217661 User submitted reviews online!!
Pine Ridge RV Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 73 user reviews. Phone: (989) 624-9029
CGID1383

Pine Ridge RV Campground

Camp Information
Sites
201
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   1   3   3   6   9   6   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$37
This Park has had a few bad reviews, however we found the the staff to be welcoming and the park well maintained. Our site was a least 100 feet long with very tall trees which didn’t impede our slides or awnings. Our RV is 13 ½ feet high and the branches didn’t come down that low.The water pressure was good as was our Verizon signal, but ATT reception was very poor. There is an oil well pump, at the gate, partly obscured by a fence and also a couple of large tanks. There is a slight aroma sometimes as you walk past but it doesn't extend out to the sites. We didn’t use the restrooms, showers or laundry. It appears the park was carved out of a mature forest and there was a concerted effort to take down as few of the big trees as possible. As such, the roads are not perfectly straight and a bit of attention is needed when maneuvering, but even with our large rig, we had no problems. Around the corner, on Birch Run Rd., there is a farm stand with locally grown produce. The proximity to both Frankenmuth and the Birch Run Outlet Mall makes this an ideal location. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$34
Very nice campground. Lots of mature trees and had to be aware of them when driving through the CG, no problem though. They were well trimmed! We asked for site that would allow our rooftop dish to work and got one; it was a very long pull-through. Verizon hotspot worked well for Internet access. Well maintained gravel roads and sites. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Close to Frankenmuth, 5 miles. A bit pricey but nice park and location. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2013
$37
We were quoted a rate of $33 and made a deposit. Upon arriving they stated that they had made a mistake and the rate was $37. Pay or leave. This is merely a parking lot for those who wish to stay near Bronners. You are not met with a friendly attitude when checking in. The attitude is reflected in the emptiness of the park. This will be my last visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$37
Check in is great, sites are all shaded with a lot of trees and very large. The only objection is the owner riding around in his golf cart all day going up and down looking for someone to violate one of their rules. The so-called playground is a bunch of old rusty stuff that looks like it came from a yard sale. There were about 40 Bluebirds there when we were there and they were a very quiet crowd. They were told never to come back. The entire CG is mostly empty. We were there on a weekend in August and it was half empty. They have an oil well pumping at the front and I think they use the CG as a tax write-off. They seem happier without dealing with people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$37
This is not a customer friendly establishment. It appears they want your money but not your repeat business. Their facilities were nice enough, but there is more to running a business than clean facilities. We brought several coaches to this facility, and they complained about our water usage when others in the park were washing their RVs and watering their campsite lawn. It appears that the discounted seasonal rentals have more privileges than folk who pay full rates. The pads were gravel and heavy with weeds. Tree limbs were dead and falling on visitor's cars. Tight turns and potholes on the back turns made if awkward for larger vehicles to navigate through the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
The park is beautiful and well maintained. It is a large park. The majority of the sites are very shady. All sites are gravel, very level, and have full hook-ups. The sites are acceptably large. It’s a dog friendly park, with no dedicated dog walk space but ample dog walking areas. The laundry is clean, two washers and two driers. The negatives are no cable TV, no Wi-Fi, and pay showers (Must have coins). Why don’t they charge a $1 more per night? Visitors must pay a fee. Satellite reception is difficult to receive because of trees. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$37
This is a lovely park with large, treed sites. Very Big Rig friendly. The roads are narrow, but are paved and well maintained. We were very pleasantly surprised when we pulled into the campgrounds. For the price we were not expecting anything this nice. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$22
It is an OK campground. Close to Frankenmuth and Birch Run Outlet. They seem to accommodate groups. We were there with three other families. There is no pool. Showers are pay for use. (bring quarters) There was a storm and subsequent power outage. Management had no idea how to get restoration information from local utility. We got better info from internet than they were able to get as a paying customer. When power was restored later in evening, they did not advise any of the campers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
Pretty park and only 5 miles to Frankenmuth. Level, roomy sites. Price too high for no Wi-Fi or cable. Office not overly friendly. Oil well at entrance smells. Charges for showers and $3 each for extra people beyond the two of us (although 4 per site are supposedly allowed) because our friends weren't there at check in. Resent being nickel and dimed to death when rate is too high to begin with. Would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
Friendly staff, gravel roads, sites are not paved. A good place to stay if you are going to Frankenmuth. Would return if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$37
Paved interior roads in fair shape, gravel sites, minimal leveling needed, plenty of shade, gated entrance. Water pressure and quality good, no power problems. No WiFi, an automatic downgrade from me. Office staff just okay. Might stay here again, might not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$36
Great park for overnight or staying longer. Frankenmuth is 3 miles away and is a great place to visit. RV Park is clean and well cared for, and just a lovely setting with many trees. But it is easy getting around the park and most sites are pull-through. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We have been here many times because it's quality is dependable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$34
Camped here to visit Frankenmuth. Check in was easy and Host was polite. Camp sites were large, level and easy to get into. Hook ups were to the back of the site, good 50A or 30A service. The park has numerous trees, could not receive dish satellite. Received about 6 digital TV stations. Very little road noise. Only about 10% of sites occupied. Camped in a 37 ft Motorhome with a toad. Would camp her again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2012
$34
Pay showers ??? Not real happy after heading all the way down for a quick shower and undressing only to find I need quarters. Otherwise this site is nice, albeit there are few things to do. They are close to shopping, the Christmas store and Frankenmuth. Level, shady, and easy to maneuver. Full hook ups. But do bring quarters. They'd get an 8 otherwise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$34
Although this is a private campground, we felt that it was more like a city or county park. The roads to the sites are extremely narrow and tree-lined which makes maneuvering tricky. Our site was a long, level pull through and, although staggered, the sites were narrow and quite close together. There was not much grass at our site and despite the fact that we had mats and our steps are carpeted, we continually tracked damp brown sand into the trailer. We found this campground to be very convenient to Frankenmuth and would recommend it, for that reason, to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
Nice affordable campground near Frankenmuth and stores. No pool. Sites are good size. Gravel roads. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
Very quiet campground. Large, spacious sites nestled in a park of mature trees. The park is sandwiched between the Birch Run outlet mall and Frankenmuth. Great place to relax by a campfire with a couple drinks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
Pay showers. Bathroom faucets do not stay on. Would not recommend for fifth wheels longer than 36' as roads are narrow, windy and heavily treed. There are no facilities such as store or meeting room. Do not stay in back of park, as that is where heavy equipment (which is used) is stored. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
This campground has large sites and is very shaded. There is no pool, no cable, no activities, no camp store, and no Wi-Fi. The lady who checked us in was very unfriendly. This campground is probably best as a stopover for sightseeing in Frankenmuth, but it has nothing to offer for families. We would not return to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
It's a pretty park covered with many mature trees. Most sites are shaded. The pads are gravel which I prefer over concrete. The pull through sites are very long. We could park our truck on either side of our camper and had room to spare. However, many of the sites are very narrow. Some people could barely get their awnings open. The people working here are very pleasant. Bathrooms and showers are exceptionally clean. The noise from the local race track could be heard. But, it wasn't unbearable and only occurred one night. It's a no frills park: no pool, cable, activities, etc. So, bring your own entertainment. There are several places to visit in the area. The park was less than 1/2 full even though Frankenmuth was having a festival. The park could double the size of their lots and not lose any money. Overall, we would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$34
Great place to visit Frankenmuth and Birch Run. Nice quiet park. Found the staff to be very friendly. Full hookups, but no cable TV. There are many channels available with your antenna. We will definitely stay here again when visiting the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$34
Excellent campground. Shady sites easy to maneuver. Personnel very friendly and helpful. Beware in Frankenmuth, the Bavarian Inn is a tourist trap. Food is dreadful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$34
We were greeted by unfriendly front desk personnel, indicating that "it is too much paperwork to allow you to switch sites" even though we were switching with another family in our group. We were harassed by the security staff, most of the employees are unprofessional and can use anger management classes as well as customer service training. Instead of speaking to us about their concerns the security staff made accusations and became loud and even yelled at 5 of our group members. The bathrooms are clean but you have to pay for the shower, so if you are not self contained bring your quarters. We picked this campground over the more "kid friendly" one down the street because the price was more appealing, too bad the employees make this place look bad and have lost at least 20 campers business, word of mouth advertising is the best advertising, good or bad! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
Good place to camp if your visiting Frankenmuth or to go shopping at Birch Run Outlets. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
This was a nice park with lots of trees. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Physically this is a pretty neat place. Lots of trees, clean and spacious campsites. This is the peak of the season here in Michigan and surprisingly this place was about ten percent full, perhaps five percent is a better estimate. The place was so empty you could shoot a cannon through here and not injure a soul, which means you pretty much have your choice of campsites. This campground is very close to the Bavarian village of Frankenmuth which is good thing. Visit the bistros, gift shops, as well as the old brewery that has been in operation for well over a hundred years. Now it’s a microbrewery. The park is close to the large outlet mall at Birch Run as well. Also, Dixie Motor Speedway, a 3/8 mile paved track, is only 3-4 miles away and if you know what to listen for, you can hear the engines in the distance but other campers never noticed one bit. The fat old geezer who rides around in a golf cart is obnoxious and seems to be on a power trip of some sort. He came speeding to my site loudly yelling that I had traveled the wrong way down a one way road. I immediately yelled back that I didn’t see his lousy sign and furthermore the place was empty after which the discussion got even more verbally intense. After a minute or two I guess he began to realize that I was not going to back down after which he became significantly more cordial. After this encounter he was very friendly, waving and smiling every time he went by. I guess that "boundaries" of some sort had to be established, or something. The office staff was very nice to me, helping with directions to various events. One gal in the office even used her personal cell phone and downloaded some stuff from Map Quest in order to help me get where I wanted to go. Cannot do much better that that. The showers cost a quarter for just a few minutes but they were hot and clean. There must be a tower nearby because the Verizon Internet worked good as did the Verizon phone. There is an operating oil well at the entrance to the park which was interesting. Maybe I’d stay here again or maybe not. It depends on what is going on in the area that sparks my interest. I deducted one point for the pay showers and another point for the attitude displayed by the old geezer in the golf cart. Ahh, what more can be said about control disorders, eh? LOL. Peace. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
I have camped at Pine Ridge many times over the past 5 years. It is a wonderful park, full of mature trees, lots of shade, yet still sunny areas for those sun worshippers. For the most part, the lots are huge, grass is maintained. Very scenic, especially in the autumn. Staff is very friendly, but I do understand some of the other posters comments. They can be a little snippy when it comes to the rules. But, go with the flow and abide by the rules and you should have no problem. The fire rings used to be right in the ground, but they are now raised (much safer). At least you can see them now instead of falling into them. Yes, there is a charge for the showers: .25 for 4 minutes. Hardly ever a wait. Very clean washrooms and shower rooms. Not a park for children (there's a few swings and a slide, but not much else) which makes it nice for older people that like the peace and quiet. Security does come around a lot at night, so if you ever have a problem or need wood, they are not too far away. Wood is reasonably priced. If it is inclement weather, there's all kinds of places for shopping. Birch Run (2 miles), Frankenmeuth (5 miles), Saginaw (15 minutes). All in all, it is my favourite place to camp in this area of Michigan. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
Don't remember the exact site fee, but office staff was helpful and friendly. Great location for touring the beautiful little village of Frankenmuth. Roads are a little winding for larger rigs. We were not under any trees so was great for satellite receptions. Office needs to tell people when they check in, that there is a charge of $.25 for 4 minutes to take a shower as bathhouses are not close to all campsites. This is a good campground while touring the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
We stayed in this campground as an alternative to the crowds when we visited Frankenmuth, 5 miles down the road. The staff is friendly and helpful. The campground has mostly pull through sites with level gravel parking and wide grass area. There were small ant hills at the site but they did not bother us. Interior roads are narrow but straight so big rigs can enter and exit with minimum difficulty. Most sites are under trees so satellite reception can be difficult but we got reception through a gap in the trees with our portable dish. We will use this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
Campground is in a nice quiet country setting away from the hustle and bustle. It is a nice quiet no frills campground. Office staff was extremely polite and helpful when checking us in. We stayed 3 nights on a full hookup 50 amp pull through site which was 100 feet long. Site was level with a gravel driveway, nice grassy area, picnic table and fire ring. If in the area again we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$34
The park itself was very nice. I was the wagonmaster for a rally of 13 coaches. The lady at the office was rude to us and constantly told us they changed the rules for you as we were not supposed to have access to the clubhouse for the 5 days we were here. "Security" was a real problem as he harassed me and others in our group for driving down the streets the wrong way. We had a tour bus pick us up at the back as we had a handicapped person, security screamed at us for letting the tour bus through the gate. The owners need to get rid of two very unfriendly people in order to double their business and get great reviews. Adding Wi-Fi wouldn't hurt either. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
Nice park. They left a few trees in the roadway so access with a 40 ft was not easy. The pull through sites were very long, so long that you could put 2 RVs in one spot; problem is the hookups were all the way at the back so if you pulled in with a car you were a long way to reach the hookups. We didn't bother with water or sewer since it was so far away. The device you needed to use was too high for the cars and too low for the RVs so it made no sense to me. Nice people and it's a good location for Frankenmuth. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$34
Nice parklike setting. Reason for lack of WiFi stated as too much tree canopy. We have stayed at several with more canopy and deep in canyons with no problems. First experience with having coin-operated showers: interesting to try to add quarters while in the shower! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
Long pull through sites, good utilities, no amenities (WiFi, cable TV, pool). We had a rally and it was a good location for that. However, our wagon master was treated very rudely by the staff member on duty. It was almost like she could care less if they had your business. The security patrol is alive and well, one of our members had his truck parked in the empty site beside his trailer, was told to move it even though there were only a dozen campers in the 200 site campground. When I checked in, the person was pleasant. I suspect that the negative posts on this site could be the same person. If the owners/management wish to improve their customer service they really need to correct that situation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$34
Excellent park with excellent staff management. Folks are friendly and helpful. The park is well taken care of and a great overnight stop or for staying to visit the area. We have been here many times (38 footer) and always know we are going to have a good stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
Paved roads slightly tight for big rigs. Lots of tall pine trees but some sites are good for satellite, no cable TV available. Staff was okay but seemed slightly disorganized when multiple people trying to register. Everything appeared to be done manually, no computer. Most sites gravel/grass and pull through except those on the perimeter are back in. Good electric and water pressure. As stated before sewer connections are about 8” above ground level and makes emptying tanks difficult (poo doesn’t run uphill!) Rules of only one pet per site and never to be left unattended, definitely not enforced. Convenient to Interstate and Frankenmuth. No pool, no WiFi, nothing for kids. Slightly expensive, at $34 we expect more than the basic amenities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
This is a difficult campground to rate for us. We loved the tall pine trees and the "feel" of the park. The sites were level and most were very shaded which is great in the hot summer. The negatives were the roads are a little tight but not too bad. The roads are paved but the sites are gravel and dirt. The sewer connections were too high requiring the need to "work" the sewer hose. Not much for children to do ie: no swimming pool. There is no cable or Wi-Fi. It is close to Frankenmuth and convienet to the freeway. Despite the negatives we would stay again for a few days for the feel and quietness. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$37
We stayed over at this RV camp ground on our way to Traverse City. It was an excellent spot for an over night stay; peaceful, clean sites, and very nice washroom. Frankenmuth well worth the visit. Highly recommend this spot, and we will stay again when heading north on I-75. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
This is a very pretty large campground with many trees. The staff was very nice and gave us an easy in/out site since we were only staying one day but we would return and stay here if we return to MI. The only downer was no WiFi or cable TV, but the digital box picked up a few channels. It is a quiet campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$34
We arrived at this campground during the first part of the week. We didn't have any issues finding a pull through campsite. They must have had over 100 of them. We found the office guy to be very informative and courteous. The campground is beautiful with many large trees. It seems to be well maintained. It did cost a quarter to use the shower. Bummer! There isn't a lot of things to do for kids unless you walk across the street to the small zoo and the putt putt golf center. I liked the campground, but I can't give it a higher score because they doesn't have Wi-Fi, or cable TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$31
This is a charming little campground 5 miles south of Frankenmuff which is the main attraction in these parts. The Hostess was very pleasant and charming and helped in directing us to the things to see and a good restaurant. The leaves were beautiful and there were lots of trails that wandered through the woods. Several deer frequented these areas. I would definitely come again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$34
Great location to visit Frankenmuth. Only 5 miles from town. Easy access from interstate hwy. Park very clean, staff friendly. Will use when in area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$34
Sites here were long and well maintained. Lots of rules though, none of which were enforced. For example, one small dog per site turned out to be 3 and 4 large dogs per site. Guests were required to pay $3 per person and showers were pay showers. One very dangerous aspect are the sunken fire pits which are not discernable at night. It's a broken ankle waiting to happen. It was a quiet campground as the park is not conducive to kids as there is nothing for them to do. There is plenty to do in the area including the Birch Run Outlet Mall as well as Frankenmuth. Miniature golf and a zoo are across the street. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
A nice campground with open spaces between good shade. Easy access and exit; and is near historical communities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
Pine Ridge was a pleasant surprise for the campground and location. Most sites are pull through and big rig friendly. Entrance is a bit confusing. Best advice do not go past stop sign before checking in. Campground was quiet, close to Frankenmuth and outlets. Staff can be a bit unfriendly. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
I had called to make a reservation by phone, and was told "We will make room for you". He would not do a formal reservation, nor did the man I talked to want my name. Upon arrival, very rude women in the office were belligerent about "not having a reservation". Also made a point to let me know there was "no pool, no Wi-Fi, no cable, no fishing pond". This is a campground off the highway, and works well for an overnight. However, at 34.00 a night, was too expensive for what they had to offer. Laundry machines were limited and twice the price of other parks, then to top it off they charge for showers. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
Pine Ridge Campground is a very nice facility. The management does a very good job keeping the campground very neat. All facilities were in excellent condition. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$34
We were attending a conference at Frankenmuth. This campground has very good accommodations. We would stay here again. It's much better than the local alternative. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$34
Overall , park was very nice. As in previous posts it is not really for families with kids. But I am retired and my wife and I really enjoyed the quiet. A great place to stay, convenient between Frankenmuth (3 miles) and Birch Run shopping( 2 miles). Large grocery and department store (Meijers) 1 mile, General RV dealer (2 miles) in case you need something for the rig or repairs. Did not mind the 25 to 50 cent charge for the showers, I've been too many places where people are not considerate of others waiting to get a shower, and have had to wait up to 30 to 40 minutes before to get in. Charging for a shower keeps the wait time down. Main pull through sites seem to be a little close, but livable. Hook up modem in the laundry, but no WI-FI. I will visit again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$34
Nice quiet and shaded park with friendly hosts. If you don't have kids with you, this is probably the best place to camp when visiting Frankenmuth. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$34
What a pleasant surprise. The quietest campground we have ever stayed in. Every site had fire pit, level lots and friendly folks. We were traveling with three other big rigs and stayed three nights. We all would definitely stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$34
This campground has a lot of large level treed sites and is well kept up. Easy access to the interstate is a plus for a quick overnight stop. That being said, I would have rated it higher if I felt that it were a better value. At $34 a night I simply expect more than a nice site. At $25 I would have given this place a 10. They also charge 50 cents to use a shower which just seems petty and cheap. Laundry is very clean but again there appears to be a bit of price gouging going on there. Campground was less than 25% occupied for the 2 weekdays we were there. Maybe it is fuller on the weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
Quiet park with little to do for kids. No pool, no activities. Our site was very small. Could not use fire ring as it was under the neighbor's unit. Had just enough space for the awning and the slide out. A motor home across the road could not extend his awning or slide out fully. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$34
This is my kind of park. Long pull-through sites with full hook-up. Services spaced correctly. Our site was 100 feet long. Flat site with gravel base. No cable. No Wi-Fi. Plenty of channels on the antenna. Nice, tall trees spaced to provide some shade. No shrubbery to provide privacy but sites are wide. Good water pressure and good voltage. Not much for kids to do here but for us retired war babies, it was perfect. Park was nearly empty when we were there. Close to Frankenmuth. Close to I-75. Eat at Zehnders for great chicken lunch or dinner. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$34
Most of the sites are pull-through. The security is excellent. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$34
The previous post sums it up perfectly. This is a wonderful campground with plenty of shade, and generous sized sites. There are many pull through sites that are actually easy to access and easily accommodate 45 ft. The appeal of this facility is the location to Frankenmuth and the laid back atmosphere due to the lack of amenities offered. I also saw a few swings, one slide, an unkept volleyball court, and an unusable horseshoe pit (no posts). This park could really improve its ratings by offering more activities, and not gouging people by charging a visitors fee or 25c for showers. I would return here if a simply needed a place to sleep. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
The only thing I can add to the other reviews is that they charged friends to come through gate. I believe it was $3. If we had known that we would have gone out the little restaurant nearby and brought our friends in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
We camped here overnight on our way to Mackinaw City. We loved the large, wooded sites and the great location to Frankenmuth which was a charming, little town. But, I can't imagine staying here longer than a night without a pool or any other amenities. I think the kids would be very bored. I would stay here again if we were just passing through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$34
This is a shady, roomy park between Birch Run Outlet Malls and Frankenmuth. The sites are large and there are many shade trees. There are nice full hook up pull thru sites available. There are no amenities to speak of. I saw 4 swings, a slide and a basketball hoop. There is a rally hall but it didn't seem to be in use when we were there. There is no wi-fi or cable TV. The price is because of where it is located. My gripe is with 25 cent showers and a $3 visitor charge. No one would visit except to see someone they know which means sitting under a friend's awning drinking their beer. There's nothing else to do. Why would anyone come in? We attended a family reunion in Frankenmuth and no one could come see our rig without paying to come in. With a pool, better playground, cable and wi-fi, this park could be a 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$34
This park is close to Frankenmuth MI - a fun Bavarian town. The park is heavily treed, so satellite accessable sites are limited. We reserved one, but when we got there it was taken, so they moved us to another site that was suppose to work. It didn't work for our satellites unless we turned the coach around -- not a problem for us or our neighbors as we didn't need sewer or water for this short stay, and electric we passed under the coach. Well, watch out for the evening "Security Patrol" which show up several hours after we arrived. Much to our surprise, and that of our unknown neighbor, they demand that we pack up, pull in our four slides and turn the coach around due to "fire code regulations". When we asked the Security Patrol if we could just leave and get a refund, they said, we could not get a refund for the two nights we paid for. Gee, the park was 30 percent occupied, we could pull directly out onto the exit route, instead of having to make three left turns around trees with our 40 ft motor home to get to this same exit street ! We went to the office, and got another previously empty site two spaces over - one that I had requested, when I arrived, due to Google Earth satellite photos of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$34
Just an update on this campground as we stayed there last year and posted a review then. Park is still great as ever. Was very packed for Memorial Day holiday but wasn't too bad. Restrooms and showers very clean. Showers are never busy since 90% of the campers have big rigs and trailers and thus use their own showers. Big plus for us in a popup with no shower. The only problem we had was that we ended up being across from the only people that were partying late. Uggg. But I kept a good attitude because they were just talking loud and it could have been a lot worse. Security guy kept hounding them to be quiet since it was quiet hours and they finally settled down by midnight. Again, could have been worse and at least security was trying. The next night they were a lot better. We will be back, great home base for shopping. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$34
We enjoyed the park very much. It was clean & kept up very nice, with mostly pull through sites and full hookups.. We met 4 other couples there from our RV Club for a get-together last summer & stayed for 4 days. They didn't have a pool but that wasn't a drawback for us. They did spray for insects while we were there which impressed everybody. We would highly recommend this park and look forward to returning and even holding a rally there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
We stayed at this campground via brochure at the Welcome Center. Unfortunately we knew nothing prior to this campground. After arriving home and looking this CG up, we too had same "bad" experiences. We arrived on Thursday evening. Young lady in office was super nice!! She told us she put us in a large site at the back of the CG. We arrived at our site to find we had sand/dirt instead of grass. We had told her we had a large dog. After reading rules, we learned only small dogs were allowed. I guess we were the exception. First day everything seemed fine. Second day we got a dose of the security. We parked one tire on the grass. We were told we were not to park on the grass. So therefore the front end of our truck stuck out in the road. Every hour security went by and literally stared us down. They would drive so close to our site: and look over in our yard. I think they were looking for "dog waste." At check-in, we were told we must pick up after our dog. We always do anyway. Some other crazy rules are: you can't park backwards in a site, you can't ride you bike in front of the office or the road that runs in front of the CG. Fortunately for us, we did spend a lot of time in Frankenmuth and at the Outlets in Birch Run and not at the CG. We will definitely not be visiting this CG again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2006
$32
This was our third year in a row at this campground, it will be my last. We pulled in early hoping that we could set up because we had to be somewhere during the check in time. The woman behind the counter started off real defensive with a raised voice and telling me how someone was on my site and I couldn't park it there, that I needed to take my rig to a shopping center parking lot and wait till check in time. I told her over and over again to calm down, that I wasn't yelling at her, but there was no way I was going to drop my fifth wheel in a public parking lot so someone could steal it. I told her I'd be back later. Like the other reviewers the "security" golf cart was a joke, a person could hardly breathe without him looking at you! We got yelled at for having a truck tire on the grass. But the real kicker came when asked if we could stay a few hours longer and they told us we had to pay for a whole day; later we found out that there is an hourly rate! We had 5 different trailers in our group, one was accused of sneaking people in and when asked how could they accuse them when there are 200 campers there, they backed down and said that they weren't sure who did it. To sum it up, they basically told us that children were not welcome, they have no pool or anything for kids to do, except a playground. This is a campground for big rigs full of retirees, I don't mean that in a bad way only that they prefer not to have families there. The problem lies in that they are the next closest campground to Frankenmuth besides Jellystone and that is why they can behave the way they do. I don't care to go to a campground that is not friendly and are only worried about making more than a buck! The years before we never had a problem, this year is was unbearable and we will not be back and this includes our 5 trailers of friends that were there with us, camping is supposed to be fun! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$32
Fantastic place to camp. Most of the campground is pull thru sites and can take the big rigs. Ringing the campground are back in sites that back up to the woods. Lots of trees throughout especially the back in sites. All sites are quite level with hard packed gravel camp pad. Most sites are pretty deep. Some are a little narrow but most seem at least 20 feet wide. Take a back in site for more privacy as the middle pull thru sites fill up first. They fill the back in sites every other site so you get lots of room except on busy weekends. We had no problem with the "rules". Not sure what some of the other reviewers had a problem with. Rules are clearly posted in the office. Frankly I find it refreshing that someone actually enforces their rules. We found the staff very friendly and they actually deliver wood to your site if you pay for some at the office. Less then 5 miles to Frankenmeuth and to the Birch Run outlets. Close to lots of activities. There is a onsite playground, basketball and volleyball courts for the kids but nothing else. Jellystone down the road might be better if your kids need more to do. Bathroom and shower facilities were very clean at all times. Showers were good and warm and are coin operated. 1 quarter per 4 minutes so 50 cents gets you a long hot shower. All sites have full hookups (15/30/50 electric, water and sewer) and most of the sites near the front have phone hookup if you arrange it with the phone company. We will be back whenever we want a weekend getaway to go shopping. Much cheaper then a hotel! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$32
This is a clean, quiet park, with long, level sites. There is no pool or wifi internet service. Security "patrols" constantly, but we had no issues with them. Convenient to Frankenmuth and Birch Run. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$32
We have camped here several times in the last few years. Yes, it does seem that things have changed. More rules, not so friendly, no mention of activites that might be happening in the area, just cold. The park is still nice and we will continue to camp there in spite of all the rules. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2006
$32
We have visited this park several times in the last 10 years (always with several friends), but will not be returning after this visit. We had reservations months in advance and not wanting to be lined up out on the highway, we arrived at 11:15 a.m. When we walked in the office to register we were immediately yelled at by the woman at the desk that we were early and we would have to pay $5.00 per hour for every hour until 1:00 p.m. We asked if our lot was available and were told that didn't matter...check-in is at 1:00 p.m. We left and went to the local RV dealer for some parts and returned just before noon, planning to wait until 1:00. A young guy came out of the office and told us we could register now and she wouldn't charge us the early registration fee. While we were setting up the "security" golf cart pulls up to our friends' on the next site and asks if that is her trailer. She says that it is and he points to her sewer hose and tells her to hook it up or roll it up. She explains to him that since the hookup is so far from their valve her husband is gone to get some parts to connect two hoses. Then...the last straw was when we were all sitting around the campfire Friday evening and the "security" cart pulls up with a uniformed security guard (NEVER saw that before) and he tells us that we have to keep the flame below our knees. You have got to be kidding! We had a nice, normal campfire going, not a raging bonfire by any means. These idiots have nit-picked their way to losing a lot of business! All weekend that security golf cart rode around just looking for things to complain about. They seem to have lost the concept that this is an RV park and people are there to have fun and relax. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$38
Every site has full hookup, some are a little narrow. Children are allowed but not much for them to do. Frankenmuth and Birch Run are both nearby. Very nice for a weekend get-away. Campground is very well maintained and quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2005
$32
This campground discriminates against large families! I have four kids. Made a reservation here and told person there would be 7 people staying in the trailer. (My trailer is rated by manufacturer to sleep 10) They called back a few minutes later to say we couldn't stay there with 7 people. Here's how the conversation went: PR: The owner said 7 people is too many - that's almost two sites. Me: What difference does that make when I have a trailer that sleeps 10 and we'll all be inside? PR: That's not for me to decide, it's private property and the owner says it's too many and who am I to argue with him. The sites are for four people. Me: You're trying to tell me you never have anyone spend the night there with more than four people in an RV? PR: No, I'm not saying that, I'm just saying 7 is too many. Me: Ok, you allow visitors, so if I had, say 5 people in the RV and a car with 4 visitors that stayed on the site until 10:00 and then left, that would be just fine, right? PR: But that's not what you have, you have 7 staying there and that's too many. Me: But how does that make any sense - we'll all be inside the trailer all night? PR: It's not for me to say whether or not it makes sense, it's private property and that's the owner's policy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$33
This park is very nice, clean and quiet; large pull-thru sites; clean, large bathrooms (tokens for showers); shaded, grassy sites. However, not a lot to do for kids--small playground and one basketball hoop. Diner and putt-putt across the street. Great if you want a nice place to stay but will be spending lots of time in Birch Run or Frankenmuth. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$32
This is really nice campground for adults. We have a 40' fifth wheel with 3 slide outs and pull by a FL70 freightliner and tow a car on a tow dolly. There are sites that are long enough for truck, trailer and tow dolly. The internet connection is in the laundry room. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$35
Very nice to camp in, very quite. Not much to do for kid although there was a fun center across the street. About 10 mins south of Frankenmuth! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com