218863 User submitted reviews online!!
Gitche Gumee RV Park was rated 4 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (906) 249-9102
CGID1420

Gitche Gumee RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
65
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   2   6   1   5   7   1   3   4   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$38
Friendly owner! Will do anything to make you comfortable. My husband drank coffee with him every morning. A very unique campground! He built all the buildings. A pavilion for the kids to watch movies, his wife has a fudge shop, a rec room for 18+ includes a library and pool table. Right across the street from Lake Superior! Best campground, we go year after year and will continue to! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2012
$40
I am certain that this was once a great place, but unfortunately the changing times and apparent neglect have taken a toll. The camping sites are large and nicely wooded. One or two sites have a view of lake Superior, but all seem very nice. We were here after the owner had shutdown all but a few sites for winter (which I knew) as well as the bath and shower facilities (something he failed to mention). I would not have wanted to use them anyway as they are dark, dirty, and moldy. The water, what I could find of it, was rusty and malodorous. I would assume that it is potable, but I chose not to ingest it or use it in my RV. The lodge (game) room is musty and dark with amenities old and out of service. The playground consists only of a few rusty swings. The advertised fudge factory has clearly been out of service a long time as a tree has grown over the walkway and entrance. I was told there was wireless Internet access but it did not work at the site I chose (lake view) and I don't use cable TV so I don't know (or care) if it worked. The price was very high considering both the local/regional competition and dearth of amenities. I cannot recommend this campground to others. There are other choices in the area, which I can and have recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
We spent from 7-12 to 7-17 at Gitchie Gumee. Sites are nice size with plenty of trees. Campground website states free wood, nightly movies and fudge available for sale. Wood actually cost $1 per piece, never saw a movie being shown and "fudge shop" was never open. If you like a quiet campground, this the place for you. Little for kids to do to entertain themselves, no pool. Lake Superior just across highway M-28, nice beach area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2011
$39
This campground was deplorable. We were told that the water would not be on, but showers and bathrooms were available. When we got there, the bathrooms were horrid. Toilets looked like they had not been flushed in weeks. We tried to find the showers and the owner said that it was to cold to take a shower in the usual bath house so he told us to go to a guest lodge. The lodge was rented to a bunch of college kids who when we walked in on them were surprised to see us. They told us where the bathroom was and we walked in and quickly walked out. Filth everywhere. Mold on the shower and dirty filthy toilets. What you would expect from a bunch of college guys. There was clutter and old food sitting out on all the counters and the place was a mess. We went to our camper and locked the door. In the morning a young guy came up to us and told us that he couldn't believe the owner sent us to those showers. He had recently moved out because of the conditions. I can't believe the health department has not written them up for the conditions. I would not recommend this place to anyone, not even a pig. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$39
First off, the price for this park is outrageous for being located unlevel and on sand. So whenever coming in or out of the RV we had sand in our shoes. We were to be in another site that the Ranger assured us would have a view of the lake; NOT! So, we moved to one near the entrance to the park for this luxury, but with that came the street noise. We have to agree with what others have written; it's just too big a park for one person to maintain and it's really gotten run-down and needs an overhaul in a big way. Location is great across from a wayside stop and can cross the street to the sandy beaches, but for $39/night - not worth it. Couldn't get Wi-Fi in our site, no fudge was being made, nor did we ever see Mrs. Ranger anyway. Too much for too little and wouldn't camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Perception can be a personal thing. Sure the campground is simple. But there are full utilities with over 100 cable channels and Wi-Fi. RV sites are not piled one on top of another. Ranger J is a unique individual. If you spend a little time getting to know him. His wife operates the onsite fudge factory. And she's meticulous in how she keeps the "factory". Fudge is good too. Showers are rustic but clean with plenty of hot water. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Like everyone else we booked our six night stay according to the website pictures, which are beautiful in the winter time. Yes, Ranger J. requested a check before arrival. That's one way to hook you. We traveled 700 miles to have a 10 day vacation in the UP. After owning a camper for eight years we decided to tent camp. My husband had talked to Ranger J multiple times and everything was all positive. Until the day we arrived. I knew the minute we got to the ranger station, after finding it in the high weeds, it was bad and going to get worse. The campsites were sandy with wood chips covering the sand. Although some of the campsites were spacious, we did not have a picnic table and when we finally got one it was rotten. We waited until our neighbors left and went to get theirs. We didn't even have a specified campsite when we arrived which is why we thought we had to send the check. There was no grass. The grass/weeds were knee high. This certainly doesn't help in the infestation of the deer flies and mosquitoes. The bathrooms were clean when we first arrived but had not been cleaned the whole time we were there. The sinks were leaking from the pipes and were very dirty. The hand soap was even watered down. The bathroom garbage started smelling like rotten cigarettes and dirty diapers by day three. The toilets leaked every time you flushed. The toilet bowls were a brownish color. I don't know if that was because of the well water or from not being cleaned. The unisex showers were filthy. Hair all over the walls that had been there since day one. There are four showers and I think two of them locked. The lighting in the showers is terrible. One small light. No curtain between the shower section and the dressing section so needless to say we were putting wet clothes on after showering. We didn't know if we were going to have hot water to shower everyday. The garbage dumpster was piling up day after day. Animals got into it two days before the garbage truck came. The playground was a site from a horror movie. Speaking of movies there was a movie pretty much every night. Very loud. Never went to see one because they were war movies and not kid/family friendly. The movie theater was about the nicest thing in the campground. I am tempted to call the Marquette Health Department. My husband ask Ranger J for a refund for the last two nights saying we have seen everything we came to see. But of course his answer was NO. We did leave a day early and ate our last night stay. The website shows all of these beautiful rock carvings done by Ranger J They are really nice but you cannot see half of them because of the over growth of weeds/grass. To cut down on the dust the roads need to be gravel not sand. We think Ranger J is in desperate need of a staff to help him. Also a weed whacker or lawn mower would make this campground look a little nicer along with a few dump loads of gravel. Over all our visit to the UP was a great one. We will NEVER camp at Gitchee Gummee again. In my opinion I think his website is considered false advertising. I didn't taste the fudge for obvious reasons. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
No answer on the phone prior to our arrival to inquire about availability. Rates are NOT listed on website. No one in the office when we arrived. We walked around and when owner finally arrived he quoted a different rate than the one that was on the rate sheet located at the desk. I don't like playing these games. Either post the rates or provide the same rates that are on the desk. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$39
This was our first stay here, although we met others who camp here frequently, so my opinion must not be shared with all. But I found this campground very dirty and not maintained well. This is a very sandy campground. There are lots of big rigs parked in the campground, but I do not see a quality campground here. The check in office was filthy by my standards, dusty, spider webs, darka and smelled of smoke. Nasty! After driving thru the rest of the park, I could only say the owner has not been able to maintain the park as it once might have been. Not all sites have picnic tables and some tables are rotten. Restrooms were not dirty, just seemed that way. Rough concrete floors had several layers of worn paint showing around the edges, commodes where strained from the water, but there were no paper towels on the floor. Showers were individual, had rubber mats on the floor, but were dark and again, the rough stained looking wall looked dirty. The owner has a special personality, friendly but a little odd. His clothes were torn and dirty so I guess the way the campground is kept is the way he prefers to live. The campground website states its the simple life, and that it is, very simple, but the price doesn't equal the quality of the campground. We travel all over the states and have experienced great campgrounds and not so great. This is not a keeper in my opinion, although there are many that must not have as high a level of what is quality as I do. We will not use this campground again, but will remain our 3 nights that we agreed to stay this trip. To be honest to the owners dreams, he wants to offer special things, but in building a new item lets the old ones go and doesn't keep up the area. You can see he has added a lot of items to make this campground special, but has not kept up what is here. I don't see the reason to want to come back as the couple that checked in with us that has been coming here for 15 years, or the ones parked next to us that has been here 5 years in a row. We are parked at the front gate, again next to the highway, across the street from Lake Superior. A very busy highway, but you can hear the sound of the lake and get the northern breeze. But that's about all I can say as a plus in our experience here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$39
We stayed here hoping for a nice campground that was close to several activities that we had planned in the area. The website for this campground would have you believe that it is a well-maintained, beautiful park. It may have been back in 1930, but almost everything here now is in need of serious repair and/or cleaning. The trash dumpster was overflowing into the road, the playground was frightening, the cable TV did not work (and according to the person in the office, it hasn't been hooked up in years), and the bathrooms were not maintained at all. There are no locks on the unisex shower doors, so random people can come in and join you as you shower. There are only 4 shower stalls for the entire campground. My real problem with the entire experience was the level of false advertising on their websites stating all the services that are offered, but are not really offered once you get there. We've camped in a lot of campgrounds over the years and this was the worst experience we've ever had. We were tempted to run the other way as we entered the park, but they already had our money as they required a check to be mailed in to reserve our spot. I was too scared to try any fudge that was made here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$49
Definitely big rig friendly. Interior roads easily handled our 40ft/towing. Sites are very spacious both in length and width. Among the largest we have seen in 18 months of traveling. While many are wooded, we were able to get a signal with our roof top satellite. Due to the length of the sites, it is possible to position your RV to get through most of the trees. Cable TV is provided with 75 stations available and provides a good backup. The grounds are rustic with many pines, wild blueberries, etc. Sites are not manicured, but the landscape is appropriate for the setting. This is camping. Our site was level and had a large fire pit. Hookups are convenient. Most big rig sites have 2 sewer hookups to accommodate your situation. Just across the street is a beautiful beach on Lake Superior. You can walk for a couple of miles easily on the beach. Sunsets are spectacular. WiFi works well. Free firewood for the asking. Several have commented on The Ranger. I found him to be very nice and helpful. He is not the typical city subdivision dweller who works in an office but thankfully this is not that kind of place. I find no reason to be concerned about him in any way. In fact, I enjoyed talking with him. We will definitely return to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Okay, the Ranger is a bit eccentric but boy is he intelligent. He has built with his own hands, all of the buildings, plus the new, large outdoor activity arena. He does his best to keep the park in good shape. The Wi-Fi was only available in the beautiful lodge, that had a lot of stuff to do: a huge library (reading is one of his passions). The park is very quiet and rustic so if you're looking for a manicured resort, this isn't it. It's location is great: across from a beach access on Lake Superior and just far enough out of Marquette to avoid heavy traffic. We spent some time talking to him and really enjoyed it. We wanted to fly fish and he demanded that we use his county book of roads (he wanted to be sure that we returned to our RV that day.) We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$39
This park deserves a higher rating and would get one except for the management which is a bit strange. The price we paid was not what is published in various places and is much higher than the discounted price we expected. The camp sites are fine and the beach just across the road is beautiful. The place could use a bit of sprucing up but is generally in good shape. We would stay here again as long as we know what to expect. The owner/manager is very friendly, but different. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2009
$39
Beware! I advise anyone planning on visiting this park to review previous reviewers; they are all basically correct in their analysis. We came in for 1 week. We were told the site we wanted would be $30 per day. When we arrived, we ended up paying $39 per day. Do not believe he gives any discounts, i.e., Escapees. He states "the discount has already been adjusted." Nothing seems to work in this park: the laundry is broken, the free telephone doesn't work, the computer for use doesn't have a keyboard, and Mrs. Fudge is no longer around. The only good thing about this park is the excellent beach on Lake Superior across the road. It is a shame this park isn't maintained. I advise anyone wanting to visit Marquette to go to the excellent tourist park in town. Sorry Ranger for the poor review but indeed you are strange and are dishonest when quoting camp fees. I rate this a 2 and not a 1 because of the beach. NOTE: Campground fees are not on the web page nor even posted at the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
This place was like a scene out of DELIVERENCE. The host was very strange. When we arrived, asked the ranger if they received our check. He told me they had. We were given our camp site, we had two tents. There was not enough room for one. The sites consist of a small clearing 10' x 10' with scrub brush in between. Roads consist of sand and pine needles, very dusty. After reviewing the other available sites, and there were a lot. Decided to go elsewhere. Asked for my check back and owner refused, said he never received it (???) The son and owners wife then began to argue with me about why I was going elsewhere. I also noticed that they only had 5 other sites rented out. It's in the middle of July and there are only 5 sites taken? Never did get my check back, but did make it back to highway and on to Marquette. The only thing this placed lacked was a banjo playing kid on the front porch. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$24
We love this park and plan on returning this summer. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. We camped here without children and stayed a week. We had full hook up and experienced excellent cable and Wi-Fi connection. Our site was clean, level and well maintained. This is not a park for those looking for planned activities, cramped sites, paved roads or even a store, but rather a peaceful, relaxing northern experience central to many U.P. attractions. The laundry room was not in good working condition. Unless the machines are repaired I would suggest going into town. Over all this is a great place to stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$18
Our rate was Escapees with metered electric. Electric cost us about $2.00 per day. We were there during peak blueberry season, and the entire park is one big blueberry patch! The artwork around the park by the owner is beautiful - carved rocks painted and nicely displayed. The owner is adding improvements and seems concerned that his guests have a good stay. It is across the road from Lake Superior, and close to the Ojibaway Casino. I wouldn't care to stay in the back-in sites by the main gate due to noise, but the gate is closed at night (you can use a back gate), so your sleep isn't disturbed. Overall, we loved it and stayed 2 weeks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
Water is full of iron to the point I would not hook to RV. Neighbor told me he had to change his filter every 3 days. Cable was unwatchable. Unless it rains it is extremely dusty when a car passes your site. Would not recommend this park to anyone! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2007
$45
The web site looks WAY better then the campground. The campground reminded me of something out of a horror movie!! The place is just a dump. The web site says indoor movies on a big screen, and when we went in, the so called lodge we found it quite empty and the movie screen and video projector was no where to be found. The water in this campground was brown and looked like mud, it was very iron laden and it plugged our water filter up 3 times!! There is not a lot for the kids, the playground was a joke, I have more playground equipment in my back yard. And as for the so called Ranger Jeff, he was a nice, but very strange. The sites are not wide at all, we almost couldn't slide our sides out all the way. One plus is that it is across the street from lake superior, and it was very quiet. I think the proprietor is a shady person, only accepting cash and not having a refund policy. The roads are very dusty and the sites are not labeled clear at all. All I can say is we will not ever go back to this place again and I would definitely not recommend it to anyone, look elsewhere as there are much better campgrounds in the Marquette area.. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$45
For an RV park in a prima location, one would expect to pay a somewhat higher fee, but not $45 per night! I rated it a 4 mainly because of that. Not overly impressed with the sites, gravel pull through, not particularly level and with only a scrub of bushes, or maybe a tree between sites. The owner/operator "Ranger Jeff" is definitely a strange duck. Rather eccentric. Has about 20 different projects going on all at the same time, which means that not much overall gets accomplished. While he was pleasant enough to me, I can see from other posts that he can be odd to deal with. If he isn't in the office (which is rare) he can be really hard to find on the rather large property, tending to one of his many varied projects. His reservation and payment policies are bizarre, and the only reason we stayed there was because of its proximity to our daughter attending Northern Michigan Univ. The electricity at our site didn't work initially, but we got that problem fixed. On a positive note, his fudge operation is superb, but you would think you'd have access to some as part of his high price. Not - sold for about the same rate as what you pay in most other tourist traps. While I have nothing personal against the owner/operator, we won't be staying there again because it's over priced and somewhat chaotic. His web site is more appealing than the actual place, so camper beware. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
Rated a 1 because it wasn't open - more than a month after Trailer Life said it would be. Given the scarity of parks in the area, I suggest you phone ahead before building a plan around it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2006
$42
We stayed for a month at this campground only because we had paid in advance and refunds are not given. The owner/manager of this park is the strangest and least customer friendly person we have ever run into since we started our full time RV adventure. He stuck us up at the front end of the campground in a site that barely allowed us to open up our three slides. There was no way we could open our awning. We asked for a picnic table at our site and were told that he was short of tables. Mind you that at that time he was luck to have had ten of his sites rented and no one was in the tent area. There were plenty of unused tables which we offered to pick up in our truck and return when we left. As of today, he has still not filled his campground and there are unused tables available. We asked to be moved to another site as we had no room to move around our site. He could not accommodate this as he was saving his "best" sites for full paying customers. We were on a reduced monthly rate. Since initially we were planning to stay here all summer, I foolishly gave him a $200 deposit for electricity. I really do not expect that he is going to return any of this deposit so basically I will end up paying top dollar for my one month stay. We are out of here tomorrow. Also, he has propane available to purchase, however, the catch is he has a minimum $20.00 fill up charge. We ran out of propane in our one gallon bottle, had him fill it and then were told he had the minimum charge. I'm all for free enterprise, but this guy is just a thief! Can't wait to get out of here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2005
$39
You've driven all day. You're tired. You decide to stop for the night in Marquette and you find this campground called Gitche Gumee. My suggestion is for you to stop someplace for a cup of coffee and stretch for a few minutes and then get back in your rig and head down the road. This is the worst run campground in Michigan. The Management demanded cash and then gave us a site we could barely squeeze into and refused to give us another site even though there were others available and then he refused to refund our money. We spent a miserable night with our slides not extended because there wasn't enough room. We'll never stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2005
$35
Strange rv park run by a really strange person. Still the park was adequate with all hookups. Near the lake. Dusty roads level sites. Good cable tv. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2004
$40
This park has a massive website...but, unfortunately, I didn't realize (until it was too late) that there is no mention of a cancellation/refund policy. Months in advance we made reservations for two campsites and one cabin. The owner/operator/sole employee, "Ranger J", nicely asked me to send him payment in full. He doesn't accept credit cards and we live almost nine hours away, so he insisted that I send him a check, which he immediately cashed. Due to a serious family illness, we attempted to cancel our reservations nearly a month before our arrival date. We left numerous detailed messages, but Ranger J refused to return our phone calls. By chance, during one of my attempts to reach him, he happened to answer the phone. After explaining the situation, he said he'd "look into it" because he "didn't have his book with him" and he'd call me back. We never received a return call. Again, we left more detailed messages, but to no avail. When I finally spoke with him a second time, he told me he had a "no refund" policy, but that I was welcome to reschedule my trip for later in the season. Because we were forced to do so (or lose our $387) we rescheduled, but told him we only needed the two full hook-up sites and not the cabin. He said he would "handle the refund" for the cabin when we arrived. Upon our arrival, again I asked about the refund for the cabin and he said "oh, we'll deal with that later." After setting up camp, I asked him to give me the keys to the cabin because it appeared he had no intention of refunding our money, and he informed me that he had rented the cabin out to another person because we said we didn't need it. Again, we asked for our refund, and he flat-out refused to give us a dime. The refund should have been $127.20. I even tried negotiating a lesser amount, telling him I understood if there was a "cancellation fee." I asked if we could have a "credit" to use towards goods purchased at his campground and he even refused that. This is a one-man operation that is run very inefficiently, and it was apparent to most of the campers I spoke with that the only thing Ranger J is interested in is taking everyone's "cash". He even has signs all over his office that say "strictly cash." Yeah, now we know why...Most people in the world are basically good...Ranger J is one of the exceptions. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2003
$39
We would never recommend this park. The sites are nothing more than gravel driveways with brush on each side. It is not a spot where you would enjoy sitting outside to relax. The rates were double what we normally pay for much better accommodations. After talking to other campers we learned rates vary to as much as $45.00 per night. We had a awful experience when a bunch of kids were allowed to have a rock concert in the park. The base was so loud it just boomed throughout the park. After several attempts by myself and many other campers to get management to have the volume turned down, I asked for a refund. The owner locked me out of the office and left. He has a cash only with no refund, policy. It cost us $78.00 to stay here 17 hours. It will never happen again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$14
Our camping experience was incredible. This campground has everything. We stayed up late cooking smores on an open fire with all the wood we wanted... free. Free fudge for the kids. This fudge is the best you will find ANYWHERE, including Mackinaw Island. My son loved the pool table and the indoor movie. The restrooms were the cleanest I've ever seen at any campground. Aside from the bugs, this campground is first rate. I would pay double... but like the low rate! ;) Thanks Jeff We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2002
$39
This park was definitely not worth the money. It was not well maintained. Restroom had indoor/outdoor carpet that could not have been clean and the laundry had not been swept for over a week. Park had nothing to offer except for its close proximity to Lake Superior swim beach across the road. Price was outrageous and varied with each camper (we learned later). Head for the City Tourist Park in Marquette for a better value. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com