223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Oak Grove Campground / Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (616) 399-9230
CGID1402

Oak Grove Campground / Resort

Camp Information
Sites
135
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   3   2   6   10   7   3   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$48
This is my second review of this extremely near and clean park. The first time, we had a smaller camper and stayed in the regular area. We are too big now so we stayed in the premium area. Have their own fire pits, but two community pits were nearby. Sites were very generous in width, with a nice level parking pad. Utility hookups were in great condition and the water had two spigots per site (nice feature, handy for dog rinsing while keeping RV hooked up). Tried the restrooms/showers this time and they are modern and spotless. In ten years of camping, I have never seen such a clean park (there's an older gentleman that appears to rake each site daily). The seasonal sites are very nice trailers, no Sanford & Son units anywhere. While the management seems a bit stern, I prefer that to the "anything goes" campgrounds we encounter on occasion. On the narrowness, bring your patience and use your cell phones/radios with your backing assistant. The sites are 90 degrees to the road and it's a single lane road. Go slowly and you should be able to make it work. If the campground was full, I'm not sure I could have done it with my crew cab pickup with long bed and a 32' trailer. Fortunately, the site across the aisle was open so I could pull in there to help in backing. Once you're on the site, you're minutes from the beach and wonderful sunset over Lake Michigan. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$54
In contrast to some of the poor reviews, we had a very pleasant stay. In fact we are still here as I type this. Our greeting upon arrival was very pleasant and professional. We did not experience any of the rude behavior mentioned in some of the older reviews. Interior roads are a bit narrow, but passable. Getting situated in the site is a bit of a challenge for larger units, but again is doable with patience. We had a site in the newer "premium" section. The site is quite large and not crowded by your neighbors. the only real downside is that there is no fire pit on the site. This location is close to everything you might want to do in the Holland area. It is very much a family oriented campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$57
This is my first review, but felt compelled to write a review on this campground, since we almost did not camp here based on another review. This is an extremely tidy campground close to everything Holland has to offer. It is tight, especially in a larger rig, but it is not difficult to access the sites if you are comfortable maneuvering. As we sit here now, there are 9 motorhomes 40' or greater in length parked with us. The sites are roomy once you get parked, but you may have to park your vehicle on the grass beside your unit. The staff was very accommodating when we pulled in and even offered to put our tow dolly with an ATV on it on our site with their tractor and will position it for us when we leave. The cable is great with a large selection of channels and the WIFI is the best we have encountered in a park. Very nice pool area with a large hot tub. And I must confess that we did have a glass of wine one night and shared a beer on another. We left our dog several times, but if you have a barker when you're gone, they won't like that (and neither do I) If you come to Holland, this is a great place to stay. We stayed 5 nights in a motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2014
$60
This is a campground that wins by location, only. It is only 1/4 mile from Lake Michigan, the Holland State Park, and the Holland Channel. It has a nice pool and a nice recreation area, with an indoor game and TV room for guests to use. The hosts, especially the women, are rude. Apparently they don't care, because they assume, that if I'm not there someone else will be. The campground is not big rig friendly. I have heard of numerous accidents and damage to trailers and RV, but nothing changes. They do not escort you to your spot. I have a 45 foot RV. They sent me down an impassable road to an extremely tight RV spot. There was no way I could have made the narrow corner that they sent me toward. The spot I was assigned was so tight that the nose of my RV hung out into the road. When I told them how ridiculously tight my spot was, the lady at the front desk told me I was fine and not to worry about it. It took 5 campers to help the guest across from me park without damaging my RV. So, over the weekend, as each car and camper and kid on a wobbly bicycle went by I worried that they would run into my unit. The campground is a non alcohol campground, but I am sure that drinking goes on, hidden. They charge 5 dollars a person, per day, over 4. I can honestly say that not one nice word was said to me by the staff in the general store, during my 5 or more visits there. In fact I was made to feel as though I was an unwanted interruption. We will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
Very disappointed, the owner was very rude, the sites are very hard to get into... I am very experienced in backing up my rig but these sites are just flat too small for anything bigger than 18 feet... The road is so narrow you have to have people move their trucks or cars just to pull out or get your rig in, This was rated a five-star in 2010 I cannot imagine how it got that rating.... Very poor layout, clean facility's and nice pool area and once you get past the owners bad attitude the employes seem to be nice.... I'm not going back!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$54
This is definitely NOT a big rig friendly park. The speed bumps are huge and the roads to the "premium" sites are very narrow with very sharp turns. The park was packed full when we arrived on Friday and getting to the site was very difficult. Staff was helpful. Wi-Fi did not come in at all at our site. Cable TV was good. Lots of kids here and very crowded. Couldn't use the pool in the day b/c there were so many kids. They did have lots of activities for the kids. Park was noisy, on main road to heavily used state park. Price way to high for what you get. We would not stay here again. The state park was no better. Not many options around here for big RVs. If you want to relax, this is not the place to come. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$58
Park is a mixture of permanent sites and overnight sites. However, DO NOT let that taint your view of this campground. The permanent sites are very very, well maintained as weekend resort cottages and are well kept. The overnight section is nicely kept and was easy enough for us to maneuver into our site. The sites aren't too close together, but the road is narrow in front so the issue would be if someone was parked on the adjacent spot in front of their camper it could make maneuvering into your spot more challenging. The campground is a short walk or bike ride (they also rent bikes) away. The only negative is the overnight "premium" sites do not have fire rings. They have "public" fire rings (3-4) for these sites. We had a wonderful time including swimming, fishing, golfing, getting ice cream, and just enjoying the Holland weather. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$52
This is a very nice campground featuring nice amenities for families like a pool, petting zoo, basketball courts, and rental bikes etc. The location is very nice. The showers are the nicest of any park we've stayed in. The premium site was very spacious, and we appreciated not being squeezed into a spot. We would have given this a 10 rating but the following things brought the score down: the speed bumps entering the park are huge and very scary for motorhomes; the wi-fi only works when you are at the laundry area and not in your rig; getting a wrist band to swim during adult swim time is a pain because you have to disturb the camp host unless you don't mind wearing it outside the campground (I wasn't about to wear it to my anniversary dinner at The Piper!); there's a fee for guests to visit; the desk clerk is a grump and unless one of the owners is there to see her at work she is condescending and made us feel very unwelcome. The owners, however, couldn't have been more pleasant or helpful. A friendly face behind the counter makes a big difference. We felt the park was a bit pricey, but given the outstanding bath facility, we probably would stay here again for full hookup convenience. It would just be nice to have friendlier help behind the desk. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$44
Big Rigs STAY AWAY!!! They say they are big rig friendly, they are not. We have a 43 foot motorhome and we did not fit. The roads to the premium sites were only as wide as our rig. If someone was parked just slightly on the road, no way of getting around them. The "premium" site just fit our rig from end to end, literally. The car must be parked on the grass next to you because there is no other place. You can not swing wide enough for the turns so you go over the lawns of other sites. If someone is parked in that site, be very careful you do not hit them while turning. There are no pull-through sites, so to back into the site you must first hope no one is parked in the site across from you because you must use their site to pull into, then maneuver and back into your site. If their is a rig in the site in front of you, there is no way of getting into the site other than going over the lawn several times while doing many K turns. We've seen big rigs pull into the park and pull right back our because they can not park in the spaces. We were lucky in that it was a slow time and there was no one in the site in front of us. If the park did not take my credit card over the phone and charge the first night, I would have done the same. Also, the "premium" sites that you pay extra for because it's the only "big rig friendly" area in the park is right on the main road. So get used to lots of traffic noise. BTW, the State Park minutes down the road, is big rig friendly, has full hook-ups and is right on the beach for less than half the price. I don't know what the other reviewers are saying about the State Park but if I had a choice, I would have stayed there for a lot less and probably extended my stay. Here at this park, we planned on staying two maybe three nights. After being here and seeing this place, we are pulling out the first chance we get in the morning. BIG RIGS STAY AWAY! We will definitely not be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$44
We stayed here for a week while dropping my daughter at nearby Hope College. First thing you will notice is the extremely tight corners when driving through the Standard Sites area. Their website states these spots hold up to a 28' trailer. I'm assuming they mean a 28' trailer dropped in by a crane since the roads are very narrow. My RV is 26.5' long and was difficult to get on a Standard Site. There are a lot of seasonal units but the vast majority are very nice park models that are well maintained, not the ratty old RVs that I usually see on seasonal lots. I required my son to work as a spotter at the front of the truck so I wouldn't hit the seasonal unit across the street, and my wife as a spotter in the rear to avoid hitting the landscaping and/or retaining wall. Go slow and be very patient and you can eventually get on the spot. The neighbor (a professional truck driver) had a small fifth wheel in the 25-28' size range was able to park his RV on the same size spot as mine. After parking, you will find the power pedestal, water, and sewer hookups to be in good working condition. You will also notice how squeaky clean the sites are. After a neighbor checked out, someone raked the site for 15 minutes and also shoveled out the fire pit. All sites have inground sprinklers so be careful of where you leave chairs, wood, etc., overnight. The pool, hot tub, showers, and restrooms were in great condition and again, very clean. We didn't use the playground, but it was in good condition. Main bike path to Lake Michigan is right at the entrance to the park. Wood was available for a reasonable price and they will loan you a wheelbarrow to get it to your site. Wi-Fi worked OK for me, not blazingly fast, but still very usable. Minor annoyances were the multiple speed bumps at the entrance/exit and the need to entry a number on a keypad to get in and out of the park. I would stay here again, but would use only the first 1 or 2 sites on the road side of the park in the Standard Sites area since they are angled for easier entry. Consider staying at the Premium Sites area for bigger sites but you will lose your firepit in that section. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$48
This is one of the most well maintained RV parks that I have ever stayed in. People are continually cleaning, pruning, fixing, upgrading, etc. It is a well maintained park. It is also ideally located directly on a bike path that will take you to Lake Michigan within about 1.5 miles. There is a lot to like about this park, enough that we would definitely consider staying here again. However, there are two negatives that could definitely be improved upon. The first is the attitude of the primary desk person. This person has to be one of the most unfriendly people that I have ever met. This was particularly odd since the resort is very much a Christian based resort. The person was helpful, but VERY gruff, almost hateful. I have to give credit to the other worker who was extremely nice, but I only interfaced with her one time the whole week that we were there. The other big negative is related to their rules. Never in my life have I seen such a long list of rules. These rules are NOT what is posted on their website, but instead are delivered to you upon check-in to the resort. They have rules for everything from camp fires being out at 10:30pm, to swimming being closed at 9:00pm for the kids. The rules are also written in a very rude way. For example, they charge $3.00 per day per person that is visiting you at your site. When they state this rule, they say something like, "You don't really want your guests anyway; so, make them pay for themselves." In some cases, I think they were attempting to use "poor" humor to hide some pretty snotty rules. Fortunately, the staff did not police these rules strictly. If they had, we would not have been coming back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
This is a very clean and nice looking park with great access to the bike trails and beach. However, our internet connection was spotty, the spaces are very small and the back window of our fifth wheel looked out over a construction equipment yard. Since we were so near the parking lot we got to look out at a very large red trailer right outside our door and a very bright security light that pretty much killed any sort of evening camping experience. There was a community camping fire ring but none at the individual sites. The thing that really bugged me the most was that I had to pay $9 extra for 3 of my relatives to come over to our site for a 4 hour cook-out (they did not use the pool or any other facilities). At $50+ per night this was not a good value for us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$53
We did not enjoy our stay at this park, would not recommend it, and would not stay again. We asked for a satellite-friendly site at reservation but didn't get one; cable TV was so basic, we weren't interested in any of the channels available. Pets are not allowed inside or outside unattended, so we couldn't do anything we had planned to do in the area since it was too hot to leave the dog in the car and we couldn't leave her in the motorhome because of the pet rules. A pet fee of $3 a night is outrageous; our dog drinks a small bowl of water every day, pretty expensive water. If you have a pet, skip this one. On the upside, their Wi-Fi was excellent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$38
This is a very nice campground. The owners seem to really take great pride in the park. The pool was not open yet when we were there, but it was a nice size pool with a hot tub. The general store was small, but it contained the most common things folks tend to forget. The other reviews regarding small sites is accurate for the section of the park where we camped. I think it was for seasonal's at one point, and as people move out, they leave it open for weekenders. I would not recommend the standard sites to anyone with equipment more than 16 ft. We were able to secure a "pull through" site with our 26 ft, and it was difficult at best to manipulate our way in and out. The premium sites are lovely; however, there are a few draw backs. There is no shade to speak of, and you are right off the main road. You also do not have your own fire pit, and that would have killed my husband to not have his own fire. The bike trail takes you right to the beach which is only about 1 mile from the park. We passed Holland State Park on our way to the beach, and I was grateful for selecting Oak Grove as our destination. They have a couple of rental trailers that looked very nice and several cabins that looked great. The internet service was pretty good and was no extra charge. Although we did not use the shower and restroom facilities, we did check them out, and they were very clean. I would not hesitate to use them. There were about 6 permanent sites for sale, which made us wonder why, but I think it may have to do with the size of the sites. The office hours are a bit strange. They close by 6pm on Saturday, and no one was there on Sunday. I am not sure if the owners live on site; I suspect they do, but they were no where to be found on Sunday. They do leave detailed instructions for people arriving after 6 or on Sunday, but I didn't like the unfriendly feeling that gave. It's nice to have people welcome you when you arrive. I would understand if it were very late in the evening, but really, 6pm and not a person to be found on Sunday. That was one of the main reasons, along with the tightness of the spaces, that would not allow me to rate this park a 10. We would visit here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$53
We stopped over for a night to test our motorhome after some repairs were done in Holland. This is a very nice park with friendly folks, a nice pool and well kept grounds. Our MH is 45' and the campground says "big rig friendly". It is not! Yes it does have a few and I mean a few sites that work for larger coaches (ours was #125) and it was fair. You have to drive through a parking lot to get to the sites and if folks park on the end it is nearly impossible to get in or out without quite a bit of manuevering. Lots of kids here so the title of "most romantic" park is just not true. Wonderful bike trails to the state park, beach is 1 mile away. If you have a small MH or camper under 40 feet this place would be great. More than 40 feet and be ready to have your spotter work hard to get you in and out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$49
This is a great campground. We spent 8 nights in our travel trailer here and could have stayed the rest of the summer. We were on the smaller site with a fire pit. The sites are close together. Parking is challenging. The park is spotless. The bathrooms could not have been cleaner. The pool area was also spotless. The staff is willing to do anything to help you. The location is great. Only about a mile from the state park. I am surprised the park had negative reviews. We really enjoyed our stay here and can not wait to get back to Holland. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$44
This was one of the best parks we have ever stayed at. A great place for familys. Large pool and hot tub. Close to Holland and Lake Michigan. Make sure you check out the farmers market downtown. Also a great place to ride bikes!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
The place to take the kids: hence the multitudes of kids. Sites were very nice but as previously stated, you need a shoehorn to get to them. Would recommend at least one wing-walker accompany you. Management seemed unconcerned. Liked the access to bike trails. Thought it was pretty pricey for what you get. Did I mention a lot of kids? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$44
The best thing about this park are the beautiful, huge trees. We stayed in a premium site, but there are less expensive sites not under the trees. The showers, laundry, pool, cable and WiFi are all excellent. They have weird, short office hours but the staff are helpful and welcoming. The park is only about a mile from the beach and there is a wonderful bike path. The farmer's market downtown on Saturday is the best we have found. We enjoyed our stay here very much. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2009
$55
Overall, we were disappointed with our stay here. We have a 28' travel trailer and it was virtually impossible to navigate through the campground and in and out of the sites. The sites are right on top of each other and many people were having problems with the lift gates entering and exiting the campground (with the codes). Everything we did, the ownership acted as if we were "up to something" or trying to pull something. One of the employees ( I was told she is the wife of one of the owners) was curt and unfriendly. Other people in the resort had also had problems with her and complained about her. We also spoke with seasonal people who had been here for years. They said they are now prepared to leave due to the ways of the new ownership. There was another female employee who was very sweet and helpful. In fact, she even came to warn us to move my parents' vehicle off the site next to ours (at 10pm) so we wouldn't get fined. You know, they might want to rent that empty sight to someone in the middle of the night even though they're closed: but rules are rules. My parents stayed in a hotel in Holland and would visit us nightly to see the grandkids (we were here for two nights) for a couple of hours. Ownership seemed to frown on this. We did not feel welcome and will not return. We assumed that we were treated like this because we were just "renters." It turns out that some of the seasonal people said that they feel they get treated worse than renters. Sorry for this lengthy review but if you want to go to this area of Michigan, save some money and hassle and stay in Holland State Park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$55
This campground is indeed "compact", but we had one of the larger sites along the "back fence", and it was quite roomy. Campground is in a very nice residential area. As one of the other posts here mentioned, this was indeed one of the cleanest, most nicely-kept campgrounds we've ever stayed at. Pool is unusually large, and the hot tub is unusually HOT (LOL), and THEY ACTUALLY ENFORCE THE NO-CHILDREN IN THE HOT TUB AFTER 9PM! Oh, that was nice. Nice, strong WI-FI signal with no silly sign-in maneuvers required. This campground is famously (notoriously?) anti-alcohol, so one needs to very, very discrete. We were there with close friends who had their camper next door, and when we went visiting at night, we had to covertly smuggle our refreshments over there - it was quite cloak and dagger LOL. Unfortunately, we had someone rifle through our outside cooler one night (got a glimpse of them leaving, looked like a couple teens going back to the seasonal area) and IF we had beer, they would have gotten it! Campground is very, very close to the breathtaking Holland State Park Beach, Mt Pisgah sand dune, Tunnel Park sand dune/beach, and a few shore-fishing spots. Beautiful area. In 2009, before coming into Holland, double-check with someone at the campground to find the best route in to AVOID the gawdawful Lakewood Blvd construction through which Garmin/Mapquest/Yahoo et al will route you. There's a wicked turn with a concrete wall that, if you try to make the right-hand turn through the intersection, you'll have traffic backed-up for miles! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$48
This park was great. We can't wait to come back next summer. The host campers were very helpful. Our kids had a blast in the pool and hot tub. We road our bikes to the beach every night to watch the sunsets. Lots of things to check out around the area. Very clean!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$53
We made reservations for this campground based on the high rating it received in Woodalls. We were very disappointed. We arrived about 6:30 p.m. on a Wednesday night and the office was already closed for the night. The web site advertised grassy sites, but the site we were assigned was very small and was nothing but mud and dirt. The site was barely long enough to hold our trailer (our hitch was at the edge of the road), and there was no room to park our van. Even with using an RV rug, it would have been a mess for our small children and dog. We were told by the site host that the other open sites (which were much better) were already reserved. I did not want to pay $53 to camp in the dirt. We ended up leaving that night to go elsewhere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
This was an unusual campground. The sites are large, but the park is actually very compact. The folks at the registration desk are very courteous and helpful. The bathrooms were clean, as well as the showers. However, the showers are incredibly small. You couldn't move in them at all. Be prepared. There is a walking path right along side the park where we could walk our big dogs. If you take it, go right at the park entrance. It will lead you to Holland State Park and a beach area where the dogs can play. There are many activities for kids. There were quite a few running around. We would stay here again, however, not on an overnight trip. It took some time to get there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
This is our second trip to the campground, though our first review. I have to say that this is the cleanest, prettiest, and most well kept campground that I have ever visited. They have a very nice pool and nice area for the kids to play. Right on the bike path to Lake Michigan. Sites are all very grassy, level and well kept. We will be coming back again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$45
I am not really sure how much a night I had to pay because I was charged for having extra children and a dog. We were unaware that they only had a community fire pit and were very disappointed by that. I feel having a campfire is the best part of camping. We did make do by having a fire in our grill the last night we camped. Small play area for children. Many grassy lots, but not mine. Very clean, beautiful park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$55
This was our first time staying in a camping cabin (chose not to tow the TT from PA). We had a single room cabin with a double and bunk bed, a TV w/cable, AC, ceramic heater, small table, and 2 rocking chairs on the porch. We liked both the cabin and campground very much. The staff was friendly, the roads are paved, and all facilities very clean. There are many well maintained permanent trailers in this park but it appears the RV sites are tight and require some maneuvering for the larger rigs. The campground is conveniently located near the State Park which has a large beach area on Lake Michigan. We enjoyed our stay here while attending the Tulip Festival in Holland. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
Our family camped for 5 days/4 nights with six kids (ages 5-10). The campground is neat and clean. Bathrooms, pool and hottub are very nice. Quiet campground. Easy access to Lake Macatawa and Lake Michigan via bike ride. Nice riding trails. Many seasonal sites, yet they are well-maintained. The atmosphere of the campground is definitely not for young children, however. Too many rules restrict free play (no electric scooters, roller blades or small kids' tents; wristbands needed for pool). We felt like the children were expected to be quiet and contained to the campsite at all times. Many of the seasonal sites are older families. Sites are very small, especially for longer trailers. When it was full, the campground was very crowded. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
This park is not family friendly, if you don't have family living there as seasonal campers. The majority of the sites are seasonal campers 55 years and older. Beautiful grounds and although the folks next to us were very pleasant, others looked at us as if we didn't belong. We paid for three sites for four nights and extra for added adults to accommodate our extended family. We asked when making reservations about parking and putting up a tent (to store bags). The office staff assured us that parking was ample and that we could set up our tent as long as it was not put on the grassy area. This was not true when we arrived, and were asked immediately and without negotiation of any kind to remove our tent. We had six children ranging from 5-10 years of age who were extremely disappointed to learn that they could not rollerblade or ride their electric scooters in the park. Very small play area for children (equal to a backyard play set) and located at the main entrance where all the traffic is, not too smart or safe. If you have young and active children...this is probably not the best suited park for you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2005
$42
Campground is clean, and convenient to Lake Michigan. Spaces are tight for backing in, for big MH's and 5er's; but, wide. Bath/shower area clean. Only two communal firerings. Nice playground for little kids. Holland is a VERY bike-friendly town, with bike paths everywhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$45
Sites are very tight to get into and out of due to the many big trees. Mostly oak trees and all day and night the acorns would drop on the rig. Be sure to clean off the roofs of the slides before putting them in due to the droppings from the trees. Most of the sites are only rented out for the season; very few open for short term stays. They have Broadband in the game room for $2.00 per day, charges for running airconditioning is $2.00 per day which you must pay up front then when you do not use it you must request a refund, which on the day we left we did not get because the office does not open until 10:00 am most days and we wanted to leave early. This park is advertised as a alcohol free park, but we saw more drining in this park then in most we stay in, they just attempted to hide it or in many cases never tried to hide it, but the park management is not there after 6:00 PM so not sure who you would have reported it to and never saw a ranger or anytype of security patrols. They do have plenty of speed bumps at the entrance to the park. In our travels around the county as fulltimer RVers we see lots of great campgrounds and most do not have the high rating this one has and after having stayed in it we are not sure how it got this high of a rating compared to some many other nicer campgrounds. Would not stay here again unless no other choice; not worth the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$52
Very crowded camp sites. Don't drop soap in shower they are so small it would be tought to pick it back up. Camp grounds in middle of city. AC voltage at lower end of acceptabilty. Management rules with iron fist, but with all the kids running around this is sound policy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$42
We spent a week at this campground and loved every minute! The grounds were beautifully landscaped with lots of flowers and everything was well kept. The pool and hot tub were very nice and clean as well as the showers and restrooms. The combination office/store building also housed a game room, internet area, showers, restrooms and laundry room. The surrounding perimeter of the building had lots of rocking chairs and shade to sit back and relax. There was a nice playground area with a basketball loop right in front of the guest house/recreation hall. I have to admit getting your RV into some of the sites could be a little tricky, ours in particular was a challenge. The front sites are larger and paved, the back sites were smaller and mostly gravel. The back sites are also primarily seasonal campers. They also have two cabins for rent. The bike trails provide great access to Holland State Park and the beach. Our site was right next to the communal fire pits, (individual fire pits at the front sites are not allowed due to a local ordinance) so we could enjoy a fire started by others without having to "mess" with making one! The campground is very family friendly and our two boys really enjoyed themselves. A week here was not enough and we will definitely be returning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$42
We spent a week at this campground and found it to be quite nice. They have a nice pool and hot tub. The bathrooms and showers are clean and we always had hot showers. They have a nice playground and basketball hoop. The roads are paved and the sites were paved. It is tight to get in and out of with a long trailer. They do charge $2.00 a day extra for running your air conditioner. We wanted to have a campfire but the front campsites share two fire pits which are right next to each other. While we were there one family decided that the fire pit was theirs and were there every night. The other fire pit was nearly 3 ft from the other so we would have been sitting on top of the other family. We enjoyed the great bike path which is accessible from the campground driveway. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$38
We just love this campground. I have already written one review for it, but want to add an update. They have replaced the old playset with a nice, new one. We finally we able to get a spot in the front of the park where the sites are much bigger and paved (for $2 more/night). We didn't know if we'd like it because we were right next to the driveway and near the road, but we had such a good time watching everyone come and go, and it was not noisy at all. Plus, our lots were the biggest ones in the park! The seasonal people are all so nice, too. We also love being able to walk/ride bikes up to see Big Red at Holland State Park. We'll be calling early to reserve our favorite weekends for next season! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$40
A very well kept up Campground, it was hard to get a larger trailer/fifthwheel into the sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$36
We love this family-owned campground and have stayed there probably three times a year over the last three years. Lots of shady spots, and the seasonal campers have beautifully landscaped lots. It is right on one of the many paved paths in Holland, and it is about 1/2 mile from the shore of Lake Michigan and Big Red lighthouse. Perfect for running and biking. Fourth of July fireworks are highly recommended! There is a small play structure, and activities for kids are limited. There is no large open play area, but there is a basketball court, bike rental, and a game room. The restrooms are very clean and well-maintained. There is a nice pool and hot tub. The front lots are big and paved, but the back lots are very cramped and not paved. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com