223219 User submitted reviews online!!
Cottonwood Campground (NPS Campground) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (701) 623-4730
CGID13460

Cottonwood Campground (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
76
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$5



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   8   8   8   10   9   10   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$5
This is primitive camping at its best. There is potable water available at the entrance to the campground but no other services. Their are two loops, the left loop appropriate for small pop-up trailers and tents, and the right loop with pull-through sites. Many sites would be difficult for a big rig due to low branches and leaning trees. Two sites, 42 and 43, are on the left side of the blacktop parking area across from the self registration kiosk. We had #43 and positioned our door and windows to face the meadow. It was level with lots of room for our slides and truck. It made for a surprisingly private site. Considering the rain we had on our last night, it also made for an easier pack up to leave. We enjoyed many of the programs and trails offered by the NPS and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$5
A wonderful back to nature experience. Buffalo wander through the campground. Sites have privacy, but it's hard to find a site after mid-afternoon. Would surely return here if our travels ever take us that way again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$10
Very nice campground - well treed, so a big tight for big rigs (ours is a 38' FW). Has fresh water fill, but no dump/sani station - need to pay $5 at local campground in Medora if you need to dump. Had one of the friendliest, most helpful, initiative-taking host we've ever experienced! Quiet & dark at night. Would come here again, for sure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
WOW. Loved this park and campground. The traffic jam on the way into the campground could be excused, due to the cause... Bison, lots of Bison, of all ages. There are volunteers that were more than helpful in pointing out open spots. The Bison came through while I was setting up, so that slowed things down, then one decided that my wee tent trailer looked like a likely scratching spot, so that made things rock for a bit! I had a spot near the entrance, where the self check in station is located. The downside were the other campers, why everyone feels the need to idle their rigs whilst yelling back and forth parking instructions and campground rules I'm not sure... But they did. Also, if you get to the park late, you can't try to park where you feel like it, the nice Ranger man will make you move, even if you have the largest rig this side if the rockies. This park is a gem, I hope to return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$5
Wonderful park setting next to the Little Missouri River (not much water right now). Bison walking through our campsite at wake-up time (we kept our distance when out of the camper). Facilities were well maintained and clean. It is off season and with senior pass it cost us $2.50 for the night. Wish we could say that every night. Recommend! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$5
This national park easily falls into the "DO NOT MISS" category. The scenery and wildlife are as close to what must have been 100 years ago as you can get. The campground has 2 loops, back-in and pull-through. The back-in loops all seemed too small for our 23 ft trailer, so most rigs will need one of the 37 pull-throughs. All of these are very private, many are mindbogglingly long. No hook-ups, but potable water spigots are conveniently placed between sites. Our tour of the scenic loop was interrupted by group of bison that just didn't want to move off the road, so we ate lunch in the truck and stared at each other for a while. Great scenery, hiking and ranger programs. If you go after Labor Day, the nearby town of Medora is starting to shut down a bit, so provision before you come. Worth every minute it takes to get here! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$10
This park was great! We drove around the park in the morning looking for open sites, as they are all first come first serve, and found several nice sites available. The sites were very private; you couldn't see your neighbors while sitting by the grill/firepit area. The other really nice thing about this park is that you can run your generator from 8am-8pm. This was really nice, as you were able to use the power if needed during the day, but it was extremely quiet during the night. Since you were already in the park, it was easy access to get to the scenic route, which allowed us to drive during the best parts of the day and see a lot of wildlife. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$5
This is just a great Nat'l Park. $10 to enter park and $5 a night (senior) lifts my heart. We had a 30' motorhome and had no problem finding a nice pull through site that was plenty spacious, private, and with a spectacular view. Walking the dog was an absolute pleasure. No water, electric or sewer, but the whole ambiance of the park more than makes up for it. Besides, that's the way Theodore Roosevelt saw it. It was so great to get away from the typical RV parks and really enjoy the outdoors and natural splendor of North Dakota. Can't wait to go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$5
Come self contained: no services. You can fill up water directly across from camp host site as you come in on the left. Nightly wildlife shows as the bison and wild horse's come through the campground to the river. Great scenic drive in the cg. Would come back again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$10
Sites are large and shaded and many have beautiful views of the park. Wildlife frequent the campground, including bison and wild horses. Bathrooms were kept fairly clean. Nice place to stay for a night or two in a beautiful area. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$5
Price quoted is GA, summer. Winter is $5 for everyone, $2.50 GA. Verizon voice and data poor, but usable. Fresh water in park, but no dump station.l Dump in town (private park) is $5. Campground is 5 miles past park entrance. Level, very long pull through sites. Recycling. Lots of Bison & prairie dogs and a few wild horses and deer. Very worthwhile place to stay if you are in the area. No air TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$5
This is a nice, quiet campground with private, roomy sites with a beautiful view of canyon. All sites are wooded. There are no amenities, but that's what we like as we are self-contained. Winter rate was in effect ( $5 instead of $10 ), plus we have the senior pass so it was only $2.50!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$3
Rate of $2.50 reflects Golden Age discount. Nice peaceful campground about 5 miles out of town. The bison were in the campground and totally ignored all of the campers. Saw lots of beautiful country on the loop. Drinking water when you enter the park. Otherwise boon-docking. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$5
We camped at Cottowwood Campground in the South Unit. Campsites were large and well spaced but few were Big Rig friendly, as pull throughs were narrow and not very level. No fire rings - only elevated charcoal grates. The 36 mile drive was a beautiful, scenic experience. Loved the wild life. Bison frequently grazed their way through our campsite. Dry camping with flush toilets centrally located in the campground. Price was with Golden Age Pass. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$1
June 21st was FREE. Rustic, semi-level gravel drive through sites, plenty of trees but landscape could use a little TLC. Many mosquitos. Host was kind and helpful. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$10
Cottonwood Campground in the South Unit. Nice place, but not really big rig friendly. We camped in a 35' Fifth Wheel, and there were only a few sites that could have accommodated it. We found a nice one (#35), but it was on a weekday real early in the season. The park is really designed for smaller units or tents. Purely dry camping, but sites are fairly level gravel and well spaced. Lots of trees, great scenery, and several wild horses wandered through camp one evening. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$10
I like this park for dry camping. The price is right and I'll pay the extra five dollars to get to travel at my age. To bad there is not a dump station, but I'm not complaining. The spots can handle big rigs and generator time is not a problem. I'll be back if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$5
Golden Age rate. Only two drawbacks here are the generator hours, 8-8. Waiting until 8 am can put a late start on your day. No dump station, but there is a free one down behind an old gas station in front of the Medora Campground. Water hookups are not threaded, but the one on the left when you first come in has a removable nozzle so you can use a hose there. The picnic area is a loop if you need to turn around to get back into the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$5
This is a great place to dry camp. It's a little busier that the campground in the North Unit and has a little more noise and traffic. Many of the sites were suitable for our 40 foot coach. We had a nice site with trees and a view of the hills in the distance. We parked on the other site of the loop from the restrooms. The only trails cutting through the center to the restrooms were in the sites on the inside of the loop, so these trails weren't useable when someone had the site. The campground gets fairly full most days and sees a lot of 1 nighters. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$5
Nice campground, but no amenities. It was busy when we were here, but we were fortunate enough to find a campsite big enough for our 30' fifth wheel. Lots to do in Roosevelt NP and in Medora. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$10
As in most national parks, TR is dry camping. They do have a handy potable water spigot as you enter the campground. There is no dump station. The sites are in a wooded area (cottonwood trees) and there are several that would take the largest motorhomes. Most would accept our 30' trailer. The evening Ranger program was excellent. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$10
This is a very good National Park campground with some of the longest pull through sites ever seen...and in the trees! Be sure to get there mid-day and pick your site. The hosts are very helpful. I was surprised to get Verizon cell service here. Do the loop road; it is okay for motorhomes. Stay a few days or longer. It is quiet and peaceful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com