218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Poncho's Pond RV Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 48 user reviews. Phone: (231) 845-6655
CGID1414

Poncho's Pond RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
269
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   10   10   8   10   10   7   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$50
What a fantastic park! We arrived and were guided back to our site, directed in by the most helpful lady. The site was flat and level, with a nice concrete patio. Other sites had full slabs with the patio. The park was completely paved and very clean, with a fenced dog run and nice landscaping. The train was fairly quiet (no horn), and the outdoor pool was roomy and family/adult friendly. There were activities scheduled, you can walk to McDonald's, or drive a few minutes to the city, which has some really nice shops and parks. A "must see" is the "House of Flavors" for some delicious ice cream and sundaes! The whole park is full hookups with cable, and the Wi-Fi signal was always strong! The staff was friendly and we will definitely be visiting this park again in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$53
This is a class "A" park. It should be listed under resorts. The staff is the greatest. I never asked a question they could not answer. The park is very clean and well maintained. The daily rate is $50.00 but if possible, pay the extra $3.00 and get a super site. We will always stay here when we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$45
This place is SPIC N SPAN clean. Great concrete pads on most sites. Located in with a clump of large trees on the west side and half way back from the office. The site were NOT in a row or side by side. All of the sites in this area were almost placed so that you were not looking at another RV. It was great. They have the best lawns in the city. Helpful staff. This is the cleanest RV part we have ever stayed in. Three pools, 1 is indoors. Play grounds, for the kids. Can't say enough for the Poncho's Pond. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$36
This is a beautiful RV park, with a picturesque pond in the middle. Roads are big rig friendly, sites are level (ours was concrete) and sites are spacious. Good WiFi and cable. Verizon 4G data worked well, T-Mobile did not. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
This was a beautiful RV park. Very clean and very well maintained. Large, level pull through sites. Very friendly, helpful staff. Good tasting water! Trains run very close behind park but did not bother us at all. Would definitely stay here again if ever in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$52
Excellent RV park. Exceptionally well manicured. Maybe a bit pricy for an overnight stay, but we have paid more for much worse. The review of July, 2013 pretty much says it all. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$52
The rate reflects the daily rate for a pull-thru super site. This is by far one of the nicest RV campgrounds we have stayed at over recent years. We have stayed at this park four times in the last three years, but this is our first submitted review of this park. The park is extremely well maintained with grass and landscaping always trimmed and neat. All facilities are immaculately clean. The park includes three pools, one indoors, one adult pool and one for the entire family. The previous reviewer complained about the lack of trees. However, there are many sites within this campground that have very large mature trees, while the newer, still growing end of the park have young plantings. Also, while there are several seasonal campers in the park, every site is clean and nice in appearance. About the only way to tell a seasonal from others is that the seasonal sites have a meter on their electrical pedestals. The park provides cable TV with an extensive channel selection, including many in HD. Wi-Fi is now included in the rate. However we found it to vary over the course of the day from excellent, to almost unusable. Many sites would provide good satellite access, and Verizon LTE high speed data and AT&T service is good. This is an excellent choice for either an overnight or extended stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$45
The bad: Too much concrete and too few trees. There were very few sites that had any shade. I deducted 2 pts for lack of trees and 1 for concrete pads/patios. I want to be in nature when I camp and not in a parking lot. Parts of the park felt like a mobile home park with views of the seasonals, the concrete plant, and trains running by. The screech from the trains was like nails on a chalkboard. The good: The park otherwise is extremely nice and very well maintained. The sites were big. Everything was exceptionally clean. We tended to shower in the park bathrooms as opposed to our RV since they were so clean and big. There are tons of things for kids to do. Everyone was very nice and helpful. The trains made no noise at night. Overall we will go back since we had a great time. I'll probably bring a few trees with me to plant though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$50
We love camping at Poncho's Pond. It is very family friendly and pet friendly. The bathrooms and showers are extremely clean. I am a germaphobe and appreciate the Sani Cleaners in the bathrooms and notice how everything is well maintained. The grounds are beautiful and well manicured. Even though a busy highway is nearby, we find it quiet and peaceful. As a dog owner, it is so nice to have an area for the dogs to do their business. The park store is well equipped and prices are reasonable, especially candy for the kids. We have a three year old and I find it very safe and traffic is minimal. There is an awesome playground for the kids to enjoy. The staff is extremely friendly and always helpful. We enjoy the use of the variety of pools and the excellent gym facilities. The park is large enough for a good walk/run and bike riding, too. I appreciate the free WiFi service and was provided with a router for back up. The park is close to shopping and just a few miles from Ludington State Park. You truly get the best of both worlds and their motto, "Camping at its best" is absolutely true. You will notice everyone is always smiling at Poncho's Pond: they are all happy campers for a reason. Poncho's Pond is our favorite RV Park and we recommend it to anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
Great park and great staff. Very well manicured park with nice green grass between spaces, plenty of room between camp sites, and close to food and stores in town. Good access for big rigs. We wish we could stay longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$51
We liked this park except for two things. 1. Our assigned site was not particularly satellite friendly, despite requesting such at reservation. However, because our site was very long, we were able to maneuver our rig and get the dish connected. 2. Check-in time of 2 p.m. is way too late for our travel style. Would prefer noon check in. Otherwise, this was a very nice park, quiet & peaceful, friendly staff, and all the amenities we expect. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
Fantastic! Kids had a great time fishing, park was very clean, pool was nice, facilities couldn't be nicer. If I had to say anything bad would be all the golf carts running around. Park isn't that big that golf carts are necessary, but to each their own. Our site was also right next to the dog run so some extra traffic and noise but tolerable. While there we made reservations for next year during the same time frame. Can't wait to get back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$51
Excellent park! Friendly staff. Clean, spacious, and near lots of stores. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
We rated this a 10 but it should be rated a 12. It is outstanding, beautiful, clean, friendly, and close to shopping and eateries. There is plenty of playground equipment, a fishing lake, and paddle boats, It is quiet with lots of pull-through sites. It's all around excellent. I really appreciated the other ratings since it helped me to find this wonderful campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$50
This is our favorite campground. It is clean, family owned. They provide lots of activities, are dog friendly. We love that children under 18 are not allowed in the hot tubs or adult pool. There are two pools for families, one is indoors. It is a very very clean park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$48
Poncho’s is a very clean family owned park. The sites are well laid out. The park had several activities for all ages. I highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
Poncho's is one of the finest RV resorts that we have found in our travels throughout the US. We have a 45 ft MH with Toad and had no problem in and out of a beautiful, level, concrete pad surrounded with trees and grass. The owners and the rest of the staff welcomed us and made sure that everything was to our liking. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$46
A very clean, well cared for RV park. We stayed here one night before taking the Badger car ferry over to Wisconsin. The park accommodated my request for a pull through site that was long enough to leave my truck hooked up to my camper. Sites are either well graveled or paved (depending on price paid). I stayed on a gravel site and even thought it poured rain the evening we stayed the site drained well and remained dry. Access roads are large and sites are easy to enter and exit. Hookups are modern and logically laid out relative to the sites. I would definitely stay at this campground again when returning to the Ludington area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$50
Beautiful park - very family friendly. Nice landscaping, lakes and views in every direction. Short drive to the Luddington beachfront. Despite the high price, visitors are supposed to pay $5 to come into the park to see you. What's that about? Some turns in the park are a bit tight for our longbed and 39' 5th wheel, but all were manageable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
We have come to Poncho's for many years. Even though the park is getting very large, the family that owns the park is always willing to make you comfortable. The new sites (300's) are mostly back in, and you can be very close to neighbors. We have been to this park twice this year. In the fall and spring the indoor pool and spa are nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$50
The largest park we've stayed in, in terms of the number of sites. Sites on the eastern portion of the park are nice and wide, those on the western side, especially the gravel sites, are tighter and feel more congested. The park is very busy in the summer months. We saw new arrivals pulling in within an hour of a site being vacated. Very good water and electric, loved the very level concrete super sites. Agree with a previous poster that at this price, WiFi should be included. Good Verizon signal if you use an air card or tether, which we did. We were very pleased that we were allowed to wash the RV (it's even mentioned in the rules that you can). The park is very well maintained and staff are constantly on the move collecting trash bags, mowing, weeding, etc. We were disappointed that there was only one off-leash/fenced dog walk area for the entire park. It's located at the southern edge of the park in the western section so it's not convenient for most of the park. There aren't many open grass areas beyond your site to walk your dog as an alternative. We didn't hear too much road noise at night, but the train immediately to the south was hard to miss at times. Overall a very nice park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$50
I would have given this campground a 9 or 10 had it not been for them making you pay for Wi-Fi. At $50 a night Wi-Fi should be provided. As a matter of principal I would not stay here again. Michigan is loaded with camping resorts cheaper than this one and the Wi-Fi is free. We have been to a few campgrounds that use the same provider and they give you a coupon to log in with. I guess I wouldn't be so irritated if the Wi-Fi was fast, but it isn't. Plus they charge $4.95 per day, we stayed at a campground in Ohio last week that used the same provider and it was $2.50 per day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$50
Easy access from main road to Ludington. Interior roads and most sites are paved. Nice green space between you and your neighbor, much more than most private RV parks. Very friendly office staff. Escort provided to your site. Some trees on some sites, but other sites are pretty wide open. Verizon Wireless had adequate digital signal. WiFi is not free. Service equipment is owned be outside company. For the daily rate charged: my feeling is WiFi should have been included. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$47
As stated previously, this campground is well run and very clean. Showers, and bathrooms are always clean. The individual shower stalls in the new section, that is also connected to the overly busy inside pool and spa, are push button showers that are difficult to use and only last about 3 seconds. Chose to use the shower facilities in the older section after that, though dated they were very clean and were full bathroom/shower combos that were also individual usage. Outdoor pool showers and baths were also clean, but more typical park style. We had a pull through, which were some of the biggest I have ever seen, with beautiful lush grass surrounding the site and lots of width. Only thing we did not like was the sound of the busy highway 24/7, and the very noisy train switching station only 40 feet behind us, though they did not operate (thankfully) at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
This was our first stay here and we were very impressed with this park. The whole facility is immaculate, well maintained and very appealing. Our site was next to the indoor pool & spa, showers and laundromat. The pool & spa were nice and the showers were spotless. We use Verizon's Mi-Fi, so Wi-Fi isn't a consideration for us. The 50A electric at our site was stable and campers are allowed to wash their vehicles here! They have a great fitness center with a vast array of equipment. It cost $1/day to use and is well worth it. You can't go wrong with this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
This was a wonderful park close to downtown Ludington. We rode our bikes to town and found some fun shops, including a vintage book store! Our site was right across from the fenced in dog run area and next to their older bath house which was immaculate. We chose a concrete pad, but all sites have a concrete patio area. The grounds are well maintained, the park is family owned and operated and it is "clean, clean, clean." There are two outdoor pools and one is reserved for adults. It was without a doubt one of the cleanest pools I've seen. We didn't use the indoor pool, but it also looked well kept. Although I don't usually use the laundry facilities at campgrounds, I would have felt comfortable using this one. The camp store is small, but there is a Walgreens right across the road and a Wal-Mart a few miles away. WiFi worked great, but the only negative was the $4.95 per day fee to use it. With so many campgrounds now offering free WiFi, I dislike to be charged for it. There is also a nice pond, but only children under 17 years old are allowed to fish in it. My husband would have liked to throw in a line and was a little disappointed with that policy. All in all, a great place to stay! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
We have camped at this resort for the last 20 years and have always found the park to be meticulously well maintained. It is family friendly, pet-friendly, and close to Lake Michigan. Rest rooms and showers are always clean, all the staff are friendly and helpful, and Wal-Mart, Meijers, Lowe's and Home Depot are close buy as are a variety of restaurants. The park is quiet but there is an industrious railroad switching track behind the park that can be sporadically noisy. Poncho's Pond is within about six miles of Ludington State Park and Campground where there are several beaches, and great fishing on both Lake Michigan and Hamlin Lake. The City of Ludington is within biking distance, offering a nice choice of small-town shops and restaurants. Memorial Medical Center, an excellent full service hospital with a 24 hour ER is within waling distance of the RV park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$48
This campground is spotless. The grounds are very well kept. The staff is very professional and helpful. The only draw-back is there are few trees and no privacy: you are just stuck on top of one another. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$43
This is a very clean, well cared for CG. There are two outdoor pools along with a hot tub and one indoor pool with a hot tub. One outdoor pool is for adults only along with both hot tubs. The location is very convenient to the local attractions. The camp store is small. Wireless internet is available but you have to pay a provider $4.95 a day for access. Good amount of cable channels available. Nice basketball hoops. Decent exercise room that cost a dollar a day I believe. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$48
This is a really nice park. Very clean. One great plus is that they let you wash your rig on site. After being on the road for awhile, this is a big advantage. Also, they have 2 pools - one for kids and one for adults. Much quieter that way. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$45
Very clean, very friendly. This is a big but quiet park that is worth every penny. The layout is perfect. They put the extra into making your stay perfect. We have stayed here twice and have made 2 reservations for this season. Close to downtown Ludington. Shopping is also near the park. They have monthly activities & special events which they have posted on their web site so you know what is going on in the park; easy to plan ahead that way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$48
I can't think of a negative thing to write about this park. For those with kids, it is the greatest. For those looking for the great outdoor adventure, this place isn't for you. It's right in the middle of town. So much to do there and in the surrounding area. Everything was spotless, the staff was kind and helpful, and the sites were great, being concrete with a nice patio. Making reservations for it again right now. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$38
This is a very nice park. It has three pools and two hot tubs. The adult pool and hot tub is enclosed. The bathrooms and showers in the new camping section are excellent. The entire park is very well maintained. The biggest drawback to this park is it has a little noise due to roads, trains and airplanes nearby. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$50
This is one of the nicest campgrounds we've ever stayed at. The sites are large and level. Most have concrete patios and some have concrete pads as well. The restrooms and showers were spotless. They have 3 pools, 1 outdoor family, 1 outdoor adult, and 1 indoor family. There is a large pond with paddle boats and fishing. The only negative are the trains that pass along the back of the campground. Fortunately, they seem to only come and go in the late afternoon and early evening. Also, be aware that they have started to install a sprinkler system in some parts of the campground. It might get some of your outdoor items wet when it goes off at 5:30 am. All in all, a great campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
One of the nicest campgrounds we have been to in the 14 years we have camped. Already have reservations for next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$36
Quality operation. Nice park. Pool and Bathrooms were spotless. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$36
Very clean campground. The Grass on our site was as nice as mine at home. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$40
Although I am fairly new to this site, I have been RVing for years and stayed in 100 parks all over the country. This is the first park I have been tempted to give a 10. This was our third visit and wanted to stay a week but they were already booked full for all summer weekends by March. Settled for 5 days (Sun-Thur). The only major negative is pay Wi-Fi. Others might not like the openness of the the standard sites and the park's location in a commercial area. This is a big, busy family RV resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$42
Our family loves Ponchos Pond. They run a really clean and affordable RV park. The staff is extremely friendly and very helpful. The park offers many activities for young children not to mention a stocked fishing pond. There are many large pull-thru sites with concrete fire rings and daily trash pickup. The cable television has closed circuit television of the pools (one indoor, two outdoor), the game room and the laundry room. Great park. Already made reservations for next 4th of July. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$40
Ponchos Pond is awesome, it is the place to be. The staff are wonderful and will go out of their way to help you. The family activities they do are so much fun. We will keep going back here without a doubt! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$42
This is a beautiful park, very, very well kept. The grass is always green and the landscaping is stunning. They have a good size pond that is stocked for kids fishing. The lots are all of good size, most of the trees are not very mature yet. The pools are all very well kept and the park quiets right down during quiet hours. We stayed at lot 57 and have visited previously and will probably visit each year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$40
Great family oriented campground. The staff is very friendly and helpful! Lots to do in the Ludington area and in the campground itself. The kids had a great time fishing in stocked pond and playing on the playground. Indoor pool is a great new addition to this already wonderful campground. We'll definitely be back!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$40
Very clean and organized operation. Nice sites, many full concrete pads. Short drive to Lake Michigan and great beaches. Lots of activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$35
This is a tough one. This wasn't what most people (I would assume) consider "camping". This RV destination in sandwiched between a busy state road and an equally busy train track. Both may be heard throughout the night. There are many convenient paved and level pads on which to park. However, there are so few trees, that there isn't much reprieve from the heat - approx. 85 - 90 degrees F the days we stayed there. The lawns that they do have are meticulously taken care of, and there are several beautifully landscaped flower beds and gardens, they just aren't where the campers are staying. It is similar to camping in a busy strip mall parking lot. One of our children even exclaimed on the first morning that he could see the (insert name of giant fast food chain with golden "M") sign from our site. Not exactly what I call getting away from it all. On the other hand, the facilities that were there, were immaculately kept. The grounds, showers, laundry, etc, were very well maintained thanks to a very industrious owner who was always hard at work. In the same vein, the staff were very proficient and extremely friendly. The "lake" that this place offers is actually small pond decent enough for little ones who like to fish. I feel bad giving this place a 7 score, because I'm sure for some people, it's wonderful and the staff works so hard to make it a clean environment. I guess we were just looking for something a little more wooded. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$39
This is the nicest family campground I have ever been in. Staff is very helpfull and friendly and will lead you to your site. All sites are good, some concrete paved, some ground asphalt, all are level and very spacious and easy to get into reguardless of the size of your rig. There are two pools - one for families and one for adults only with a hot tub. There is a beautiful catch & release pond in the middle of the park with paddle boat rentals. TONS of activities for kids, both planned and unplanned. Each site has a sunken concrete fire pit (no steel truck rims here). The owner is very hands on - you will see him all over the park taking care of business and seeing that everything is running smoothly. The grounds are beautiful with neatly mowed grass and lots of small trees and planting areas. There are many seasonals here and ALL are very nice and neatly kept. I can't say enough good about this place. Don't come here without reservations. They are already full for the July 4, 2006 week. We are on the waiting list. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$40
I have seen the best...and it is called Poncho's Pond! We have stayed here several times and every visit is a true pleasure. The whole facility is excellent! Poncho, Nan and their staff make you feel welcome every time-they are a class act. They also plan some great activities for the family-you can see they take great pride in this and everything they do. I can't rave enough about this place-they are one of the few true premier RV resorts in Michigan! There are quite a few campground owners who could take some pointers from Poncho and Nan. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2004
$27
This is a very nice campground. It is "Big Rig Friendly" It has some buddy sites and most are good sized. It has outdoor and indoor pools, plus an adult spa. The only draw back to this park is location. It is very noisy due to railroad tracks and airport just a few yards away. The staff is very friendly and the park is always clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$32
Poncho's Pond is about 5 minutes away from a beautiful sandy beach on Lake Michigan. They have two pools, one for adults only and one for families along with a spa. It is an immaculate park and has very friendly hosts. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com