223426 User submitted reviews online!!
Robert Newlon Airpark RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (304) 733-1240
CGID13353

Robert Newlon Airpark RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
42
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   9   9   7   1   3   7   7   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2014
$29
This Park was listed in the Passport America directory. When checking in, we asked for PA rates and was told that the Park wouldn't be accepting it until next month. My directory was for the current year and was published last year. So I fail to see how this could all be true. The electricity fluctuated all evening and we had to turn one item off when we turned on another appliance. Recent rains had left puddles standing in the sites so difficult to sit up. Good dog walk along the River. Rather narrow street leading out to the campground. We probably wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$28
Very nice park without many of the extra amenities we wouldn't be using anyway, but quite often end up paying for at other parks. As a pilot and train buff, I enjoyed watching the skydiver's land through the weekend. The park is on a beautiful section of the Ohio River with a path and steps down to the banks of the water, on the other side of the grass strip, and some close up barge traffic you can watch. Very little air traffic, only from the sky diver's aircraft. We also liked the fact that there is a CSX rail line bordering the park with occasional trains through the day. Curiously, the engines seldom sound their horn here for the crossing. There aren't picnic tables at the site, but again, it's a good, quiet and safe place to park. There are very large shopping malls several miles away that have everything you need. We came in for one night and stayed almost a week. And enjoyed antique shopping in Huntington. They say a helicopter pilot once came in to stay for a night and ended up staying 7 months. Very pleasant experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$29
Found this to be a nice surprise. Quiet at night. There is a airfield that is for skydivers, were there during the weekend and it was fairly active. Easy off/on highway. I feel it is a work in progress and the owner is upgrading and doing a nice job. There is rec hall with TV. We were able to walk to the Ohio River which borders the airstrip and you can sit along the river. We just stayed overnight. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$29
Access to this bare bones campground from I-64 was very easy. Take care when crossing the unmarked railroad grade just before entering the campground. Roads were gravel with no potholes. Sites are long pull throughs with gravel. For my site the gravel was fresh, but not wide enough and I had to park partially off the gravel to get level. Infrequent airplane noise was loud and annoying during the day. At night this place was very quiet except for the brief passage of a freight train. Kids would enjoy the closeup views of planes taking off, but there is little else to amuse them. Restrooms were clean, simple and functional with new plumbing in the showers that worked wonderfully well. I was here on a Saturday night. Noise and activity levels might differ on a weekday. Price reflects a Good Sam discount for a full hook up site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
This is probably the worst park to date that I've been to. It was so horrible that we requested our money back and left. We have a 36' RV with a tow. This place is in a field next to an airstrip for skydiving. There is not one tree and the roads have huge pot holes. When it rains, which it had, you are standing in ankle deep mud and water. We weren't even able to open our door and get out it was so muddy. The office is open from 11am-7pm and if you don't get there by closing time you have to pay by cash and put it in the night box because the manager doesn't know how to do a credit card payment over the phone. Don't stay here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
We have stayed here before but looks like they have let the place go. No picnic tables or anything for the kids to do or play on. No one cleaned the showers or rest rooms all while we were there. They are listed in the Passport America book but did not honor their rate. Staff was not helpful and seamed to be a little out of touch. Ski divers were cool on the weekend. We will avoid staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Just before entering campground, road goes over UNMARKED railroad tracks for lightly used freight train crossing. No warning lights or gate. Not a problem, just be extra cautious before crossing tracks. Gravel roads & sites w/grass between, level, no trees because is small airport with sky diving, which made it fun. Good electric & 4G. Long narrow pull-throughs for big rigs but tight turning to exit onto campground roads. Asked neighbor who happily moved car to let us leave. Quiet country setting with a few small planes now and then. We liked it a lot and will come back. Passport discount available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$17
Price is with Passport America discount. Stayed here for one night. Clean rest rooms and showers. There is a small, clean laundry (one washer; one dryer). I arrived on a Sunday and planes were taking off and landing all afternoon taking tandem sky divers up. The sky divers came right down over the campground which was fun. As another review stated it is near a railroad track but no train went through until 8:00AM. However this is a commercial area and I head clanging and banging and trucks beeping several times during the night. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Our rate does not reflect the 10% GS discount. The previous reviewers used Passport to get the reduced rates of $15. Because of the heat, we decided to stay here to get the 50 amp power instead of boon docking at the local Flying J. The major problem with this CG is that all of the hookups are at the rear of the site. I didn't even try to hook up water and sewer. Also, you cannot log on with more than one computer per site. And finally, the CG is located by a railroad track. We had only one train during the night. I would only stay here again if I needed the 50 amp power. It's the only CG in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$16
Very nice people running the place. It is right on a grass airstrip where they do parachuting. The internet is very week. WV is the only place where liter has been a problem. On the outskirts of this park there is a lot of liter. where is West Virginia pride. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$15
New RV sites at a small grass field airport. Long level gravel pull through sites are narrow and lack picnic tables. View of the grass runway. Rate was Passport America. Easy 2 mi drive from interstate. No road noise; a train went through once. Fairly steep RR crossing as you enter park. Some standing water - had rained a lot. Extremely friendly owners (sit on the porch and visit a while) and lots of space to walk the dog. We will use this again for an overnight stop. Probably fun on a weekend when skydivers are jumping. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com