206945 User submitted reviews online!!
Shenandoah Valley Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (540) 477-3080
CGID14255

Shenandoah Valley Campground

Camp Information
Sites
47
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   9   7   9   10   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
Passport America rate. As others have mentioned, this is a fairly new park with no shade at present. However, trees have been planted and when they grow, it will be very pleasant. Large sites, most seem to slope down. Several cabins available. Restrooms are large and clean. Showers are well thought out, with folding wooden doors for added privacy. Water pressure is excellent. Wi-Fi was very good. Limited cable stations. Campground is located within walking distance of Shenandoah Caverns (up fairly steep hill) as well as a gift shop. No sidewalks but wide grassy shoulder allowed safe walking. There is a small restaurant in the premises. Staff was very pleasant. Only negative is proximity to the highway and constant road noise. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$20
PPA rate shown. The park is convenient to I-81 yet quiet, with only an occasional loud truck noticed. The sites are level gravel with no shade, but easy to get in and out of with big rigs. The office staff was friendly and the hookups are well located. Verizon voice and 4G data worked well here. This was pleasant midway stop on our trip south, and we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$41
Pleasant, family-owned and run campground just off I-81. Despite the proximity to the interstate, it was amazingly quite. Stone sites with wider-than-usual grassy areas between them. Despite steady rains, the puddling was minimal and we would definitely return again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$35
This park is new and very convenient to I-81. We had a back in site which was not level, we could have moved as it was not busy, but is was fine for us. There is quite a bit of Interstate noise, however, we couldn't hear it inside the coach. To see the local sights this campground is perfect, the sites are large. Bathrooms were immaculate, customer service was outstanding. I would have given them a 10/10 but the Internet was not good. Second night we were there it went out for the night about 7. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$44
Close to I81, easy access and perfect for an overnight stay. There is some road noise, but sites are level and decently spaced. Staff were very nice and bathrooms were very clean. New park, but thought the rate was too high. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$41
Great campground with a nice view. The site was a 50 amp, full hook-ups, level pull thru with ample room between sites. The campground was very clean. The owners are very friendly. They have a snack bar in the store with excellent BBQ pork sandwiches as well as other offerings. The campground is easy access off I-81. There is some road noise, but it was not a bother for us. Wi-Fi worked great. There's lots of space to walk the dog, and they are very pet friendly. Since the campground is new, there aren't any trees for shade, but this wasn't a problem for us. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$41
Easy access off I-81. This is a new campground. The owners are very pleasant and will go out of their way to help you with anything. No problem for big rigs. Bath house was always clean. The outdoor pool was very nice. Internet access was very good. Close to Shenandoah caverns. We stayed 3 days and would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$23
We would like to have rated this campground higher than a 7, however, considering the facility is new and only open 2 or 3 months, we feel it has excellent potential after the campground has “matured.” Unfortunately, our rating may be skewed to a lower rating due to the extreme heat wave in the east: all sites are in full sun. NOTE: There are 2 campgrounds with the same name. The other campground is located in Verona, Va. This could cause some confusion. Positives: 1. Very friendly owner/hosts. They informed us of the many attractions nearby and were given discount passes for the Shenandoah Caverns “next door”. (Excellent attraction). 2. They honored our Passport America for the 3 day stay even though the policy has been changed. (We called 3 weeks prior to our arrival and there was no limit on the number or PA days. However, upon arrival we were told this policy has been changed.) 3. Large pull through sites that will accommodate very large RV’s with room to spare. 4. Close to I-81, but noise was not a problem at our site, or from a nearby railroad where we heard only one train go by. 5. Good interior gravel roads and campsites. Also, sites are level and we didn’t have to use our jacks. 6. Nice camp store. Hosts have home-made BBQ and sandwiches available at reasonable cost. (Hosts previously were in restaurant business.) 7. Excellent satellite, cell phone and MiFi reception. 8. Well maintained swimming pool, although we didn’t use it or the restrooms. Negatives: 1. No shade! Would encourage owners to plant trees at sites. There are cedar trees planted along the back of the campground, but will not provide shade at campsites. 2. Campground rate is too high for a new facility trying to establish a clientele base. Without PA our site would have been $47 per night. 3. PA-days should not have been changed this early in its life. Limit is 1 day. We would return again for overnight stays with a PA discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$24
This is a new park that opened about 4 weeks before we arrived. The owners are very pleasant and friendly. We overnighted here on a trip north to NY and Canada. It seems to be a well designed park, with different sites set up to accommodate guests for either an overnight or extended stay. The park is easy to reach from I-81 but far enough away so highway noise is not an issue. Sites are nice and fairly level. We plan to stop here for a few days on our return trip next month to see the area sights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$24
New campground, opened May, 2013. Family operated, friendly and helpful. Mostly flat. Crushed rock sites and roads. Sites are decent size. Quick, easy access from I-81. Quiet rural setting except for I-81 traffic noise (park is next to the interstate). Utilities were good. We did not unhook our toad. Price was with Passport America discount. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com