214481 User submitted reviews online!!
J W Wells State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (906) 863-9747
CGID1386

J W Wells State Park

Camp Information
Sites
178
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   10   6   10   8   10   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$22
$22 per night was for 30/50 amp electric only. MI requires non-residents to purchase an annual recreation passport for $30.50 (which we had done at a previous MI state park) plus $6.30 for a vehicle pass for each park, which was good for our week long stay. This park is located on the Green Bay portion of Lake Michigan with a row of sites right on the shoreline. The beach was nice. Spacing between sites was roomy and most sites were level, which allows some leeway for parking in any direction. All sites have beautifully maintained grass and trees on them. Most sites have some shade but some are in full sun. Water is available throughout the park and the dump station is located at the entrance/exit area. Bathrooms and showers were clean and well lit. Recreational opportunities are available in the park as well as in the local area. The park volunteer group is very active and it shows as there are many activities and the park is almost pristine in appearance. It is about a mile and a half to where WiFi is available at the township building as AT&T cell service was just three bars of Edge at the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$21
JW Wells is a former CCC camp. We camped in site #4, a 30A site on Lake Michigan. Though the campground was full, the weekend we stayed, it was hard to tell. It was very quiet. There are modern shower facilities and a great central play area for kids. Plus a beach is within walking distance. However, there is no more camp WiFi and our Verizon cell and data were marginal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$21
Wow. We were traversing the shoreline of northern Green Bay looking for a waterfront campground to park at for a few days. After passing some of the county parks that just weren't all that attractive, we pulled in here. We were greeted by a very friendly young lady in the office, who offered us a waterfront spot. It was a perfect spot that we could pull in parallel to the waterfront creating our own private oasis of awesome. By the way - you only need to pay an entrance fee on your towed vehicle if you plan to drive it in/out of the park separately - and then it's only $6 for the entire STAY, not per day. If you're planning to just stay put in the park, you only need to have a passport ($29/annual for all MI State Parks for non-residents, or $8/day) on your camping unit. We bought the annual pass, as we plan to stay in a few MI State Parks during our time in the state. We enjoyed impressive sun and moon rises, sounds of waves gently crashing, birds chirping and butterflies buzzing us. We also enjoyed the hiking trail that starts past the swimming beach, as well as some wading in the lake. The level of relaxation we got at this location was indescribable. Probably one of our favorite camp locations in our 6 years of full time RVing. That's saying a lot - we've been to some amazing places! The sites are a mix of 50A electric and non-electric. There is no water or sewer at any site - so make sure you utilize their very well designed dump station on your way in to dump/fill up. Most of the sites are just grassy, which is nice as you can angle your rig to the best view. Their bathhouse is top notch, as is all of the other amenities in the park. Both AT&T and Verizon had usable but not great signals, which was our only downside. We did sniff a faint LTE signal on Verizon, so suspect they are upgrading the area? That would make this place absolutely divine. We would definitely come back here in a heartbeat. We were actually sad to leave... our next stop just didn't stand a chance at comparing. We'll be dreaming about this place for a long long time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$43
The $43 fee for one night is based on the $21 per night plus an $8 reservation fee plus the $8 daily motor vehicle non resident fee for the motorhome and a $6 non resident towed vehicle duplicate. They don't tell you about the additional motor vehicle fees on the website until after you have made the reservation. If you want to cancel you have to pay the $8 reservation fee plus a $10 cancellation fee. This is the worst value for any camp site we have ever experienced especially when you consider the fact that you have no water and no sewer for $43 a night! This park has are all grassy sites with the exception of the handicap sites. Although it claims to have big rig access, it is really not big rig friendly. The sites were very soft from all the rain and there were deep dug in tire marks from rigs that got stuck. There are also many trees located close to the site entrance making it difficult if not impossible for a big rig to enter the site. Big Rigs and Non-Residents are not welcome in Michigan State Parks! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$21
Very well maintained park. Helpful staff and excellent, clean facilities. Despite a lot of recent rain the grass sites were quite good. Dump station was spotless. As this is the 4th July holiday site was very busy but there was no excessive noise in the evening. Several people we met were locals who are regulars. There is even a group that raises funds for the park to add what the State cannot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$27
Beautiful wooded campsites on Greenbay. The sites are large with 50 amp electric. Although sites are wooded, we were able to get satellite views as the trees are not covering every site. The rates have gone up this year, but with 50amp and new clean rest rooms it is worth it. Also new is that firewood must be local. Very good dump facility also. We stay on a site with a view. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$23
Michigan has some great state parks and this one tops the list. The sites are large with lots of space and manicured grass. The location is hard to beat...right on the shores of Lake Michigan. Whenever we are in this part of the country, we make a point of coming here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$17
We had a site right on Green Bay (38). However, we had a ton of flys around our site. It seems the lake sites were more prone to attracting flys. The shower and bathroom building is very new and clean. The beach area is nice and the lake is very shallow. However, there is nothing in the little town of Cedar River (not even a store). I don't think that we'll be back unless we use this park as an overnight stop. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
Beautiful park. There are large grassy sites and paved roads. The bathrooms are new and very clean. The park equipment is their weak point. Park equipment is outdated and should be replaced. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$15
Great park right on Lake Michigan. Updated facilities. Nice dump/fill RV station. They are imposing some rules as to size of carpet you can put down outside your rig. Not much privacy from one site to the next, but the view of the lake makes up for it. Nice beach for swimming and pavilion available for gatherings. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$12
If you can get by without all the hookups, this is a beautiful park. Electric was only 20amp. Park is well maintained and has a beautiful view of Lake Michigan. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com