214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Sandy Pond Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (508) 759-9336
CGID1364

Sandy Pond Campground

Camp Information
Sites
223
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$59



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   10   7   9   4   2   7   8   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2013
$59
$10 per day "second pet fee" causes this campground to fall in the "overpriced" category. Massachusetts law requires rabies vaccination be shown at check-in. Low hanging branches alongside interior roads scratch sides of rig on curves. 10% Good Sam discount to everyone without proof of club membership. Unimpressive campground with plenty of potential with a few improvements. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$47
We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 week stay here. It is well run, friendly staff and our site (F2) was big for a pull thru with full hookup. Our towed vechicle battery went dead and they came over to help us with a jump start. Centrally located so we visited Cape Cod, Martha's Vineyard & Newport RI Mansions. We would definitely recommend staying here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$43
The road leading to this park is narrow, winding with low hanging branches, so take it slow. There are also some ruts and potholes that you may want to steer around. We drove our 40ft class A with toad down this road and by being careful we had no problem with it. The park has well maintained hard packed gravel streets with grass sites that will require some tight turns to get to them. Each site has a picnic table, fire ring and was bordered with shrubs or trees. The 50 amp full hook-up pull-through sites had no overhanging trees to block your satellite dish. Sprint 3G phone and WI-FI hot spot worked well. Bathrooms were old, in need of a remodel and not very clean. There were three dumpsters right next to the horseshoe pits that did smell. There is a swimming area at Sandy Pond that can be accessed by a short hiking trail. The water is clear and cool. Staff was very friendly and helpful. This is a quiet park with no road noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$43
We stayed here over Memorial Day Holiday and will definitely come back. We parked the camper and truck on a nice level shaded site and didn't move the truck once. General store on the property had everything we needed and the prices were reasonable. I think that's because they also serve the locals. Great selection of food and deli items as well as beer and wine. The park was clean and the staff friendly. They had just put in cable TV and we couldn't get it to work, when we called the front office someone was there in 15 minutes and tightened a loose connection and it was up and running. Showers were spacious and clean, cost .25 but enough room to shave my legs! Kids were kept busy with activities. Dance Saturday night was loud, shut down at 10:00 pm sharp. The pond was crystal clear and husband enjoyed the fishing and kids the swimming. Can't wait for our next trip! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2012
$47
We stayed here over the Memorial Day holiday. It was very busy with constant foot and vehicle traffic even past dusk. They charge you for EVERYTHING here. Guests must register and pay. There is only one bathroom facility for the whole park. $0.25 for each 10 minute shower in sub par degraded facilities, that were only spot cleaned once a day. There were spiders, webs, roaches and frogs and all kinds of critters in the showers at night. Many sites were not mowed or trees trimmed very well and there are several seasonal camp sites that were in ill upkeep. Our site was on a corner with trees scattered around it making proper trailer placement very difficult to be able to reach electric and sewer services, much less open our awning. It is obvious that the staff is either overwhelmed or not managed properly. We felt unimpressed, uncomfortable, unwelcomed and just another tourist to nickel and dime. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2012
$54
DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY HERE. There are far nicer places to camp on the Cape. The park has potential, but the ownership/management clearly doesn't want to expend the effort or cash to bring this place up to even "good" standards. They must have spent all their money on the new General Store (which is open to the public and serves as the local liquor store), and their nice front office. The bathrooms are FILTH; the showers are old and decrepit (and you pay for the privilege of using them), people trash the bathrooms every night, and it goes on because of the minimal security. If you're in a self-contained RV, the above might not bother you, but it says something about the lack of concern by management for their customers' health and comfort. The RV section of the park is so crowded, you can't breathe without the family next door hearing you. Save yourself the expense and disappointment and go somewhere else. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
Stayed here on the opening weekend and the rest of the week. Camp was spotless and well run. They had a "welcome" breakfast attended by a number of people who keep their rigs there on a permanent basis. But there are many campsites and plenty of room for short-timers. They have a nice pond for canoeing and swimming and an arrangement with the next-door golf course. The area is quite convenient to the historical area of Plymouth, which also offers incredible whale watching trips. Day trips to Cape Cod are also easy and Boston is about an hour away. It is far less expensive than camping on the Cape. One thing you should be aware of is that the Cape doesn't really open up until Mid-May and some attractions were closed anyway. Had an incident where people rode horses through the site as they didn't know it was open for the season. They left what horses leave and when I complained, the mess was cleaned up immediately. If I am in the area again, I will stay definitely there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
We stayed in the full hook up pull through sites. They are very spacious and level. The pond is only accessible by walking, and it is hilly. About a 5 - 10 minute walk. The pond was small but very clean. The fishing area was very small. The bathrooms/showers were very old and dirty. The playground was tiny. The staff was friendly. They strictly enforce visitors paying a fee and the entrance is guarded. The store was huge. Carried almost everything. The prices were reasonable, too. A large sub from the deli was $6 and made fresh with Boar's Head meat. Very tasty. When calling to reserve a site they didn't seem very organized. Overall nice campground. Would go there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$45
We stayed here for five days for our season opener. Our site was lined with pine trees on either side which made it feel private. The site was level with grass and some sand. We RV to Cape Cod often in the off season, and found this to be one of our favorite spots. Easy acess to Plymouth and the cape. The lake was nice and clean and the campground was well kept. The only negative was that our water pressure was very low. I am going to inquire from one of the neighboring seasonals campers if they are having the same issue. The staff was very friendly. Price is comparable to other campgrounds in the area. There is a full convience store at the entrance that is open to the public with great variety. Nice walking trails through the pine woods. Glad we found this place. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$42
This is actually between Bourne and Plymouth. It is a nice campground but nothing special. We camped here in a 40 ft class A. The WiFi is for email only. Don't expect to watch a movie. The signal fades in and out. I was disappointed in the looks of our site. There were prettier, more private spaces in the campground but seemed to be reserved for tents. Big rigs get an open field with young trees dotted here and there. If you go on a weekend you might hit Cape Cod traffic so plan accordingly. We drove almost to the Bourne bridge before picking up the road to this campground, and the traffic was bumper to bumper. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
My husband and I stayed here for a relaxing weekend away and WE GOT IT!! We love camping and find it difficult to find a campground that we like. We were impressed with the family friendly atmosphere! The staff were visible wearing shirts saying "staff" and were so helpful answering our questions. We had so much fun and it was so relaxing! We rented kayaks and kayaked around the amazingly clean pond. The water was beautiful and the land was clean. We were especially impressed with the cleanliness of the campground including the bathrooms and showers. We have never seen such clean bathrooms while camping! Thank you Sandypond, we will be back!!! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$47
I can echo much of what was said in the previous review. It was NOT worth the amount of the cost. Fortunately we didn't stay at the park much because we were doing tourist things in the area. We would NOT stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
If you like to party and drink all night, this is the place for you. Our last stay there was Memorial Day weekend. Lots of drinking, swearing and loud talking and laughing all night long. We had our meals with our neighbors, not because we wanted to but because the sites are so tight there is no privacy. My husband had the neighbors dog on our table one night and the barking in the park woke us at 5 a.m. So, unless you are just going to bed and had a few, you were up at 5 a.m. every day. We won't be going back there. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
Let me start by mentioning the good things about this campground; it's quiet. Lots of nice trees. The camp store is big, clean and well stocked. That, folks, is about all I can manage to find positive to say about this CG. Husband and I had decided to try out many different campgrounds in the area and I was really hoping that we'd like this one, given the fact that it's close to my daughter and son-in-law's home and it'd be convenient to stay at when I babysit my Grand Children, from time to time. I'm sorry to say that we'll be crossing this one off the list of campgrounds that we'll be visiting again in the future. The campground is spacious and wooded and sits in the middle of two ponds. One of the ponds is more "recreational" than the other with a beach area for swimming and canoeing. There is a somewhat run down play area for the kiddies, as well as a basketball "area" (too small to be called a "court"), boccie ball court, etc. If I was basing my review solely on the CG's amenities I would have rated it much higher but, as with many other privately owned CG's in the area, it's the Seasonal campers who bring the look and feel of the grounds down considerably. This particular park has the feel of a trailer park with many of the seasonal spaces sporting semi-permanent decks, sheds, satellite dishes and propane "pigs". Husband and I walked by one site that was littered with trash and old lawn chairs, etc., and it felt as though we'd been transported to "the wrong side of the tracks". I do not understand how the owners of campgrounds like this one can allow their seasonal campers to turn their campgrounds into shanty towns, at the risk of making the grounds so much less desirable to the transient-type of camping enthusiast. I can only imagine that this particular Seasonal Camper was either a friend or relative of the owners as they had so "trashed" their site that we kept waiting for a "junkyard dog" to come rushing out, barking at us as we walked by! My advice to the management at this park would be to enforce your rules for Seasonal Camping and make "tenants" like this clean up their act. Until then, we'll be camping elsewhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$43
I just wanted to say that we had a wonderful time at Sandy Pond Campground this past weekend. The Staff was extremely friendly and my granddaughter enjoyed the movie Hoot and swimming in the pond. We look forward to our return visit there again. The secret is out as I am spreading the word about your awesome campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$38
For our RV the connections were difficult, water and electric are near front of site where they put us. Have to pull pretty far into site to hookup. Definitely off the beaten path but was quite. Lots of permanent campers but it was late September and not many were there. We would probably stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2008
$50
We had a reservation for a particular spot. When we arrived they stated they could not give us that spot and assigned us another space. It was smaller than we had been promised. It was expensive for what we received. Local residents living there for the summer dominated the recreation facilities and seemed upset when we tried using the horseshoe pit. They surrounded the area talking about how they couldn't start their games because we were there. It was very uncomfortable. The whole place reminded me of a overpriced, poorly maintained facility. I would not recommend this place, nor ever stay there again. Woodalls had it rated high, that is why we choose this particular park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2008
$45
One of the worst campgrounds we have camped in. Our site was out in the burning sun with no shade. Our awning was bumping the next site over. Several of the seasonal campers were downright rude (though some were nice and said how much they loved it there-it boggled our minds after staying there a week). I don't often use our pop ups shower because it's so small, but in this case, we had to. The bathrooms were very dingy. The activities were sparse. In fact, on the first night we were there, they couldn't get their movie player to work and my husband had to fix it. The pond was fun for the kids but a long walk for us to get there. The drive through South Plymouth to get anywhere from the campground was long, winding and tedious. We will never camp there again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$38
Stayed here in a 40' motorhome during August 2006. Access to camp was difficult from interstates due to winding back roads through the pine barrens. Not very convenient to Plymouth, but a decent campground nonetheless. We had problems with 50A service breaker tripping and called management to look at service. Seemed to operate OK the rest of the evening, but I did not feel comfortable running all 3 air units. Did not have kids along, so not sure about activities for youth. Transient sites are out in open. Wooded sites are taken by year-round types, who did not make too much noise for us to get a good night's rest. If we were to visit the area again, we would probably look for something closer to town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2006
$31
This campground was pretty cheap. The website makes it seem to be a lot better than it really is. If you do decide to camp here, do not reserve your site online. It is extremely misleading and confusing--you're better off to do it over the phone. For the most part the staff was just fine, with the exception of one woman who was very rude and unaccommodating. In addition, all of the sites were very close together with little to no privacy. We undoubtedly did not get our money's worth. I would not recommend this campground to anyone. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
What a great place for kids! Lots of room, big pond for swimming, boating and fishing. Safe and secluded. We stayed for 6 weeks and will go back next year. the spot we had fit a 44 ft motorhome no problem, 50 amp service, small trees on either side for a little privacy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$28
Overall I guess you get what you pay for. It was a cheap campground, and that it was. Nothing really to offer the kids. Playground was old and outdated. Seemed like a real party campground. Very busy and loud on the weekend and empty during the week. I would never recommend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com