219004 User submitted reviews online!!
Shenandoah Valley Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (540) 477-3080
CGID14255

Shenandoah Valley Campground

Camp Information
Sites
47
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   10   10   10   9   10   8   10   3   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$42
We stayed 2 nights. Clean, with pull-through sites. Poorly drained and you can throw a rock and hit I-81 interstate highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$24
This is it. You want to stay in a modern, first class and beautiful campground, stop right here. The area is awesome. The host were wonderful and we will be back again. The CG is convenient to I-81. It has cabins for non-RV'ers, nice pool and play area, big nice group shelter and Jay cooks a good sandwich. Ya'll check it out and I'll guarantee you will be glad you did. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$47
This is the 3rd time we have camped here in the past year. The site we were on was a pull-through and very level. We camped here over the 4th of July weekend and it was busy, but the restrooms and showers were clean. They had activities for all ages and there is plenty to do in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$44
Great park. Owners have spent a lot of money to create a beautiful park in what was a field. Very modern everything. Nice snack bar. Other reviewers have summed it up well. Rate is Good Sam. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$45
A great little campground nestled in the beautiful Shenandoah Valley very near I-81. With generous pull-through sites, the campground is equally suited as a traveler's overnight stop or as a base of operations for exploring the nearby Shenandoah Caverns and other local points of interest. Owned by a wonderful family with a background in both business and RVing, this campground oozes pride of ownership. All of the facilities are new, and judging from the effort we observed being put into it, it appears they intend to keep it looking that way. The owners operate an on-site cafe/snack bar that serves up a surprising variety of tasty menu items. We found this cafe to be a great idea for patrons who have just stopped for the night and may not want to break out a grill or spend a lot of effort on meal preparation. It appears the cafe gets some local traffic as well, a testament to its quality. The sites in this campground are graveled and reasonably level. The water pressure is fairly high (80 psi at our site), and the electrical pedestal and sewer inlet are well placed. The Wi-Fi works about as well as we've ever experienced at a campground, and all campsites are satellite-friendly. There is a modern, zero-entry swimming pool that is a welcomed relief on those hot and humid valley days like the first day we were there (95 degrees). The weekend we spent here was one we will remember and we hope to return at some point. The campground and its ownership are a good package and they deserve our business. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$25
A one year old park and it is very nice. Easy access and plenty of room for big rigs. We also enjoyed the BBQ from the cafe in the office. Owners are very nice and helpful. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$25
Rate is with Passport America discount. This is a newer campground with easy access from the Interstate. Sites are gravel. The first site we were assigned had too much slope for us to level the motorhome with just the jacks. The next site was much more level. The campground is very close to the Interstate so road noise could be an issue unless you are running A/C. The on-site snack bar daily special was a beef brisket sandwich, baked beans and potato salad. Very good. As were the homemade white chocolate and cranberry cookies. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$46
It was a real delight to camp here this past weekend. The swings around the campfire were wonderful. The owners could not have been friendlier or more helpful. This is definitely a jewel in the Shenandoah Valley crown and will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2014
$47
We stayed here for a couple of nights. They offered a Good Sam discount so our nightly fee was $44.54. The park was near Interstate 81 (within sight) but access was along narrower secondary roads past a school. The interior roads and sites are gravel. The roads and sites were narrow. The pull through site was just long enough for our 40’ RV with the toad attached. The park has a significant slope on the back half. Not much privacy between the sites as they are pretty close together. They have full hook ups – water, electricity (50 AMP), & sewer connections which were about midway along the side of the sites. But this is another park that doesn’t grasp the basic need for a level parking pad and that sewer doesn’t flow up hill. The parking pads were sloped so leveling was an issue so staying connected to the toad was not an option. Some sites required extensive blocking to get level. The sewer connection was on the uphill side of the sites. No trees so no obstructions to satellite reception. Park supplied WiFi reception was poor. They couldn’t fix the problem during our stay. Really no designated pet area but there was sufficient grassy areas and along the roads. There were no bag dispensers around the park and the only garbage was the dumpster at the front of the park. For being in a hazardous/severe weather area, there was no underground storm shelter. None of the structures in the park were identified as a severe weather shelter. The GS discount wasn’t applied to the site fee when stay was extended one day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
Passport America rate. As others have mentioned, this is a fairly new park with no shade at present. However, trees have been planted and when they grow, it will be very pleasant. Large sites, most seem to slope down. Several cabins available. Restrooms are large and clean. Showers are well thought out, with folding wooden doors for added privacy. Water pressure is excellent. Wi-Fi was very good. Limited cable stations. Campground is located within walking distance of Shenandoah Caverns (up fairly steep hill) as well as a gift shop. No sidewalks but wide grassy shoulder allowed safe walking. There is a small restaurant in the premises. Staff was very pleasant. Only negative is proximity to the highway and constant road noise. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$20
PPA rate shown. The park is convenient to I-81 yet quiet, with only an occasional loud truck noticed. The sites are level gravel with no shade, but easy to get in and out of with big rigs. The office staff was friendly and the hookups are well located. Verizon voice and 4G data worked well here. This was pleasant midway stop on our trip south, and we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$41
Pleasant, family-owned and run campground just off I-81. Despite the proximity to the interstate, it was amazingly quite. Stone sites with wider-than-usual grassy areas between them. Despite steady rains, the puddling was minimal and we would definitely return again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$35
This park is new and very convenient to I-81. We had a back in site which was not level, we could have moved as it was not busy, but is was fine for us. There is quite a bit of Interstate noise, however, we couldn't hear it inside the coach. To see the local sights this campground is perfect, the sites are large. Bathrooms were immaculate, customer service was outstanding. I would have given them a 10/10 but the Internet was not good. Second night we were there it went out for the night about 7. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$44
Close to I81, easy access and perfect for an overnight stay. There is some road noise, but sites are level and decently spaced. Staff were very nice and bathrooms were very clean. New park, but thought the rate was too high. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$41
Great campground with a nice view. The site was a 50 amp, full hook-ups, level pull thru with ample room between sites. The campground was very clean. The owners are very friendly. They have a snack bar in the store with excellent BBQ pork sandwiches as well as other offerings. The campground is easy access off I-81. There is some road noise, but it was not a bother for us. Wi-Fi worked great. There's lots of space to walk the dog, and they are very pet friendly. Since the campground is new, there aren't any trees for shade, but this wasn't a problem for us. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$41
Easy access off I-81. This is a new campground. The owners are very pleasant and will go out of their way to help you with anything. No problem for big rigs. Bath house was always clean. The outdoor pool was very nice. Internet access was very good. Close to Shenandoah caverns. We stayed 3 days and would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$23
We would like to have rated this campground higher than a 7, however, considering the facility is new and only open 2 or 3 months, we feel it has excellent potential after the campground has “matured.” Unfortunately, our rating may be skewed to a lower rating due to the extreme heat wave in the east: all sites are in full sun. NOTE: There are 2 campgrounds with the same name. The other campground is located in Verona, Va. This could cause some confusion. Positives: 1. Very friendly owner/hosts. They informed us of the many attractions nearby and were given discount passes for the Shenandoah Caverns “next door”. (Excellent attraction). 2. They honored our Passport America for the 3 day stay even though the policy has been changed. (We called 3 weeks prior to our arrival and there was no limit on the number or PA days. However, upon arrival we were told this policy has been changed.) 3. Large pull through sites that will accommodate very large RV’s with room to spare. 4. Close to I-81, but noise was not a problem at our site, or from a nearby railroad where we heard only one train go by. 5. Good interior gravel roads and campsites. Also, sites are level and we didn’t have to use our jacks. 6. Nice camp store. Hosts have home-made BBQ and sandwiches available at reasonable cost. (Hosts previously were in restaurant business.) 7. Excellent satellite, cell phone and MiFi reception. 8. Well maintained swimming pool, although we didn’t use it or the restrooms. Negatives: 1. No shade! Would encourage owners to plant trees at sites. There are cedar trees planted along the back of the campground, but will not provide shade at campsites. 2. Campground rate is too high for a new facility trying to establish a clientele base. Without PA our site would have been $47 per night. 3. PA-days should not have been changed this early in its life. Limit is 1 day. We would return again for overnight stays with a PA discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$24
This is a new park that opened about 4 weeks before we arrived. The owners are very pleasant and friendly. We overnighted here on a trip north to NY and Canada. It seems to be a well designed park, with different sites set up to accommodate guests for either an overnight or extended stay. The park is easy to reach from I-81 but far enough away so highway noise is not an issue. Sites are nice and fairly level. We plan to stop here for a few days on our return trip next month to see the area sights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$24
New campground, opened May, 2013. Family operated, friendly and helpful. Mostly flat. Crushed rock sites and roads. Sites are decent size. Quick, easy access from I-81. Quiet rural setting except for I-81 traffic noise (park is next to the interstate). Utilities were good. We did not unhook our toad. Price was with Passport America discount. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com