217876 User submitted reviews online!!
Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park of the Black Canyon was rated 8 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (970) 249-6382
CGID14316

Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park of the Black Canyon

Camp Information
Sites
156
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   8   9   8   10   4   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
Huge park, 60 acres! Rough start: picked site 19, pulled in and no water hookup and electric box had an active hornet's nest inside. Changed to site 1. Great site! Close to dog park, laundry, restrooms, store, and Yogi Bear's cabin. Large grassy area and large aspen that shaded it. They're really working on getting all the grass grown-in. Ours was the best, in my opinion. Not busy for a Jellystone and not a lot of activities going on during the week. The weekend had a hayride, bonfire, and luau-themed dinner. Wi-Fi was super fast and very reliable. Antenna worked great, just didn't get NBC. Water pressure was unreliable. Overall, we had a good stay for 5 days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
Just spent a week at this campground. It is a great base for exploring the San Juan Mtn area of Colorado. The staff is very helpful. They make a real effort to have activities for children. The sites are gravel and our pull-through was quite long. They work very hard to have some grass and nice trees. The only negative is poor TV reception. Otherwise, everything you could ask for. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$45
Nice clean park. Good WiFi. Friendly managers. Slightly overpriced in my opinion. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$13
Rate reflected is monthly Winter rate, and the campground charges $0.14/kWh. This is a great park overall with lots to do for the children or young at heart. All the outbuildings are in top notch shape, as well as the facilities. They have ping pong, foosball, shuffleboard, a pool, gaga ball pit, playground, and lots of room to have fun. The interior roads are gravel (thick in some spots) so the children will have to be pretty good riders to push through at times. There's a good, not heavily traveled, road that is just outside the park for asphalt riding. The WiFi was consistent/included in the price, and the owners/camphosts were really nice people. This is a very hospitable campground. There's a large "bark park" for people with furry children. The spacing between sites is fairly good for this part of the country. Some are closer than others, so look around before selecting your site. I tend to like more room and had no problem on the spacing. We would not hesitate to stay with these folks again. The nightly rate varies based upon day of the week. Weekends can be pricey at $45/night, but they offer good discounts so just ask. Happy trails! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
We stayed here for a fulltime family rally and had a great time! There were activities each day for the kids, more so than another Jellystone we have stayed at. The staff was wonderful with the kids. The pool had to be closed for a while one day so a few leaks could be fixed, but that wasn't bad. We were patient, and they were understanding that the kids were itching to get in it. When we checked in the girl working the front desk didn't know they took Discover or how to handle a separate rate from the rally rate, but she made a couple calls and got it figured out, so I can be gracious with new people. The grounds where we stayed, in the back nearest the pool, were pretty weedy and bare. We had to request that the sprinklers be turned off cause our whole site was drenched and muddy when we woke in the AM on the first morning. But again they took care of it fast. All the hook ups worked fine, nothing interesting there. The wifi is HORRIBLE. even the staff will tell you. If you are in a certain place, standing a certain way, it may work for a bit. Actually, some families at the rally had fine service at their site, so that was just our experience. We did have an issue with the hay ride one time. I am happy they do it, but it was like an hour long! And my husband took our little one, thinking it would be a quick trip around the grounds. But no. They went almost into Montrose and went SLOW. We did mention it to the owner who commented that they just have a hard time getting a good length for everyone to be happy, so just know ahead of time what you are getting into. Overall it was a nice place with great scheduled activities for the kids. The movies they showed seemed to be for ages 8 and up, not G rated that I remember. If you are thinking of staying at a Jellystone, please know these are campgrounds who largely cater to kids. Expect children of all ages to be around playing and having fun. The $36 reflects a discount for being with a rally We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
When I was out there three years ago the new owner had just bought it from out of bankruptcy. The previous owner had let this park go way down. Since then the new owner and his wife had spent countless hours on improvements and it really shows. The majority of the sites are pull through with 50 and 30 amp service good water pressure. I found the WiFi to bet one of the better ones I have used. The staff is friendly and will escort you to your site. A good southern sky for those with sat. A ten minute drive to Montrose where you can find all kinds of Box store and restaurants. In less than a half hour you can be in Ouray and enjoying the San Juans. The trees are still growing it will take some time to get there. In the original sections they are fair but still needs growth. Five or six years ago this was a ranch pasture. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
Overpriced, mice infested and ant infestation as well. There were mice everywhere, ants, the water pressure wasn't great, the Wi-Fi wasn't great. In fact that's an apt description - not great. Most of the staff was very friendly and they were great with the kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$42
The staff went above and beyond, also the teens working there. They play with the children, not only at scheduled times, but anytime a child came into the Club House. Most activities where more for the younger kids (under 10-12) and acted out with love and care. The park itself, needed lots more to be worth $42 a night. The WiFi was questionable most of the times. Ants and mice where everywhere and could have been gotten under control. Staff was 10 stars. Price was 2 stars. Campground itself was 5 stars. Just for a Jellystone Park, you expect more We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com