224218 User submitted reviews online!!
Custer State Park - Game Lodge Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (605) 255-4515
CGID14245

Custer State Park - Game Lodge Campground

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   9   10   10   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$25
We stayed 2 nights in August at the Game Lodge Campground, site 147, in a 36' motorhome. This site is on the creek that runs through the property - camping cabin on one side, tent sites on the other side. It wasn't as level as other sites we saw but was definitely doable. The bathrooms and showers were very clean with hot water showers (free). Dump station on-site was convenient, fresh water was available also. During our stay there were nightly Ranger programs about local wildlife in the theater which is a barn within the campground. Well worth walking over for these. We will definitely stay at this campground again when in the area. Easy access from either the East or West (16A), and right at the Eastern entrance to the scenic wildlife loop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$22
This is now one of our favorite campgrounds. Level and spacious sites. Warm bathroom with warm showers. Pond with trout. Bison's walked by the campground one morning. Good central location. Would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$28
$28 per night was for a 50 amp electric site on a level asphalt pad in the Game Lodge campground. We purchased the annual park permit for $30 and the towed vehicle was included in the fee. There is water and a dump station within the campground. There was a picnic table and a campfire ring on our spacious site. We used this as our base for exploring the park itself (lots of wildlife around) as well as for visiting the numerous national parks and other attractions within a manageable one-day drive from the park. If you like walking/hiking/biking there are trails and roadways inside and outside the park. The night sky is gorgeous as are the sunsets. The park was very quiet during our stay but I can imagine that during the summer months the noise level goes up. The campground is within driving distance of Rapid City, where every convenience is available. Cell phone service on AT&T is four bars of 4G. Verizon data coverage is was 4G LTE so we used our Millenicom Jetpack for Internet access. There was also free Wi-Fi available at the nearby lodge. There was no over-the-air TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
Well maintained state park. Good big rig lay out, easy to maneuver, sites level and well spaced. Even with minimal hookups (elec only), park deserves a '9' for layout and maintenance, as well as location, location, location. Beautiful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$29
This is the best state park in the US. It's like Yellowstone in so many ways without the huge crowds. Sites are level and park is very well cared for. Wildlife is everywhere around and in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
This is a state park. Park staff were very helpful and courteous. Sites are well spaced. There is electric only, but water and dump is available onsite. It is a beautiful area, close to the wildlife loop, with nice walking areas. We had excellent phone and WiFi through Verizon. It was peaceful and quiet. Campfires are allowed. We will be returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$24
This is a wonderful campground for seeing all the area attractions including the state park, one of the best in the US. We stayed five days and loved it. In addition to the camping rate, you must get a park entry pass, $15 for a week allows unlimited coming & going. Very nice restrooms and showers. Sites by the creek are shady but we enjoyed our level site in the central area where we could look out the window and see big herds of bison that moved past daily. A water hookup by the laundry is available for refilling your onboard tank. Programs and movies most evenings in the campground all summer, and the historic game lodge is close by for dinner or drinks. We did not get any over-air TV antenna channels, but did get good AT&T cellular. Wouldn't hesitate to return or recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$28
Typical state park facility. No water nor sewage but did have dump station. Lovely location, next to the mountains, a stream and you get Bison walking around. Lovely park setting. Great park to visit. You have to pay to get in for 7 days but it is well worth it. As good as Yellowstone. Great wildlife, views, etc. Nice camping experience. Not great cell coverage but mine worked enough. some people complained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com