214909 User submitted reviews online!!
PJ Hoffmaster State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (231) 798-3711
CGID1430

PJ Hoffmaster State Park

Camp Information
Sites
293
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   8   8   9   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$33
We decided at the last minute to book this park. Which as I can see now, we were fortunate to get a site. The rest of the summer weekends are pretty well booked. It is a nice wooded state park, with not much privacy between sites. But that did not bother us. The sites that back up to the creek are some of the largest in the park. We stayed for six days and wish it could have been more. Although we have a full bathroom in our TT, my husband liked to use to parks shower facilities. He said they were super clean and liked the individual shower rooms. There is Lake Michigan access right at the end of the first loop. Great if you have kids, you don't have to pack them into the car to drive to the beach. It was too cold for swimming during our stay, but the views and sunset evenings were spectacular. They have a very nice and informative nature center. We stayed during the week after Memorial Day, so there may have been a total of 25 campers staying in the park. We parked out tow vehicle on the site next to ours, since it was so empty. The next day the ranger asked us to move it. That was no problem, but I thought it was funny when she said she was going to knock on our camper door at 2:30 am to ask us to move it. So glad she waited. There is shopping within five miles and a Naval museum that has submarine tours close, as well. We will come back for sure!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$29
This is one of my favorite state parks. Many of the sites on the south loop are large, wooded and have a wooded buffer or creek behind them. The Lake Michigan beach stretches for miles and is not busy. There are several trails to hike although it would be nice if it was clearer where they are and if they were named on the park map. There is a golf course right next to the park and the Whippy Dip Ice cream place down the road. It is very quiet at night. There are groceries and shopping very close by if needed. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
We absolutely loved this State Park. You don't get full hook-ups at most of the State Parks, but the sanitation station was easily accessible and we did have electricity. We had one of the larger sites, which gave us plenty of room for our RV, and we had woods behind us. There were no trees in between our sites to separate us from the people next to us, but that wasn't a problem for us. The volunteer hosts were extremely friendly. The beach is easy to get to, and you just can't beat Lake Michigan. We walked to the beach one day and rode our bikes to the public picnic area another day. Our boys are already begging to go back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$27
Very nice large park. Sites were very spacious with nice fire rings. Bathrooms were clean but they seemed to clean them at the oddest times (when you get up in the morning). Beach is beautiful, only complaint is the long walk to the beach through the trail. Kids loved playing in the creek. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
We really enjoyed our brief (2 days) here at Hoffmaster State Park! The people are very friendly and the staff keep the facilities up well. Thankfully the restrooms weren't too far away. We were just minutes away from the sand dunes and loved being able stay in a wooded area. It was pure fun! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$27
This is what camping is all about. Beautiful beach, spacious sites, sure you're camping on dirt but the setting is perfect. Great family spot. Close to civilization but you feel secluded. Not very good park programs, though, "rangers" very young and not good at it yet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$23
Gorgeous state park on Lake Michigan. Camping fee doesn't include daily park access fee of $8 or purchase an annual pass for $29 (less for MI residents) which provides access to all MI state parks. Easy online registration includes descriptions of each site. Campground is located in an 1100 acre state park, with tall forests, just a short walk to beach and monstrous wooded dunes. Bath houses super modern, clean, and accessible. Most sites huge, shady, level with sand/dirt surface and 30 or 50 AMP hookup. Water nearby, no sewer hookups. No low brush but some privacy created by sites being spaced well apart. New playground, hiking trails adjacent. Park's education center fun and informative. Don't skip the stair walk to viewing platform on top of 200-foot dune overlooking Lake Michigan. We didn't care for the nearby city of Muskegon. Grand Haven, 10 minutes south, was fun. Less than one hour to dune rides/Jeep rentals in Silver Lake. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$20
A very nice State Park featuring forest covered dunes along nearly 3 miles of Lake Michigan shore. While here we visited the Gillette Visitor Center which is very nice with lots of information regarding the dunes. Nice hiking trails heading toward Lake Michigan. Clean bath houses! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com