223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Duncan's Family Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 71 user reviews. Phone: (410) 741-9558
CGID1334

Duncan's Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
300
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$60



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   1   8   8   2   7   10   6   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2014
$60
If we hadn't paid this high rate, I might be more kind. But we had a huge generator running day and night within 50 feet and a second 200 feet away. The cable hookup was in the next site. The "free" Wi-Fi was a joke--it takes 3 minutes to open a traditional site. But they offer you a "speed-up" for $$. Their café had only half of the things we wanted to order. The lifeguard sat while a stranger rescued a toddler. C'mon folks -- live up to your billing! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2014
$60
Dirty, dirty, dirty. Had to shower the dogs after every walk. More gravel in the coach than a pit. Was not told when checking in that the park did not have power, 12 hours later generators were running. They were kind enough to trim branches so we could leave. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$28
October trip, so park was almost empty. Some seasonals. Nicely wooded. Some road noise which probably would not be noticeable if normal park noises were happening. Interior roads need grading, but it is the end of a long rainy season. Site was roomy and easy to back into. Wi-Fi weak and intermittent. Water pressure very high. Would definitely return if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$43
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Information was provided on attractions nearby and detailed instructions on how to get to the nearest metro to travel into the city. They have a little nature trail to walk on. Sites are good sized and everything kept clean. One of the few parks we've been at where you can set your trash and recycling out at the curb for pickup. We full-time in our RV with our two cats and spent eight days here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
Just spent five LONG weeks in this campground while working in the DC area. Could not take it any longer and moved 30 minutes further south. The electric is pitiful. They actually burned power cords on several neighboring RVs and the power panel on one. Our EMS was constantly cutting our power off to protect our coach and water pressure is non-existent; all the while management blamed the electrical problems on everyone's rigs and accepted no responsibility. And, they had the audacity to raise the monthly rate another $100. Could not get out of there fast enough and will Never go back! The sites are small and nothing but sand and leaves and not worth near what they are charging.Don't care how close to DC they are! Such a shame, could be nice but the owner doesn't have a clue! The $35 nightly rate is based on the almost $1,100 a month they were charging, which included electric. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$55
We chose this campground as it is closer to Mt. Vernon than our usual destination when visiting the DC area. We arrived quite late, but our check in information was in the 'late arrivals' box at the welcome center. Our site was OK, nothing great. It was reasonable level, but just long enough. We did not avail ourselves of any of the activities, as we were there only as a base and as such it was fine. One nice feature is that the pool is open late, 9pm and 8pm all except Sunday when it closes at 6pm. We would return here if in the area as it is closest to Annapolis. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$50
We've gone to Duncan's the last 3 years for the "kids are special" weekend. This year, we talked another couple into coming with us, and they were sold! Such friendly staff that works there! The planned activities they had for the kids were off the chart! Pool is great, very pet friendly. They have a doggie park, playground, and mini golf. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$56
Close to DC and Annapolis. Showers had poor water flow and were dirty. RV sites are on dirt, mostly level, hook ups are at the back of the site - a long power cord is necessary. Roads through the park have potholes. There's a busy street close by and you can sometimes hear traffic noise, especially early weekday mornings. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$59
Being a mother of four, this was the place to go! We stayed for the “big” memorial day weekend everyday had scheduled activities, My family was never bored. The 3 girls especially loved arts and craft time with the nice activities lady. My son and husband enjoyed the tug-o-war and afterwards the corn hole tournament (SO COOL)! I was very impressed with the staff, such helpful people. The only downside was the weather, it was so cold, but not a big deal. My kids still enjoyed the pool! Would defiantly recommend this place for a family vacation!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$44
We were not warmly welcomed in the office on arrival, but next day there were only temporary staff because regulars were out sick, so perhaps that was the reason for what felt like a cool reception. Nice wooded surroundings, but sites are very close with alternating hookups such that for us, the hookups were on the door side. Two fire-pits on one side because of this awkward staggered arrangement. Had to park the truck elsewhere as no room on our site. It's off season so it was raining, making the sites and roads very muddy as they were inadequately graveled. Our whole site was flooded for two days. Small laundry was clean, but expensive. $2 for small washer tub (no large ones), $3 to dry a load of towels. Excepting those points, and some trashy-looking permanent units, it looks like it would be an okay place in season with its pool and playground for the kids. Would have rated it higher if sites were well graveled. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$42
Great location to visit Washington DC (45 minutes away) but only 21 miles. Staff was very helpful and the sites are easy to get into. Probably very busy during the summer, but lots of space this month! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$50
Big rig tight! When you arrive, park and walk to your site to make sure you will fit. There is one corner we almost did not make it around. Roads are paved, sites are gravel and grass. Electric was a little low but not enough to set off our surge protector, even running both A/Cs. Lot of trees, do not count on satellite; nice selection of cable channels. Pet friendly (breed restrictions call to verify), spotless, employees are very helpful. The sites on the back row alternate, so you can park door facing door with another camper. Good mix of campers - seasonals, full-timers, weekenders. I marked it a 7 because it is a bit tight, expensive and they need to give out an instruction sheet when you check in with info on what to do with trash, cable channels, store hours, etc. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$65
Lots of stuff to do with kids at Duncan's. Lifeguards on duty at pool. Cute little café with pizza, ice cream and hotdogs. Friday or Saturday night they have outdoor family friendly movie night with a large blow up movie screen. Scavenger hunts for the kids during day. The owner is very creative and personal about keeping her guests happy. I really loved this park. We stayed there for 30 days while working and we had two kids with us. The kids never wanted to leave. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$56
Awesome campground. My husband and I are insurance adjusters and we travel all over the United States and this is by far one of our top picks in campgrounds. We stayed here while working for about 3 weeks with our 2 kids, one 15 and the other 10, plus we had our 3 dogs. What I liked the most was all the kids and kid activities. My kids never wanted to leave the park and were outside all day playing in the pool that has a life guard on duty at all times, a pool slide, pool toys and large enough for the whole campground. Plus there is a convenience store right next to the pool that has home made pizza, nachos, ice cream, slushies and all kinds of stuff with an outdoor picnic area. They have this cool little stage with picnic tables all around where they have events for the whole family like movie night where they set up a movie screen and show family style movies. When the pool closes at 9pm, you walk right next door and watch a movie and eat. During the day they have scavenger hunts and all kinds of events for the kids. This place is 15 to 30 minutes from everywhere. There is Breezy Beach where you find sharks teeth and all kinds of historical places. Its easy access to Washington DC. We parked our vehicle at the Largo Metro Stop and took the metro to the Smithsonian. It was $9 a person and the metro train dropped us off right in front of the Smithsonian Museum of Natural History. It took all of 45 minutes. This park is clean. Lots of showers, laundry rooms and space between RV's. You can have a very shady spot or open spot. It's expensive out here in Maryland which we were not aware of however there are a lot of free activities and tourist stuff to do. I love this place and of course its pet friendly. It even has its own fenced in pet park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$53
Pro's. Nice pool, friendly staff, shaded sites. Con's. Bathrooms and showers not cleaned often enough. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$45
I spent several months at this campground while working in the DC area. The staff is amazing,so helpful. I had trouble getting my awning out and the staff saw me and came right over to help. The restrooms are very clean and they have one in the front that is very new. I don't have kids but i saw a lot of kids here for the campgrounds Halloween. This place was packed two weekends in a row. It looked like a lot of fun. I can tell the Duncan family puts a lot of pride into their work. The roads are well maintained, not paved but okay. The site was big enough, the electric boxes look like they have had some repairs recently. All in all I would highly recommend this campground to anyone working in the area or to families that want to have a nice family camping spot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2011
$43
After reading the negative reviews on this park we called them to ensure they had a space to fit our rig and that their Wi-Fi was working properly. We were advised everything was in working order so we decided to stay. When we arrived it took over an hour to check in as the space they assigned was way too small plus we could not negotiate the turn to get into the space. We toured the park and found a space that would work but were informed that space was reserved for their "preferred customers." Most spaces were muddy and very small. We were to learn the Wi-Fi did not work except during the middle of the night. The two "kids" (the girl had a pierced nose) that worked the front desk were very rude. We asked to speak to the owner and were informed she was too busy to speak to campers. Many of the washing machines were broken. There were numerous signs throughout the park advising they were on well water and sometimes the water was dirty. We were advised to use at our own risk. We will never stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$41
We chose this park because the sites were larger than those at Cherry Hill and it was cheaper. It might have been better to go to Cherry Hill. The advertised tours from the campground don't exist because the tour guide passed away this summer. The shuttle to the Metro (priced at $5 per person) only goes at two times daily--9 AM and 5 PM in off season. The main interior road leading to our site had a huge pothole in it. Some of the condition of the campground I could forgive due to all the recent rains from Hurricane Irene and TS Lee, but it just looked a little tired and there were a lot of school kids walking to the bus stop so there are also a lot of permanent residents here too. The 50 amp service was good, there was a lot of road noise as we were parked on the row next to the street. The staff wasn't exceptionally helpful with information about the Metro or how to get around Washington, DC. We would not go back there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$51
We spent 5 nights here. VERY HOT when we were there and the pool was even warm. The pool had life guard on duty. Nice staff. Location makes for easy trip to DC. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2011
$39
Closest we could get to DC, but that is about all that can be said in their favor. Deferred maintenance, inadequate gravel and leveling, odd placement of the hookups. The usual signs of an older park on its downhill slide. They initially sent us to a site that had NO hookups! Laundry was nice but the dryers were a ripoff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$43
Arrived Good Friday. The staff was very attentive and friendly. Very quick check in. The inner roads are a mix of gravel and sand. Great for keeping the dust down. Our site was on the end and after a little searching, we were level. The camp store is nicely stocked, even has a nice snack bar. The bathhouse, is clean and well lit. The showers are a bit old, but very nice and clean. This place is very pet friendly. They even have a staff member pick up trash several times a day, another plus. Since it is close to our home, we will be visiting here quite often. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$41
Not a lot of other choices nearby. Staff not overly friendly. Their cancellation is 7 days and there is no refund for leaving early. Did not reveal the $5.00 charge per person charge for transport to metro. Also only one trip each way per day. When we first arrived my wife said, "This place looks junky." They do not appear to be putting anything back into the camp. Would prefer to not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2011
$38
Sites are sand/gravel, nearly level, and not large (50amp sites look larger). Roads are tight but negotiable. Baths are clean, but water pressure is low. Staff/owners are friendly. Great dog park and lots of places to walk dog. Kiddie playground, horseshoe pit, pool (closed for season), bball hoop, volleyball court. Quite a few seasonal/permanents. Arrived during 2" of rain and were assigned a site but told to pick what we wanted. Site did dry out fine. Sands Road is noisy, but stopped at night. We camped in a 30' fifth wheel. Will probably return as it is only 20 minutes from family and only 5 minutes from the CAA Women's Basketball tournament next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2010
$41
We stayed here as it is only 20 minutes to Annapolis Naval Academy. The sites were poorly marked, and some had huge puddles. The office staff was very slow, and the check-in took more than 15 minutes as the woman was on the phone and evidently the other person couldn't check us in. Many long term sites. Cable was on and off constantly. Campground is in need of updating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$37
We would rate this a 5, but the location makes it just slightly more desirable. Sites are a mix of scruffy grass, sand, and gravel, but do have beautiful mature trees. Pool was closed this late in the season, but looked well kept. Good kid facilities. Washrooms/showers were modern and in good shape, and generally were kept clean. (Floors were dirty one day, but we had had 12 hours of rain, so it was to be expected dirt would track in.) WiFi was disappointing. Although we always had a strong signal, the connection was always slow, and frequently was reset. It looks like there are quite a few season/permanent residents. We were back away from the office, and had no problems with traffic noise on Sands Road. We would probably stay here again if we had to, but would probably look elsewhere first. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$41
Poorly maintained campground. Site was 30 amp to hold down cost. Cable TV was good. Didn't use their Wi-Fi, but Verizon cell and air card worked fine. Sites very tight and the interior roads were tight for 40' MH. Not many choices this side of DC. Would suggest Cherry Hill CG north of DC if you don't need to be south. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$46
This was our first stay anywhere. It is nice, easy to get to. Site was a pull through at the end of a row. Sites are set up so you don't look directly into your neighbors at night around the fire pit. Every site had it's own fire pit and picnic table. There are two sets of showers, both pretty clean, both readily available. The staff stays on top of the bathrooms, but you can tell they are used. There is no fowl odors, or "messes," but they're aren't as clean as home. The pool was always busy, but well monitored, clean and fun for children. Security is good. Everyone who comes in the only entrance has to stop and get a hang tag for their car. Friday night there is free S'Mores. Each night there is a movie. There is mini-golf, basketball, sand volleyball, teather ball, horse shoes and a play ground. All were in working order. We don't have anything to judge it against, but would definitely stay here again. It's nice. People were friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$42
2nd year in a row camping here but only as it is best value for DC area. It does not meet the higher standards that we are used to in Ontario, Canada. Pros : lots of trees, close to DC (straight up Pennsylvania Ave.), price, clean washrooms, nice pool with slide. Cons : grass does not grow as the sites are sandy, grass that does grow is seldom cut (until the long weekend), poor Wi-Fi - good reception but slow, very few weekday campers so no camaraderie (also everyone is gone all day sightseeing), Sands Road is very, very noisy (motorcycles and dump trucks) with the serviced sites adjacent to the road. We would stay here again only because the other private DC campgrounds have small sites with no shade. Suggest a Regional Park instead but hard to get availability on weekends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$48
Rating this CG a six, is really being nice. The pools and bathroom are very clean. There is a water slide as well. The campsites are small and unkempt. The grass looks like it hasn't been cut in weeks, the roads are very bumpy, and there are a lot of regulars. Also looked like there are people that live here year-round. Not everyone cleans up after their dog either. Most of the CG is next to a highway and a trailer park across the street. Most of the staff is friendly and very helpful. The activities are designed for children ages 5 and younger, although my older girls chose to participate anyway. This CG is a great base to visit DC. They provide van service at a small fee, if you choose. However, it is not the place to actually camp. The playgrounds are nice and one is even in the shade. Keep in mind that there are few trees in the campsites. This is the first CG we visited where there was no place to hang a clothes line. What are you supposed to do with wet towels?? We will not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$52
Would have rated more but the sites were heavy with dirt, it rained while we were here and yes there was mud. Has a very nice pool even a kiddy pool. Big grocery store is about two miles away. Yes, the metro/subway is easy to use and the way to go to DC. Snack bar/store was not much. Wonder of wonders: the staff will let your pet out once or twice while you are out sightseeing. More camps need to do this. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
This is a nice family owned campground, fun for kids, nice pool. Convenient to DC via shuttle. Been there 3 times and will go back, not fancy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$50
Stayed during the Memorial Day weekend so the rate was higher. Campground was packed and so was the pool. Don't know what it would be like normally, but it seems to be a very popular place for locals. Nothing wrong with it, if you want an actual campground and place for children to feel welcome. Good location for accessing the Metro to D.C. (which isn't cheap but it sure makes it easier). No shopping nearby. Must go at least 5 miles for groceries. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$38
This campground is like a second-rate KOA. It has pluses and minuses. I had read the previous 9s and 10s and was expecting more. The staff seemed friendly. The bathroom looked new and was very clean. The playground seemed new. The pool was not open when we were there but looked OK. The camp store was about average, shelves stocked with most necessities. It featured a snack bar. There is a miniature golf course that looked playable. Despite these positives, do not expect a 9 or 10 level park. The primary problem is the overall look of the park. The road signs were poor, many looking homemade or so faded as to be virtually unreadable. The fencing had peeling paint. Some of the campsite number signs were broken and leaning over each other. Some campers looked like they had been sitting on their sites untouched for months. The sites were grass and dirt with no clear markings between them. The pull-throughs were close together and alternatively facing each other, so your camper is very close to one neighbor's camper and the picnic table/fire ring are in an area shared with the other neighbor. The back-ins are against a vegetation-covered fence, and the road is on the other side. Not the worst campground we have been to, but not a 9 or 10 either. I doubt we will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$45
Very clean, very friendly park. Has either a great staff development program or a very large family. Pleasant and responsive with inquiries or small issues. Only drawback may be tighter (but doable) turns for larger rigs. Has good gravel sites, well compacted. Beautiful seventeen mile back road trip to Annapolis, but near major roads if you want them. Shower, restroom and laundry areas are very well lit and clean. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
Our second visit here, still lovely. Surprisingly quiet for its location. Many sites fully shaded, rest mixed sun and shade. New (2009) dog park is terrific for small dogs, too small for our greyhounds to run, but they're retired, so they didn't care. Fully shaded for the pets, slope means it drains well, and it's equipped with pickup bags and trash bins, along with water. Staff was friendly and helpful. (Our rate was after a military discount.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$44
I stayed here while working at a local hospital for 3 weeks during the middle of November - December. The camp is wonderful! You can't beat the staff, and everyone working appears to really enjoy their jobs! They have LP available for your camper (portable tanks, or you can pull up in your big rig). Sure, it was a little cold! I'm in the North! But, life on the road. This place used to be a KOA (years back) and it has a really cool putt-putt course, a small stage which I'm sure there are shows for the kids during the summer months. The shower house, and rest rooms are clean. Easy to get to off I-4 and the lots (for the most part) are of small gravel. Yes, I'll stay here, again, if I ever have the need to work in this part of the country! One of the very few in this area which is open year-round! Thanks for a great experience! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$45
This campground is a safe bet - nothing flashy, but not lacking. It used to be a KOA and then it went independent a while back. It is in need of some updates, but what they have is clean. The Wi-Fi worked fine. The pool is kept clean, as are the bathhouses. The sites are not all level, since there is some sandy, loamy soil here that washes around in rainstorms. But there is a lot of shade for some spots, to the point it is even dark on a sunny day. One reviewer noted the "terse-ness" of discourse, yes, that is local mannerism, indeed. The Enterprise rent-a-car in Upper Marlboro will pick you up here if you need a car. Camp operates a van shuttle to the Metro Rail. Day camp programs run during the summer, bus loads of local kids show up for fun time at times. Scouts will also occasionally stay here as well. New dog park is a safe place for your pooch to run off leash. Private security and camp staff patrol grounds. We like it for its easy access to Route 4 to go south, north to tour DC, and east to the Bay beach. Tip: Go south on Route 4 and buy ultra fresh produce and just-caught seafood from mom-and-pop (and sometimes just pop!) roadside operations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$58
I think the last few ratings were a little overstated. It is old and tired, clean but needs updating. This campground also suffers from poor grading and soils. The soil is silty sandy which quickly becomes mud when it rains and many of the sites are eroded (no grass, only sand). There are some very nice grassed sites but they are not serviced with sewers. We were lucky with only the first night being wet but it took a couple of days to dry up. We showed up just as the local kids went back to school so the store and pool hours were erratic: frustrating since the rates were not discounted as off-season. Pool was not very clean when we showed up, but by Labour Day weekend, they had it sparkling. Staff was friendly if not a little abrupt (I think it is local mannerisms more than attitude). The campground seems too remote for daily trips to Washington but we have never stayed anywhere else. It takes 1/2 hour to get to the Metro (or anywhere else) and then another 1/2 hour into the city. Locally, there is no shopping for groceries though there is a Wal-Mart about 20 minutes away. Highway noise is not a problem but the local road (Sands Road) is a local drag strip at night and a lot of dump truck traffic in mornings. The campground was packed for Labour Day weekend but I think that people's standards are lower since there must not be much else available. We would not return, probably head to Cherry Hill instead. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
My wife and I stayed here with our two young kids and scheduled our stay over the “Family Fun Weekend”. The campground hosted a ton of activities for the whole family to participate in. Bingo, T-Shirt Coloring, Treasure Hunt, Candy Scramble, outdoor movies each evening, and a pancake breakfast on Sunday morning. The staff went out of their way to ensure everyone had a good time. The swimming pool was large, clean, and well maintained and had two lifeguards and a small kids pool as well. There are two playgrounds and a miniature golf course that are both very clean and well maintained. The bathhouses were clean, and there were a lot of them. Most of the camp sites that we saw were pull through. My only complaint was that in our section the sites were very close together, and they were laid out like a “buddy” campsite, where every other campsite pulled through from opposite sides, resulting in an awning-to-awning set up. Luckily, the people in the site next to us were nice, polite, and non-bothersome. Power, water, sewer, cable, and wireless all worked well, and the site was relatively level. There were a lot of seasonal campers that were located mostly in the section behind the office. I would avoid the back half, but it looks like they’re doing a lot of work to improve it. The roads and campsites are dirt, and although it didn’t rain while we were there, I could see how it could get pretty messy if it did. We will likely return; while it's not a 10, we did enjoy ourselves, the staff, and the facilities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
The tent sites are large and shaded. The site we had was shaded so much so that it was about 10 degrees cooler at our site than it was by the pool. Showers are clean and well maintained. Pool is very nice and kept up. We were very happily surprised at how nice this campground was. Quite often being a tent camper you find yourself out in an area away from everyone and everything, that was not the case here. We will be going again! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
My wife and I stayed here for six days thru July 8, 2009. We've been on this trip for a month now and I found this park to be one of the best. WiFi is flawless and fast. Cable has about one hundred channels (including the digitals). Weekend activities offered are great. Movie night, karioke, popcorn. This park surpasses many of the KOAs we stay at. The park is very quiet. No road noise at all, no planes, no trains. The swimming pool is large and has lifegurards. The park store includes a snack bar where you can get pizza, soft pretzels, hamburgers and dogs. The store itself is well stocked with RV supplies and carries a more than adequate supply of grocery items. Prices seem to be typical for most RV convenience stores. There is a horseshoe area, playground, and miniature golf. There are three conveniently located bathhouses on the property, all well-maintained and clean. There is a good selection of lots - both pull through and back in, tent sites, cabins and a couple of cottages. Everyone on the staff is friendly and very helpful. The park is close enough to the DC area (25 minutes to the metro station) to make daily trips possible and far enough away to avoid most of the rush hour traffic and noise. It is also close enough to Chesapeake Bay to make a day trip there enjoyable. The rates are ten to fifteen dollars per day more than I'm accustomed to paying, but in this case I feel we got more than our money's worth. They are much less than RV parks closer to the capital. One of my wife's fondest wishes was to come to DC to do the tourist thing. We finally did so this year and our stay at Duncan's only enhanced the experience. We plan to return next summer, probably for a two-week visit. I highly recommend Duncan's Family Campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
We spent a week here as I wanted to see D.C. The campground is about 20 minutes to the D.C Metro which we loved. Our site was level and shaded and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The only thing that I didn't like was that the staff requested that you wear a wrist band supplied by them during your time in the campground, which was only a minor inconvenience. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$45
Office staff was very accommodating. This was our first time out in the 5th wheel. The pull thru sites are large and have plenty of space. Front desk staff very nice. Nice family run place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2009
$44
Decent location, Could be very nice but is not kept up as well as it could be. Some sites do not drain well and were very muddy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$43
Duncans is great! We stayed with our 4 grand kids (ages 8 & under)on Kids Weekend. They loved it. The playground and all the activities gave them plenty to do. The staff was super. Great locations outside of Annapolis Maryland. Check the web page and schedule of events for a great weekend. We will be back there several times in 2009. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$38
We found it to be a very nice park. The staff are all very friendly. Tours are available to D.C. and are a little pricy. The only bad part is the mud if it rains, however; they grade the roads after each storm. We will stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2008
$37
This is just a glorified state park – a two star park with a five star price. The whole place was dirty. The sites are mud pits – the roads are potholed. The bathrooms were so dirty and disgusting that we walked in and then walked right back out. The trees hang so low that you are scared to move. It seems that all they want is your money and they don’t want to give you any value for it. The front desk girl acted as if we were bothering her and she kept wiping her nose on her hand then handing us stuff. Would NEVER stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$38
Pros: Easy access to Washington DC and Metro station. Large pullthru sites. Cons: Offers WiFi but must go to office. Sites are mostly dirt and become muddy and stay muddy after rainy days. The price reflects the area but is not a good value. Would maybe stay again as an over night, but not long term. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$46
Very disappointing, office is nice and clean so we assumed everything else was newer and well maintained, but it isn't. We tried to stay long-term but left during the first few days. There are only 3-50 amp sites in the whole campground. Only 30 amp sites are in extended stay area. Some of the roads aren't very well maintained. We don't think we would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$35
we were there for Easter and it was very nice. A little chilly,and some snow. The staff was great! They had the craft activities in the office, due to the bizarre weather. The Easter bunny came and the owner took pictures of the kids. We want to try to come back for kids weekend. The bathhouse was clean, playground and minigolf were nice and well kept also. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$35
I was looking on the net for a place to go camping with my family and Duncan's popped up. So I looked into it and thought it might be a good place to take my wife and our kids. When we arrived at the campground it looked so pretty. The bath house was very clean and my kids were very excited to play on the neat playground. As we checked in to the campground the office staff gave me everything I needed, they were so nice to us. One of the ladies had given me a paper that said they were having an Easter weekend. I thought that was so nice of the campgrounf to do something like that for the kids. They must love all the activities that they do there because the activities director was just amazing with the kids.We had a wounderful weekend and we will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2007
$25
We camped here while visiting Washington DC with our children during spring break. The park is older and in need of some upkeep. The office staff was ok, but we had to ask for information about the metro, shopping, etc. things that most parks near tourist attactions will have ready for you when you check-in; we had to ask for and they seemed a little disorganized. The shower houses were rarely clean although we did see them cleaning them as we left. It rained during our visit and we got to exprience the muddy campsites and terrible roads inside the grounds. I haven't even started to talk about the area of DC this park is located in. We had debated between Cherry Hill or this one. We made the wrong choice. The metro is over a 30 minute drive to get to the station. The ride in takes almost an hour to get to downtown. It cost our family (5) almost $40/day in metro fare to travel back and forth. I picked up a local paper near our campground and was not surprised to learn that violent crime was unusually high for March of 07. There is a trailer park across the street from the campground. We got to hear a local involved in a domestic disturbance on one night and then the police chopper a few minutes later. Lets just say that we will not be back. We will however visit the DC area again, just not at this park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2006
$33
I should have listened to the recent review. I was very disappointed with the park. I had stayed here a year ago and thought there would be improvement. And about the staff: there is a young girl who works in the office and she could not give me a straight answer about anything. She was pre-occupied and appeared to be hungover. This is not good for business. The older lady in the office was very helpful, but the owner is arrogant. This could be a very nice campground but muddy campsites when it rains and dog waste on the sites is not my kind of camping. I will not camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$77
We normally are tent campers, but rented one of the campground's travel trailers for Thanksgiving. After an Extremely rocky start - no propane, so no heat, key broke in lock, and other things, the campground staff rallied and went above and beyond to make things right. The restrooms in the rear of the park are old and unheated, but the ones in the front are new and look great. Ditto on the playground, the one in front is new, and the one in the rear is old. All and all, it was a good base for Washington DC, if you want something a little more inexpensive than College Park, which we did. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$40
We have camped at allot of Maryland campgrounds, and this is one of the nicest ones yet. From other reviews I have no idea where people would be upset. The staff was fantastic, the site was big and clean, and the halloween activities where a blast. I personally meet the owner and she was not at all like stated before. By talking to regular campers there has been allot of improvements though out the past couple years. Some things mentioned that has improved is bathhouse, mini-golf, playground and pool. We are going back this summer! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$44
I had booked this campground prior to reading the reviews. I was nervous to stay after I saw the reviews. We arrived on a Friday and were very surprised at how nice it was. There were permanent residents and they were very friendly. Our site was level and clean. The staff was very friendly. A new playground was being installed and is almost complete. The putt-putt golf was very nicely done and only $2.00 to play. The pool was great and had a slide which my 3 children loved. Lifeguards were always on duty. They had a movie night, a flashlight lollypop hunt, horseshoe tournament for the dad's, crafts for the kids to make a Father's Day gift and cake and ice cream for the dads. The staff was very helpful when a fellow camper hooked up his motorhome and found that his cord wasn't any good. This is a campground we will stay in again and again. My kids loved it and it was very relaxing for the parents. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$44
We had read the reviews and were also glad we did not listen to them. We arrived at the campground on Friday, 5/26/06, the staff was wonderful. They were helping in assisting us with our trip to DC. They provided a shuttle van (for a small fee) to the local subway station. That made our trip very worry free. Our campsite was clean and the park was bustling with campers. The pool was opened, and the mini-golf had been re-done. They are in the process of getting a new playground and they had pictures of what it looks like. They also have re-done another playground on the property and my 2 yr. old grandson had so much fun. There was a devastating fire last year that burned the store and office. They are temporarily in the Recreation Room with limited supplies but they had everything I needed. There is a new bathhouse with a great laundry room. I liked the new bathhouse because it is private. Our stay was wonderful. There were so many activities that weekend that we were tired at the end of our stay. We will be returning for a weekend a month until October. We really look forward to coming back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2006
$31
This place is very poorly maintained. Many long-term residents in aging, decaying rigs surrounded by junk. Next to a road with a lot of heavy truck traffic, so very noisy too. The interior roads are narrow and the gravel hasn't been replaced in years. Electric and water hookups are ancient, wrapped in rotting foam and electrical tape. The staff were friendly enough, but the whole place just felt neglected and unpleasant. Except for the entrance -- which was deceptively clean. I would stay here again if it was just an overnight on the way somewhere else, but I wouldn't bring the family here on vacation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$35
I'm giving this campground a 10 because It was the best campground I had ever stayed at. The staff here was so nice and very very helpful to me and my family. They have a new office that looked wonderful. My kids had a blast. They loved the lower playground and the mini golf. We heard some not so good things about this campground, we thought is anything perfect?? So we checked it out anyway and saw that most of the horrible accusations where wrong. My family and I took the shuttle bus into DC from the campground, and it wasn't a long ride at all. The driver (one of the owners sons), was telling us what we should see, he was also very helpful and just as nice as he could be to us. My family and I loved this campground and we will camp here for now on. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2005
$30
Since our last visit a year ago, this campground has made a lot of progress. The grounds were cleaner, a lot of the "permanent" sites have been cleaned up. Cable TV has been installed (a lot of channels), the bathrooms were clean. I can really see a POSITIVE change happening here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2005
$38
I am only rating this a '2' due to somewhere out there, there must be something worse. This campground was a mess. From the other replies, I see that I am not alone on this assessment. The sites are very unlevel and rock and grass. Trees are in desperate need of trimming overhead. The hookups were rusty and the voltage was very low. We couldn't run 2 airconditioners at the same time. The worst part of this campground was the high amount of permanent campers there. It is clearly their main business and the clientele they cater to is, frankly, scary. Imagine 5th-wheels and trailers in very bad shape with large propane tanks in front along with junk from about 3 years of living on the front porch. Make-shift decks, rotted out cars abound. In a word, this campground was grungy. There was no security to speak of and the highway noise was very loud. We thought there had to be a race track behind the trees, it was so loud. The one plus was that our site was on the end and rather large. They have wristbands that they require you to wear while camping. We were staying 3 nights to take our daughter to the Naval Academy for plebe summer and certainly weren't going to wear paper wristbands all week. We would definitely never go back there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2005
$33
The facilities are in need of repair. The bath houses need a complete upgrade. There are a lot of permanent sites. The roads are dusty. I had to use the 50 amp socket as the 30 amp kept tripping. On Sat morning the staff came around cutting and trimming grass throwing clippings all over our carpet and chairs. I had to run them off. It was close to the road with road noise up to about 7pm. The sites were fairly level. We would go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2005
$35
I just stayed there with my wife and 3 kids for a week the first week of April 2005 to visit DC, and we enjoyed it. Granted, the place wasn't the absolute best CG we've ever stayed at, but compared to some of the stories here it was decent. Positives - friendly staff, store was open reasonable hours, clean bathrooms, plenty of hot water, decent rates ($35), don't know about the pool since it was too early in the year, small putt putt golf range there looked decent. Negatives - the site was a bit small and too close to your neighbor, would have like more space but I've seen worse. Cable hookup was dead. Gravel roads need more gravel - lots of mud puddles. Lots of permenant campers, and their sites weren't in the best shape, but again I've seen worse. The best sites (approx 6-10) seemed reserved for transients, and these were the ones closest to the road (uglier permenants were more deep in the CG, hiding them from view of the road). These sites weren't too bad, but some of the permenant sites seemed to be just mud pits. Luckily, the place wasn't crowded (only about 3-4 transients the week we were there) so we got one of the better transient sites. If we had to be stuck with the permenants, our opinion would probably differ! Now - I've nothing against permenants, especially seasonals, but when a CG becomes essentially a trailer park for people who can't afford real trailer homes and live in a TT that has dry rotted tires that hasn't seen a road in years, and has junk piling around it in the mud, somehow having to camp next to that just dampens the vacation spirit. To sum it up, I'd stay at this place again, but I'd make sure I got one of the nicer transient sites away from the permenants. If they'd put more gravel down and cleaned up the mud holes and had the permenants tidy up their sites, I think this place could be first rate. Note also that we basically used the camp for overnight stays all week, staying in DC most hours, and not taking advantage of any camp amenities so I can't comment on that. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2005
$33
They are sort of OK. Geared towards full timers, nothing wrong with that. The management stays out of you way for the most part. They could put a bit more work in it like pave the roads or at least put more gravel. When it runs, many sites turn into mud holes. A few years ago they put cable TV in there, which was nice. But the monthly fee is not cheap either, it's about 700 the last time I checked. This is however much cheaper than the alternative campgrounds. I actually enjoyed my stay there and would go there again if I could. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2005
$1
Most of the other reviews are accurate, more or less. The cons: Roads, as well as sites, sorely need gravel. When it rains, you get mud. Hard to believe that as high as the monthly fees are, they don't take care of this. Also grass could be cut more often. The bathroom was not heated completely and in the winter months, it was a bit rough. That was a moot point since the main building was destroyed through vandalism. The electric boxes look like they are from the '70's, rusty, with the doors falling off. They charge a flat fee for electric, $70/month, regardless of what you use. In the "full-timing" section, it's an overwhelmingly 'blue-collar' community, with most ppl working in construction, plumbing, etc. There was also some 'riff-raff'. I saw cops visit it once or twice, and in one section allegedly there was a vehicle broken into. Don't know if true. (I personally had no problems with anything.) Some sites were small, others larger. The pros: Less expensive than the (only) other CG. Cable TV/Internet. Big plus. Once they installed it, in my opinion, they went from D to B-. Maintainance is good and they fix whatever is broken rather quickly. "Country" feel to it, which I liked. All in all, I give it a "YES". Just understand the limitations. Lothian is more or less a nice area. Commute to D.C. may take 40+ minutes depending where you are going. The only other CG in the area costs almost twice as much. Duncan's is expensive but the other one is downright exorbitant. There are basically no campgrounds in the area and the very few that do exist can afford to charge whatever they want. D.C. is a very expensive place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2004
$30
I absolutely despised this campground. The roads inside the park were extremely narrow and very dusty. They advised that I had cable TV but once I got there, no cable TV. I then began to unhook my trailer and started to level it when the electrical box sparked and then I had no electricity. I let the front desk know and they reluctantly changed my site. There were many permanent campers on site giving the entire campground a horrible smell/odor of a port-a-potti. I took my 2 sons to the showers that evening, only to find human waste in front of 2 shower stalls. The other shower stalls had more spider webs/spiders then I could count. I let the desk know about the human waste and spiders thinking the problem would be taken care of, however the next morning I went to the showers and both piles of waste were still there, it was disgusting to say the least. The pool was actually pretty clean and the kids loved the playground. I will never camp here again and would never recommend this campground for anyone. I gave it a 2 because of the pool/playground, everything else was horrible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2003
$30
This place should be closed. Staff unfriendly and deceitful about the park and facilities. I specifically asked if this park was quiet and was guaranteed that it was. This place is noisy all hours of the day and night, primarily by the park owners' teenage sons and their friends. These young people treat the park and RVers property with no regard and less respect. I saw one of the boys with a BB gun shooting at two teenagers (at close range) in front of the recreation room where lots of kids were running around. The doors to the bathrooms are left propped open and smell of cigarettes. When it rains the entire park is a mud hole with some roads turning into rushing creeks. Washers and dryers are ancient. No van to DC Metro as advertised. Water smells and is rusty. Park owner was concerned about pool passing inspection the night before the inspector was due. Police patrol facility on regular basis. I would never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2003
$30
Duncan's still needs a lot of work. About 1/2 empty on Labor Day Weekend. Mostly seasonal campers. While they try to make it family oriented, they've got a long way to go. We will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2000
$30
Park has significantly deteriorated since 1999. Less than 75 sites really available for transient camping. Park seems to cater to it's permanent trailer residents and kids. Grass not cut, many sites flooding when raining. When pool closed, allowed to grow algae, no winterizing at all. Most pull through sites needed grading and tree cutting. Still the cheapest place to stay if you need extended stay in DC area. Evidence of open drug deals going on across the street on a couple nights. Desk said "Call the Cops". Also very noisy from dump trucks running up and down road starting early in the morning and using retardant breaks. Too bad, someone should buy this place and put it back to rights. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
1999
$35
Our area of the campground was quite noisy on weekend, to point that we could not sleep. Facilities seemed in need of attention, esp. electrical and water hookups--rusty fixtures, missing electrical hookup doors. Management was supportive and apologetic when we complained the next morning about the late night/early morning noise, but I believe that management must be more aware of what is happening in their facility, and pay attention to details. They did refund our money and gave us a coupon for a free night's stay. We would go back, but I'd be a bit leery if over a weekend. It is convenient to Washington, DC and not too far from Baltimore. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
1996
$30
This campground should be condemned. It definitely needs major renovations. The pool you dare not go into.The sites were overgrown with weeds. The cabins sat up on a hill. Not many campers were there. They had live music 1 night which we had a good time with other campers. Needs new owners, too much neglect. It's a shame, this place has real potential to become a really great campground. Good location too. Won't go back. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com