218683 User submitted reviews online!!
Prospect Lake Park was rated 4 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (413) 528-4158
CGID1362

Prospect Lake Park

Camp Information
Sites
140
Date of Stay
October 2011
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   1   1   9   1   2   7   1   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$34
Nice location, the base rate for the campsite was $34 but then extra per kid plus per pet brought the actual rate paid to about $52/night. Our site was on the small side but i did see some very nice sites throughout the park. The park definitely caters to the seasonal campers, we counted 75+ seasonal sites. The location is excellent, right next to a very nice lake. The roads in the campground could use some work but were fine when we were there. Might be a bit tougher in wet weather. The campground was very quiet overall, although being the last weekend for camping some of the seasonal folks were having a going away party, still it was not overly obnoxious to us. The owner did seem a bit surly at first but once we had a chance to talk a bit, i think it is just his way. He wasn't rude at all, a bit gruff but he also was very helpful when asked a question and was even helping some folks from another site track down a new tent when they had some issues with theirs. We will definitely camp here again and try it earlier in the season to see how the crowds are. We may even look at going the seasonal route if the park is as nice in July as it was this past weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
This is the second time we have stayed at this park and enjoyed it again this year. When making the reservation, I asked for the same site as last year but then realized our truck was bigger than last year, so I asked if there was a larger site available upon check-in. No problem! We were offered a pull thru site which was twice the size as the original. This park is on a lake which was clean and very peaceful. We didn't have a lake front site but it was only a short walk. There are boat, canoe and kayak rentals at a reasonable price. While owners aren't overly affectionate, I didn't find them to be rude as some of the other reviews. I'm glad we have experienced this park before I read the reviews. I would have missed out on one of my favorites. I would rate this park higher except for seasonals who were overly loud until 1 am both nights. Proximity to excellent hiking, quaint villages and historical attractions make this a wonderful location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
This is our third year staying at Prospect Lake Park and definitely our last. We returned only because the location is execllent but the owners run this campsite like a military camp. I have never encountered a campsite where the owners are so rude. The grounds are not well manicured and the dirt roads are not well maintained. Only stay here if you are desperate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
Rude disrespectful and unfriendly staff here. Disgusting and outdated bathrooms. When we booked our reservation we were told 2 cars per site. When we got here the rule changed to 1 car per site. The visitor parking lot is a long distance. The owner is very rude: on a power trip and talks to you like a 3-year old. The police were present when we checked out because a car alarm went off in the middle of night. Seasonals can be loud and weekenders are not welcome. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
Overall we enjoyed camping here very much. Most of the lakeside sites were taken up by seasonal sites. Probably the reason they were not all taken was that they only had water and electric. The campground roads are dirt and very rough. Most sites are large and all have water and electric. Boat, canoe and kayak rentals were available and the main swimming area was very nice. A small game room and a moderately well equipped store were available. Gate cards were required to enter the area for safety reasons. Our only complaint would be that the seasonal campers are not that friendly towards transients/travelers. We tried several times to strike up conversations only to be ignored. Other travelers were anxious to talk so it wasn't just me. If you want a good place to camp and visit Tanglewood, Norman Rockwell Museum, Chesterwood and the beautiful Berkshires, Paradise Lake is a good campground to visit but don't expect them to be overly friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2008
$32
We went to this campground with a group. We were in a field and wanted to spread out a little. We were told we couldn't because parking under a wire wasn't allowed by the fire marshall??? Two sites were directly underneath wires, also due to the board of health?? Very unfriendly staff. The kids got reprimanded for bringing the paddle boat life vests back wet, they weren't soaked, just wet from splashing. Bathroom lights on a timer frequently went off during showering. Maximum setting was 15 minutes. Showering with a child takes much longer. Owner woke up a member of our party to move their car after being asleep at 10:45 at night. Seasonals very nosy and "kept their eyes out" on all the transient people. Would not go back there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
Our site was very close to our neighbors and it made for an awkward feeling. The owners were not friendly. The electrical service (on our site anyway) was not able to handle A/C. It stated no A/C use in the rules. We were not told this ahead of time. We had reserved two nights, but left after one because we just felt uncomfortable. The seasonal people seemed to watch our every move. It was somewhat awkward maneuvering our 35' MH through he park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
Pretty nice campground with some activities for the kids. Friendly staff and clean bathrooms. We will definitely return here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
My husband and I camped here with no kids. Not a very welcome place for us. The owners were not very outgoing at all. The dump station was locked so we asked the owner(man) to open it for us and he was extremely bothered by it and complained and huffing and puffed that he had to open it.. Very strange people there. Also, campers were nice.. mostly a place for seasonals. We felt very awkward when we stayed. Campsite is small but nice.. bathroom were disgusting, outdated... only one shower and it was clogged and flooded nasty stuff everywhere. Needless to say we used our porta potti and popup shower the rest of the time. We decided to leave a day early because of the feeling we got there was just not fun... the owners are just cold people. Sorry for the bad review, but would not go back. Lake is very sea weedy as well. Not the cleanest. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2006
$36
I have to say the actual park is all right. There is not a whole lot to do but if you like to fish and like the berkshires it's alright. The problem is the owner, he is really rude. I live near the campground so I have camped several times there because it is close. Over the weekend a friend had stopped to drop something off to me and within 5 minutes the owner was at our campsite telling her she had to check in. She told him she was just leaving and he stood there and waited until she left. He was treating us as if we were children. I can understand the guy doing it for security liability reasons but come on after 5 minutes of being there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2004
$30
Beautiful area, gorgeous scenery, very rural. Staff OK but not warm. No cell phone reception. No TV. Very quiet. Whole Western Mass area full of things to do, see, and enjoy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2004
$30
Unbeleivible. Miserable, unfriendly management/owners. They really don't want kid's or family friend's in the park. Owner always hovering around site and watching every move. We are locals to the area and I grew up around the lake. I can honestly state the place doesn't look like it's been upgraded since the 70"s. Incredibly, we were ordered to leave the park the night before we were supposed to check out (with police presence) because a guest parked in a vacant site next to our's instead of visitor parking a great distance away. We offered to pay for the site even though our guests were leaving. Owner was totally out of control. Really scared the kid's. Don't go here if you want to have fun or good memories. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2004
$29
This park caters more to the seasonals. Most of the waterfront sites are even taken by seasonals, which leaves the rest of us "inland", which is fine because the walk to the water/store is not that far. The only problem is. Don't go if it's been a wet, rainy summer like we've had!! So many of the sites have poor drainage and turn to mud pits or small ponds, ours in particular (A27). Now, my family and I can handle a lot of what mother nature can dish out and we did for the weekend we visited this campground. Pounding rains!! This turned our campsite literally into a pond then a mud pit! I witnessed my family's shoes floating in our site! Needless to say we managed the rains, but were "attacked" by the owner upon checkout. He couldn't believe that we would leave the campsite looking like it was! It wasn't his fault (the campground owner) that Mother Nature rained on our weekend (obviously and understandable). But it was OUR fault that his campsite was a muddy mess when we left! Give me a break! He was out of line, rude and made us feel like !#&% when we left. We have camped in many places in New England this summer, never have we encountered anything like this! Think twice before staying here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com