223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Dam Complex COE was rated 9 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (319) 338-3543
CGID13907

Dam Complex COE

Camp Information
Sites
151
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   10   9   10   7   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
This is a beautiful camping spot, however it is rather confusing to make reservations online. There are 5 campgrounds, very few with full hookups. We couldn't get a full hookup online, only electric, so not sure if that can only be done once you arrive at the campground. It seems that the 'electric only' sites are available when searching sites online. When you get your site number, it is in a shorthand code, so be sure to print the map off their website so you know where to go. There is no legend for the code on their site but it's pretty straight forward. The directions on their site tell you that West Overlook Rd. goes to the park entrance. This is only true if your site is at this particular campground. There was nobody to help at this entrance's office. There was a sign that tells you to 'find your site' then come back to register or fill out paperwork there if nobody is in the office. Many campers don't understand that, especially if they made online reservations and paid online for their spot. We were lucky to find someone from the area that was camping in West Overlook and they led us to our site, which was clear across the other side of the dam. Later in the evening the park ranger came by and told us we had to go to the office to register so that we could get a tag to hang off the rear-view mirror in our car. Needless to say the check-in process was frustrating. That being said, it was a beautiful site (we were in Tailwater East) and campers here were there to enjoy nature. There were no motorized vehicles, other than cars. We would camp here again now that we know how it works. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$27
Bring your bug spray! No staff or station was available upon check-in. Campground was clean and included many trees for campsite shade. Our campsite was level and included a view of the river. Pull-through sites are also available. Verizon phone was able to get 4G signal. Make sure you pick an open site, as we were not able to get a satellite signal (space E13). Campground within 8 miles of the freeway (I-80) and 15 minutes away from the Coralville Mall, which includes; dining, shopping, theaters, indoor ice skating rink, grocery, hardware store (Lowes) and gas stations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$10
Our site was river front below the dam. Park and campground were very clean. The sites are well spaced with grass between them. Sites have concrete pads that are wide, deep and easy to back into. Also had a picnic table and fire pit at each site. Each campground had a fish cleaning station and clean restrooms and showers. Staff was friendly at check in and at the visitors center. There is a gorge that was washed out after two floods that is full of fossils. We enjoyed roaming through the gorge. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$27
Despite multiple thundershowers, had a wonderful stay in this great COE park. Had one of the few full hookup and 50A sites; nice paved site and patio with surrounding grassy area. Poor Verizon cell service, which restricted use of hot spot also. Would definitely return to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$24
The RV space had a lot of grass around it and for the next few days, we almost had the entire campground to ourselves. Behind our RV was the massive Coralville Dam only a few hundred feet away. 300 ft. away was the massive spillway, which a large amount of white noise and was amazing to see gushes of water pour through it. There are lots of kid activities and areas for little people to roam here, the beach is huge and leads right up to the reservoir. Near it is a gigantic, clean, playground. We only had electric/water as they campground was booked up for the weekend. I wish we had sewer, but we rationed showers during our stay. Would I recommend this park? Yes. Would we come back? Yes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$18
I would suggest entering off of I-80 and follow signs to park. Very easy and well marked. We had a pull through site. It was rather small. We got in late at night and thought it would be easier, not much room on either side of us. We walked around and the back ins were very spacious. We only stayed here for just a stop over,and it was just fine for it. It is a very beautiful park and a lot to see and do. I would like to stop back when we could stay longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$12
Excellent COE park. Paved sites with full hookups, very well maintained complex. The restroom are spotless. Only drawback was "non-working" check-in staff. Wanted us to go to campsites and see which one's were reserved rather than look at her computer screen. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$11
COE park. Rate is for FHU and senior discount. Sites are paved, level, with some pull throughs. Excellent park with fishing available. There are several separate parks in the Complex. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com