214914 User submitted reviews online!!
Newberry KOA was rated 5 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (906) 293-5762
CGID1431

Newberry KOA

Camp Information
Sites
110
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   10   8   6   1   1   3   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$39
Run by teenagers; typical KOA but a little bit worse for wear. Bathrooms were unclean, blocked toilet never fixed and very disjointed set up. As there are only 6 FHU, everyone is using them, although the park was not even a third full in peak season. The overnight stayers are placed in a gully which is filled with sandy grit - it rained & flooded. A very unappealing park that we would not stay in again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$59
Kind of expensive for camping, but it is was it is. Best was the swimming pool. We all (kids and adults) enjoyed it and the water was so warm. We had the pancake breakfast, which was good. I have never seen cleaner bathrooms and showers. They must have cleaned them constantly since they were spotless various times of the day. We had a back-in site close to the main building which is pretty level. The only con is the playground, which needs some TLC. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$37
We stayed 2 nights at this KOA during our tour of Michigan's Upper Peninsula in early July and chose it primarily for its location to attractions we wanted to see. Office staff was courteous and helpful and check-in was easy. As noted in other reviews there are very few full hook-up sites in this rather large park. Most sites are shaded and most are relatively level. Some of the full hook-up sites are on the side of an incline and I can understand why some campers would have issues there; our site was a full hook-up site at the foot of this incline and we had no problems getting level. The park was clean and quiet. The fire ring should have been cleaned out better and the picnic tables are pretty worn. Wi-Fi reception was best if I sat at a table in an adjoining empty site. While it could use a "sprucing up" in terms of painting or other maintenance there was nothing objectionable. The campground store had mostly just the basic groceries. The free breakfast was your choice of eggs, pancakes, sausage, bacon and beverages, all made while you wait. A destination campground it is not but we would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$39
Since there have been no reviews of this KOA in 5 years I wondered whether or not it was still open. It is, and I can understand why it doesn't get a lot of RVers. We stayed here last weekend and got one of the only 6 FHU, pull-through sites. It was also one of the few sites that you might be able to get roof satellite reception. There is one row of the FHU, pull-through sites in this otherwise heavily treed park. It seemed that they had more tenters, cabin customers, and pop-ups that larger trailers and motorhomes. I don't think that half the sites were taken for a weekend in the middle of their peak season. The park has some nice amenities (indoor pool, a cafe that prepares breakfast and several dinner meals, a playground, etc.). If you aren't too big, like a woodsy setting, and don't care about TV, you may enjoy this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2006
$27
No sewer hookups. Not a good layout for a big rig over 40 feet in length. Island in entry way makes park entry difficult. Can't see entrance sign very well coming from the West. Not what one would expect from a KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2005
$30
The sites here are very uneven. I used every leveling block I had and had to jump the last foot off our steps. Disinterested staff, poorly maintained park. We didn't even want to look in the bathrooms for fear of what we might find. I will never return. How 'Trailer Life' rated this a 7.5/8/7 I'll never know! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2005
$35
A disappointing stay due to the run down look of the camp. The camp looks like it has not been updated in twenty years, much of the ceiling tiles were needing repair in the main building. Kabins were not clean and needed real window repairs, not just duct tape. Playground needs updating, looks cheap. Pool/jacuzzi was nice. Bathrooms/showers located in main building were too long a walk from kabins/rv sites. Owners need to do landscaping...piles of leaves and ash from campfire was left on our site from previous campers. Staff surfed internet and did not seem interested in working very hard. Our site did not have a grill, it had broken off and was left by the tree. They used the broken grill leg as a cigarette ashtray. Could be a great camp if they updated the facility and landscaped. We camped here in a .

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2002
$27
Main office and restrooms area were tired looking and shabby, campsites were reasonably clean. Staff put in their time but did little else and do not have any idea what the term service to the customer means. It is a shame because this park has great potential. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com