223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Northampton / Springfield KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (413) 527-9862
CGID1375

Northampton / Springfield KOA

Camp Information
Sites
120
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   9   10   8   7   4   1   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$45
Nice park. Great pull thrus right up front. We stayed here once on the way to Maine and again on the way back. Our pups loved the Kamp K9. They were busy adding dishwashing stations. Nice to see a park that keeps updating their facilities. We tuned off the GPS and followed their directions without any problems. Nice stop off the turnpike. We will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$37
We stayed here in a 40' motorhome for 6 weeks in July and August of 2014. We were very pleased with the park and location. Although this is the "Northampton/Springfield KOA" it is in neither of those towns. It is rurally located in Westampton approximately 20 minutes from each of those cities. The roads directions to the park are well marked with blue state RV Park signs so don't worry about being off the beaten path. The location makes a perfect base for exploring Western Mass. The park is a good mix of seasonal sites and transient spots. The staff was great. Very helpful, including the owner, who went out of his way to move a few reservations around to keep us on our site when we had to extend our stay for 2 more weeks. He literally spent 15 minutes at the computer to make sure he could accommodate us so we wouldn't have to shuffle to various other sites. The campground has a number of new, long , pull-through sites for big rigs near the entrance. We stayed at the top of the hill, in a level, shaded spot. The campground has a 5 MPH speed limit and security does enforce this so no speeding! The top of the hill also has a large field with electric and water sites but no sewer hookups. Lots of weekend tent and pop up campers. They do hold several concerts up on the field and had a skilled country cover band one evening. The showers and bathrooms near us were clean and well maintained. The large bingo hall/restaurant/ club was busy on the weekend. Lots of family activities that you typically find at a KOA. Pool, fishing pond, playground and a small dog park. There is an arcade with pool tables, air hockey and video games which is particularly appealing to teens. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$45
I agree with most previous reviews. This is a nice campground with a variety of wooded and open spots. Gravel sites are reasonably level, but the interior roadways are sand and dusty when dry. Restrooms are small and rustic but adequate. This family-friendly park has a nice pool and spa, very friendly and helpful staff, a snack bar and separate group camping area. This is our second visit here and we will most likely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
It took us forever to get to this campground from I-91 and when we left it took us about 25 minutes to get back to I-91. That aside, the campground was nice and very well maintained. We were near the office in a back-in site which required a little leveling but no major issue. We like the gravel sites and the grass between each site. It looks like there are ample things for the kiddies to do here. The staff was very nice, although a little bit disorganized during check-in. We could see ourselves staying here again if ever in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
A very nice and clean campground. Staff was excellent and very helpful. Spots were level and taken care of, cable was crystal clear. We stayed for a week and would not have a problem staying longer. Would recommend to any one, from pop up to large Class A. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$28
The park was ok. I stayed one night while on the way to another location. The tent site I was on was located deep in the middle of a ton of seasonal trailers. I was surrounded on all sides by them. Thankfully it was the middle of the week, & no one was around, or it would have been pretty miserable. The park did have a small dog park which was nice but honestly, I would have preferred a more open site rather than the congested, shady one I was in. Fencing around the dog park was not all that secure & a small dog would have/could have escaped. I pointed this out to the owner & offered to show him where, & he said he didn't need to see where it was which to me as a dog owner concerned me because on a vacation the last thing I want to do is spend time searching for a lost dog. I can see, though, that for someone in a trailer with kids it might be a nice place. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$37
After reading the previous two reviews I needed to check to make sure I stayed at the same campground. Although the pull-through sites are a bit narrow, I've certainly seen narrower. The back in sites seemed roomy and many are in decent shade. The park is well-maintained, the staff is friendly and accommodating. There are all sorts of scheduled activities for kids, including rides on a fire engine and a tractor-pulled wagon. Yes, the campground is in a rural area -- it is, after all, a campground. Using Springfield in the name is a bit of a stretch, but it is 20 minutes from the center of Northampton. Signs leading to the park from every direction are plentiful, and anyone following the directions provided on the reservation confirmation shouldn't have any issues getting to the park. Wi-Fi worked well, and the cable TV is adequate. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
We chose this as an overnight. Bad choice. First all this CG is very hard to get to. You have to drive on some narrow roads through the middle of some small towns. They say they are in Springfield but that's a stretch, as it could take an hour to get here. Very old park with lots of seasonal/permanents. Very tight pull throughs. This park just isn't up to KOA standards. Unless you want/ need to be in this area, I don't recommend staying here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
To say that this was an uncomfortable stay is an understatement. This campground has a very unprofessional staff and ownership. We found out quickly that the "seasonals" are the staff members that work there and if you're not part of their "click" you are treated with a cold shoulder. The staff drive their golf carts very fast through the campground and were seen with beer in their hands while driving. They are very unfriendly and during one incident yelled swears at my kids. If you enjoy being stalked and spied on this is the place for you. The staff drive by constantly and strategically placed their "seasonals" in various locations of the park so that everyone is under constant surveillance. The grounds themselves are not bad and they are doing some positive things to improve, such as the new play scape near the pool. If they fired all the staff and sold the place to a friendly family this campground would have real potential. However as it is now I highly recommend looking elsewhere for a family friendly campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
The staff was very helpful and the seasonal campers were very friendly. Had a rain storm one night and the staff was out regrading the roads. Very nice pool. Had a bear walk through one night. Very wooded campground surrounded by corn fields and dairy farms. Kids in the campground loved the firetruck rides around the campground. We would definitely stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
The Good: Park is more reasonably priced than some in the area, and they did have 50amp electric. (Entire cg power blinked off once, but only momentarily. Enough though for us to have to restart both our computers). And the "safari field" was nice enough: up on top of the hill but nice with grass and a few trees. The Bad: There are lots of small, narrow roads to drive to get to this cg (typical New England I guess). The cg is basically on a hillside, so be prepared for uphill/downhill driving, and the roads are dirt and rough as reviewers have said, with some tight turns. Only a few sites have sewer, and I think those are 30amp sites. If you want 50amp, you will not have sewer! And one weird thing: even though I signed us up for a pull-through site, and they had lots of them empty, the gal at check-in was going to put me in a back-in site. I heard her do it to another person to. Not sure why. But another guy here knew I'd also asked for a spot with a shot at satellite signal, so he put us in a different site: a pull-through! So thank you to that one guy, (and not sure about the rest?!) We've now stayed at two cgs in Massachusetts, and I can't say we've been impressed with either one! But it seems the only cgs they have in this state are either so-so, slummy or way too expensive! So, in the future, we may just avoid Massachusetts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
Price reflects 4th of July holiday weekend, with full hookups. I think everybody looks for something different in a campground. This one fit us perfectly, we will definitely return. First, some cons: The roads are pretty rough, showers were small, and the "WiFi" wasn't reachable from our campsite. As far as cons go, that was about it. Our entire stay was extremely enjoyable. The route to the campground was very clearly marked starting almost 8 miles out (which in my experience is unusual), and the roads inside the campground were easy to follow. No trouble finding our site. Our site was very easy to back into with plenty of room, and was relatively level. The sewer drain was mounted pretty high off the ground, so bring sewer hose supports. The site was deep, so we had plenty of room. I would definitely call this a "family" campground. Kids were EVERYWHERE, and ours had no trouble making friends. I'm sort of glad the roads are so full of potholes, slowing down the traffic. I've been to "family campgrounds" before, but never one with this many activities. They had more things planned in a single day than other places we've been to plan all weekend. They also plan occasional day trips: the Bronx Zoo, and a Connecticut beach were on the list. It was pretty much non-stop, sometimes with more than one choice of things for the kids to do. The variety was good, too: a pancake breakfast, scavenger hunts, arts & crafts, fire engine and tractor rides, a bounce house, bingo AND karaoke, etc. Staff was almost ludicrously friendly. KOAs are known for friendly staff, but these folks would take the cake. Free showers, discounts on Six Flags tickets, no charge for guests, and a decent pool all rounded out the picture. We will definitely return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
Campground is average at best. A lot of seasonal sites and roads need some work very rough with lots of golf cart usage. Bathrooms were clean but cramped; free showers were a bonus. Staff was polite and very attentive and friendly. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$33
Friendly managers at this campground set in pleasant surroundings. Shady, level campsite and clean amenities block. We stayed here for two nights so we could visit the Hancock Shaker Village at Pittsfield. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
Price reflects KOA discount since they are now a KOA. This is the worst bathroom setup I've seen, with no room inside, only one shower and all pretty exposed. The campground itself was otherwise just OK, typical close together commercial campground spaces with a reasonable playground and swimming pool for the kids. It was a reasonable distance to the Hartford, Conn airport to pick me up and drop me off to get back to work. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
This is a good campground. We stayed in the apple orchard area for July 4 weekend. The campers were friendly and there were many activities one could participate in. If its feasible it would be great to see the apple orchard have sewer hookups available. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
I stayed at this campground the same time as the previous reviewer and like him I found it to be a pretty nice campground. Unfortunately thats where our agreement ends. I believe I camped near this gentlemen as the security was there constantly. What he did not mention is he was part of a group of 8 or 9 sites of people with no regard for anyone but themselves. The security was there due to their constant blaring of their music at all hours and their refusal to follow the rules. Every time the security came by they would turn down the volume. After complaining to the owners the next morning they apologized and gave us a Free Weekend and promised us "those" people would never return. I hope thats true and will return later this summer to take them up on the offer. I will review again in August. Other than that this park was pretty nice with a lot of activities for my kids who had a great time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$33
This campground was actually a decent clean family campground. Very basic, however what made me add my poor review was the actual vibe I got from the camp staff. My friends and family felt like we were at an actual kids camp being watched the entire time. The people/owners are very rude, not helpful, and very disorganized with all the events. I felt like I was visiting a weird family compound... strange people. Other campers were very nice, however probably more for seasonals. We felt very out of place here and the staff were treated us with extremely rude personalities. I would not recomend this campground if you want to be bothered and watched by the rude staff. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2007
$47
I would like to start off by saying that my family and I have been camping for many years all over the country. This campground is by far the worst I have ever experienced. The management staff are the rudest and unprofessional people I have ever dealt with. Although we were not allowed into the park, our first impression of the campground is that it does not come close to looking like the pictures online. We brought along our family dog for the trip (as we always do). The manager would not allow us into the park because we did not have our papers (we did have a current rabies tag). She told us "Go home and get the papers." Keep in mind we were not from just up the road. She would not let us enter the park and refused to give us our money back. The park does not look worthwhile anyway. This was by far our most unpleasant experience with a campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2007
$32
Pulled into the parking lot, signed in, went to our site, said to ourselves, this is no good, lets go elsewhere. We were not there 20 minutes. Decided to leave, they wouldn't give us our money back. Also it didn't look like the photos on the website.(There was no clutter on the website.) Hope this helps other travelers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2007
$32
The staff was unfriendly and the seasonals were very off-standish. I tried to attend bingo and was glared at and given the cold shoulder. The restrooms were filthy and there was slimy scum on the shower floors. The owner's wife seemed to have her favorite seasonal group and they could do pretty much anything they wanted. The regulars were often speeding around on golf carts and I had to step off the road several times to avoid being hit. Drinking seems to be the biggest activity there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2006
$35
We traveled to West Hampton Mass to Windy Acres for a 3 day weekend. It was advertised as a family campground with a fishing pond and many activities in a beautiful area. Well: this area of Mass is beautiful until you turn into the campground. You first see a rundown house/office. The fishing pond is a stagnant body of water (no fish) some frogs and several pairs of shoes floating around. The beach (some dirt/sand) is now home to Canadian geese who leave droppings all over it. The restrooms were OK: small and looked clean after a new coat of paint. I think most of the campers are actually residents who live a lifestyle much to be desired. Everyone (including the staff that was identified by shirts) smokes and drinks beer all day long!! There were several men swearing very loudly. Each night there was a DJ dance that the entire campground could hear. The songs included lyrics like "drinking cocaine and whiskey," and something about "you're a crazy b****." This was at 7:30 at night when the children are out playing in the field and playscape. The swings were broken. I think the lodge hadn't been cleaned since last October because there were Halloween toys scattered over the floor. All around the outside of the lodge was a strong odor of cat urine. They had 2 inflatables that were moldy. On the positive side, there were lots of children's activities such as arts and crafts, games in the field, scavanger hunt, etc. However the "local" kids bullied the other kids. Don't take your family to Windy Acres! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$25
We had the best time. Our kids loved it there and wanted to come back. The owners were great they let us keep our trailer on the site at no extra fee for the week. We came back the following weekend and can't wait for this year to go back. The pools looked great and the activities were fun. The foliage that time of year was wonderful. And very close to six flags. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2004
$25
this was a campground I will not forget. For all the wrong reasons. It was by far the worst campground we have ever been to and we have been all over. The staff were unfriendly and sat around and drank and smoked. They looked at you like you had two heads if you asked them anything. The grounds were horrible. I felt like I was in the slums. We were camping there because of a family reunion and it was the closest campground. However, I wouldn't stay there if I had to sleep in my car with my six kids. They had nothing going on and the pool smelled. Don't even mention the playground. The bathrooms were small and old. We got in trouble because the shower curtains did not contain the water and and water got on the floor. Not our fault. Also, I left a toiletry item in the bathroom, went back to get it a few minutes later and it was gone. A staff member went in after us. I asked her if she found it. She said no. I think she took it. How low can you go. So don't go here unless you want your children exposed to undesirable people. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$24
We camped here in 2002 & 2003 and we were very impressed with the turnaround the new owners achieved in one year. This campground caters to families and the owners have big plans for the future. We can't wait to return next year as they are planning on adding 2 new swimming pools. The staff is great, my kids love the daily activities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2002
$25
Not a good campground We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2002
$25
This is a wonderful campground if you're a loud, dirty drunk who may be on probation or waiting for your next court appearance. Foul language is a must if you want to hit it off with the natives. Should you bring your children with you, be sure to not bathe them for at least two weeks prior to your arrival, or they may suffer social rejection. Expect to have your coolers pilfered in the middle of the night, and do not expect your site to be respected, anyone can cross it at anytime, and don't dare speak up about it. Someone may come and roll your camper over in the middle of the night while you sleep! Or maybe they'll just try to peek in your camper windows! As far as the management? They have about the same respect for their neighbors as they expect of their clientelle. I've never seen anything quite like it in my life, and my kids certainly have a more colorful vocabulary as a result of our stay there! Maybe I'll look back at this and laugh someday!!! SOMEDAY. MAYBE! We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com