214620 User submitted reviews online!!
Bourne Scenic Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (508) 759-7873
CGID1348

Bourne Scenic Park

Camp Information
Sites
460
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   1   4   9   7   5   9   3   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
Went to the Cape, but unfortunately we picked a weekend with a lot of rain. But we still had a good time getting away. Our site was a little narrow. Would have like to have better Wi-Fi coverage. As campgrounds on the Cape go, this one is pretty good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$39
Right on Cape Cod Canal next to lovely walk/bike trail. Very dense shade sandy ground. Some sites very narrow, but ours was large. Seasonal rigs with a lot if stuff lying around detract from the beauty. Water pressure in showers way too high to stand under. Wi-Fi only available 300 feet from office, but office open until 9:00 PM and they invite you to sit there. And there is a large pavilion with access. Store open on weekends in off season. No real alternatives, and this CG isn't bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$46
Bourne Scenic Park is narrow piece of land about a mile long located between route 6 and the Cape Cod Canal in Bourne, MA starting just west of the Bourne Bridge. This is a town run campground on land leased to them by the Army Corps of Engineers. Management, the office staff, store staff and staff in the campground were very friendly and helpful when asked. The location of the campground makes it a great place for watching the boats and ships traveling through the canal. The manned security gate is a plus. Our site had 50 amp service with gray water pit. We were told only a small section of the campground had upgraded electrical service. There is a dump station for black water. Wi-Fi is only available at the pavilion. There appears to be a lot of scheduled activities and two small pools manned with lifeguards. There are almost no mosquitoes, I guessing due to the smoke. The store had the best Ice Cream. Now for the negative review. 1. Part of campground sits directly below the Bourne Bridge. This bridge transverses the Cape Cod Canal. Trucks crossing over the top use their Jake Brake to slow down in both directions. Tires hitting the expansion joints add to the noise (thump, thump). The noise of the traffic and the braking gets to be very annoying. 2. Emergency vehicles across the canal start their sirens leaving the station and appear to not shut them off until the reach their destination. By the frequency of the noise, they get a lot of calls. 3. NO Air Conditioners are allowed to be used even though we had 50 amp service at 120 plus volts. This means that if you shut your RV’s windows due to the campfire smoke you literally roast. It can get very hot and damp in the RV at night. The smoke just seems to hang in the trees due to the heavy canopy.. 4. No cable and we could only get one station (not all the time though) consistently OTA. We had to face the antenna toward the Bourne Bridge even though the station was in the opposite direction. Trees blocked any chance of a remote satellite dish. 5. Even though there are a lot of sites with grass and excellent views of the canal, you cannot get reserve one. The seasonals have almost all of them. Our site was all sand. 6. Burning of trash in the fire pits is a frequent pastime at this campground. Nothing like the smell of burning trash before you get up in the morning. 7. As far as I could see, none of their rules are being enforced. C section is far enough away so that the bridge noise is significantly reduced. This section is well above the canal. There are many sets of steps leading to the canal service road. The number of steps range from 20 to 50 steps depending where you are located in C section. This section is extremely tight. The larger sites and the sites with a canal view appear to be taken by the seasonals. The roads are very narrow in C section. My neighbor from Rhode Island mentioned to me that the seasonals were not very friendly and I agree. If you can deal with the noise, no A/C , heavy smoke and the smell of burning trash, this might be the perfect campground for you. Until they allow the use of A/C's, I would not recommend Bourne Scenic Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$48
We were very disappointed with this park. I did not review the rules before we came so found out after we arrived that they do not allow air conditioners to be run even though we had 50 amps. We were able to get into the spot but they are arranged back to front and we had no where to sit outside as the party next to us had the entire area with lots of kids. The interior roads were very narrow and the dump would have been very difficult to maneuver with a 45 ft. motor home. Nothing like what their web site said. Office help were wonderful and helpful and made you feel welcomed when we arrived. We would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
This town run park is located next to the Cape Cod Canal. There are many seasonal sites but for the most part they are all kept in good condition. There are no sewer connections at the sites but there are dry wells for each site for your grey water. The location is wonderful - fishing and walking along the canal is the major past time. We have camped here many times and will no doubt return in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
Bourne has a lot for the kids. Great activities and the canal is the best part especially if you go bike riding. The sites are pretty big. The bathrooms were not very clean, that was the only downfall. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$55
Stayed for 2 weeks, this is the noisiest campground I have every stayed at. The sites were small, needed long hose and electric cord to hook up. I very rarely saw grounds personnel riding through at night. The office people were very nice, grounds are very clean, bathrooms & showers were very clean, and the 2 pools are very nice. Watch out for low sites or sites at bottom of hills because they flood in rain storms. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
Very nice campground for RV's. Unfortunately I can't say the same about the cottages, they are located right in front the Dumping station and the city road. The office is like an hotel. People are very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2010
$37
We were very excited when we called the office at Bourne Scenic Park and found that they had a site available that was located right next to the bike path, on the banks of the Cape Cod Canal. The woman on the telephone who assisted us was very pleasant, describing the site as "huge" and telling us "you could park a 50 foot camper on this site!". Had I read reviews on this very site, I would've known that the Seasonal Campers "rule the roost" here and when we located our site, we were surprised to find that the Seasonal Camper who was parked on the site adjacent to ours had pretty much spread out, taking over the back half of not only their own sites, but two others as well, including ours. And it is the back half of the site that sits next to the canal. After a couple of days of stewing on this, I went to the office and asked about our site's boundaries, saying that the site map we were given clearly shows our site to back right up to the bike path, and the first woman I spoke with told me "I'll have the Manager go over and discuss "boundaries" with them that's not right!" I had taken a picture of the site with my camera phone, showing their tent with it's plywood platform, chairs, and general "overflow" that they'd tucked away on our site, not wanting to have to look at it on their own. Later that day, I saw one of the Park trucks come by and a couple of men appeared to survey the area but, instead of our "neighbor's" site getting any smaller, it spread out even more once they set up their dish satellite later in the afternoon. Ridiculous! It has left a very sour taste in my mouth for a park that I was very excited about frequenting and I am in complete agreement with others who have said it before aside from the "Seasonals" who view the Transient Campers as a nuisance, the campground is a true gem. I think they should designate areas for Seasonal Campers and not mix them throughout the entire park as they have these "squatters", for the most part, detract from the whole camping experience! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2010
$38
This place COULD be a real jewel, because the location cannot be beat. However, the CG is loaded with locals who have made the place more resemble a trailer park, than a campground. They do not take to transients well either, like we're invading their space. We were promised a large waterfront site right on the Cape Cod Canal, only to find a permanently installed "homestead" of a 5'ver between us and the canal. We were also told the site would be over 50' long and my 36' rig was 4ft from the road. The electric was on the wrong side and I had to borrow a 25' extension cord to reach. Luckily, I had over 100' of water hose because the water connection was even further away. Complaints about the site fell on deaf ears at the office. We also had booked a week in May through Reserve America for this CG. When my wife checked on it at the office, they told her there was no such reservation and we should have received an email telling us that nothing was available, shortly after booking. No such email was ever received. Now we are scrambling to find a place to camp for Memorial Day Weekend. Being early in the season, it's hard to judge the amenities at Bourne Scenic. Everything looks nice enough though. This review probably doesn't matter much as there are no vacancies right now, through October! It's too bad, because like I said in the beginning, the locations is fantastic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$39
We were lucky enough to have a level site right on the canal, so I really enjoyed this campground. You need to be careful when you make a reservation to come here. There appear to be several sites in the "upper area" that are not level and are right on top of each other with no privacy at all. The location on the canal is great if you enjoy what the canal has to offer (walking, biking, fishing, people/boat watching). They have a very nice playground, but other than that there is not much else to offer young children. When I came here as a kid there used to be a salt water swimming hole, but that is closed. There are a few beaches a short drive away such as Onset and Scusset, but other than that you will have to go over the Bourne bridge and onto the Cape for any swimming. The staff is very nice and very helpful. The sites were well maintained and fellow campers were very friendly. There are a lot of people that have camped here forever and keep returning. It is a nice relaxing campground in the fall. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$42
This is a convenient campground where you don't have spend your vacation fighting traffic across the bridge. Another positive is the Cape Cod canal where you can enjoy fishing, biking, or just sitting and watch the boats go by. There are several access points to the canal at this campground. Now the negatives: The sites are very, very close together and have absolutely no privacy. The possibility exists to camp next to a seasonal person which can be unpleasant. I recommend going with some friends so you can have sites together and not worry about bothering the neighbors. Restrooms not very clean: they smelled like a sewage treatment plant. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$32
Bourne Scenic Park – Bourne, MA. We haven’t been back to this park in over 15 years and it has changed. It is on the Cape Cod Canal on the east end. This park is on COE land but run by the town of Bourne so the price is higher. It is on the west end of the Cape Cod Canal. We paid with the fall rates $32 with electricity and water. They have added electricity to almost all sites now and the price has gone up to reflect this. There are almost 100 sites in three different sections of this park. Some areas the sites are on top of each other but then there is a wooded section where one could find privacy. Sites can be found for big rigs and for tents. One can park their camper here for the summer season they limit the number allowed to I think one third of the park and there might be a waiting list. What is nice about this campground is that it is right under the Bourne Bridge at the entrance to Cape Cod. Crossing the bridge one can head for the ferry for Martha’s Vineyard or tour that section of the Cape. One can fish, bike or hike along the canal road. Right now they have taken out the natural pond used for swimming and are putting in a huge pool which should be completed by next summer. Biking west there is a small town for restaurants and shopping (small) and heading west you end up at Scusset State Park (which also has camping) with a beach and fishing pier. The canal is lit up at night and at all times you can watch boats crossing the canal – very peaceful. Make sure you check closing dates for any campgrounds in New England because most close at the end of Columbus Day weekend. I believe this one stays open later! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
This park was just too big for our tastes. Campers were jammed in everywhere. Campground traffic was non-stop until around midnight. We were camped next to a site that had 3 tents, a screen house, 3 dogs and 6 people, or as my wife called it,'the refugee camp'. The dogs would bark when anyone passed their site which was about every 30 seconds, there was trash and food scraps and dirty dishes all over their picnic table(we ended up with ants in our camper). I kept having to chase off a stray cat that kept trying to bring us a dead chipmunk as a 'welcome' present. Dumpsters were full on Saturday night and were pretty ripe by Sunday night. Drunk, noisy neighbors across the street, snobby seasonals all over the place. Constant road noise from Rte. 6. The only good things about this place were a decent playground with fairly new equipment, clean bathrooms and the access to the Cape Cod Canal trail. Other than that, I think we will pass on a return visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$60
The park was lots of fun. Noise from the road was constant but dulled by the trees. The campground was quiet and pleasant for walking or riding bikes. The Cape Cod Canal was within eyesight of our site providing casual watching of the boats on the canal. Be sure to bring your bikes as the bike path is fantastic and will take you to the beach. The camp store had great ice cream for a reward at the end of your biking day. Fires were allowed which made for more evening fun. I would recommend this campground for families and singles. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$41
This campground is great if you love the canal. There isn't much to do in the campground, but you can bike, roller blade and walk on the canal, or just sit and watch the boats go by. The staff are very helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$32
Nice view of the canal. Great if you want to bike along the canal. The hookups aren't always located conveniently. Make sure you have an extra hose and power extension cord. The site was spacing was good. The rest rooms are clean. However the rest rooms near our site had all stainless steel sink and toilet, not very user friendly. Each site has grey water only sewer connections which may only be dumped using a garden hose. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
Clean park right on the Cape Cod Canal offering wonderful views. We would stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
What can you say about this campground except location, location, location. If you enjoy sitting, walking, fishing, on the side of the Cape Cod Canal, then this is the place for you. If you are looking for a campground with a "resort" feeling, then this is not. There is no pool, and no you can not swim in the canal. Some sights are tight, and you can not request a site upon reservation. We did have a great site and will be going back again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
This is a nice campground with spacious sites. We enjoyed direct access to the canal bike path. We had a good experience camping here. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
Nice campground but crowded. Nice view of the canal to Buzzards Bay, clean restrooms and friendly atmosphere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$30
The big draw to this park is the adjacent Cape Cod Canal. Most of the sites are seasonals. Each site had a gray water dry well, but you could only use it with a garden hose--no 3" hoses. Central dump station. Two many trees for satellite reception in almost all sites. It was a tight squeeze for big rigs, but folks managed to get their large trailers and fifth wheels in. The park was almost empty when we were there, and they are closing for the season next weekend (October 29). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$35
A few canal view sites are available on a limited, first come, first reserve, basis. We were lucky enough to get one with a great view. The deep water canal has some large ships going through night and day. The management tries to offers various entertainment on friday and saturday evenings, during the on-season. A/C voltage is very low most times. IE: 105v. The salt water pool is a joke, it's more a weedy mudhole than a pool. More than 60% of sites are squatted on by poorly mannered seasonal trailer campers, who seem to loathe transients. But this campground is the only one that offers a decent view of the cape cod canal and is located in an area with lots to do. A great time can be had by ignoring the bad locals and enjoying the view and area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2002
$27
This is a large park but at least half the sites are occupied by seasonal/permanent residents. Roads are paved, some wide, some narrow. Sites are dirt and some are level, others are not. There are lots of trees making it hard for a large rig to get up and down the roads and into a site. This is a family campground, lots of kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2002
$22
90% were Seasonal RV/5th Wheels: they all had the choice sites with views of the canal. There were no view sites for anyone else. If you are parked behind them you couldn't see the canal, because they blocked the view. They should allocate choice sites for RVers traveling through, but they don't. Lots of trees with falling acorns. Trying to park our RV was really kind of hard with all the trees. Fall rates are very reasonable. If you stay 2 weeks it costs $140. This is after the date of Sept. 13th. During the week the park is empty and then on the weekend in come all the families. It is ok for the price. Bourne Canal has a path 7.1 miles long for bike riders, rollerbladers, walkers and fishing. 1/2 hour from Woods Hole and Hyannis. So if you don't mind parking in the back rows, its OK. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com