219004 User submitted reviews online!!
Desert Eagle RV Park (Military Camping Only) was rated 9 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (702) 643-3060
CGID13478

Desert Eagle RV Park (Military Camping Only)

Camp Information
Sites
204
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   1   8   9   9   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$22
This is the nicest military fam camp that I've seen. Plenty of large, level spots laid out in large spoke patterns with ample space and extra parking. Amenities included grassed dog run (practically the only grass in Las Vegas), playground, laundry, and good Wi-Fi. Plus you have the Nellis AFB amenities close by. We stayed a week and they were never full but I'd recommend reservations anyway. Both Verizon & ATT were 4G/LTE. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$22
This is a regular stop for us when transiting the area, and is consistently superior in price and quality over other parks in the area. Security is important in this town, and being on the base provides a relaxing stay while being close enough to access I-15 and the Las Vegas Strip. Check in was quick, friendly, efficient, and we were escorted to our site by a host. Sites are both back-in and pull-thru, and on this visit we were located in a pull-thru that was long, level, and concrete with a large patio and table. There are moderate sized trees to provide shade, and sites are well spaced. Hookups are convenient and worked well. The park WiFi was excellent throughout our two week stay, and Verizon cell and 4G was strong. Base facilities are excellent, with a large commissary and BX, and gas was significantly less expensive than off base. The only irritant was the loud playing over loudspeakers of reveille at 0360 each morning. Lots of jet noise, but only during the day. An excellent value and great place to stay, we'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$22
Military only campground. Top notch all around. Quiet, clean, large sites and safe. A must for the military affiliated RVer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2013
$22
If you can't get into a full hook spot then don't even bother. We pulled in where shown for our spot, then moved to another spot when the host realized there wasn't a water hook up. Showed us our second spot...and we left. Partial spots are in a circle. 6 Rvs per circle, end to end. So you have to parallel your rig into a very tight spot. 30/50 amp hook ups are every other spot. All the 50 amps were used so we had the 30 amp. Door opened to the middle of the circle which was dirt and weeds. Very disappointed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$22
This was a surprised. The staff was nice and pleasant. The park was spacious, nicely landscaped, dog friendly, level concrete pads, quiet, and more. Very accommodating - we will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$22
We were really impressed with this park. The site are spacious, level, concrete. The utilities work good. A pool would be nice. There's a walking track all the way around the park. The WiFi was fair. The park is well cared for and very attractive. The commissary and BX are close enough. Don't miss the ticket and tour office, we got a couple of really good military specials there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$22
We travel with dogs, so the off-leash dog area was an outstanding feature at the FamCamp. The staff was very nice and professional. The spot assigned was a pull through and fit our 37' RV with toad attached for an easy overnight stop. Nellis AFB is close to the strip, and being on the main base, it was safe. We would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$22
Great park, lots of security, close enough to everything you'd want to see in Las Vegas but far enough away that it's nice and quiet (apart from the occasional F-18 or F-22). We arrived late into the Las Vegas area (after 11p) and had to do some research on how to get into the FamCamp. DO NOT go straight into the Nellis Main Gate while you're on Craig Road. You'll enter off Range Road (directly across from Nellis AFB north gate) which is .6 miles north of the Main Gate. You then go around a weird loop to the right that circles back to the security gate (which is big enough to fit even semis). We pulled in about 1AM and the park has 4 hook-up sites behind the office for late arrivals as well as 2 more dry spots out front. I'd suggest parking up front and walk around the temp sites, because some folks leave their 'towed' attached and you will never be able to get around them. The front office is friendly, efficient and it's great that you get a free bag of ice daily. The gas station, commissary and other retail facilities are on the main side of the base, while housing, the VA hospital, (HUGE!) solar array and FamCamp are on the west side. The Base Police rolled through every few hours, and our neighbors ranged from rigs as small as 25 foot Terry Travel Trailers up to a Prevost Bus with an older Rolls-Royce as their towed! Every guest we spoke to during our stay was very nice and recommended different casinos, buffets and shows to see. We will definitely stay here again, probably during the NASCAR race since LVMS is two miles up the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$21
Not a "resort," but an outstanding RV park. Concrete pads and patios - paved roads with curbing; plenty of parking for cars. Irrigated trees. Nice folks in office. Well maintained. Sign up for propane delivery on Tuesdays - saves a tear-down headache. 75-80 psi water pressure, so be sure to bring regulator. Showers are individual toilet/sink/shower 3/4-bath type arrangements - 5-ea., with four washers/driers in same building. Hot water is usually "luke," and showers could use some maintenance, but are usually reasonably clean. Biggest feature is SECURITY; it's behind the hospital - inside 24/7-manned gate - and adjacent to base housing. 6-month maximum stay, and judging by the number of empty slots, and the number of full ones in the "overflow" area, a reservation is likely mandatory. The usual big-box stores are close by, a truck-wash is about four miles away (for those of you who may be inbound, and in need of a wash - and no washing in the park), as is a medium/heavy truck repair and service shop just south of the truck wash (Allison-certified). It gets a bit windy - and office will remind you to furl your awning before you leave your coach unattended. We enjoyed the stay - hope to be back for a 6-month trial the next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$21
150+ very large spaces. Level, concrete pads with plenty of space for car at either end of RV. Excellent water pressure and solid electricity. Medium walk to the showers and dog walk. All-in-all, a great military famcamp. Quiet on weekends, jet noise during the week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$21
One of the best military campgrounds in the system. Convenient to the Interstate and just across the highway from the main base with it's excellent BX and Commissary. Most sites are back in, huge, and all have concrete pads. The free Wi-Fi worked reasonably well, and Verizon cell and data service were good. The park is known for it's exceptional staff - everyone we met was friendly and helpful. A great place to stay when visiting Las Vegas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$21
One of the nicest parks we have stayed in, military or otherwise. A private park this nice in Vegas would be charging $75 a night. Spaces are long, wide and far apart; concrete pad with gravel in rest of site. Quite a few trees and nice desert landscaping. Restrooms have individual rooms with sink, shower and toilet. Very friendly, helpful folks in the office. There is quite a bit of airplane noise (this is an advanced jet fighter training base after all), but they rarely fly late at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$17
The park was clean and the staff was friendly. The price was quite fair and even the laundry costs were affordable. The dog park seems to be where everyone meets! No swimming pool, etc on the premises. Close to the Nascar races; Not too long of a drive to the Vegas strip. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$21
2nd nicest FamCamp we've stayed in...second to Ellsworth AFB in Rapid City. One problem...hotter than the dickens. Checked out a day early due to 111 degrees. Gladly refunded the day's difference. Would stay here again...but in the winter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$21
Wonderful park. Clean, well maintained, trees, big sites, etc, etc. Very nice, helpful staff. Lead you to your spot and help you park. High pressure water. Fast Wi-Fi. No complaints. On base gas station very close and it has enough space for motorhomes. Will come again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$18
One of the best military RV parks. Very clean and well maintained. It is best to make reservation six months in advance for a stay October through April. Space is $20 with 10% discount for a club card. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
I've been here before and will come back again in the future. Friendly staff. Easy to get in and out of a site. I just love this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
This is an excellent Park. Easy to get in and out of the Base. Long, wide sites, and parking for an extra car if needed. Bath/showers roomy and clean. Everything about this Park is first rate; and you get free air shows, Reveille, Taps, etc. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
Well maintained and well run. Price absolutely the best in town. Located near the hospital and near all the amenities available on the base. Large sites, nice facilities, Wi-Fi worked, staff worked with us to get a north facing site so didn't have sun in the coach all day long, just over us. Beautiful landscaping and we would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to others. A great deal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$21
One of the better military campgrounds. Sure beats anything else offered around Las Vegas in price and amenities. We paid the extra dollar for an extra person, well worth it. Second time we have been here about 3 or 4 years apart and its only bigger and better. We had several trees around our site so we didn't get all the hot sun but still warm. Will come here anytime we are in the area as I can't say enough good about this place without repeating others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
The best Military Park we ever stayed in. There is no pool at site but, you can use all the facilities at the main post across the road. The management is very friendly and helpful. They even through us a cookout for Labor Day, all we had to do is bring a dish to pass or volunteer to help with the cook out we did both and we met a lot of retired and active military and had a good time talking with them. We will stay there anytime we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
Sorry to read of the pet limit problem of the last reviewer, but this is the finest military, and one of the finer all-round, parks I've stayed at. Very large pull-throughs, nicely shaded and landscaped sites and surroundings. Sure, the Thunderbird aeronautic team based at Nellis AFB fly by once in a while, but I consider that pretty good company. Nice, friendly people. No cable TV or I'd give them full grades. I had no trouble getting a reservation, but imagine that snowbirding makes that a bit tougher in mid-winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$19
As a military campground this is one of the best. Gravel sites with cement patio. Ours was a pull through and we're a 41 foot 5th wheel, and we had plenty of parking. If they have a swimming pool it is away from the campground and on the base mainside. They could use some "events" within the camp such as pizza night or pot lucks. Guess they figure those staying here will hit the shows or casinos. (We hit the casino buffets - great ). They offer reasonable laundry charges (.75) and they have a nice fenced dog run with grass and clean up bags and tools. The Sunrise Vista golf course ( 27 holes )has wide fairways and is reasonably priced ( cheap for Vegas ). Good wi-fi connection in our rig. Very nice/helpful office staff. Make your reservations early if you plan on being here during the winter season. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$19
Excellent park in North Las Vegas; about a 15 min drive to the Las Vegas strip if you drive down I-15. Friendly, helpful staff. One of the few military famcamps which take reservations. (Why?) Sites are large, both length and width; we had a pull thru (PT-1) which was over 80 ft long. Free (during July and August) Olympic-sized pool on base with diving boards and water slide was perfect for kids. Wi-Fi worked well from all locations. No cable TV, but regular antenna pulled in about 5 local TV stations. Laundry room clean and cheap. Stayed three nights while visiting the area (including Hoover Dam). Most others at campground were staying for weeks or months. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$19
Nice large sites, easy to get in and out of. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Convenient to sightseeing in area. Red Rock Canyon is worth the ride. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com