221717 User submitted reviews online!!
Michigamme Shores Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (906) 339-2116
CGID1387

Michigamme Shores Campground

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$41



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   10   9   9   8   9   10   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$41
Rate listed is for 50 amp full hookup. We did receive a 10% discount with our Good Sam membership. Wi-Fi was weak in our site but we were able to get a roof mounted DirectTV signal. Verizon and our Mi-Fi worked. Park is located right off highway 41 so there is a bit of road noise. There are also train tracks that run through the middle of the campground, with trains passing through 1-2 times a day while we were here ( never at night ). Larger units are parked in the front section but have to pass this area to initially register. Once registered you have to navigate the rest of the park to turn around before getting to your site - kind of a goofy set up. Front sites are not on the lake, nor do they have a lake view. Think we would stay in Marquette next time as this park is about 35 miles away and not much to do in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
We spent a Tuesday night here in late July and had a FHU, back-in site with a view of the lake out our windshield. About 60 of the sites are FHU and we had one of maybe a dozen that are satellite friendly. There is no cable TV and only 4 antenna channels. The sites are mostly grass and gravel back-ins and of a decent size. Our site was level. There appear to be some, but not too many, seasonal sites. There were only about 30 sites occupied the night of our stay and maybe half of those might have been we seasonal. There is a small beach. The water is much warmer than Lake Superior. There is also a 60+foot pier that can accommodate customer boats. There were numerous empty boat trailers on the park's grounds. This is a nice park that serves locals for boating, fishing, and that week long vacation or weekend get-a-way. The Wi-Fi worked well at our site. The restrooms were old and a bit small for a park with 20 sites without sewer. The laundry had two of each machine and was $1.25 per machine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Great park that has just about everything. The sites are spacious and level. You can choose from a site with or without trees. Some sites have views of Michigamme Lake. Beautiful spot and we would have stayed longer, but had to keep on our schedule heading back home. We will definitely stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
VERY nice campground. Incredibly clean, super great beach and swimming area. Very nice playground. We also saw the bald eagles. We were right on the lake and had full hook up. If were were not touring the UP we would have stayed for the entire week. The only strange this is they clean the bathrooms from like 11am-12pm. I thought that seemed a little early. I like to wait a bit until the morning rush had a chance (I hate lines), but it turned out I had to use the shower in my camper any way, which is fine too. Owners are also very familiar with the area and are more then willing to give suggestions and directions anywhere you ask. We will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
Great campground. Nice beach for swimming in summer. We stayed for 10 days in the fall. Rented nice boat for fishing. Lake is huge. Trees were in their fall colors and very pretty. Had fun driving the back roads taking in the beautiful views. Pair of bald eagles nested near by & we watched them fishing most mornings. Showers & toilets are old, but kept very clean. Recommend this park to everyone! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$32
Excellent park with huge pullthru sites. Some highway noise at the pullthrus but not annoying. I thought the price was a little high. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$27
We also would place high on our list of prefered campgrounds. The owners are sill providing excellent service to their guest. If you read all posts we would just echo those comments. Only one restroom/shower room located in upper area may be somewhat a short coming, however all sites are full hook up with sewer. Would highly recommend and would stay there on future visits to the area. Be sure to visit Lawrys Pasties about 6 miles east of campground for excellent Pasties and other local foods. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$30
This campground is one of the best we have stayed in. The owner is extemely helpful. He delivers firewood to your site on request or makes the rounds on a regular basis. He is constantly policing the grounds and picks up any debris. If I return I will request one of the sites near the Lake. Lake is great for canoeing. Weather was unseasonably warm when we were there and fishing was not good because of this. Train tracks run through campground but the train only comes through once to twice per day. Mosty people seemed to enjoy this aspect of the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$35
Beautiful setting for the entire park. The only negative was the restrooms and showers were a very long walk from some of the sites. The showers could stand to be updated a little. The had a BIG!!! beach and swimming area complete with a playground for the kids. We will for sure be back here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$27
this beautiful, quiet, secluded campground is one of our favorite places to camp in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. The roads on-site are narrow, but paved and the sites have level gravel pads w/full hookups,fire rings, and tables. The park is on three levels, with the lower level pads only about 75 yards from the sandy beach of Lake Michigamme. The beach has volleyball court, equipped playground, community fire ring, tables, swim area, boat dock, & fish cleaning house.The Middle (entrance)area has tennis and basket ball courts. Available for rent are kayaks, canoes, paddle boats, motor boats, pontoon boats, bicycles and 2 cabins. The restrooms, showers, and laundry facilities are kept very clean, and the camp store has firewood (delivered to your site), ice, limited groceries & RV Supplies, souvenirs, bait/tackle and hunting /fishing licenses for sale. Area attractions include waterfalls, Michigamme Museum, Pocupine Mtns, National Ski Hall of Fame, mine tours and much more. The owner is very cordial and helpful. We have camped here a total of 5 times (3 in 2003 & 2 in 2004), always in a Class "A" motorhome, and our stays have varied in length from a single weekend to one month. We will definitely be back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$24
This is a very nice, clean campground, we like to vacation during the early part of September, so we almost had the place to ourselves. The lake is good size and this campground does offer rental of boats and sale of Fishing Licences. The restrooms were clean, however, the showers could use some updating. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com