214866 User submitted reviews online!!
Chignecto North Campground (Parks Canada) was rated 9 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (506) 887-6000
CGID13476

Chignecto North Campground (Parks Canada)

Camp Information
Sites
248
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   7   8   9   7   8   9   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$37
Whoever claimed that this campground isn't big enough for large rigs didn't do much research. We were in the fully serviced sites, A1-A10, and they are huge and quite private. We did have a problem with the 50A receptacle which our power management system wouldn't connect to, but we were fine on 30A. The highway (114) down to Alma is steep, but you'll be fine if you go slowly. Just remember to gear down. The WiFi was great especially since we couldn't get our Rogers network cellular modem to work. We did have Verizon voice service on our phones, but no data signal. The WiFi did go out for ~36 hours during a rainstorm and it can be pretty boring, since there is absolutely no other way to get online that we could figure out. BTW, satellite TV is a no go because of the tree cover. But it is still another wonderful Canadian National Park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$49
We spent 3 nights exploring the area in and around the park. We had one of the fully serviced pull-through sites, it worked well for us. Other than getting our rig leveled (the utility connections are not in the most level areas of the site. Wi-Fi in a National Park was a plus, but the signal was weak which I solved with a repeater. A great location to explore the area. Don't miss Hopewell Rocks! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
We found Route 10 to Alma to be bumpy and tough on the travel trailer at times. The campground is in a heavily forested area; our spot was level and large. The comfort station was clean and modern. There was a neat gathering house for Wi-Fi, to do dishes, and meet other travelers. Apparently, it comes in handy during bad weather and avoiding swarming insects. Insects were numerous until a wind picked up. There is a gift shop a few km away, but no interpretive center or naturalists to tell us about the Bay of Fundy or local ecology. It was amazing to walk to the low tide level. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$23
Another really nice Provincial park with full services. Our campsite was a pull though with good 50 amp power, water pressure was a little high and sewer connections were good. The sites were level and long without any overhanging tree limbs. The free Internet connection was weak but usable. Sometime we would drive up by the check-in building for a better Internet connection. The internal wide roads were great--asphalt. The cost was low but one has to pay a Provincial park fee for each day one is in the park. There were some nice hiking trails. The town of Alma was close by and we could watch the lobster boats come in around mid morning and buy lobsters in local fish houses. We would certainly stay in this park again when we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$31
Outstanding campground in Fundy National Park! Hikes and sights kept us busy for several days. We stayed in Chignecto North in one of 10 pull thrus with full hookups including 50amp. We got partial Dish satellite reception from our heavily wooded site. Wifi is only available close to the transmitters at the entry station or bathrooms. The roads going to the park are heavily patched and rough. At present, the coastal road from Moncton to Alma is rougher than going to the park from the north on Highway 1 and 114. From earlier reviews I was concerned about the steep hill up from the Alma entrance to Chignecto but the climb was not that bad and I have a heavy RV. I like that you can see pictures of some of the sites as well as site dimensions on Fundy’s online reservation web site. Rate shown doesn't reflect additional park usage fee. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
A big campground with a lot of loops, roomy and wooded sites set in groups of cul de sacs branching off roads. Weeds could have used some trimming. Bathroom was modern but had a somewhat annoying push button shower system that required constant pushing to keep activated and released a spray mist that wet down everything in the stall. The National Park roads are nice but roads are bad to get down here (and back) from the main highway. The town of Alma near the park has a small market, restaurants, fish market, gas station and a bakery with great sweet rolls. We stayed two nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
This is a great Canadian National Park. The highway getting to it was in serious need of maintenance but at the park boundary, brand new blacktop. We discovered that Chignecto and Chignecto North campgrounds are accessed from the same road from Highway 114. After we turned around and came back up the big hill from the town of Alma. Sites are clean and spacious set apart at a comfortable distance from your neighbours. To use the Wi-Fi, we took our vehicle and laptop to the main entrance, close to the antenna. Very busy and noisy on the July 1st evening but the rest of the weekend was very quiet, close to nature, and relaxing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$32
This is a really nice campground in Fundy National Park. The cost is an estimate because I lost the receipt, but it is close. We bought the Parc Canada Pass to get this good price. The camp sites are what most people want in a campground in that they are spacious, woodsy and perfect for a campfire. We were delighted to learn that wi-fi was available and for free. Just park somewhat near the restrooms and you will get a decent signal. The check in is smooth as one would expect from National Park Canada employees. Having 2-way connection was also nice. This park is not far from Alma where there are stores and restaurants and a view of the Fundy tide influence. Would definitely return here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
We camped in Chignecto North CG. There are two others. (Headquarters and Point Wolfe (closes about first few days of September) Chignecto North is a few miles from Alma and in the highlands. Headquarters is a much smaller campground and the sites are closer together but very near Alma and a lower elevation than Chignecto North. If you are close to the entrance kiosk in Chig. N., with a pull through, Wi-Fi works. If in a wooded area elsewhere, no Wi-Fi. Most of the back-ins are spacious with some privacy. Chig. N. is a very wooded area. This is a beautiful national park with a golf course. Great seafood in Alma. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
We camped in the Chignecto Campground in their unserviced area. It was fabulous. Sites were large and reasonably level and spotless. Roads were a little narrow in spots. Staff was very helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
We stayed here one night at Chignecto campground, one of two campgrounds in the park; would have liked to stay more. The campground was great, clean, well maintained. We had full hookups. There are even cooking pavilions with a wood stove and sinks. There are hiking and biking trails and beautiful views of Fundy Bay and the Tidal basin. There is a steep downgrade on the road to the town called Alma, a charming town with a beach, restaurants and good lobster. You can get firewood at the park, pay $6 and they give you a burlap bag that you can fill with as much wood as you can carry. The park is about 40 minutes drive from the Hopewell Rocks, which is a must see if you want to see the spectacular tidal changes. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$39
We stayed in Chignecto North. The paved roads in the park were good, but the entrance road was marginal. Watch your speed. The site was gravel, mostly level, wooded and large. Hook-ups were easily accessible, but the sewer pipe was well above ground level. No WiFi at the site. Well-maintained and clean. An excellent spot to tour the park by car, visit Alama, and the Hopewell Rocks. Many trails to hike, if you are so inclined. Check the other fees necessary to stay in the Canadian Parks System. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
I don't know: over $30 seems alot for a National, Provincial or State Park to me just having power & water. Having said that, this park is beautiful. There is no such thing as a bad site. All are big and well separated. I paced one site out at an easy in-excess of 100' long! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
We camped here at Site 12 in Chignecto North. It was level for our trailer and a bit of a hike to the washrooms but that was ok. Fundy NP is a beautiful National Park. Yes our National Parks are expensive, especially when you add in the daily entrance fee, but they are well worth the visit. Alma, NB is a couple of minutes drive from the park where you can watch the tides, buy local lobster and stock up on supplies. The Hopewell Rocks are not far either, as well as Cape Enrage. Fundy NP is a must stop on any visit to Atlantic Canada. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
We were in the North area. Although we had a site rated for a big-rig, it was tight. Did not see any other sites that would have been better: many would have been worse. The problem comes from the overhanging trees and the fact that the entrances or opening to the sites are not trimmed back. Other than sewer, the site had all the hookups. There are 5 or 6 dump stations so you do not have to wait in line. Great value and also the fact that you are in the woods. Hiking is good around the site. If you go to Hopewell Rocks (a must see), try to have breakfast at the "Dude Ranch" on Hwy 114, it's a great meal. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$33
We were in site #129 & 130 for 3 nights. This was in one of the northern loops as seen in the campground map. Very good tree cover. Short walks to 2 bathrooms/showers which were spotless. Spacious sites. On our second night, the campground was full (Friday night). You saw more traffic, but overall noise was ok. Quiet time was respected by all. Check-in process is painless. Short drive to Alma makes refuelling of supplies quick, but very busy during peak hours. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$30
We had a wonderful camping experience in this beautiful National Park campground, Fundy/Chignecto North. We were traveling late in August, and had no difficulty in obtaining a site. Our pull-though site was very large, and privacy was offered by the trees that provided screening between sites. There was an area nearby that had the bathrooms, a laundry building, a kitchen building with cooking facilities and a wood-burning fireplace, and a playground. There is so much to see and do in Fundy National Park; nature programs, many walking/hiking trails, a golf course, and a beach where the phenomenon of the tides of Fundy is plainly seen. Although the campground itself does not have a swimming pool, there is a pool in the National Park, which is available for a small fee. This is a truly great place to camp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$25
Fundy National Park has two camping areas...Headquarters and Chignecto. We always go to Chignecto. Sites are huge with 50 - 100 feet of woodland separating campers. Totally wooded sites. In some cases, you can't even see your neighbor. Park is very clean with many hiking trails. Only two small playgrounds for the kiddies. No pool. Only downside is that flies during the Summer months are crazy! We generally only go to Fundy in the Spring or Fall. If you go, be sure to stop at Kelly's Bake Shop in Alma!! Lot's of yummy treats! Especially their date-filled cookies! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com