219095 User submitted reviews online!!
City of Houghton RV Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 41 user reviews. Phone: (906) 482-8745
CGID1404

City of Houghton RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
22
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   10   10   9   9   10   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
This is our second visit to one of the nicest campgrounds we've stayed in anywhere. Every site has a covered patio deck with a picnic table and bench, and excellent views of the Portage Canal. The campground is quiet, peaceful and we wish our schedule allowed us to stay longer. We would DEFINITELY stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
Bingo! What a great destination park on the Portage Canal. All sites have full hookups with 50 amp electric and cable TV. Most sites are directly on the waterfront and have their own private covered deck, while a half dozen or so are at a high elevation looking out over the lower sites providing great views of the canal. Roads and sites are asphalt. There is a lot to do here besides shopping the downtown area close by. Across the lift-bridge is the sister town of Hancock and access to the upper Keweenaw peninsula towns and villages of Copper Harbor, Eagle Harbor, Calumet, Copper City and others. In Houghton the NPS has headquarters for the area and the NPS Ranger III takes passengers to Isle Royale for visits. A favorite passtime at the park is watching the pleasure boats cruising up and down the canal, some pulling water skiers. Next to the park is the city park with swimming beach, children's playground, etc. We booked our reservation for 6 days but extended another 2 weeks. Be aware there are no restrooms in the RV park, hence no tenting. For this reason we gave the park a "9" rating. We definitely will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
This is a very nice city run RV park. Only 22 spaces so make your reservations early. Camp host spent time explaining area attractions as well as location of grocery, Walmart, etc. All sites are back in with covered deck to the rear with bench & picnic table. Sites 1-10 seem to have a bit more lawn area. Sites 11-15 are off the water but have an elevated view of the Portage Channel. 16-22 are on the water but with limited lawn area. We had no problems getting our 40 foot, 4 slide motorhome in site # 19. Stayed three nights and explored the area with all it's fascinating history. Could have easily have spent a week! We will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Not much to say except the only place to stay in the area. Facilities are excellent with full hookups at each site and WI-FI is excellent. Recommend reservations at this park as it seems to be full all the time. Lots to do in the area as well - have stayed here before and will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Nice park. All sites have decks overlooking the river. Easy access to the town and surrounding area. Would definitely come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
This is a fairly small park with 22 back-in sites on the shore of the Portage River. The river is quite wide here; probably about 1/3 mile across. The sites have a nice view of Hancock, MI across the river. Each site has a picnic table on a covered deck looking out at the river. Sites are fairly small and blacktopped. They are not as level as we'd like, but by positioning the coach carefully we were able to make it work. Utilities were some of the best we have seen. Wi-Fi was good. The entrance road is very narrow, but not a significant issue. The adjacent city park is nice, but small and no dogs allowed (in the city park), but one can walk along the river for a mile or so past the park. The RV park was full while we were there, and even to get three days we had to move once. Make reservations well in advance! The park staff was very nice and most helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
We stayed at the Houghton RV Park on a trip to the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. The location was excellent, right outside of downtown Houghton, and was very convenient to sights in the area. The RV sites were spacious with nice permanent shelters, and had great views of the river. There is a nice playground and city park just outside the RV park, our only complaint would be a lack of bathrooms and showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$28
Close to everything; we walked downtown. Great bike paths as well. Loved the view of the water. Great WI-FI, Cable TV, beach very close by. A great experience; we can't wait to go back! A very well run RV park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$38
Paved sites that you back into due to hookups at the very back of the sites so no view from inside you coach. Pretty level, had a covered picnic area at your site. The strange thing: if you are here for 1 night, you get on the lower level right on the water (better sites). If you are here more than 1 night, you get on the upper level overlooking the units below you, kind of strange. Overall it's a pretty good site with views across the water. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$28
Beautiful campground on the canal that runs between Houghton and Hancock. This is our 2nd visit and we will return. Good utilities although with a class A if you want to face the water the utilities have to be crossed under the unit so bring extensions. The Internet is weak at times. There is not a 7 night limit. We were here for a month last year and 2 weeks this year. But, reservations are important. Next year they will move the opening date (and day to start making reservations) from May 1 to May 15. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
Nice city campground next to a very nice large and busy city park. Paved road and back-in sites. Overlooks a river. Power was good, WiFi was good. Sprint cell phone worked good, data hotspot was slow but worked. Rooftop TV sat dish (not HD) at our site cleared trees & worked good but neighbors HD rooftop dish did not. A little tricky to find. Sites are narrow but have covered picnic table at rear. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
This is a beautiful park with exceptionally well-designed sites that take advantage of its location on Portage Lake. Each level concrete site has a covered deck area, picnic table, bench, fire ring and grill. All sites appear to have great views of the lake and many have landscaping that adds privacy between sites. The utilities were good though the park’s Wi-Fi was occasionally too weak to use. There are no laundry, restroom or shower facilities. We would be happy for an opportunity to stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
First rate RV park and reservations are a must. Can't say enough about how the park is run and maintained, along with super facilities. First park we have stayed at where the rules are enforced for the enjoyment of all campers. Area has many things to see and do along with shopping and food to satisfy anyone. Will stay longer next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
Very small campground (need reservations) with a million dollar view. Camp host very accommodating. We parked MH in the space backwards, to have view from front window: necessitating long cord, hose, and sewer. We would like to spend more time here, but they apparently have a 7 day limit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
Reservations highly recommended; the campground was full almost every night during our 7 night stay. Prior review is good, but you do drive in and out right past the dumpster! We were in a site (#12) overlooking the lower sites on the water. These sites are a bit more roomy then the sites below, which are fairly close together. Washing is allowed, $5 cars, $10 RVs. As mentioned, the Wi-Fi can be spotty here. Verizon cell and broadband were both excellent with a 4G connection. The Keweenaw Brewing Co. in town is a can't miss for a cold one. This is a best bet for seeing the Keweenaw Peninsula. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
This is the first time we have been able to get into this park. It is usually full during the summer. All sites have a covered picnic table and bench at the rear of each site overlooking Portage Canal/Lake. All sites are FHU, asphalt back-ins with 70+ channel able TV and at time Wi-Fi that worked for us. Our site needed some leveling. There are no restroom or showers in the RV park. There are also no garbage cans or dumpsters, recreational facilities, laundry, etc. The adjoining public park (with a small beach) has a dumpster and small restrooms. Downtown is a mile to the east and shopping and fast food is a mile to the west. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
This is really a nice small city campground with asphalt parking pads. We had an excellent view of the water channel and could watch the ships and pleasure craft right from out RV. One could also fish from the banks of the channel. The manager was friendly and willing to help with any issue one had with the campground. There are NO showers and the bath rooms that are near by are assessable but are basically for the city park people which is near by. The internet and cable accesses was excellent. I certainly would stay there again when in the area. We were there for two weeks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
This small municipal park located on the Houghton Canal is a gem. Over half of the sites are adjacent to the waterway, each with a private gazebo, fire pit and grill. The remaining pads are elevated, providing water views over the vehicles parked below. All sites offer a choice of 30 or 50-amp service. 50-amp users are charged an additional $3 per day. The cable TV has a good channel selection, but I found the Wi-Fi signal strength to be poor (my site was the farthest away from the campground office). Reaching the park is a bit tricky. As you descend the hill on Michigan Highway 26 take care to turn left West Lakeshore and not the Houghton Canal Road which is a short distance up the hill. Once on West Lakeshore the park entry is not clearly marked. Turn left over the small bridge and follow the road straight ahead marked “RV’s only beyond this point”. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
Rate is for 50 amp FHU back-in site, no discounts. Roads and sites paved, no restroom or shower facilities so self contained RV's only. Great view to the front of the river, so 5th wheels back in, and if you have long enough hoses and power cord you can pull in with a motorhome. Some of the water front sites are sloped quite a bit towards the water and require a good deal of leveling. Sites have grill and fire ring, An added plus is the small shelter over picnic table, which unfortunately partially blocks the river view from inside your RV. Great for sitting out in the afternoon or evening, just be prepared for the wind blowing down the river. A great park for staying in while exploring the area, and we would definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
This is a nice park, it is our third stay, the staff is very friendly and helpful. Again, the only downside is there are no bath/laundry facility in the park. For the money definitely a good deal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
I don't need to say a lot other than agreeing with other reviews. Great campground! We pulled in forward with our Class A to have a great view out the front window. I'm giving a 9 rather than the near impossible 10 only because there are no showers or restroom. We love to walk, and from the campground you can walk for miles down the waterfront! BTW: the best pastries are at Kangas in Hancock (the old hospital building). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
This is a great park. The only amenities are garbage and the great views besides 50amp FHU. The only reason we don't give it a ten is the water pressure is terrible. I asked what pressure the lines were at and she said 45psi but I doubt it very much. All sites have views but their ad states all sites are within 20 ft of the water which is not true. There are a few sites (the one we stayed in for instance) that are behind another row of sites but they are tiered so you still have a nice view. We would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
We had a generous back-in site with a great view of the waterway. Motorhomes should consider pulling in forward. All the services worked well and the staff was friendly and helpful. We found all the positive comments in previous reviews to be true. We wish we could have stayed longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
A rare "10" from us but everything about this park is great. The hosts are wonderful, the roads and pad are paved. The pad is wide and long enough for our 36' fifth wheel and truck to park on it. 50 amp electrical a nice touch in this area along with full hookups. There are bushes planted between sites adding to privacy. The best outdoor area with a fire pit, BBQ grill, picnic table in a shelter, and a park bench. Wi-Fi was also the best we have seen. All of this overlooks the Portage River in a great area just steps from the Houghton Waterfront Trail. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
Houghton City Park CG is a very popular campground located on a slight bluff overlooking Portage Lake. It is a FHU facility but doesn’t allow tents and you should be a self contained RV (no toilet/shower facilities). There is an adjacent beach and kids park/ slide should you travel with youngsters. The bathrooms adjacent to the park are filthy and should probably be avoided although they are NOT part of the campground. The park offers a great Wi-Fi (we were able to easily update our blog and photos) and there is shopping (grocery & Wal-Mart) within a mile of the CG plus picnic table and overhead cabana, bench, charcoal grill and fire pit. They also sell wood for your fire pit. The sites slope back towards the lake and therefore we needed boards to completely level our 40’ rig. They start taking reservations on 1 May and that is when you should call, especially for holiday weekends. Portage Lake GC, the Michigan Tech GC, is the only 18 hole course in the area (6295 yds from the pro tees) and they do offer a discount for Tech grads and for military. Otherwise, 18 will cost something around 38.00 but it’s a well cared for course. Copper Harbor is an easy drive from the campground and be sure and try some of the pasty restaurants while in this part of Michigan. One dumpster supports the park and for some it’s a 5 minute walk to reach it. No trash cans, no laundry, shower or restroom facilities in the park and some roadside noise from the highway located above the sites but we’d definitely stay here again if we were passing through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
Our full hook up site put the rear window of the trailer at the top of a thirty foot embankment facing Portage Lake and the historic mining structures of the Keeneenaw Copper District. Amazing value for the cost. Reservations are a necessity. We spent 4 nights here and will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
This is a fantastic campground with just 21 sites, each with a covered picnic table/patio, all with direct views of Portage Lake and the adjacent Keweenaw Peninsula. The great host couple provides all sorts of information about a trip up the peninsula as well as local places to see. While lacking other than modest bathrooms (part of the abutting city park), the campground was impeccable. We stayed in site 17 for two nights and would have stayed longer if we were not committed for the following days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
I hate to give this site the 5 stars it deserves as it will always be full! This is the nicest site we have ever stayed at. Besides full hook-ups you get your own fire ring, cabana with a picnic table as well as a park bench to watch the boats go by. You have to book well in advance and send them a check. No B.S. fees from third party on-line booking sites or park entry fees here. The camp hosts are friendly. Security is excellent as it's patrolled by the Houghton PD. There are restrooms just along the road but you must be self-contained to stay here. There is easy access to all amenity's as the site is located close to downtown though you would never know it once camped. If only other sites were as well run as this one. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
Our second stay, the word must be getting out on this nice park. You need reservations, it is booked until they close in Oct. Everything as described in previous posts, the only downside is no bath/shower/laundry. There is a bathroom in the city park down the road that you can use, but it is a little walk. WI-FI worked pretty good on this trip. Site was level. Staff are friendly and helpful on questions. Will stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
Ditto to the previous reviews. Can't think of another Park this nice. Be sure to call well in advance for reservations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
This is a very nice park, however, the lots are not level. They all slant toward the rear of the lot which makes it hard to level the coach. Also the sewer connection is at the rear of the lot. I had to use a 5ft extension on a 20ft sewer hose to reach the pipe. Other than those 2 items it is a great park. WiFi was the fastest I've seen in a campground so far. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
This little park is a real gem. You get 50 amp service, water, sewer, cable TV, Wi-Fi, paved sites and road. All but 4 of the sites back up to the river. There is a covered picnic table and a fire ring at each site. There are no restrooms so only self-contained units are allowed into the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
Although relatively small and compact, this is a unique campground: extremely well designed to allow a maximum number of RV's in a small area. Each site is paved and has it's own roofed shelter/deck with picnic table, grill and view of the river channel that bisects the Keweenaw Peninsula. Adjacent to the campground is a very interesting and unusual child's playground and a public boat ramp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
Everything here was nice. I don't understand these waterfront campgrounds that are all back-ins. I would think the purpose of being on the water is so you can enjoy the view. The host was pleasant, but not really that helpful: every time I ask for directions, she knew nothing. It's a clean park. Would stay here again and do recommend it to others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
Positives were sites on the water - there was a covered deck that hangs out over river at the sites along the water, all sites have a covered deck with table & bench, paved roads & pads are level, Wi-Fi available, close to town, nice city park right next door (can use restrooms there - no showers, locked at night) with beach & large play structure. Negatives are sites are a bit tight to each other, no shade, and manager was a bit cranky - forgets who the customer is. We would stay here again due to convenience to town and MTU. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
Lovely park on the lake in Houghton-beautiful view of the boats. All sites are concrete pads and have a bench, table, barbecue, and shaded area. Very little grass, but park is right next door! Camp hosts pleasant and helpful. Easy access to tourist attractions, shopping and downtown (although streets are torn up for repair right now). Would camp here again-but make your reservations early--they fill up fast! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
What a sweet little Park. I'm not going to restate what earlier campers have stated. It's all true. Let me update a couple items. Reservations are accepted. When May 1 rolls around (and after) they will take reservations for any part of their season, May 1 thru Oct 7. Second, there is no bathhouse, so you can't rate it. Also, they do allow pets. Access to the park is easy once you get through Houghton and past the bridge interchange. You've got to get across traffic to the center or right lane as the traffic bears down on you coming from across the lift bridge. Once through and up the little turn the Park turnoff is 1/4 mile up on the right. If I knew how to add a couple pictures to my review I would. Suffice it to say, this is a very nice park in a very nice region of our country. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
We stayed here for 5 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the park, we had site 18 right on the Portage River. Beautiful view. Full hook ups to include cable. They now take reservations. Park is small so it is always filled. Not much space between sites but your covered picnic table and bench on the river is where you usually spend your time. The fire pits are very close to the trailer, in fact the one next to us was probably only 6 feet from our back corner of the trailer, we would have had to close all our windows if our neighbors decided to have a fire (fortunately they did not). They have a WIFI router at the host station at the park entry, you can sit at their desk or outside on a table to send email. Friendly and helpful staff, and will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$24
For $24, we got full hookups, cable, covered picnic table, grill, paved level lot and within 100 feet of Portage Lake,. The sites are adequately spaced for a city park. Our site accommodated 40' rig & toad. We were also able to get satellite service and a couple of TV stations w/antenna. No reservations are accepted. Monthly rates are $660, $22 per day. Park closes for the season on October 7. The only disadvantage is that there are no pull-thru sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$22
We enjoyed our stay here. It was small and they do not take reservations. But if you call ahead the day you are coming they can let you know if they will have a spot for you. It was the only campground right in Houghton and closest to Michigan Tech University and downtown. Very quiet, our motorhome backed right up to the water with a little deck for each person, and picnic table and grill. Very friendly and helpful owners. We will stay here again, central location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$19
This park is located at the end of the Portage Lake city park & beach. All sites are paved, each with a covered patio with picnic table, bench & fire ring. The office has a complimentary phone line for checking Email, as well as a town library with internet access within easy walking distance. There is a free boat launch & dock (Portage Lake opens into Lake Superior and the fishing is reportedly very good). There are excellent campground hosts. They helped us with deliveries of replacement parts, as well as supplying an excellent welcome packet. The park is well situated to explore the copper mines of the Keeweenaw, as well as Lake Superior.The park is open May-Oct. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com