220717 User submitted reviews online!!
Glacier Basin Campground (NPS Campground) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (970) 586-1206
CGID13455

Glacier Basin Campground (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   7   3   6   7   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$10
Rate noted above is with the Senior Pass discount. This is the "off the beaten path" campground in RMNP, somewhat less popular than Moraine Park, but just as nice. There's great views, a mixture of campsites/types; pull-throughs, back-ins, and tent sites. Some in the trees, some out in the open. We had a site that was a pull-through in D loop (D142), nestled in the trees but with an open view to the south. Will definitely keep this site in mind for future trips there. The restrooms (and there were numerous restroom buildings) were sparkling clean with flush toilets and sinks; seems a shame they don't include showers, but that doesn't detract from them, would just be a welcome addition. About the only thing that somewhat soured our visit was the very cranky "lady" that was selling firewood/ice, who made a very disparaging remark about us not having anything less than a $20 for the firewood; that was all the cash we had. She was really nasty about it, and when we go again, we will make sure to have something smaller so she won't be as cranky! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$10
The rate reflects a 50% senior discount. The first important thing to note about this NPS campground is that Loop C is a no-generator zone. I thought I had checked this out but ended up with reservations in Loop C for three nights. We could have survived but preferred a site where we could use a generator. The generator hours are very specific but not a problem. The rangers in charge of the campground were wonderful in helping us find a site were we could use our generator. Our site was in Loop D, which is the most open of the loops. We were directly on the road and had to park our tow vehicle at overflow, but we had wonderful views of the mountains. Of course there are no hookups, but there is fresh water fill and a dump station. This campground is closest to Bear Lake and some great high-country hiking. It is not the best laid-out, nor the most beautiful campground, but it is quite pleasant. As noted, all of the rangers and volunteers were friendly and great to deal with. Its competition is Moraine Park Campground, only about 5 miles away. Glacier is often open when Moraine is full. We stayed at both and actually liked Glacier a lot. It is not as pretty or organized, but has a more wild alpine feel (it is at a higher elevation). In our site we were able to get satellite but many sites would have too many trees. We did not have Verizon phone or data. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$10
We stayed at Glacier Basin campground, paying $10/night with a Golden Age pass. We arrived shortly after 9:00 am on a Sunday morning, without a reservation, and were quickly escorted to a campsite for our 40' rig. At this time I think you can get in Glacier Basin w/o reservations, if you arrive early on days other than Friday and Saturday. It is difficult, but not impossible to get around the campground to your campsite in a big rig. Some going backwards and forwards is necessary, and you may get some scratches from the high overhanging branches. The campsites in the non-reserved sites are nice, with quite a few trees. I only give this campground an 8.0 because of the lack of hookups. You must boondock. And for the difficulty in getting a big rig to the campsite. But this is Rocky Mountain National park, one of the most spectacular of the National Parks, and a place that deals quite successfully with the hoards of visitors. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
Glacier Basin Campground has been hit hard by the pine beetles, so a lot of the trees have been cut down. There is construction going on with some bath houses, so it's not the prettiest sites (be careful making a reservation--they let us move to a different site). Has good access to the Bear Lake trails and lots of wildlife to watch from camp. Rangers are very attentive and nice. Moraine Park seems to be in better shape in terms of preserved trees and more privacy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$10
This review is for the Glacier Basin Campground. The National Park Service has allowed the pine bark beetle to destroy most of the forest in Rocky Mountain National Park. I mean MOST. Glacier Basin has been cut to remove dead trees and slash was left everywhere. There is no gathering of firewood and so the debris makes a horrible mess. The drive up the RMNP will look like Yellowstone did in the mid 80's very soon. This disaster has nothing to do with diseased or stressed trees. This is a beetle that attacks and destroys healthy trees. Do not be mislead by the pseudo experts. The scenery past the dying forest is still spectacular. We camped here for three days and anyone wanting to see the beauty of RMNP had better get there within the next two years. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$18
We camped at Glacier Basin. We have a 40' RV and were able to squeeze in a spot with a bit of maneuvering. (The site was obviously designed with much smaller RV's in mind, though.) The sites were level, but cramped. Nicely equipped with a modern fire ring and level raised tent camp area on each site. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$18
We stayed at Glacier Basin, appears to be nicest campground there. We had a great view of the mountains from our site. However with that site across from the field came some good wind. We adjusted not really a big deal. No electric anywhere, but we knew that coming in. Only cold water in bathrooms, no showers, etc. However we knew that going in as well, and just showered in our camper. Was a nice place to stay and walked the dogs around with every night. Wow, the wildlife that comes into the campground is great to watch. Bear warnings up, but don't fret, doesn't seem to be a problem there, just follow the rules. Would I stay at this campground again. Yes I would, and it is very close to some great hiking. Also the vendor that comes in to sell ice and ice cream and wood was nice to have there in the evenings. Reasonable pricing on those items as well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2004
$20
We stayed in Glacier Basin on the first weekend it opened for the season (late May), although some other campgrounds in the park are open year round. Well laid out in heavily forested area, yet sites were level and clear of undergrowth. No hookups or showers, but fantastic views in a fantastic park. This is the place where they take all those photos you see in the camping ads. There are pay showers in Estes Park and the rangers can give you a map to the location. Campground does have very convenient dump station with water fill-up point and a vendor comes to sell firewood, ice, etc. a few hours each afternoon. You are in the mountains, so be prepared for cool temps--it snowed on Memorial Day. The park itself is loaded with wildlife--including a coyote that came trotting through the campsite. Bears, however, are evidently not a problem. Many scenic drives and hikes and well-done ranger programs. Would love to go back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$18
We camped in a popup in Glacier Basin. Fantastic! Sites are in a pine forest, clean and smell great. Rangers were wonderful - multiple 1hr programs we all loved (learned about bats one night, cougars the next). No showers, cold water only in bathrooms, but they are clean. Moraine Park CG (54 sites) was more open and more crowded, but still very nice. Museum worth a visit. Free bus to Bear Lake (wonderful area to hike). We'd go back again in a flash! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com