221634 User submitted reviews online!!
Buckley AFB Famcamp (Military Camping Only) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (720) 847-6100
CGID13329

Buckley AFB Famcamp (Military Camping Only)

Camp Information
Sites
38
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   8   7   7   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$22
This is a military campground located in an urban area. The reservation system was down so it was "first come, first served" during this time period. Reservation system is supposed to be back on line 1 Oct 14. Must access the base via the commercial gate which is open 24/7. Sites are well spaced from each other with a mix of back ins and pull thrus. We found an open space. parked, and then headed to Outdoor Recreation, Bldg 1022 to register. There is no place at Outdoor Recrearion to park RV to register. Utilities were fine but did not use the boathouse/laundry. Verizon cell/MiFii and ATT MiFi worked well. Campground is located right across from the runways but noise was not an issue. There appear to be some long term campers in the campground. Good BX and Commissary. No diesel fuel on base as far as we could tell. We would stay need again if in the area, We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$22
This FamCamp is managed by Outdoor Recreation. There are no reservations. You just drive in, pick a spot, get setup, then drive your vehicle over to Outdoor Rec and let them know which site you’re in so they can give you a pass and a MiFi. That’s right, I said MiFi. For a $50 refundable deposit, they will sign out an unlimited Verizon MiFi for you to use during your entire stay. The FamCamp itself isn’t maintained very well. The weeds that cover the ground are occasionally mowed. There is no playground or other amenities. But with its close proximity to Denver, free MiFi, free laundry, and very spacious sites, its definitely worth the stay. The BX and Commissary are also right down the road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$22
While it is apparent that there is very little management associated with this CG, I'm not one to look for dirt, or grass, when given a pile of gold. There are a lot more positives than negatives. All sites are absolutely level, concrete pads which any sized rig can fit onto with plenty of extra space for another vehicle. The interior road is asphalt. There are a handful of pull thru's, but don't expect to get one since this is a no-res CG. The bath house is modern with a couple showers/toilets each. The laundry room has two new wash/dry machines and they are free to use. Voltage is on the marginal side if you're a two AC RV and want to pop on the microwave or electric water heater. The CG was full and it was 90+ degrees at the time of this review. There are no trees to provide shade but then that makes it a cinch to lock in the sat signals. They do something with respect to WiFi that I have never seen done before. You can check out a Verizon 4G MiFi for a $50 refundable deposit and take it to your RV. It was fast, free access, and you're on your own network. If you happen to be a bandwidth hog, then you will be delighted. This is not a "kid friendly" park since there is no play ground, but there are plenty of kids here now and they seem to make do. Check-in at the rec center, albeit can't be done on the weekend, is easy with friendly and helpful staff. This is not your typical AF base in that there isn't a lot of base amenities. There is a commissary that is well stocked. You don't have to use the commercial gate. The base powers to be figures that everyone is totally without any RV driving skills, so they want you to use the gate that can accommodate a cruise ship. I always use the 6th street gate because it is the closest to the FamCamp. I am a 38 ft without a tow. 5ers or TTs may have a bit more of a challenge just due to the lack of backward visibility in turns, but if you are an experienced driver then it's doable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$22
This is a good campground. Sites are pretty level and spacious; however, no trees. It was quiet, clean, and close to Denver. With a deposit, you can receive a Verizon MiFi device for free WiFi which was strong and good. Definitely will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$22
What a shame, such a nice park and it's not maintained. There is no grass, just loads of thorny weeds and dirt. The weeds aren't even mowed and some were over 2 feet high. There is no shade or trees and no Wi-Fi. On the plus side, the hookups are good and the concrete pads are nice. The park is easy to navigate and big rig friendly. The whole park is satellite TV friendly with nothing to obstruct the signal. I also got over 20 stations with my antenna. Cell phone and Verizon air card work well here. They have a park host, but I was told they are usually not here. We never saw them at their camp site. What good is a park host that's not there? I made a reservation and paid via phone. When I got to the base, they had no record of my reservation. Took about 45 minutes to sort out. I would give them a higher rating if they just had someone to look after the park and maybe clean the restrooms and mow the weeds. The place has potential, but at present it's badly neglected. When entering the base come in the commercial gate which is at the corner of Mississippi and Aspen streets. When you approach the gate, take the RIGHT lane. They had an RV try to take the left lane, but it's too narrow for all but the smallest rig. This guy got wedged between the concrete barriers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$22
Buckley Air National Guard Base famcamp (retired/active duty military only) is located at the end of Steamboat Road. To get on the base you MUST go through the commercial gate. (Intersection of E. Mississippi and S. Aspen or coordinates 39.69654N and 104.76995W.) This campground offers FHU sites (30 & 50 Amp) with moderately level cement slabs (some pull through, some back in), picnic table and, an in-ground charcoal grill. The process is you go to the CG, find a site and then go to the RV office. In Aurora’s hot summertime you best have a strong A/C unit as there is NO shade at any site we viewed. They claim to have planted trees, but some unnamed thief removed them. They have 2 showers and 2 toilet stalls per M/W restroom, no WiFi but free laundry (2 washers/2 dryers, very inadequate for a campground this size) and no organized campground events. We are here through the weekend due to a problem with our RV engine. The previous reviewers were pretty much right on. The RV office is not at the park but is located at 538 S. Aspen Way (Bldg 1022). They have a surprisingly nice commissary, BX (well stocked and fairly large) plus gas station, but no diesel. Our Verion 4G air card worked well and there are TV antenna stations available. A nice, paved, long bike/walking trail beside the campground offers the chance to walk the dogs or stretch your legs. They have a camp host but their site is unmarked, they never came around to identify themselves, nor do they appear to check the sites. For the price we would consider this park in the future, but NOT during Denver’s hot summer or cold winter days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$22
Before making reservations we checked out their website. Directions to arrive are spot on. Exit 7 (GPS indicated exit 9) through a commercial gate. There is a sign that indicates that RVs check in on right, but do not have to with personal vehicles, just proceed to gate. Straight on Aspen to Steamboat (you will see main gate) before turning right. CG was well thought out for convenience of getting in and out of sites. Lots of space between sites, concrete pads and paved roads. Each site has wonderful picnic table and grill (ours must have never been used before). The things lacking to get a rating of 7. It was hard to make this reservation: took 3-4 phone calls to finally reach a person. Site was paid for with Visa, so no receipt received. Since this was an overnighter we were not disconnecting to check in at bldg 1022, and get one (no one at CG when arrived). CG is definitely right along the flight line, no shade, no pool and the grounds (grass) are in need of attention. More weeds and scratchy grass. It would be a stretch if we stay here again, really hard up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$22
This park just opened on April 1. It is a very nice park. The parking pads are cement and electric is 50 Amp. There is no cable TV, but you can pick up all the Denver channels on your antenna. They do not have Wi-Fi yet, but they say they are working on it. We used the laundry which was free. There were 2 washers and 2 dryers. Since they just opened April 1, I am thinking that the laundry might not always be free. There was only 1 trash dumpster and that would not be enough if the place was full which I am sure it will be as the season progresses. There was no shade but it is on the plains next to the base flight line and so if felt OK not having trees. There was a lot of grass. Only real negative was the crabby old man who checked us in. He communicated in grunts and acted as though we were bothering him. Maybe he needs the customer service course. The woman in the office was very personable and knowledgeable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com