However, not very steep. The sites were okay. The bathrooms looked realatively neat however very old and needs some repair. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$25
Great pool. Nice shaded sites, a little narrow. Clean safe family campground. Good hiking paths. Bring your four-wheeler for the miles of trails. Some people had horses and there are stalls. Right next to the C&O Canal National Park and the Potomac river. 20 mile paved biking path near by. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$25
Next to a National Forest so there is lots of hiking. Pretty and quiet location. Horse trails and stable. Great place to take the kids. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com