218725 User submitted reviews online!!
Fort Whaley Family Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 47 user reviews. Phone: (410) 641-9785
CGID1343

Fort Whaley Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
160
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$47



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   1   6   6   4   9   8   5   8   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2013
$47
Our Good Sam chapter has camped at this park for the last several years, but I feel that this is the last year. The staff is quite aloof and non-responsive. When I asked for some information regarding the use of the club house for our group, the person I spoke to said she would call me back, but never did. I finally got an email response, but only after two requests. They are not flexible to special requests, like opening the club house a little earlier than usual for our group. The rates are quite high considering that we are camping in November. I think they make so much money during the summer that they just don't care, so we will move on to another venue in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2013
$59
This campground is regularly flooded. We had water at the height of the table. Loop A and B shouldn't be available for camping. They know this situation but continue to operate it. Avoid this campground for your safety. WIFI connection is very bad. Had too take a cold shower because they were out of propane. Horrible customer service. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$25
We stayed here for 3 weeks. It was really the only option this time of year. The lots were decent sized with sites shaded by trees. We were there for opening and Easter weekend and it was pretty party-party past quiet hours. During the week we were almost by ourselves and it was very nice. The "lake" was more like a disgusting green-poison-pond, really yucky. Playground was very nice although a little far from the sites. Also a fenced dog playground that looked nice if you have a dog. Laundry was clean and nice. Activities for the kids. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$61
We stayed here with the kids of some family friends. First for the pros. There is a good selection of sites (shaded, not shaded, pull throughs, super sites with level concrete pads). The bathroom and showers were very clean even with so many people in the campground. The F loop where we stayed, seem to have decent room between spots and well maintained grass, etc. Hook ups were good. After reading some of the older reviews I realized they have made many improvements, the camp store is very well stocked and had good set hours, the cable TV was good and provided 90+ channels. The pool was nice, the staff pleasant, you get free access to the water park at Frontier Town and a discount to the western theme park also at Frontier Town. The water park was nice, not very big but nice, with some large slides a lazy river and a kids pool. Frontier Town theme park is a must as well, they do a very nice job with the kids and the shows they put on. Now for the cons. There is a real fly problem here, don't know if it's all the time but it made for an annoying time while trying to relax outside during certain times of the day. I actually had to hang an old fashion fly strip which I got at the camp store. There are only 4 washers and 4 dryers for this large campground so you can imagine what it was like trying to do wash. There also seems to be a lot of movement for most of the day, though things did shut down at a reasonable hour which I hear never happens at the sister camp (Frontier Town). All in all, I liked the campground but not sure I would come back due to the flies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2011
$43
Fort Whaley is one of four campgrounds near Ocean City, Md and the one most inland being a few miles from Salisbury, Md right off route 50. Overall impression is fair and average with a few notable items for an informed decision of where to stay. First, even though I needed to stay solely 1 night, I was told repeatedly that there is a 2 night minimum stay: even in April. At $43 per night for three adults, this should be an alert for anyone traveling through the region needing only a 1 night layover. The staff was replaced from last year. This year’s staff is very money oriented: asking who was staying in the site for a tally of extra charges, then maybe answering questions. The full hookup was fine and functioned as expected. Didn’t try WiFi since signs all over camp stated connection problems, again. Cable TV was a basic channel lineup. The waterfront had fountain pumps going and surprisingly clean in view of sever past slim/algae episodes on prior visits. There are new cabins nearby the waterfront, which maybe a new connection. Do be aware that after check-in, one reads how this campground has joined others in prohibiting outside firewood due to the emerald ash borer. While there is very valid concern about this dangerous pest, one might question the price of the “approved firewood” sold, of course, only at the Fort Whaley campground store. Did not use the pool nor other play facilities since closed. Restrooms were clean but note that hardly anyone was using the campground in April. On a scale of 1 to 5, this location is a 2.5 in view of cost to value received. More effort is needed to elevate this campground. Two others are closer to Ocean City that are 3.5 or 4’s. [I have yet to find a 5 rated CG.] Will use it again as an alternative choice on the list, since OC area gets very busy during the summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$78
Camped at one of the premium sites (parked the RV on a concrete pad) which was 100% level, very spacious, and beautiful. Restrooms were VERY clean (constantly being attended to). Staff, except for one short-haired lady at the general store, were incredibly friendly and helpful. (Even she had her good moments, just had a bad day I think. It can happen). Pool was wonderful! Lots of amenities and lots of things to do. Biggest downer was that their free Wi-Fi service was very near non-existent (spotty signal about 3 minutes per hour); so they either have poor service or not enough WAP's. Only a few channels on the cable TV, but that's okay. All in all, an amazing place!! We already booked another stay here for next month! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$70
Campground was clean with lots of staff working while we were there. Lot of activities for kids. We stayed in the F loop and we were happy with our pull thru site. Its a bit pricey, but Ft. Whaley is very convenient to O.C and Assateage. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$55
I know sisters are not necessarily twins, but this place could learn a few things from her sister campground Frontiertown. First the good stuff. The restrooms and showers were extremely clean and were well kept all week long. All but one staff person was very friendly and helpful. The pool was clean, warm and well-kept. My children enjoyed the morning activity program offered on weekdays. The fishing lake had numerous hungry fish and gave both of my older children a good first experience of catching fish. Now for the not so good. We were on site E-11. It was billed as a waterfront site but there's no such thing in this park. All their so-called waterfront sites are across the road from the lake, more like water-view sites. Also our site was very unlevel side to side and far too narrow for the fact that we had small children with us. Yet, when we booked we were told that we were getting "the best site in the campground." I didn't feel that we had the best site on our loop, let alone the campground. When the awning of my camper is 2 feet from the tree that marks the road around three sides of my site and my kids end up having to play in the road rather than on our site, it's not possible that this is the best site in the park, at least not for my group. Add to that the fact that the roots of all the trees on the site were so prominent that we were tripping over them all week long. Many sites including ours could have used some maintenance related to the parking space for the camper. Weed block fabric under the gravel was coming up in places and causing another tripping hazard. County mandated mosquito sprayers came through the campground with flashing lights and loud buzzing sounds waking everyone in our group on two of our seven nights. Probably the worst part of our Fort Whaley experience was the camp store. There were no set hours for the store. Daily hours were written on a chalkboard outside the front door and were changed without notice. The store never opened before 9:30AM all week, which is strange because their deli offered breakfast sandwiches: for lunch maybe? On Wednesday the chalkboard sign said that the store would open at 10AM on Thursday. On Thursday morning at 10:15AM the sign said that the store would open at 11AM. Also, the deli inside the camp store had hours that were different from the store, and you could not buy anything that was sold in the deli from the store. So, no packaged cheese for cheeseburgers even if the store is open but the deli is closed. If we're going back to the OCMD area, Fort Whaley is off our list of possibilities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$37
Our second year to stay here & will probably visit again next year. Grounds IMMACULATE, staff delightful, store becoming well stocked. Spacious corner site on lake, level & well graveled. Wi-Fi signal poor, cable TV signal cut in & out -- staff tried super-hard to help us, though, and everything else was GREAT!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2010
$43
This park is extremely overpriced for it's offerings, especially in the off-season. We were directed to park in a part gravel, part dirt pull-through site with nothing for a view but a bunch of seedy trailers in a storage lot, or the full-time resident staffers with their junk piled around their rigs. There was absolutely nothing for the kids to do as all the facilities were closed for the season, even the on-site grocery. We toured nearby Assateague Island, but would look much harder at accommodations for any future visits. We would definitely not stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$49
This was our second visit and probably our last. We booked a site 1 year in advance, only upon check in to find the site didn't exist anymore.We were assigned a new site nowhere as nice as the one we had reserved. We were never notified about this. After much discussion and complaining we were given, what we thought, would be a decent site. As noted in other reviews, this is a party campground in the summer, with no regard for your fellow campers. People were up to all hours of the night making noise, no one seemed to care about the quiet hours. We were there with 2 young children who had a hard time sleeping with all the noise. Also, there is no regard for your campsite, people just come walking through. Nice to be eating outside and people walk right by your table.Also, the cable TV (all of 20 channels) wasn't working well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$52
Very nice CG. Our site in section E was shady and had a nice view of the lake. Plenty of activities (donuts with dad, fishing tournament rock skipping contest etc) during Father's Day weekend. Staff was very friendly! Drive to OC was not bad, 15-20 mins. Frontierland water park was free to campers and our boys loved it. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$57
Site was fairly level, only shade is in E loop or not full hook-ups, we were in F loop & got the afternoon sun right under our awning. One large bathhouse for whole campground, although we did not encounter a backlog. Camp store closed pretty early on Thursday & no stores in close proximity to camp. O.C. is a pretty good hike, about 20 minutes. I would prefer the proximity of Frontiertown to O.C., but Fort Whaley is less busy with traffic & people coming & going. There were numerous unattended young children at the pool, many too short to reach the 5 feet high gate latch. Our water spigot leaked big time, in spite of all tightening efforts, that created a muddy area for unhooking four days later. A nice touch was the warning of incoming severe weather by a worker on a loud speaker riding around in golf cart, luckily it missed us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$42
Second stay at this campground. The site was not as level as the site we had last year, but it was ok. We stayed the weekend of the Ocean City car show so campground was mostly full. Quiet time is after 11 pm. A lot of people were drinking, and up til after 2 am being very loud. Quite time was not enforced at all. I have three young children and it kept them up all night. Other than that I will continue going to this campground year after year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$38
Excellent campground, friendly & helpful staff, good location for the area. We had super site F12, easy to back our 30ft trailer into. The extra space is helpful with two big dogs. The only issue I have is with the showers, the stalls are spacious but the water temperature can not be adjusted. This may be OK in the summer but on a cool spring morning the water temperature was barely acceptable. With that said we still plan on coming back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2009
$34
We stayed here for 2 nights in March while visiting friends in Salisbury, MD. Campground employees were very friendly. I know it was the off season, but I was not impressed with the campground itself at all. Sites were muddy with very little gravel and no trees. I wish it were nicer because it's the most convenient campground to Salisbury, but I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$50
Beautiful Salt water pool, clean restrooms, and free admission to Frontier Town Water Park for your entire stay. We really enjoyed going to nearby attractions: Ocean CIty Boardwalk and Assateaague Island National Seashore to see the wild horses. This was our first stop along the way to Florida. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$45
We just got back from spending 5 days at this CG. We stayed in site J25. It was nice and level. We would have liked a little more room between spaces, but all in all it was fine. Bathrooms/showers were always clean. We were shocked on how quiet it got after dark. Even on a holiday weekend, and the CG was full. I really have no complaints. The wifi worked great with at least 4 bars of signal inside our MH. I forget how much we paid so the $45 is probably wrong. If you like to party, and the hooting and holloring, then don't come to Fort Whaley. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$51
I spent 7 days camping at Fort Whaley and stayed active the whole time I was there. The sites were nice and the park as a whole was very clean. The only part that lacked attention was the free mini golf. But I can't complain since it was free. The staff was always nice and helpful. The store was stocked very nicely with some food, soda, beer, ice, firewood, various clothing and camping supplies. The site I was in could have been a little more level but leveling blocks solved the problem. I did notice that only a few sites were not level. The campground is nicely located near Ocean City, Assiteague Island and shopping centers. The free access to Frontier Town's water park is also a nice incentive. I will probably vacation at Fort Whaley again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$95
This is our second trip to Ft Whaley and we will go back. The location is perfect take Rt 90 to North OC or Rt 50 to the inlet. You can use Waterpark at Frontier town as part of your fee for staying at the campground. The grounds are clean and the staff was outstanding during our trip. For a super site E,W,S,C for 3 adults 3 children it was 95.00 however a hotel room in OC in peak season is 250.00 a night so I guess it was worth it. I like it better than Frontier Town just my thought. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$55
Our site in the F circle was relatively large and easy to back our motorhome into, not much shade on the F sites. Salisbury and Ocean City are easy 15 minute drives. Camped with our 2 grand kids, ages 6 and 9. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$33
Nice campground very close to Ocean City without all the hassle of Ocean City. Stayed the weekend of the car show in OC. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$40
We have camped at Fort Whaley many times and will continue to camp there. Nice field for the kids to play football in. Can bring golf cart or rent one for the weekend. Staff always friendly. Ocean City is close enough but not too close! Nice little pond to fish in as well. One of our favorites! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$33
We camped here, while visiting our son at Salisbury University. Our site in the E circle was relatively large and easy to back our fifth wheel into. Most of the sites are wooded. The pond is 90% algae covered, but it was still nice and there were a lot of tame waterfowl that would eat right out of your hand. Salisbury and Ocean City are easy 15 minute drives. FYI, just north of the Rte 50 / Rte 13 interchange in Salisbury, there is a Gander Mountain which is a camper's dream store! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Close to the ocean and nice facilities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$66
We spent one night here because there was not a single spot available at Assateague's state or national park campgrounds. It was our first experience with full hookups. Our site had water, sewer and electricity. All I can say is that hookups are nice! We took long, hot showers in the motorhome and slept well with the air conditioner running. Our spot was located across from the lake ("lakeview"). It was not impressive. I wouldn't pay extra for this since it was basically a pond covered with algae. No wildlife or anything really to look at. The signs proclaimed "catch and release." We backed into our lot which was nestled among the trees. The shade was nice. Watch out for the trees - our neighbor backed his trailer into one and bent his bumper. Ouch! The roads in our loop were gravel and the site itself was dirt. Lucky for us it was dry. If it rains you'll be dragging mud into your unit. There are a few sites with concrete pads. There are not dumpsters in each loop. So I had to walk a ways to throw out the trash. My wife and I don't have any kids, so to be fair we really weren't impressed with the campground. Ft. Whaley was built for kiddies and everyone had them. There is a pool, mini-golf, an activities shelter and camp store. The store was well-stocked but I don't know why you would want to pay double for something you can get at Wal-Mart 10 minutes up the road. Registering and checking out was a slow process. The staff was apparently still learning the software. It wasn't even configured correctly - the invoice said "123 Anytown - Insert Address Here" on it! Aside from the software, the staff was neither friendly nor rude. Just kind of indifferent. When we walked over to the store we overheard some staff compaining amongst themselves. We retired early and, as can be expected, we could hear kids yelling and campers pounding on things (setting up, I guess). You must be set up by midnight. Every now and then we heard someone's dog barking incessantly (during daylight hours). The noise must have all stopped at some point because I slept like a rock. We got up early and all was quiet and still. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$45
We just got back from an excellent 4 day vacation at this CG! This was a great CG and I wish we went there sooner. The entire staff were great! Very friendly and will do almost anything for you. They even came around Thursday evening to warn everyone to close their awnings "and batten down the hatches" that a bad storm was coming, And it did come with a vengeance! We camped with a 36' MH and towed a car. The sites were plenty big enough. If your lucky you can get a nice site which has a concrete pad for your camper and picnic table and a bench to sit by the fire. Bathrooms were very clean every time I went along with the showers. The only negative thing is that they charge $5 for each child each day. Our kids were both 12, maybe they don't charge if they were younger. Just giving you a heads up to ask when making your reservations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$59
The showers were clean but the water was scalding hot! The temperature could not be adjusted. We were with a group of about 25 people and everyone agreed that the shower water was too hot. There was also a constant sewer/waste smell near the bath house. Otherwise a nice campground but a little pricey. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$45
Our stay here was pleasant. The pool was nice but crowded. We enjoyed the facilities although we spent most of our time in OC. Free admission to the water park was a nice benefit and included day of checkout. This was great for an extra vacation day before heading out in the afternoon. Just wish it was a little closer to the beach! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$60
Nice campground, but a little far from OC to be charging so much. Tons of activities and had a nice camp store. Stayed in a loop without sewer, but we were close to the large, clean bathhouse. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
The campground is outstanding. Sites are large and workers are very nice. Stayed there to travel to O.C for a lacrosse tournament. The grounds and bath house were very clean as well. I also took my son fishing in the lake on the back side of the campground. (Use live bait.) We were also able to use the water park at Frontier Town for free. I recommend Fort Whaley to all campers. Had a great time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$45
This campground was clean and the staff were nice. The bathrooms were clean and offered plenty of showers stalls. The site was easy to set up because it was a pull through. However, the non pull through sites gave plenty of room to maneuver. Now the little things. The game room seems to be old and has a musty smell. The miniature golf course they have is okay, (it is free to use) it is not really kept up. It is all overgrown with weeds and the putting surfaces need some TLC. We camped here in a travel trailer and we will come again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$35
Overall condition of the campground and facilities was very good, particularly the bath house. All of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, even under the stress of freezing temperatures and having to move nearly all of the planned Easter activities indoors at the last minute. We will definitely camp here again in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$34
We are return visitors to this campground. This time we stayed at a lake front site and were very pleased with the site. The site was spacious and had a good view of the lake. The campground itself is clean and well maintained. We are planning return visits. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$35
This campground is very nice with spacious sites. Every morning and afternoon workers came around in golf carts cleaning up branches and vacated sites. The store is nicely equipped with rv necessities, souvenirs, and food (including alcohol). It will be nice to see this place in action during the summer months. Miniature golf need a little cleaning up, but still right nice. Staff was very nice and helpful. Super Premium sites were huge with concrete pads. We stayed in the woods on a full-hookup site. It was nice but we were unable to open our awning due to the close proximity of the trees. No WIFI internet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$55
Our first stay at Fort Whaley was definitely a positive experience. There was a huge storm on Friday night before we got there and all the way late into the night. Hundreds of small branches and some larger limbs down all over the entire campground. The staff was busy all day Saturday cleaning up for the arriving campers, cleaning up sites, even helping one guy who had a fallen limb puncture his roof at 10:00 PM in the absolute pouring rain. Being the Labor Day weekend there was plenty for the kids to do, they had a clown, hay ride and a flashlight candy hunt on Sunday night. The mini-golf course was a wreck from the wind and rain, but to our surprise about 2 hours after we asked about it, it was all blown of and ready for use! The pool was also thoroughly cleaned, and they sent an activity coordinator to organize pool games for the kids. All the facilities were clean, dumpsters were not full, (they were checking on them, because we saw a guy operating a loader, smashing down the trash to make more room). The store is quite nice too, pretty much fully stocked with the essentials, they even sell beer & wine. Glad we didn't ask for a "Waterfront" site, it is more like a swamp, totally green and really not attractive, but oh well. Plenty of room to maneuver around, easy getting in and out of the site, nice shaded lots and some pull thru's that are out in the open. We would certainly consider making another trip to Fort Whaley. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$58
The campground areas were clean but the trash at the dumpster site was full (to overflowing) a couple of days before being emptied. The store had more than just "basics". Also, the pool/restroom area was well kept with the usual "low water pressure" at the pool showers at times. The lake at the back of the CG was pretty much "moss covered" but they did have free paddleboats and "throw back" fishing. The CG is close to main routes to Ocean City. Even though the camp ground was busy, the sites are open enough that you don't feel overcrowded. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$70
I highly recommend this campground to the point that we have stayed there every summer, for at least 1 week, for the past seven years. Very family oriented and nice size sites - quality establishment. Stayed at Frontier Town (Fort Whaley's sister campground) a few times, IMO, a rougher crowd stays there and lots of visits from the MD State Police to break up fights, etc. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$50
Although pricey it's a very nice campground and real close the the beach. We stayed here twice and enjoyed it both times. Site are large, clean and easy to get in and out of. The only bad thing is he roads aren't paved, so you'll get dust from the gravel road all over your car and camper, oh well small price to pay for a good time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$45
Park was clean, spacious, easy to manuever in. Staff was friendly. A nice place to stay if in the Ocean City area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$29
I camped there in June 05 in a pop up camper in a 'primative' site -- no water or elec. They were pretty well booked so that's all they had available at the time we reserved. The bathrooms were very clean but crowded -- especially the ladies room. HINT: use the bathroom at the pool, it's a walk (or ride there) but it's usually empty and has 2 showers in it and is rarely used outside of pool hours (10 to 8). The sites were very level and good sized. About half were heavily wooded (and a little muddy) and the other half were very sunny but nice and grassy. This park is much smaller than its sister camp at FrontierTown but I like it that way better. I was dissapointed that there was absolutely no internet access or wi-fi but there is a public library just about 5 minutes or so down the highway in Berlin that has 3 internet computers you can use to check e-mail etc. We were disappointed that many of the activities that everyone brags about here were cancelled. We showed up for several with our 4 kids and no one else was there and no activities took place -- the activities that they actually had were pretty good though. Some of the staff could be a little more friendly. Most were very friendly and nice. There was this one staff member that was just about everywhere and was lacking in the personality department; i.e. apparantly you have to be at least 14 to be in the pool without a parent present (no life guard) so instead of gently explaining it to the younger kids he was saying "how old are you? OUT, get out of the pool, no one under 14 allowed!" I felt bad for the poor kids that were treated like they did something wrong. Overall, a better than average campground, but call ahead for reservations as they do fill quickly. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$43
We have camped here over Memorial Day Weekend 2005 and again 3 weeks later. Restrooms very clean and staff were all friendly. Outdoor pool clean and a new playground for kids ages 4-10 was just built. We took advantage of the free use of water park at Frontiertown but prefer this campground to stay at. The drive to Assateague and/or Ocean City isn't bad - 15 minutes at the most. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2005
$35
We stayed here Easter Weekend, 2005. Very clean and well kept campground. Great activities for the kids and adults. We have already booked another weekend this year, maybe more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$41
We stayed there 2 weeks in August. It was the first time we did not have a sewer hookup, but it was not a problem. The water and electric sites were larger and had more shade than the full hookup sites. Our site was huge! Plenty of activities for the kids. The playgrounds were the only downside of this park, they need expanding and upgrading (Otherwise a 10). Free passes to the waterpark down by their sister park, Frontier Town. Perfect for the little ones, but not much there (yet) for older kids. Fort Whaley is 14 miles from Ocean City, but not a bad drive. Far enough away to get some quiet. Staff is very friendly, the bathrooms were constantly being cleaned! We will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$25
We were very pleased with this cg. Sites were large. Some were shaded some in the sun. The cg is open year round, but only certain areas during the off season. The website gives the rates. Off season special was 3 nights for the price of two. We had full hookups at $25.25/night. 3 nights would have been about $16.83. They also had camping cabins. This is the sister cg to Fronter Town. You get passes and discounts for the activities at FT. Sites were reasonably level (needed 2" under my 5er). We enjoyed our stay and would return. We only go to that area OFF SEASON. I suspect it will be hard to get a site June-August. There were quite a few campers there in mid November. CG is located on south side of Rt. 50 at Rt. 610 about 14 miles west of Ocean City, MD. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$43
We LOVED Fort Whaley! The staff is friendly, the restrooms and showers are clean, the sites are comfortable and level, and there are TONS of activites. This was our first camping experience near the beach, and unfortunately the weather was not really cooperative, but with all the activities at Fort Whaley and Frontier Town, we barely missed the sunbathing. We actually preferred Fort Whaley over Frontier Town. While we were there we scheduled another trip to use the Camping Cabins in October. You will not regret going to this campground. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2001
$30
A very nice campground. Large sites very large sites most rv site are shaded. Plenty of room for kids to run in open fields only thing we didnt like is, it can be a walk to get to the pool most drive to it and the playground is rather small and they shut the main bath house down for a 2 hrs to clean which can be inconvenient other then that it is a very nice campground We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com