224369 User submitted reviews online!!
Sterling State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (734) 289-2715
CGID1427

Sterling State Park

Camp Information
Sites
256
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   3   9   7   9   8   7   9   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$24
This is a very handy state park just south of Detroit, directly on Lake Erie. In fact, it is about the only campground most of the year anywhere near the city. It is also only about a mile off of I-75 at Exit 15 and so easily accessed and on the way to almost anyplace in Michigan. It is also open about 8 months of the year, which is more than most places are open around here. There is absolutely no shade, but this is a good thing because you have a good view of the lake from all sites. About 2/3 of the sites have water and electric and the other third have full hookups. However, be warned that the water is not turned on when there is a potential for a freeze. I had to fill my tanks near the dump station and am using that water. And, it is also sometimes quite windy, but the view of the lake is fantastic, so well worth it, at least to me. Lots of bike and hiking trails around here. Also a boat ramp and ponds or river areas where you can kayak. One of the trails goes underneath the freeway to a War of 1812 battlefield national monument. Also, there is a day use fee on top of the camping fee. Non-resident annual permit is $31 but good at any Michigan state park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
$33 per night was for full hookups. In addition, there was a $30.50 charge for a non-resident MI annual recreation passport plus $6.30 for a vehicle pass for our weeklong stay. There is a row of Lake Erie waterfront sites but all other sites are just a short walk to the beach. Pull-through sites were really long. Spacing between sites was adequate & most sites were level. All sites are in full sun. Bathrooms and showers were clean and well lit. Many recreational opportunities are available in the park. There are many miles of paved walking/biking trails around the park and they connect into town. No Wi-Fi at the park, but AT&T cell phone reception was great so we used our phone as a hotspot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
This campground is very basic, not much in the way of landscaping or amenities. The roads in/out are solid surface and easy to navigate. The campsites are adequate along with the hook ups. It was very windy at the sites closest to Lake Erie and the beaches were dirty, littered with debris, trash and dead fish. Unfortunately we happened to visit the area when the mayflies were swarming. We were looking forward to seeing Lake Erie and I'm sorry to say I was very disappointed with this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
I have stayed here several times when I visit old friends in Detroit and have doctor appointments. Sites are far enough apart and the view of the lake is very nice. There are also a lot of hiking trails, including one to a War of 1812 fort site. There is a very nice beach area and playground for kids. I liked the lack of trees because it preserved the view of the lake. Sites are paved and somewhat grassy between. One problem is that the sites on the southern end of the campground might notice the rumble from the coal-fired power plant in the distance. A very nice benefit is that there is a coin-operated car wash with two big RV bays across the road from the park entrance! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$33
The park itself is very nice. The biggest problem with the park is the cost. It is $33 a night but there is an $8 reservation fee. If you are a non-resident of Michigan there is an $8 A NIGHT fee for your RV (or you can buy an annual sticker for $29) and a flat $6 fee for your tow car. I paid $43 before I even got into the park! Plus you pay the $33 a night for full hookup sites. With all the fees we paid $43.75 a night. For that price I could have gone down the street! Why so much for non-residents? Residents pay $10 a year. Since most of the people here were from Michigan shouldn't they be paying the bulk of the price? We will never again stay at a Michigan State Park because of the high fees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$41
This is a nice park that is convenient to I-75 as well as the local Southern Michigan area. Really nice for a state park. We did have to pay to enter the park, but that is included in our night's fee. Nice wide sites and right on Lake Erie. Most sites have a good view. Few trees but that gave a great satellite connection. No wi-fi, but picked up good signal from AT&T so used that for internet. Very big rig "friendly". We will be staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$24
As previous reviewers have posted, there is no shade in the campground here, however, this is one of only a few state parks with full hookups available. The closer you camp toward the water, the higher the wind velocity. It is not always an issue and you can view the lake quite well from a row away. Roomy sites with clean, newer restrooms. Great biking/walking trails allow trips into Monroe and through the migratory bird viewing areas. Good fishing and you can walk along the beach for a good distance. The picnic area is nearby with additional playground facilities. Staff was very friendly as were neighboring campers on all three of our visits. We like this park as a quick getaway and price. A full hookup is $33, but for a two night stay, we have found we don't need it. Dump station can take care of three units at a time, which speeds the departure process. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
We were not impressed at first and were initially disappointed that there were so few trees. However, after staying there a little while, we were quite pleased. We did not miss the trees. They would have blocked the view of the lake anyway. There is a lot to do and see here. We enjoyed our stay and will go back. It is quite windy at times though. We couldn't keep the awning up long. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$26
We stayed over Memorial Weekend, very nice park. Would of gave it a 10 but no trees for shade, but didn't them them this weekend. Was surprised how quite it was with all the kids there. Will go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$26
We pulled into this campground and drove right back out. I was excited about the proximity to home plus having a lake view site. To my surprise this "state park" was more like a parking lot. Once we found our site next to us was about 15 adults cursing and shouting with a mile high pile of wood. We immediately went to Harbor Town RV Resort and had the best trip of the summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
One of the nicer camp grounds in Michigan. Great for Walleye fisherman that want to pull a boat and do some great fishing. Fishing cleaning station and parking for 400 boats. Great nature trail that is roughly 3 miles of paved walkway. During the busy times of year staff seem to have trouble keeping the bathrooms clean. Prepare for a good amount of wind off of Lake Erie. Well worth the trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$33
This park has huge sites, excellent hook-ups, reliable electricity. Sites are well maintained. It was quiet (might not be true on busy weekends, but we were here mid-week.) Has friendly staff; trails for biking, running, walking, and bird watching. It is a park mainly for people who want to fish on Lake Erie. This is our second stay in this park and we would come again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
Good pull throughs, big rig OK, clean. Gets bad on weekend. Many weekenders who do not follow rules for quiet time and watching their kids. Park rangers no help. Go to Harbortown to be safe. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$46
Sterling State Park is a nice place to stay, though they're more strict than other campgrounds are. We've been sitting out at 11pm around a campfire, and told we need to go to bed, it's past 10pm. One car per lot, even if one is a handicap visitor. Other than that it's great. It's now on the lake, not much shade, but is fairly new as it was recently built. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$24
This park was very refreshing! It had hiking trails, fishing, swimming, etc. We came here after leaving Harbortown RV Resort where we were very dissatisfied! My kids didn't say they were "bored" even once! Now that's an accomplishment! We will definitely visit this park again!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$34
We were in a pull through site, #161. Unfortunately that site floods when it rains hard, we had 2-1/2 to 3 inches of water under our camper. The ranger couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. He dug a hole, put a bucket and pump in the bucket and pumped the water across #160 to the drain. It took about 2-1/2 to 3 hours but our site no longer had standing water. I talked to him about the park. This park was re-done and re-opened in 2003. They raised the campground about 11 feet and the causeway to get to it to offset some problems they had with flooding. And, yes they had to remove all of the trees in the campground other than those just off of the beach otherwise the trees would have died raising the ground that far. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
They charge an extra daily fee of $8 to drive in and they don't tell you about until you arrive and can't get a refund of your reservation anymore. The restrooms stank to the high heavens, the shower never completely turned off and the beach was very dirty. There are no trees throughout the campground and they appear to have no plans to grow any more. The view to the south is of the Ford steam towers, and to the north is of the nuclear towers. We never found the playgrounds until on the way out, which were at least a half-mile away. But if you are a boater this is probably a perfect campground as there is great access to Lake Erie and you'd care very little about other amenities on the campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2007
$28
This park was nice when the old campground was still being used, but since they rebuilt and moved the campground closer to the lake, its not as nice. There are no shade trees. The beach was so dirty, I wouldn't let my dog swim in the water. You also get the noise and smell from Monroe Edison, and don't plan on using your awning, the wind is so strong it would probably rip it off. Only plus is they have good fishing and alot of biking and hiking trails. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
Nice large sites right on Lake Erie. We paid $22 a night, plus $6 each for the car and RV. Not sure how they worked that. Site rate should include the RV. It worked out to $62 for two nights for an electric only site. This is high for a state park, but it was very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$22
Very nice state park with large paved level sites. Many site have a view of Lake Erie. All of the trees are new and there is no shade. Several miles of paved bike/walking trails. They advertise that there is WiFi, but there is none. You must pay an extra $8 a day or purchase a annual state park pass for $29 (for out of staters). If you plan on staying in Michigan State Parks for more that 3 days, you save a little and more if you use the pass more. This park is a great location if you plan on visiting Detroit or Toledo as it is halfway between them. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$22
This is a nice setting on Lake Erie with very nice views. Some sites are full hookup and some are electric only. We had electric only. Site was paved and level with good views. However; Michigan State Parks are not out of state friendly. Our electric only nightly site rate was $22 for the site + $8 for the RV + $8 for the toad = $38 per night + $8 for the reservation. I will never stay in or recommend a state park in Michigan again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2006
$45
Visited park in 40' motorhome. Park is very big rig friendly and offers full hookups or electric/water. Most sites are very long, wide and level. Each site has a table & fire ring. Utilities were modern and well placed. A large beach available on Lake Erie. All roads and sites are blacktop & in good condition. Since park is rather new there are no mature trees, which makes it satellite friendly. Bathrooms were modern. The grass had been cut throughout park except in full hookup area where it was a foot high. Check out is 11 am and check in is 3 pm so there is time to mow sites when not occupied. Trash is a problem in this park. Trash was visible in every site. I picked up a bag of trash from my site--most was in the fire ring. There are no dumpsters in the campground. Instead they are in the day use area. This obviously contributes to people leaving trash on site rather than taking the long trek to a dumpster. We walked to the dumpster and found it overflowing with trash and placed our bags next to it. We felt this situation was unacceptable. We felt this park is way overpriced--a full hookup site is $37 plus $8 day use fee for motorhome and another $8 for towed vehicle. For this type of money we expect a much nicer and better maintained park. We were very disappointed and will not revisit this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$37
Pull through sites very long, we could of parked 2 of our RV's in the site! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$29
A wonderf ul place to stay. The pull-throughs were enormous! Naturally, it became quite crowded on the weekend, but during the two weeks we stayed it was very quiet during the week days. Excellent accessible beach and gorgeous views of Lake Erie. WiFi is supposed to be available next year, even though it is advertised as having it now. We would love to stay here again. Easy access to the interstate to drive into the Motor City and visit the Henry Ford, Motown, or whatever. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2004
$18
This is a new park with wide sites, some with lake front views. For the most part, I really like this park, however my check-in experience has left a foul taste in my mouth. Michigan State parks do not seem to be out-of-state friendly. And it's a shame too. We called early the morning of check-in to see if we needed reservations. We were told that there were plenty of spots available and no reservation was required. We arrived during the ranger lunch period, there was no site availability map so we picked a nice FU site with a view of Lake Erie. We set up camp including setting out the party lights on the awning. We went back to the ranger station only to find another couple being told that they'd have to move because the park was booked up (you couldn't tell this by looking). This couple had also been told that no reservations were needed. The ranger was unhelpful and pointed us to the corporate office. We drove there and were told that they showed that there were plenty of sites. Finally after quite some time, we were given a partial hookup site while the other couple decided to leave. This site was nice, closer to the lake, but everyone and their brother cross through your site to get to it. We were charged a reasonable rate for the site but then other fees were tacked on. $8/night out-of-state fee for the toad. Fine. THEN we were charged an additional $8/NIGHT vehicle fee for the RV! Shouldn't this have been included in the camping fees? We could have camped at a nearby KOA for less... and that's saying something. After all this was said and done... the site we were in originally was never occupied! The ranger was unpleasant, the prices for out-of-staters were outrageous and we will never go to another Michigan State park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$20
We really liked this campground, especially for a State Park. We liked having sewer hook-up, nice playground, the beach was huge, and the kids really enjoyed playing in Lake Erie, even though it was kind of cold outside. We also really enjoyed biking/jogging on the paved paths throughout the park. The sites were huge and the guests were not rowdy. The restrooms were nice with clean, private showers. Because there aren't many trees and the proximity to the Lake, it was very windy. We didn't care for the power plants nearby, but the park was so peaceful and relaxing, we forgot about them. We look forward to another trip to Sterling. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$20
The sites are large and it's a treat to have full-hookups at a state park. The layout of the campground was such that it invited lots of people walking through your sites. The bathroom/shower facilities are in the middle of it all and paths to it are few and far between. There are two powerplants nearby. One is nuclear, and the other isn't. The one that isn't makes a weird noise 24/7 that drove us crazy. Good as it is, we won't go back simply for the proximity to these plants. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$19
This park is brand new in 2003. Right on the lakeshore of Lake Erie. Full size launching facility for boaters. There is plenty to do with miles of paved bike trails and nature walks. A beach that is maintained as well as can be expected from a large lake. This is a beautiful Michigan State Park! The only thing missing is the shaded sites. All sites are paved and large enough for your slide outs or boats. Don't forget to bring your bikes,scooters or rollerblades. Fishing poles are a must! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com