218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Point Lookout State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 40 user reviews. Phone: (301) 872-5688
CGID1338

Point Lookout State Park

Camp Information
Sites
147
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   10   2   7   5   7   10   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$40
The Tulip Loop is the only loop with full hookups. Our site was perfectly level and most other sites looked level. The only issue we had was that the sewer drain backed up after a few gallons of grey water, so we had to use the dump station when we left. The park is huge with lots to see and plenty of roads to walk or ride bikes. There are electric hookups in other sites near the water, but no water hookups - pretty strange. Overall this is a real nice place to camp, but we do understand the bugs are pretty bad in mid-summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$24
Note that we stayed here in November, so we did not have a problem with insects. This park is very isolated so don't expect a lot of common shopping and fast food places nearby. Those are about 20 or more miles away. However, if you do some research you'll find some good local restaurants nearby (e.g. Courtney's Seafood) and there is a well stocked hardware store nearby. The staff was friendly and we noticed staff patrolling several times a day. Sites were clean and level. We stayed in Tulip Loop so we had full hookups. All things considered, I'd hate to pay the full rate here. We used the Golden Age pass which gives a 50% discount. We came here specifically for the historical stuff related to the Civil War prison camp, but it would also be a great place for fishing, kayaking, etc in season. We found it to be a great place to kick back and relax a few days, but I suspect it would be quite different in season because it would be considerably more crowded. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
This is a lovely, clean & friendly state park. We stayed in the Greens Point loop which is bordered on two sides by Lake Conoy (a large salt pond fed from the Potomac River). This camp area has few trees and so is exposed to sun and wind. It also has direct access to the lake, and gorgeous views. Several campsites had kayakers. The other camping areas are wooded and shady but away from the water. In the campground there is a sweet visitor center with civil war relics and fun nature children's exhibits. The camp ground is several miles from the beaches, fishing pier, lighthouse and restored Civil War fort in the rest of the park. It looks like most people drive from the campground to that part of the park, though we walked. There is a path cut-through from the campground to the main road that leads to the other areas. There are 2 pet areas with beaches where our dog swam and retrieved. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2013
$55
Campers beware...our site was infested with POISON IVY...we also saw most other campsites in the same condition. We have a 4 year old son who was scared the whole time that he was going to get poison ivy. We met the CAMP HOSTs who were not friendly at all...we felt like it was their personal campground and we were intruding. They did mow near out site but I don't think they know when they mow poison ivy it spreads even worse. For the price we paid the amenities were definitely lacking (No pool or playground within walking distance of campsites, no wi-fi & no cell service). Camping is all about the outdoors but the price should also reflect that. The price per night was outrageous for a state campground especially when the mosquitoes were horrible...I don't think they spray for mosquitoes and the lack of lawn upkeep in each site is horrendous. The camp hosts were not very nice...we had a golf cart and they said we could not use it...we were the only campers besides the CAMP HOSTS for a couple of days. We have stayed at other Maryland Campgrounds that are very nicely maintained and pay less for more amenities. We checked out early and were told no refunds. The campground left us feeling we will never return there. Also, the point lookout lighthouse is despicable. Trash strewn all over the place outside and all around the lighthouse. It is a shame because there is so much potential. I don't think we will return to this part of Maryland. I am going to also write a letter to the Maryland State Campground website to let them know how utterly disappointed and disgusted we were with what we experienced and how we were treated...if you are thinking of going here just drive thru don't stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
We camped at the state park. Nice state park. Right on the Bay. Sites are level, but its mostly marsh area so your site and the roads are the only usable land. Beach is nice, felt like your at the ocean. Staff was friendly. Park and DNR patrol regularly so it felt secure. Price was reasonable. Park offered nature activities and they had canoe rentals. Downside: it's 22 miles from any decent store or restaurant; Sprint and Verizon service was weak and useless other than a quick call. Also it was cool for most of our stay, but it hit 70 our last day and the bugs came out in force. We couldn't be outside more than a couple minutes. When your moving its not too bad, but once you stop, you are attacked. It would be a nice place to stay early or late in the year, or if you just wanted to hit the beach then go straight to your car or camper and not be outside. Restrooms looked new and were clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$44
Pros: very remote, dark at night, no street lamps, lots of privacy, full hookups, large sites, level sites, quiet, affordable, gated. Cons: huge horse flies swarm around even in the fall, spider webs everywhere, 17 miles from even McDonald's, not much around, swamp land, no virgin mobile data cell service, no Wi-Fi, very weak AT&T cell service, even in 2012. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$38
Very nice campground. Family had a great time crabbing, riding bikes and swimming in the beach area. Crabbing off of the piers was a lot of fun for the kids, just keep the bug spray handy. Speaking of bugs, the amount of ticks was unbelievable. The first 10 minutes of setting up out campsite (Tulip Loop) we saw 4 ticks on our camping mat. Wife is allergic to ticks so she wasn't too happy. Just had to keep a watchful eye the 5 days we were here. Use plenty of bug spray and you should be fine. The biking was excellent, nice flat roads and the not much traffic at all. My 5 year old learned to ride without training wheels a week before and felt safe riding in this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
I have been an avid camper for about 5 years and Point Lookout is by far one of the best campgrounds I've been to. The sites in the Tulip Loop (which are the only sites I've stayed at) are private, clean and so peaceful. The history surrounding the park is incredible and if you like visiting haunted places, Point Lookout won't disappoint. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
We spent a nice weekend here, with pets. (Note only about half of park is pets-allowed.) Sites were very clean and neat. Most had LOTS of room, w/fire ring/barbeque. One loop is waterview, but some sites there were very difficult to level a big unit. The hosts and staff were very friendly. The only downside- the electric (30amp) was not up to par. We use 30 amp in many parks, and know to "cycle" big draw items. We've never had the problems with breakers tripping like we did here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$40
Pretty nice park. We stayed in the tulip loop which has full hookups. Large open sites most with easy access. A couple like #83 look to be a bit tight to get into but for the most part even bigger rigs can get in. Camping section is def a hike to get to anything to include the camp store and fishing piers. Fishing area's were a mess with trash everywhere but I put that more on ignorant people than the park. If you're crabbing don't risk with undersized crabs DNR checked our baskets twice in a couple hour span. Also the camp store is OUT of measuring devices and said they had been since the beginning of the season! Surprising given how strict DNR is you would think they would make sure to keep stuff like that in stock to sell. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
This is a really pretty park We stayed in Green's Loop which is on the water. We would not come back here in the summer because it is way too hot and humid. We thought there'd be a breeze, being near the water, but no such luck. The mosquitoes are just awful. We wonder if they even spray! So we would imagine a Spring or Fall visit would be better. We were dismayed by the MESS at the picnic area/beach. It was pretty disgusting. We saw dirty diapers wadded up and stuck in the bushes. There was a pile of charcoal a foot high around every grill. People just dump it out on the ground. There's lots of garbage around the tables. How could such a nice park have such a filthy picnic area? All in all, though, it's a good place -- just not in summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
This is a VERY nice campground, we stayed in Site 82 Tulip loop with full hookups. Sites are large and very private with picnic table and fire ring. 50,30,20 amp service, but the 50amp plug is only a 3 prong plug, old style, so 50amp will probably will not work. This State park has lots to offer, flat roads, great for bike riding, beach area, fishing pier on the Chesapeake Bay side, beach fishing on the Potomac River side. Boat and kayak rentals, etc..., but the mosquitoes and deer flies are terrible. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
This is about my 4th year camping at Point Lookout. This is a great campground, but without the pool, miniature golf and high prices. We had two camp sites with a 25' & 30' RV on them in Greens Point. Limited trees but nice and breezy on a regular basis. Hoffman Loop looks worth trying out too. A lot more trees. Looks interesting too. Not as close to the water, but has a pier and the playground is in between Greens Point and Hoffmans. Electric hookup but no water hookup or sewer hookup in Greens. There is very close dump station if necessary. There are water spigots but not for direct hookup for campers. They are for public use. We seemed to survive the same look every year. The view was great. Nice pier for crabing, fishing, sun taning etc. The playground was close by for the 6 grand kids that we had with us. The weekend was not too bad except the rain and winds one day, but what do you expect. This is camping. I didn't know until I got down there after over a 2 hours drive that the Nature Center was not open that weekend. I did not see anything on line for the Nature Center hours. Of course I was there before Memoral Day so maybe that was why. This was one of the activites that we had planned. Make sure you have a vehicle if you are going to take a tour of the park. It is pretty large and if you are not riding a bike, you will regret trying to walk to the lighthouse, main camp store, boat ramp, etc. Either way, we still had a great time. I reccomend that you get some good anchors/tent stakes or ratchet type straps if you will be on the water side of the campground. More wind than previous trips. One of our canopies went flying. If you have not tried this park, It is well worth checking this Maryland State Campground out. Happy camping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
We stayed in the Tulip Loop with full hook ups. The electric is a total of 50 amps, but no place to plug in a 50 amp cord; we had to convert to 30 amps. The sites are beautiful, lots of space, nice picnic table and campfire ring with grate. We spotted a couple of Bald Eagles along the Periwinkle Point Trail and were entertained by a couple of foxes outside of our rear living window one morning. May is off season so nothing was open during the week, but we still found it to be a wonderful place and would go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$35
This is an outstanding campground with all the amenities you would find at high priced resorts, minus a swimming pool. You can canoe, kayak, crab off the pier, fish, trail walk, visit the museum and participate in weekend activities, bird watch, visit the lighthouse on the first Saturday of the month, swim and have a cookout at the beach, bicycle, visit local areas such as St. Mary's City, or just enjoy the peace and quiet of your own site, most of which are huge with plenty of privacy. There is a wonderful playground for the kids. Bathrooms, which are in every loop, except Tulip, are clean albeit a little dated. Grass is always nicely managed. Sites for big rigs to avoid are Greens: 105, 88, and 89 (for maneuverability). Tulip: 58, 59, 60, 61, 77,78 (short for truck/tow and big rig). Not sure about the other loops since we've never stayed in those. Mosquitoes and flies were worse in Sept than any of the other months we stayed there. Repellent worked great! You will not be disappointed with this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$35
Great state park close to home. Camped in the tulip loop – very nice but no bath house – all sites in this loop are full hook-up. Sites are large, level and easy to back into. Fire rings appear to be nicely placed – away from camper/awning. All sites have lots of privacy. Lots of hiking trails, nature center and fishing. Lighthouse is open first Saturday of the month April – November. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
We love this campground. Stayed there two times this summer in a 25' motor home. Only bad point is you need a car to get around if you are in a motor home. Had to unhook to do any sightseeing in the park. This is our 4th year staying there. No sewer hookup in Greens Point but it wasn't far away when we really needed it. Playground, fishing and crabing pier. Nice breeze most of the time. The camp host came by several times and park security made their rounds often. We will go back. The grand kids love it especially watching the crabs and going to the playground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$30
Really nice state park. We stayed in the Hoffman Loop, which allows pets. The sites are huge and somewhat private..there are thick woods and brush between every site. There is no shower/bath house in the Hoffman loop. The restrooms/showers are on the Malone Loop and the Green Loop. Green loop are waterview sites. The staff is very helpful. Be sure to check out the haunted lighthouse. They even have seances there occasionally We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$35
First time visiting and absolutely loved it. We stayed in the Tulip Loop site #79 with full hook ups. Site was beautiful with plenty of room for our 37-foot motor home. Sites around the loop area appear to be a little larger, but all sites are well-maintained, shady, and large. If traveling with children, recommend you pack their bicycles & bug spray. Mosquitoes were already out in April but weren’t a problem after squirting everyone down. Look forward towards visiting Point Lookout again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$35
We stayed at the campground for New Years weekend, and were pleasantly pleased. This is our fourth trip, and each time is great. There was only one other family camping at this time of year, but the park rangers still stopped by to personally check on us. Crabbing/Fishing pier were open, in good shape, and beautiful. This campground has HUGE sites, which are very private, and lots of wooded acreage all around. All roads are tarred and level while all sites are pea gravel and very level too. Can't wait to go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$30
Spent 3 nights on Loop B, Green's Loop, electric only hook-up. Site had water view on 2 sides and easy access for Kayaking. Weather was warm, in the 70's and no bugs other then a few flies. Restrooms are clean and modern. Comfortable bike riding around the campsites and out to the old lighthouse and civil war prison site. This section will close Oct. 30th for the winter until April. The Tulip loop is open year around. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$35
We stayed on the full hookup Tulip Loop, and loved our site. It was large, level, and extremely private. It was difficult to tell we were at a campground at all when we were at our site. The park is fabulous for family bike rides to the lighthouse, and the Perrywinkle path is a great deal of fun. The bugs were out of course, but bug spray did it's job. We would certainly recommend this campground to anyone who has full hookups or anyone to doesn't mind the roughness of the bathrooms (not very clean and lots of spiders and bugs to keep you company.) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
We stayed in the Tulip Loop which, as previously mentioned, is full hook up. Large sites, plenty of privacy, very well maintained roads and grounds. For those that like to exercise, if you run the paved roads through all of the loops in the park, you get a nice, level, 3 mile run. They have a pet beach (on the Chesapeake Bay) which was a decent walk from the campground (1/2 mile maybe). As should be expected, seeing that the park is surrounded by water, there are mosquitoes, gnats and flies. A good campfire and some bug spray however, and I barely noticed them. I highly recommend this State Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
Big sites, love the bike paths and the pier for fishing, bay for kayaking and crabbing, lots to see and do not far away such as St. Mary's City and Solomon's Island We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
We only stayed here for the short time but what we saw, we liked. Stayed in the Tulip Loop and had plenty of space and shade. Very quiet at night. This loop requires full hookup as there is no bathhouse in this section. We plan to stay here again with more time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
I loved our very private, waterfront site. The bathrooms were okay although my husband said the Men's bathroom was filthy Saturday morning. We had planned to use the beach area but it was way too crowded and our site was so nice we decided to return to it and spent the rest of the weekend there, fishing and crabbing. Overall, a very nice weekend. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
I give such a low rating because of the state of the bathrooms in the Hoffman Loop for most of a weekend during high season. They didn't appear to be cleaned all weekend -- ran out of soap, only one functioning female shower which was not clean, gross. However, we liked our very private site at 119. This is one of only a few in this loop that has electric. Long driveway and surrounded by woods. Close enough to bathhouse and playground is in this loop -- also a pier. The bugs weren't even bad! We also were supposed to stay in the Green's Point Loop for one night, but a very high tide had turned that loop into a swamp -- our site, 101, literally had a moat! It was too dangerous for our young children, so we were able to get a site in Tulip, 161, which was quite nice. Full hookups there but no bathhouse. These sites have virtually no driveways and are much less private. Also, the beach (which is a few minutes' drive away) was closed due to high bacteria levels. It was generally an icky weekend . . . We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
I was somewhat disappointed with this park because there was no bathroom within our camping loop. Also, there are no pull-thru sites and the road that the sites are on are rather small. The individual sites themselves are nicely shaded and private, but it rained the second day we were there and the granulated blue chip got all over everything (had to throw the indoor/outdoor carpet away). There's a fishing pier on the water. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$30
We sent several long weekends in the Tulip loop during the winter. This is a great place to visit in the off season. We had the place to ourselves. Enjoyed our conversations with the park rangers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
Great place to stay, close to Paxtuxent River Navy Base. We usually stay in one loop that requires your RV to have full hook-ups because there is no bathhouse on this loop. Good sites on this loop, shady and wooded, fairly private, nice sized with fire rings and picnic tables. Bring your mosquito repellent because of proximity of woods/water, but very nice. Lots of water around you, because it's on the southern tip of MD. Gated, admission to registered campers only, so felt safer. Things to see/do, and within driving distance to other sightseeing destinations. NOT fun to get there in the dark, suggest arriving before that for ease of entry to state park itself. Once inside the campground, it's not too bad but sites are dark due to trees. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$35
This is a beautiful campground. We stayed in the tulip loop area. This area allows pets and is the only full hookup area. The sites are large and level, with woods between each site for privacy. The roads inside the campground are paved and level which made for excellent bicycling. This campground is perfect for the avid fisherman or crabber. During our stay the crabs and also rockfish and flounder were biting well. The only thing that kept us from giving this campground a perfect review was the mosquitos which were a constant problem around our site. Take plenty of mosquito repellent in the warm months. The mosquitos did not seem to be as much of a problem around the bay and river. The shower and laundry areas were clean and well maintained. We will definitely return to this campground but it will be in the early spring or the late fall to avoid the mosquitos. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
Enjoyed staying here. The sites are level and the people are very friendly. Not many amenities but we enjoyed our stay. We camped twice this summer and plan to camp there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2006
$35
Very nice Campground. we were there before the whole park was opened but the Tulip Loop with full hookups was open. There were 5 Trailers in our group and we all loved the campground. I can see where there might be standing water in the summer so the bugs might be bad, but we went too early in the season. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2005
$35
I live within 40 minutes of Pt. Lookout State Park and had never been here camping until this year. What a mistake that has been! This is now our absolute favorite spring/fall campground. It would be our all-time favorite if it weren't for the palm-sized mosquitoes that inhabit the area during the warm months. We camp in the Tulip Loop, which is the only area that has full hook-ups. Prior to our arrival and right after we depart, the Camp Host prepares each site by carefully cleaning all debris and raking it down. The sites are very large in this area, so much so that you can barely see your neighbor through the trees. The water/electric sites in the Green Loop are terrific if you like to camp that way. They are right on the water, have a wonderful view, and have continuous breezes. The playground in that area is also great for the little ones. If you have paranormal interests, this place is certainly a hot spot. One part of the campground is located over the spot that used to house the small pox hospital during the Civil War. During the month of October there is a terrific Ghost Walk that is sponsored by the local Kawanis Club. It is a lot of fun with cider, stories, music, and so much more. Price is right too! The sites that are more apt to handle larger RVs are #63, #65, #69, #72, #79, and a few in the circle. All of the other sites in the Tulip Loop will easily hold a 30' camper. You will not be disappointed with this campground. Remember to bring your fishing poles, walking stick, insect repellent (for warm months), and bikes. The ground is flat and there's plenty to see and do. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$25
This is a very nice campground. We stayed here for one night in September while we were passing through, and it made me want to go back for a longer stay. We stayed in site 139 in the Hoffman Loop. It was pretty spacious, and the packed dirt ground was very flat. The bath house was nice and centrally located in the middle of the circle. There was also a sink for washing dishes. We didn't notice any mosquitos, but it may be because it was late in the season. We were participating in the Maryland lighthouse challenge so we visited the lighthouse, which was very nice. There were a lot of people fishing on the causeway and near the lighthouse. I can't wait to go back. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$28
We stayed here for 5 nights in September, 2005 and found it to be very relaxing. It was our first local trip in our new Pop Up Camper and only an hour from home. The park personnel were very helpful and friendly and one of the rangers 'backed me into my site' (it would have taken me forever - not having practiced prior to the trip). As we had pets, and it was after two camping loops were closed for the season, we were assigned site 29 on the Tulip Loop, with full hook-up (water, sewer and electric). Roadways are well paved, wide and easy to negotiate. Camping pads/driveways are designed for the more modern camping vehicles, and the driveways are wide enough for two vehicles side-by-side. The pads feature a picnic table and fire ring. Firewood is available at the camp office as is ice. In some cases the Honor System is in place. We were well prepared for mosquitoes, and did read posters of the park spraying on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays at 5:30am. We arrived on a Thursday and set up with no problems or mosquitoes. Sites are spacious and separated by reeds/trees, and seemingly very private. Friday it rained! There was a little wind that night which dislodged a pinecone from the Loblolly Pines and it hit our camper roof. The weather throughout the weekend was pretty rainy, and kids still enjoyed riding bikes and playing in the rain. There is a non-coin laundry in the Lanier Loop bathhouse, clean and well-maintained. There are 5 or six camping areas, one which features cabins for rent, no pets, another which is more open and quite a few campers had tents there. There are hiking trails, pet trails and trails from loop to loop. Fort Lincoln is a short walk from the campground. There's also a wonderful fishing pier on the Bay side of the penninsula. Boat launch, boat rental, on the River side, which features trips to Smith Island. During the season one can rent boats/canoes also. There is a designated swimming area (closed in off-season) and picnic area all within the park. At the end is the lighthouse, and historical smoke house. Bathrooms/showers are clean and well-maintained (although those by the lighthouse were closed for the season, with portapotties in use). We saw numerous deer while there, and there was a civil war re-enactment nearby. The park has special event weekends also. In the nearby town of Ridge, there is a well stocked, clean reasonably priced grocery store (Ridge Town & Country Grocery)(they also have paperbacks to lend) and nextdoor to it a very nice hardware store. We enjoyed our time at Point Lookout and maybe the rain helped us to relax. I did a lot of reading and resting during our stay! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$35
The only thing that kept the rating from a 10 was the mosquitos and biting flys (though they were not as bad nearer the water out of the woods) and the amount of poison ivy that you had to be carefull of. We stayed in the full hookup Tulip Loop. The sites are spacious and wooded on fine gravel pads that keep the sand and dirt out of your RV. All sites have a nice fire ring with grill that we used to cook on. The 30 amp service was good as we had to run our AC all week due to heat and humidity. The roads are all paved. There is good crabing from the pier in Lake Conoy in the Hoffman loop. A sandy pet beach at the begining of the Causeway on the Bay side that we also used to cool down with our dog as was less crowded on weekends than the designated swimming beach on the Potomic River side. Fishing was also good off the Causway. Canoes and kyaks can be rented from the Camp Store. Day Trips can be taken to St Mary's City a recreation of the 1st Capital of Maryland in the 1600's. Pautexaunt Naval Air Base Museum and the Calvert Marine Museum on Soloman Island. All are within 25 miles of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$25
The beauty of this campground is hard to describe. You'll just have to experience it for yourself. The sites are the most spacious I've ever seen. We had lots of privacy. To correct an earlier, poster, there are no campsites on the bay...the waterfront sites are located on Lake Conoy, but both the Chesapeake Bay (with a 710 foot pier) and Potomac River (with a swimming beach) are located within the park and a short distance (about a mile) from the campground. This is a gated campground and you are given a three digit number you must punch in in order to get through the gate. The four days we were there I did not see one mosquito...they sprayed twice in the early morning hours. However, during the day the deer flies were very abundant and after about two days they become immune to any type of bug spray...but the beach area there were none to be seen. We experienced severe weather while there (tornado warnings & torrential downpours and thunderstorms)and after the rain stopped I thought we'd be stuck because of all the large puddles of water, but within an hour everything was dry...great drainage! With regards to the weather, I would advise you to bring perhaps a weather radio or a marine radio...we had neither and could only get stations from the DC & Baltimore areas and had no idea we were sitting in a tent with three funnel clouds within a few miles of us until after the fact. Also, the weather can change dramatically in a very short amount of time with no warning. There is a campstore, however, it's closed Mondays & Tuesdays (even in the Summer months) and on weekends the store is only opened until 7 p.m and only until 5 p.m. on Wednesday and Thursdays. The store has a variety of park and Civil War related items as well as camping items and snacks and drinks. However, the employees (young high school boys) were not very well informed about anything and their answers were usually one syllable grunts that could not be understood. But, not to worry, if you want snacks and drinks and gift items a lot cheaper and the employees a lot nicer, about 3 miles from the campground is Rick's Marina and they'd be more than happy to accommodate whatever you may need. At the camp contact station they do have ice and firewood. However, on a Tuesday, I went to get ice and the only one there was a park naturalist and he had no idea how to open the cash register in order to sell me ice (?). I just told him I'd give him the correct amount needed and he still was a little apprehensive and I had to practically beg until he finally said okay. After that, is when I found Rick's Marina and you can get ice there as well. The restrooms were cleaned daily. There are only two showers and although they were available for us when needed during the week, come weekend it might be a different story. We were camped in Hoffman's Loop and there is also a small pier into Lake Conoy where you can fish and crab or just sit and enjoy the beauty. When walking through the campground, we saw that the camper cabins were nice and when you make a reservation, or even just to check availability make sure you list what type of equipment you have, because then they match you to a site that will fit you perfectly. Our particular site had about a 50 foot driveway back to the site and all sites are padded with packed dirt/clay/sand and covered with fine gravel with a a picnic table and lantern pole. If you need to use the restrooms at night, you'll need a heavy duty flashlight or lantern, because it's rather dark and only the restroom area is lit. There are lots of shaded sites below huge pine trees, which didn't emit any sap and there is a lot of ground cover between the shaded sites. And, there are open sites as well. One of the big drawbacks is that you do have to drive to the Chesapeake Bay or to go swimming on the Potomac. There is no swimming allowed in Lake Conoy. While at Point Lookout, don't forget to check out the lighthouse and Fort Lincoln...the Civil War museum and nature center are still closed due to damage from Hurricane Isabel last year. We really enjoyed the quietness and the privacy that this park had. And, we will definitely camp here again, but perhaps in late Spring or early Fall when the deer flies will be at a low. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$27
Stayed at this park for a week. There are many loops catering to RV's, and tents and ranging from full hookup to no hookups. All access roads are paved and the sites were spacious and clean. This campground is very private. Free access to Lookout Point SP beaches. Again everything was very clean. The major problem with this campground are mosquitoes. Clouds of mosquitoes that were not repelled by Deep Wood Off. You could not get into the trailer or car without many uninvited guests. We left two days early. I feel that the state should do some spraying. Other than the bugs, this campground was great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$30
Rates vary from $25 to $35 depending on site. Variety of loops - some on the bay (it's a bay not a lake), some in deep woods. Many campsites spacious and very private. All roads paved and flat - great for bike riding. Can also ride out onto the causeway, where there is a lighthouse, and a variety of Civil War sites (area used to be a CW prison and hospital). Park also has one loop with very nice cabins. The web site has lots of info on the park, and a map which will give you an idea of the various camping loops in the park. This park was 3 hours from where we used to live, so we were regular visitors. It ranks to this day as one of our favorites. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com