223554 User submitted reviews online!!
Prospect Mountain Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (413) 357-6494
CGID1358

Prospect Mountain Campground

Camp Information
Sites
225
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   2   7   6   9   10   10   5   4   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$48
We spent almost a week there with the kids (ages 10-8) across from the pool area. This is a beautiful campground and we often saw the staff working to maintain it: mowing, weeding, cleaning the grounds. The pool was nice and warm and clean. (We saw owner cleaning and checking the pool every morning.) There was a nice large deck around the pool to sit with chairs, tables and umbrellas. There is minigolf (looked in decent shape but we did not do) and mining $5 or $9 per bag (we did, kids got nice gems) on site. There is a fishing pond and a boating pond. We didn't do paddle boats because it looked a little too weedy. Our site was a large pull through with water, electric and sewer. There was hair (from a human haircut) on our site when we got here, but when told, the staff was quick to go rake it up. The playground was in good shape. There were a few activities during the week and many on the weekend. They were well organized and well run by friendly staff. It rained a few days while we were here and we still had fun hanging out in the rec hall playing ping-pong, air hockey, wii, watching a movie (scheduled activity), doing puzzles, and eating from the snackbar. Staff moved up the dance from 7pm to 6pm because of bad weather, to give campers something to do. DJ was friendly and kids had a blast. Pizza was good and other items were reasonably priced. We all loved the Sunday breakfast buffet. Ladies showers need a little updating but the rest of the bathroom was obviously recently renovated. Close by we visited the Granville Country store (GREAT cheese) and the Gran-Val scoop (ice cream and a few farm animals to feed and pat). Overall one of the nicer campgrounds we have visited truly due to the staff. We will definitely return after we get the truck tuned up and brakes checked. The hills on the way to the campground were long and steep! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$42
Bathrooms were small, old/dirty, soap dispenser was empty often and paper towel dispenser was broken for 3 days! They advertised mini-golf, but we learned that it was staffed only on the weekend, and closed at 1 PM. Paddle boats advertised for use on pond were locked up and staff not available on the holiday weekend to unlock and clean for use. Many unsupervised kids roaming the camp grounds. Went to do a craft activity on a rainy day, and staff would not set up an additional folding table for us, but rather expected our family to split up to different tables with available chairs, not very friendly or accommodating. We camped next to a cabin on the pond that was allowed to set up multiple tents at their cabin, which made for many people at one site, and blocked our view of the pond. We would never return to this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$42
Pros:overall, seems like a nice, well-run campground. The free Wi-Fi worked well. The pool is nice. It does not allow kids to swim without parents and has adult swim hours. The two ponds are fun places for kids to catch minnows and salamanders with nets (we were told there aren't many bigger fish though). Cons: we were near a group of cabins where a large group was staying, which meant loud music and a lot of noise. Also, there were a lot of unsupervised teens and pre-teens who were often hanging out at or near the playground, which made for an unpleasant atmosphere for little kids. The bigger kids were standing in the baby swings, using foul language on the playground and leaving trash there. Each time we went to the play area, I had to pick up several pieces of trash, including crushed cans, ice cream sticks, etc. There are plenty of trash cans around the play area, so it's unfortunate that campers can't be bothered to use them. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$42
This is not an easy park to get to with a 40 foot motor home. We traveled 14 miles on narrow, twisting, mountainous roads to get to the campground. The spot assigned to us was supposed to be a pull through, but the deep pot hole on the road prevented us from trying to pull in. We tried to back into the spot but there was a mound of dirt and large rocks that prevented that, too. (We scraped the bottom front of the rig trying.) We moved to another nearby spot and were able to back into that one. The park is in need of some maintenance, and the office staff should be more aware of where they are sending big rigs. It is a beautiful, quiet park if you have a smaller rig and don't mind driving through mountainous country roads. We would look for a different campground if we get up this way again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$39
I would highly recommend this campground. The staff are friendly and will help with anything. Everybody is friendly and willing to stop and chat. There were several activities for families. The pool has adult swim times and family swim times so adults can enjoy the pool and relax without kids splashing them. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$39
This place is the best place ever! I've been a seasonal camper for 13 years now and have been to other places that aren't as fun or as good as this park. The staff is very nice and friendly: they'll help you with anything. Nice pool but it is usually crowded. They recently have changed owners but nothing has changed. Has very fun hiking trails. They just added more seasonal sites. Has many sections for groups of people. Everyone is very friendly. The seasonals are very nice. Not a lot of party'ers. I would recommend this campground to everyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$38
I rarely review the parks I visit, but between the amazing time I spent at this one and the reviews from the past couple not-so-happy campers I thought I should stick up for Prospect Mountain. True the roads are not paved: but it kept people going slow through the campground so I could feel safe letting my kids walk around without worrying they would be run over. The bathrooms were kept clean, though you can tell they're getting old. The in-ground, heated pool was kept very clean. The campground devotes a lot of time and energy to their activities. Each weekend is apparently themed: we visited on Las Vegas weekend where there was a Las Vegas night with amazing prizes like a Nintendo Wii and a LCD High Definition TV! Unfortunately I won neither of those prizes, but my son walked away with a great arts & crafts set. The snack shop is hidden away, but makes great food including the most delicious hand-made pizza from scratch. The camp store seemed very well stocked, but we had (for once) remembered most of our supplies so we didn't need to get much from it. The staff is so friendly and eager to please every camper. If you have even the slightest problem they will do everything they can to fix it for you, even if it's not their fault. We had a problem with our trailer's electricity and one of them actually helped us out by taking a look at it. Our neighbor's picnic table had seen better days and they told a staff member who brought up a brand new picnic table within minutes! The seasonal campers all seem like great people too. We talked with a few of them as we walked around with our dogs. They have a great playground, miniature golf, remote control car rentals, free paddleboat rentals, an arcade, a television with a Wii hooked up to it in the rec-hall, everything! The wireless internet was also a big plus since our teenage daughter couldn't survive a weekend without her laptop! There are cabins to rent as well, which look great. We will definitely be returning. In fact, we already booked our next reservation! Don't let a couple of unhappy campers give you doubts; this is a great campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
This campground was our very first camping experience as a family, and we were there with friends. There were good points and bad points. The good points were the staff was very friendly, the store had everything we needed (including a longer electrical cord because the outlet was on the opposite side as our camper), and the prices were very reasonable. The activities were fun and the fireworks were awesome. Our friends had an open sunny grassy site, while ours was very small, shady (we did appreciate the shade actually), and it was all dirt. Other bad points were the picnic table definitely needed to be covered, the roads were very rutted, and our site #36A was not marked very well and difficult to back into. The pool was a little crowded, but clean. The lake had weeds all along the edge that our fishing lines kept getting tangled in. We brought our bicycles and some hills were too steep for our kids to pedal up. On the plus side, our son made a great friend and because we were with friends, there was a lot of laughter and good times. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$43
This is a tale of two campgrounds. As you enter the campground the sites on the left must be part of the "old" section and are very small, wet and dismal. The sites on the right are for the most part decent, a bit more open and definitely drier. Unfortunately, for us we were in the old section. Our site was so small our awning was actually touching our neighbors, we were perched on a high spot with the rest of our site surrounded by water. Our neighbor behind us was not quite 3 feet away and if they had started a campfire would have burned our camper. The bathrooms are cleaned 2 times a day however they were still a mess and dirty. There were decent activities for the kids and adults. The interior roads in the campground were terrible, very rutted and filled with massive holes. I don't think we will be returning to Prospect Mountain anytime soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$37
We thought Prospect Mountain was a very nice, family orientated campground. We liked our pull through site. We enjoyed visiting with neighbors who were seasonals, they were very helpful and friendly. Overall a very enjoyable experience and highly recommend this little gem of a campground! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
We chose this campground because of it's proximity to the Eastern States Fairground (40 minutes away) for the 2007 Big E. We had site #76, which is right on the main road. The site was flat, but not level; we had to lower the front of the camper so much we couldn't use the tripod for stability. The site was well situated, shady and very clean. Because we were there for the fair, we left very early in the am and came back late at night. The staff was friendly and helpful at check in. Little store was well stocked and reasonably priced. The campground was very clean, but many of the trees are very low hanging and the majority of the roads we walked had a great deal of washout. We were happy to have a site so close to the front of the campground. It is off season in Mass (at least until the leaves start to turn) so the only activity offered was bingo at night. The rec hall did have lots of tables and games and a pretty big TV. While exploring, we saw a large, clean swimming pool and two small weedy ponds. There are many seasonal sites here. We would go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$42
We stayed here for Labor Day Weekend 2007 (price per night probably reflects this), We really enjoyed the park they had a lot of scheduled activities. All roads were gravel most were in decent shape. Sites were big and fairly level. We would recommend this campground to others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
Great Family Park!!! My wife and I tented with our 2 year old at site 40, which is a waterfront site and had a blast. Lots to do for the kids: tye dying, chocolate pudding slide, hay ride, fireworks, and many other activities for kids AND adults. Nights are quiet so after the kid goes to sleep we can hang out by our camp fire. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$37
As others have stated the trees could use some trimming. Pool was nice had adult swim 2 times a day. Very quite during the week. The weekend the campground started to fill up but was still very quite. Fishing was ok the kids got to catch some fish. There are two ponds some with waterfront sites. Overall a nice campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$39
We enjoyed our weekend here. It is a steep grade on the road leading to the campground. We don't like to push it and kept it at 30mph. We had site 7, which was a pull thru next to the pool. After reading previous posts I wondered if we would have full hookups. Luckily we had sewer as we had requested. Our site was a bit narrow with the awning out. The in-lays had site 6, which was more spacious so we ate meals there. Just make sure you have boards to level your unit as the sites are not that level. The pool was very clean. We enjoyed it each day and wasn't too crowded. The campground is quite large, with lots of seasonals. Mini-golf was okay, and they have rc cars you can rent as well as a sluice to pan for gems if you want. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2006
$37
The roads to the campground are full of potholes. Tree branches need trimming as they scrape your unit's roof and sides. We were promised W/E/S but when we arrived they only had W/E available even though we made a reservation and paid in advance. Lots of seasonals. Not our favorite place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$30
My wife and I took our 5th wheel we purchased that day to this campground to try it out. The site we were given was just bearly big enough for our trailer. I had to park our truck perpendicular to our camper so as not to block the small road. The store is well stocked, and the woman at the counter was very helpful. She gave us directions to nearby food and shopping, and advised us on the correct type of hose to use for water hook up (they were out of them at the time). We took a couple of walks around the campground, which seemed to be about 50/50 seasonal/weekenders. The grounds throughout were clean, wooded, and a pleasure to wander around. The 'prospecting' was a fun little diversion for my wife and I, but it is definitely more geared for the kids (in us). They had an arcade as well as a small R/C car track (we didn't use either). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$35
We used this campground as a home base while visiting family nearby, so while we didn't spend a lot of time here, we were mostly impressed. The sites were fairly large, nicely shaded and ours was easy to manuever into with a 30' tow-behind trailer. The bathhouse was wonderful: clean, hot showers with private dressing areas for each one. There are many seasonals but they were all well-maintained. The roads to get here are a bit steep but we did not have any trouble. Our only minor complaint is the visitor fee; we wanted to have our cousins come for a campfire but at $5 a person just to set foot on the property it wasn't worth it. This was in mid-October, when most amenities like the pool aren't even open, but the management wouldn't budge on the visitor fee, even for children. It is a pretty place, well spread-out with a pool, horseshoe pits, two small ponds for fishing. We would go back, especially since it's convenient to our family. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2004
$37
Visited park in 40' coach. This was the biggest disappointment of our trip. We entered office and were met by unfriendly staff who with no smile asked, "what do you want?" I asked for a big rig friendly site that was level and satellite friendly. She acted as though she never heard me. I again voiced my request which went unanswered. I was told that I would have no problem with roads or trees as all trees were trimmed for big rigs. We left office with no smile, no thanks and felt the clerk was preoccupied. Once in park we found narrow roads with a very tight turn into site. Trees were not trimmed for a 12' tall rig. To get access to satellite we had to pull forward in the site to where leveling, even with boards was not possible. (Tried for over 1 hour). Hooked up then discovered very low water pressure. The owner noticed that I was having water problems. He asked me, "What are you doing?" I explained that the water pressure was very low and I was getting only little more than a dribble in the coach. He offered no help, but stated they were on well water and he provided 44 psi. He failed to mention that a well system pressure tank will fluctuate down 20 psi before repressurizing. That means only 24 psi. He finally admitted that big rigs have had problems in the past although he advertises "big rig friendly." Roads and sites were gravel but both had washout spots and needed more gravel added. I will not revisit this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$35
After reading the reviews here, I called to make reservations at this campground, which is not too far from my home for Memorial Day weekend. Guess which site I ended up with - #58. The one listed above as being flooded. I asked the owner about it, and he said there is a sump pump there and it works fine. I hoped for sunny weather and took a chance and booked it. It rained the day we arrived, and the ground was pretty wet, but there was only a small puddle around the pump which was gone by the next day. The rest of the weekend was sunny, so I couldn't complain about that problem. The site was huge with both sun and shade. We took the hayride around the campground and I think #58 is one of the nicest there. When I made the reservation, I did ask for a site with a full hookups, but #58 has no sewer. The owner's son was in the area and when I asked where the sewer connection was he said there wasn't one, and that they call their electric and water sites "full" hookups. Nice to know now. He said there's only about 15 sites that have a sewer connection. My bet is that they all belong to the seasonal people there. So, that was a bit of a disappointment since there were 5 of us camping. Although both he and another woman in the camp office told us to just dump our grey water on the ground. I know most campgrounds don't allow this, but we went ahead and did it. We used our sewer hose to get the water closer to the sump pump area. And although they have a honey wagon on the premises, they don't seem to offer it as a service. When I inquired about it, I was told they do it on Tuesday's or if you had an emergency, like your black tank was full, but generally on holiday weekends they don't take it out. Sure enough, an hour after I asked about it, I saw it drive by headed to another site. Other than that issue, we had a great time there. The campground had a ton of activities for kids, a decent size playground, a heated pool, and a rec hall. All of this is at the front of the campground so the rest stays pretty quiet even though there were tons of kids (and just as many dogs). There is a very small pond for free paddle boat rides too. The campground is at the top of a mountain and the drive up was a little difficult. My trailer is at the max. weight for my tow vehicle so the steep S-turns near the top of the mountain were a struggle at 25 mph, but we made it! Overall, a nice weekend. We would visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$35
Stayed here after leaving nearby Sodom Mountain CG due to it's problems. Much nicer place. Steep grades involved to get here no matter which way you come from. Overall a nice place. High up on a mountain, nice store, friendly staff, they are big on their 4 1/2 mile per hour speed limit. Not really near any towns but that is not a drawback. Our site flooded during heavy rain. Had approx 4 inches of standing water on site. Perm site holder came over in his big boots and said there was a sump pump behind the site that doesn't always work. He fooled around with it and sure enough it started to pump the site down. Still had to go bare foot to get to the door of my trailer. Beware of site #58 ! We would go back, just not on site 58. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$30
Very nice campground high on a mountain. Since we're tent campers, it was nice to see quite a few tenters and pop-ups not just huge RV's. Family friendly and super clean. Owners and staff extremely friendly and helpful. Some of the sites are small but most are nicely wooded and private. Our kids loved the heated pool. Prospect Mountain is on our definitely going back list. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$35
The campground was well maintained and the owners very helpful and friendly. The pool was great. Very wooded set on a mountain top. When we visited they had a "Halloween weekend" with trick or treating, games such as bingo and other activities. The activities included swimming or paddle boats. There is also a playground, basketball court, volleyball and bocci. Overall it was a very nice campground with many wooded sites. Even the pull through we had was very large and wooded. We will be going back again. Our three kids had a great time. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com