218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Greenwood Acres Family Campground was rated 5 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (517) 522-8600
CGID1407

Greenwood Acres Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
1160
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$44



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   7   7   4   7   8   8   1   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$44
Overall, I would describe this campground as a community of 700 permanent residents with a few, largely ignored, visitors. The campground is dumpy, as you would expect, with a lot of residential stuff smashed in to RV sized lots. The staff is unfriendly, unwelcoming, and rude. All in all, depressing. I gave it a 6 versus 5, because our lot was big and roomy, and there is a free, par 3, 9 hole, golf course that can be used. We will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$22
Rate is Passport America discount. The people and staff were very friendly. Hookups were good. All restrooms except the one by woodview and canal were very nice. The woodview one should be torn down and redone. Staff indicated that there was a lot of regulations to update and they were working on it. We had a waterfront site which was very nice but was not a full hookup. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$38
Huge campground that appears to cater mainly to seasonals. Paved interior roads that could use some work, grass sites are not very level. Power good, water pressure good but quality is poor, very metallic tasting. Wi-Fi good. If you have made a reservation, you will be checked in at the front gate house. You won't even have to get out of your rig. Security at entrance and roving patrols day and night. 4 washers, 4 dryers for 1160 sites, nowhere near enough. Might stay here again, might not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$41
Easy access from freeway, but far enough away to not hear the traffic. Friendly staff, pet friendly, clean with lots to do for the whole family We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
This park has so much potential but it was very difficult to get past the maintenance and structural issues we encountered. For starters, the "washroom" facility at the end of our street (17th) was awful, and I will even go so far as to say "disgusting". This building looks like it used to be a horse stable or some sort of animal barn that has been converted to washrooms/ showers. The toilets have been recessed into concrete slabs and the showers are rusting and unacceptable for use, in my opinion. The Main bathroom at the end of 2nd Street was much more modern but was in a state of filth and disrepair for the entire weekend we were there. Of the few washroom stalls, the one door was broken the entire time and many toilets were plugged. The toilet seats were discolored and need replacing. One shower had no water, which I discovered after I had removed all of my clothes and was ready to use it. The paved roads are a great feature but they were VERY bumpy and buckling in many areas. The pool was beautiful but the deck area was very uneven in several spots and the cement looks like it has been repaired several times. On a more positive note, the staff was extremely friendly upon entering the park, leaving, and while working at the pool. The park is very large and scenic in some areas. It also offers some unique features- cafe, mini golf (but bring your own clubs/ balls, beach, and horse shoe pit. All in all, our experience left us less than thrilled. This park is a diamond in the rough and could be helped considerably by some extra cleaning and maintenance. It is showing its age and requires more regular cleaning due to its 1100 sites and visitors. As weekend guests, we also felt that the number of golf carts used by the seasonal campers was overwhelming and distracting. For these reasons, I wouldn't recommend it the way it is now. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$26
Huge campground, lots of seasonal campers. Hard to check in, as the office area cannot accommodate a motorhome with a car. Same for getting propane, there is no room to pull up to the tank. Grassy and uneven sites. Quiet, country setting near Goose Lake. I would stay here again. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$17
We used our CampUSA and saved 50%, full hook-up, pull through site. This is a large campground, lots of seasonal campers but plenty of room for short stay folks. We will be staying here on our return to Alabama from Mackinaw City. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
This is a BIG place. Stopped for an overnight stay. Good pull thru with enough space to maneuver easily. Plenty of open spots this time of year. Did not use any of the facilities. They seem to have a lot of family activities during the summer months. Staff was friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$37
Very little shade available for big rigs. We had an "episode" when we went for a day cruise with our RV. We left the water hose hooked up when we left. When we returned about 4 hours later, the hose was missing. We located it under and along a permanent residents trailer across the road. This kind of problem will make sure that we never stay here again, and is the reason for our downgrade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$37
If you like huge campgrounds then this is the one for you. We were lucky enough to be given a site in one of the many lanes that was totally unoccupied but since the water was on the other side of the RV (shared every 2 sites) we had to change the site as both our water hoses wouldn't reach the spigot. Forget about the Wi-Fi as the service was so poor that I couldn't get a signal most of the time and I was fairly close to the antenna. The office staff was friendly and helped me find a RV repair place for a lost equipment piece. They have a free par 3 golf course but we opted to find a reg golf course as there are many in the area. We had a small problem finding the campground as we missed the turn into the place - the sign was small and partially hidden. The digital receiver picked up nearly 30 stations so TV watching was OK. We would not stay here again - we felt that the place was a dump. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
Park is mostly seasonal campers park could be nice with some work. We where there and the park was packed. The bathrooms were not clean at all toilets were plugged up shower curtains were torn down in women bathroom. You need a long hookup for your dump tanks on a full hook up site like 25 feet or more. All the seasonals had PVC pipes running to the drains. Had a nice new play ground for the kids beach was OK. Maybe the bathroom thing was because of the holiday weekend and how full the park was. You have to look out for the golf carts everybody has one. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
Greenwood Acres is taking on a new appearance. They are constantly working on upgrading. The staff is nice and the store is well stocked. This is a family park, so the speed limit is 10 MPH. Many stop signs to help keep traffic slow. No one under age of 25 can drive in the park. They advertise a DRUG FREE Zone, so if you are aware of any please report it to the office. They do patrol the park with a golf cart all hours. Be sure to bring your own drinking water, this water has many minerals in it. It is a large park so you will want your bikes (or a golf cart)to get around. The sites are close together, some are larger than others, some have trees and some don't, but most have nice grass. They have recently updated the Recreation center, put up a new playground for kids, paved some of the roads, and worked on one of the tennis courts. They do have many seasonal campers with golf carts, who are usually friendly. There are many things to do especially on the weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2008
$36
As many of the older reviews have stated, the campground is very outdated and unmaintained. The one shower/restroom house we used was pretty rough. of the 8 stalls, 6 are boarded closed, 2 are "operational" as they are sitting on painted wood boxes. There were 2 working showers. The facility was flooded due to the storms the night before. There are many many permanent units that are absolutely hideous. There are very few trees and the sites are pretty tight together. Picture a traditional trailer park and then lower the bar about 5 feet. The grounds are huge as this is a campground with around 1100 sites. We came here on the recommendation of some friends and I can honestly say that we'll stick to the State Parks. It's cheaper, the facilities are far nicer, and the people are much more friendly. golf carts are all over the place and bike are required to have lights after sunset. Look elsewhere, you'll be much happier you did. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$40
This is a fairly nice park with a lot of seasonal campers. They allow are golf carts, there are many things to do, but some of the amenities appear very old and not well maintained. The staff is nice and the store is well stocked. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$34
There are a lot of seasonal campers here and some of them are very poorly maintained and unsightly. There are a lot of golf carts being driven around, which I don't care for. This is a very big park, so you do want to have your bikes to get around. On the positive side, there are many things to do, but some of the activities appear very old and not well maintained. Our site was very wide (40 or 50 feet), level, and had nice grasss. The store is well stocked. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2006
$31
This place treats the non-seasonal campers horrible. I have two teenagers, a boy and a girl. They were up playing basketball when some other teens came up, took their ball and called them "WEEKENDERS". When my son took the ball back the kid punched him! Needless to say the park did nothing. We also were called weekenders by these same teens who double as night patrol. They actually yelled at us when my kids went to the bathroom and said "they are sick and and tired of telling us they can't be off the site after 11pm and they told us last weekend" . The only problem with that is WE WEREN'T THERE THE WEEKEND BEFORE! The main office and groundspeople are rude. Everyone treats your horribly if you are not a seasonal person. I would not recommend taking children there or use of any of the amenities. These teens try to rule the park. It is not a good park. Save your time, money and headaches. Go to go to a state park, you will have a better time. The bathrooms and showers were horrible. They have seasonals who watch over the pool. I think they been in the sun too long. They are so mean. I am in my 40's and they treated me like a child. They are very nasty and yell the whole time. The tram and double dicker bus are nice but my kids could not go on it alone for fear of these park bullies. The people camping behind us had the same problem with their 9 year old twins girls. These girls were terrorized at the beach by these bullies. NOT RECOMMENDED AT ALL We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2004
$33
I stayed here for the fall Michigan race (NASCAR). I think half of the sites have full hook ups now. That's 500 sites of mostly men using 2 shower houses. It was hard to keep the restrooms clean. I would go back for a race weekend. The atmosphere was wonderful. It's about 35 minutes to the track on race day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$31
This campground is still in the revamping stages. The recent addition of a full hookup system left the camping areas very muddy with the Spring rains. While we were away from our site, the area was Hydro-seeded and the crews sprayed the seed on everything out in the open: electrical cord, sewer hose, waterhose, carpet, picnic table, chairs and worst of all, the whole lower half of the motorhome. I was told by gate personnel there was nothing they could do about it. It is truly a mess. Another detracter was when my sons came to visit for an hour, they were charged 3 dollars each to enter the campground and then not allowed to ride their motorcycles to our camp site. If I had not had a car they would have had to walk almost a mile to and from the gate to my site. Several low hanging branches were cause for concern for the roof of my motorhome. If I had come in at night I'm sure damage would have occured. This campground appears to be catering to the more permanent park models with just a few true RV sites mixed in. I will have second thoughts before using this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$31
Could be a really nice place with some work. Many seasonal campers, lots of kids around, everyone friendly. Ok for a night or two, as I prefer to use my own facilities anyway. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$31
This is a very large campground on Goose Lake. Sites need some work, bathrooms also, but the place is slowly being upgraded. There is a tram to get you around, also a doubledecker bus. A lot of seasonal campers w/golf carts, but we were able to get a full hookup site. This could be a super campground given some work, but still enjoyed it. The staff and fellow campers were very, very helpful, friendly and willing to make your stay enjoyable. Definitely need a bike or car if you don't use the tram to get around. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2002
$30
Has the makings of a nice park, but short on needed items like bath houses. What is there is tremendously overused, and a long walk from most sites. Full hookup sites advertised but most all occupied by seasonal campers. All in all has potential, but not my idea of a "A" campground. more like a "C" in my book. Especially didn't like having to wait in line at the dump station since there was only 1 available for a CG this big. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com