219004 User submitted reviews online!!
Moraine Campground (NPS Campground) was rated 9 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (970) 586-1206
CGID13454

Moraine Campground (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
245
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   9   8   8   8   8   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$10
The rate reflects a 50% senior discount. This campground may be the most convenient for all activities on the east side of the park. It is a very large campground with little separation between the sites and not a lot of vegetation for privacy. However, many of the sites have spectacular views of the surrounding meadows and peaks. Loops A, C, and D are reservable during the high season. Loop B is always first-come, first-served. (At least as of this writing. These things change.) Generator use is not allowed in Loop D. Overall, generator hours are fairly limited, but enough to charge batteries. The interior roads and pads are gravel and it can be a bit dusty. We were there during prime pine pollen season, so almost everything was yellow from the pollen. There is only one dump station for the campground and it is also the primary fresh water fill station, so it can get quite crowded. The campground is nicely quiet and dark at night. In our site we were able to get satellite. We did not have reliable Verizon phone or data, only enough to send a text message or two. The campground is convenient to shopping and dining in Estes Park. There are trails that can be easily accessed from the campground. We were in Loop C and could easily get to great hiking trails to Cob Lake and Fern Falls and Lake. This campgrounds main "competitor" is Glacier, only a few miles away. We stayed at both and each has its advantages. Moraine seems more orderly and organized. Glacier seems a little less organized and a little more remote, despite the fact that is only about 5 miles from Moraine. We would stay at either campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
This is a great campground for visiting the east side of the park. Elk and deer came through at dusk and dawn most days. We got a walk-in site (Glacier Basin Campground was closed so they made Moraine loop B walk-in this year) and had a long level site. I knocked off 2 points for lack of any hook-ups, but truthfully it was worth dry camping for 4 days for the location of this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$10
If you stay here, it is for the scenery and wildlife experiences; because it is dry camping. The big improvement over our stay 2 years ago is that we had decent Verizon cell & data. The sites are generous, although some are not too level. The restrooms are clean; however, no showers are available. Were were here in mid-Sept. and the elk were bugling every evening in the meadow. The only negative that comes to mind is the single dump station just before the CG exit. It can get crowded and there is no staging area; just park on the road and wait. You can fill up with water there; but I chose to bring mind in and avoid a conflict there at the dump. We would definitely stay here again in our 40 ft. MH We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
Stayed 1 night in Moraine campground. Nice back in site in B loop. Always love to stay in the park to catch the evening ranger talks. There are very few services in the park, and B loop only has pit toilets. Can catch the shuttle to other parts of the park as well. Firewood and ice available for sale. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
We stayed in Moraine campground one night and Glacier Basin Campground 3 nights. Moraine is all reservations, but we got a site that had a cancellation. The shade trees here were good. Glacier is half reservation sites, which had very little shade as many trees were removed due to pine beetle infestation. We stayed in a first-come, first-serve site which was nicely shaded in Loop A. Elk wandered around in the campground. Hosts were friendly and on top of things. We plan to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$10
We stayed at Moraine Park campground for four nights, and really enjoyed our stay. The elk were in rut and it was a very short drive to get to a spot for close-up photography (although there were often some inconsiderate people who blocked the roadway at times). We stayed in C loop, space 239, and the only problem was that the space was a pull-through with barely enough room for our travel trailer and pickup truck, which protruded into the roadway a foot or so. The reservation site had addressed the length of the travel trailer, so we thought we were OK, but it was a tight squeeze. But staying on the outside of this loop gave us a hillside location and we were able to watch and listen to some of the elk from the hillside, which really added to the overall wonderful experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
We stayed 2 nights in the Moraine Park Campground. Very convenient location. We visited at end of September and the elk rut in Moraine Park was within walking distance. Driving to Bear Lake and other attractions was a breeze. No hookups but the water supply and sewage dumps at the entrance worked well. Our site A140 was close to a clean restroom (no showers). Sites were reasonably spaced and we enjoyed our stay at this campground. Will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
We stayed at Moraine Campground for 5 nights in space 59. Was a large site with plenty of shade. Has lots of room between you and your neighbors. Dumping and filling up fresh water was a breeze by the entrance to the campground. Very beautiful views. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
We tent camped at Moraine, it is the perfect place to tent camp as well as in an RV. We saw lots of different sizes of campers fit into the sites. Looks like loop C was best suited for the bigger rigs. Loop D is tent and small pop-up with no generators. As noted previously, the Pine beatle has killed a lot of trees but new growth is coming fast. The scenery is just beautiful and well worth the effort to get here. This is camping as it should be with lots of hiking trails and raw nature. Will be back as soon as possible. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
We stayed in the Moraine Park Campground. Nice wide level spaces with good views of the mountains. Easy to get around on park shuttles. Elk wander right through campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
This is our second year staying at Moraine Park campground, and we love it. No amenities, but the nice large sites and a real camping experience is a wonderful change from the typical RV park. We arrived the day after Labor Day with no reservation and were given site B224, a 40-foot back-in site. We were close to the entrance: made it easy to leave and go watch the elk down in the meadow, which was our main reason for staying in the park. We also had mule deer right across from our campsite. We would stay here again and plan to do so next year! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$10
This review is for Moraine Campground. We liked this campground better than Glacier Basin 5 miles away. This place is very well maintained. The sites are clean and the trees are trimmed for easy maneuvering into the site. There are some sites long enough for 40-footers such as #245 where a 42-foot Beaver stayed for several days. There are several other sites for larger rigs but not too many will allow slide outs. The roads around the loops are fairly wide and well paved. About half the sites at Moraine have descent wind protection. Rangers, park employees and camp hosts drove the loops regularly making this campground in Rocky Mountain National Park a good and safe place to stay. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$20
We camped at Moraine Park Campground (8160 ft). The campground is open year round. Reservations are available and highly recommended from late May to September 30. Camping fee $20/site/night during the reservation period. Water is on May 13-October 14, 2007. Fee after water is turned off is $14/site/night. This campsite was wonderful, firewood is available for a small fee ($5) and Ice Cream is available as well. We arrived during the bugling season for the elk (Sept-Oct)and it was amazing. Nice roads and wildlife all around (we had a group of elk within 30ft of the tent site for half a day). The site is beautiful with nice shade throughout any fairly quite. Additionally, the tent sites are not too close together. The site is fairly rustic, bring all necessary supplies or buy them before entering the park. We camped here in a Tent.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com