214755 User submitted reviews online!!
Oxford / Talladega / Dandy RV KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (256) 241-2295
CGID13439

Oxford / Talladega / Dandy RV KOA

Camp Information
Sites
59
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   8   8   8   7   7   6   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$36
The campground is convenient to the I-65. One section is right near the interstate but there is another section near the office that is further away from the interstate. It wasn't the quietest place but we've been in worse. The campground is quite large and was pretty vacant. Not many amenities but the interior roads are very wide and the sites are very long. We'd stay again if passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$37
Gravel roads and spacious gravel sites, relatively level. No problems with power, water, cable or wifi. Two year old park, small trees have been planted but no shade as of yet. Some road noise in upper section, much louder in the lower part. Super friendly office staff, Grounds clean and well maintained. No pool. Camping super store next door. Nice park that will get better as the trees grow, we will return to check it out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$34
Good for overnight stop, easy in and out pull-thru sites. Noise from interstate traffic is a negative. Great dog park and playground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$34
Nice park but a little close to interstate. The sites are fairly level nice pull-throughs. The problem is the sites are gravel, large gravel which makes it hard to walk. We came in late, site instruction on door, no problem. Wi-Fi was really good, we was on site 20, Wi-Fi was was between us and the next site. This park is part of the RV Superstore next door. We are here for three days and would stay here again. A great convenient place for a one night stay over just off I-20. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$30
Stayed here a couple of years ago when this park was brand new and mostly red dirt and rock. Things have changed a lot. Now has grass, concrete pads (although our 40 foot motorhome was not conducive to using it), but shorter units will find it a welcome addition. The sites themselves are heavy gravel. We used our jacks to level the unit. We were here 4 days; some of the weather was extremely cold and the hosts came by to ask us to fill our tanks with water and disconnect from water. Then they came back in the am when the temp got above freezing to help us reconnect. The hosts are what make this park a better than average park; however, we are within a mile of groceries, shopping center, fuel, drug stores and right off I-20. This is an ideal spot for a stopover and for us to visit friends. Am sure we will be back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$32
Rate is KOA discount rate. Easy access from I-20, but park is quiet. There are two loops in the park with the south loop, nearer to I-20, and seems to be mostly occupied with longer term residents. The northern loop, nearer the park entry, seems to be more over nighters and where the park hosts also reside. Park is all gravel. We had a pull through in the northern loop and we found that the sewer connections are almost at the back end of the site with the electrical/water/cable about midway. As a result park sewer connection was about 20 feet from our MH sewer connection. CG cable TV limited analog only. Good satellite access and good Verizon LTE and AT&T service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
This was our second time staying here. Nice site close to I-20. Close to shopping, restaurants and adjacent to a large RV center. Campground is gravel, but level sites. Some long term campers, but most are in the back part of the park. Host couple, very nice. Escort to site. Clean restrooms (yes, you can access them anytime with the code provided). Registration hours are limited somewhat, but overall a nice, quiet place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$31
We gave this park a 6 mainly for 2 reasons. The first is that it is very new and there is a lot of trash grass, weed stickers, and raw red ground that hopefully will change as this park matures. When I checked in, the lady was brand new, but very nice. There are back in and pull through sites, but hardly any shade. There is a fenced in area for the pets, but it did not look as though it had been used. The dumpster was easily accessible as you exit the park. The park office was not open on Sunday at 8:30 am when we left so I could not access the bathroom. I'm not even sure if they have baths and showers for campers. They do have a laundry and it's accessible 24 hours a day. This park is right next to an RV center, so is handy for shopping or if you have a service need for your RV. You can also see I-20 from the park as it is right on Hwy 78. We stayed here because it is close to where our friends live. We stayed at a park down the road for cash only, $20 a night, but they had no laundry, showers or baths, which was ok by us as we carry those with us. We will probably go back to the one we stayed at previously, unless they make a lot of improvements between now and the next time we visit. They have some of the amenities in place that one expects from a KOA, but they have a ways to go as well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
This is a nice CG for an overnight stay. Facilities are clean and the staff is very helpful. Easy access to park from Interstate and located next door to a full service RV sales and repair facility. Sites are level with plenty of room for slides. Plenty of room for pets, but still growing the lawn. Newer park so there is no shade and it really needs a pool. We will definitely stay again when in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$33
Used this campground as a one-night stopover. It was close to the Interstate and had a nearby Cracker Barrel and other amenities nearby. I had no choice but to arrive at night, which I always try to avoid. The park did not offer any type of lighting which made locating the gravel sites (and the roads) difficult. The office was closed, but a sign indicated I could just pick my site and pay in the morning. The manager came by while I was trying to navigate my way to a site and offered some direction. I had to use my tow vehicle to light the site where I was attempting to park. The gravel area of the site parking strip was extremely narrow. there was no shortage of mud since a thunderstorm had just passed through the area just before my arrival. I spoke with the managing husband and wife team in the morning and they were both very pleasant. The quality of the water at the campground seemed questionable due to the odor. There did not appear to be much in the way of typical KOA amenities at this park, but it certainly was good for an overnight stop near the interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com