214552 User submitted reviews online!!
Clementz’s Northcountry Campground and Cabins was rated 7 out of 10 based on 36 user reviews. Phone: (906) 293-8562
CGID1432

Clementz’s Northcountry Campground and Cabins

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   10   6   7   7   8   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$24
The owners are very helpful and friendly, but they seem obsessed with rules. There was a full sheet of newsprint spelling them all out. Nicely laid out campground with good access although the trees on the outer ring needed trimming to prevent hitting the rig. They asked us to use pads for our jacks so they wouldn't dig into the grass. Never been asked that before. Overall a good stay. Close to Tahquamenon Falls and the Shipwreck Museum at Whitefish Point. Rate reflects Good Sam Discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
If you are interested in sight seeing in the area, this park is a good option. Nice, pull through, full hook up sites with easy access for our large motorhome. Yes, the roads are narrow, but there are no obstacles. The sites are reasonably spacious, side by side connections on grass. Easily leveled with the jacks. Good satellite view, but cable is available for extra cost. Internet is very limited - one computer and 150mb per 24 hours. Park facilities are modest for families and kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$110
Great campground in God's country! We stayed in the little lodge and what an awesome surprise! We felt so at home with all the "homey" furnishings. Owners live on site and were extremely helpful and nice. Directed us to a local restaurant which was a great recommendation! Peaceful and quiet walking trail. Mosquito's and flies did not bother us at all. I highly recommend this campground if in the area. Not far from the falls! We would stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
This is a modest-sized campground six-to-seven miles north of Newberry. It is an older park with some tight turns and tree limbs requiring careful negotiating with a big rig. There is water and electric on grassy sites, a dump station, and gravel interior roads. The bathrooms and showers are dated but clean. The laundry has two washers and two dryers. The dryers do not dry clothes very well, and there is a prohibition against hanging laundry outside unless attached to your rig. At registration, I was asked to read and sign an acknowledgement recognizing the fact that mosquitoes and black flies could be a problem and that there would be no refunds for early departures. The mosquitoes and black flies were not as bad as some reports, but it was difficult to spend much time outside without continually swatting incoming attacks. The Shipwreck Museum at White Fish Point is a “must see” for the area. We attended the July 4th parade in Newberry, which was entertaining. Verizon data service was good, but could not get phone service. We could get a DirecTV signal. The nightly rate reflects the Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$23
This small campground is in the natural setting of the Upper Peninsula, which is noted for its very rustic environment. It is situated eight miles outside of the village of Newberry where fuel and provisions are available. The campground is simple and basic with large roomy sites that have shared services. Most were very well shaded. We found the laundry to be small but adequate. The showers and restrooms appeared to be old but clean. Although we had been informed that mosquito's were frequently problematic we had no issues with them during our stay. We went berry picking on their nature trail and were not bothered there either. The campground owner was cheerful, very welcoming and could not have been more helpful. She went out of her way to help us solve a small problem with our e-mail and was most accommodating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
This is a nice park...it advertises Wi-Fi but you can only get it near the office. The sites are all grassy which are not hard to level the motorhome. Other than that I would stay here again if in the area. Owners are on site and very helpful and nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
Very large sites but, there is no 50 amp service on any site. The parks website does not mention 50 amp sites. We had 3 sites and found a lot of nearby attractions. All campsites are grass and our full hookup sites were about 70 feet long and very wide. Since the summer can be very hot, the lack of 50 amps to run two A/C units could be a problem. That area also has a lot of large mosquitoes. The parks website advises you to bring bug spray. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
Overall this is a nice campground. It is pretty remote but that aspect is good. The sites are level with lots of space in between. Caution, the wifi is not secure. You should be concerned if you transmit any passwords or other confidential information. Wifi speed was slow and signal strength was very low. Fairly good cable television. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
This is a very nice clean park with open feeling. It is easy to get around and get into and out of the pull-thrus. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$26
This is our first time camping and the owners were really very helpful and offered a lot of suggestions, so right off the bat, we'd go back just because of the hospitality. Centrally located to things we wanted to see. Campground is very clean and well taken care of. Cell phone service with Verizon is very spotty. We were on the rear side of the park with lots of shade, nice grassy sites. Sometimes we could get the Wi-Fi at our site and sometimes we had to move closer. Owners explained that they are limited to just being able to have satellite service and IT can be iffy at times too. I was totally surprised by the attitude of some campers and how the owners are blamed for lack of cell phone service. We'll go back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$22
Rate is for pull through water and 30 amp electric site with SKP discount, but with an additional $2 for use of our air conditioner. Access roads gravel, some dust, and sites are fairly level grass. Outside loop has an evergreen tree that needs to be trimmed that pinches you between a fence and the tree. Had a power interruption twice during our stay. Restrooms and laundry are centrally located, $1.50 per load to wash. Satellite reception okay at a number of the sites, but Verizon reception very poor. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
Large well maintained green sites. Very clean park with excellent water and excellent Cable TV service. Very quiet at night. Very friendly and supportive management. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$22
Previous post was correct in every aspect. Manager advised that Passport America discount was not available during October as they had to make every buck they could when we checked in but did not mention when I called 15 minutes previous. Roads were dusty, and all full hookup sites were taken by seasonal campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$24
We had stayed here also in August but when it came time to leave we had truck trouble. We were headed to Canada for a fly in fishing trip. The owners 'came to our rescue' by finding another site for us in their park (our full hook up was taken starting that day) and even took us to town so we could get groceries as we had not planned on taking anything to Canada with us. When the truck finally was ready to go (and we'd rearranged our trip to Canada to the following week), the owners allowed us to park our rig off site for the time we were gone and then on our return trip we stayed another couple of nights before heading back home. This is a VERY nice place; clean, well kept, family oriented AND QUIET. We will be back and have recommended to many others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$23
After reading previous reviews, we expected this mat-phobic park to be green and lush. It wasn’t. Our “green” space was so weedy and dirty we really needed to put out our small mat, but we opted to follow the rules. Speaking of rules, this place does have a lot, but that didn’t really bother us, until the owner came out of nowhere as we were filling a small bucket of water to wash our windshield. She “reminded” us that no rig washing was allowed, and when we assured her we were just going to clean the swarm of dead UP bugs off our windshield she didn’t apologize. The voltage was so low that it got scary. We must have been in a “lucky” site as we were able to pickup Wi-Fi during its limited hours of operation. AT&T cell service was sketchy. To top things off, two little campers from across the way frequently knocked on our door wanting to be entertained. This place might have been fine for one night. But after staying for five, we wore out our welcome and won’t be returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$24
We camped at two parks in the area and this was the best in the area. Clean and well kept. The Clementz's were friendly and accommodating. It felt like home and we appreciated their thoughtfulness. Look forward to going back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$22
This is our last SKP discount park before heading into Canada. We have been very pleased with our stay. The sites are very large (we have a 40' 5th wheel with 3 sl) and pull through. It is a very scenic, clean park and a large book exchange in the lobby area. Contrary to other remarks we didn't find the rules threatening at all. Very close proximity to many attractions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$24
After reading the previous 2 reviews (I think they only gave this park a single star rating), we thought about passing this park by, but I’m glad we read the OTHER reviews too. Park and facilities are immaculate; you would never know that there are just two people running it. We had a lovely HUGE full hook up site shaded with pine trees. Also had cable TV hook up. We believe that some people who have an issue with rules just don’t realize how hard it is to maintain an RV park and have a problem with rules to begin with…or they don’t read the rules and therefore make their OWN problems. We encountered no problems during our 3 day stay (other than the next door campers without their dog on a leash, running around which was quickly corrected). It is centrally located to all the attractions and things to do on the eastern end of the Upper Peninsula. We will recommend to others. Our Verizon cell didn’t work here but worked closer to town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$22
Clean quiet park with wide long spaces. Good satellite reception but no internet or phone. Very polite friendly owner. Convenient location for visiting the area attractions. PA rate for 2 nights of 4 we stayed. Good park layout. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$24
After making a reservation at this campground, we arrived to find our assigned site had not been vacated yet. There were no other full-hookup sites available and the previous occupants were not in the campground. We were told we would to take another site without sewer and cable or one without sewer and water because we "had to move" out of the drive. Owners offered no apologies and we took another site for one night. This park seems to have LOTS of rules for a somewhat primitive campground. Access roads are a little tight for a big rig, and can be congested if more than one RV is coming or going at a time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$24
I would not stay at this CG unless I had no other choice. We had a power surge one day over 136 and if not for my surge protector it would have caused serious damage to the MH. Most sites are 30amp and water only. Verizon cell and internet was not available. You could go to the office to use 20 minutes of their Wi-Fi. 2 days PSA $11 a day. 2 days full $22 a day. $2 a day for electric. Has grass pull-through, side by side hook-ups. Nothing allowed on grass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$24
We are staying here for the next 2 nights. The park is very clean with LOTS of elbow room. The owners are helpful. They do charge extra if you cable TV hook up and $2. extra for air (they leave you on your honor). The Wifi signal is low at the back of the park but we can once in a while get on at our site. If that doesn't work, you can go closer to the lobby to get online. One thing our friends and us like is the site layout. Everything is pull through and the sites are very spacious. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$10
This campground is immaculate, well maintained and very appealing. We stayed in the Lodge with our two Grandchildren. The lodge was very clean and comfortable. There are terrific hiking trails at the rear of the park for bird viewing or just a quiet nature walk. Convenient to Tahquamenon Falls and many other UP attractions. Unlike other reviews, we did not have a problem with the Wi-Fi. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
Originally we were only going to spend two nights, but have lengthened our stay to 5 nights. The park is very clean and scenic and the sites are large. Our Verizion aircard does not work in this area but our AT&T cellphone does. We were able to access the park's WiFi by sitting in the enclosed pavillion by the window. There are picnic tables in the pavillion. Decent signal inside the pavillion but weak signal at our campsite (back side of park). You can also go into the lobby to use the ethernet. Owners are very helpful. Will recommend to others. Lots to do in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$22
Park has lots of rules. WiFi is only on the patio of her house. There is absolutely no towels or hand dryers in the restrooms. Campground is quiet and OK. Impossible to shave, because the water shuts off unless you hold the faucet open. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$26
Too many DONT'S in this park. If you are visiting the falls or whitefish point, this is an OK overnight stay. While the sights are clean, and quiet, the bathrooms are very old, the showers are clean, but you have to push the button every minute for water, which I don't mind, but there was never any hot water, just barely Luke warm. The woman (owner) has you read every rule and reg before signing on to the STRICT 15 min. limit Wi-Fi. Your Verizon will not work here, phone or modem card. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
Nice well maintained park. Good electric and water, very quiet. Clean Laundry with new machines! Surrounded by woods. Honors PPA for 1/2 price. Wi-Fi near office area. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
This park was a good value, close to Newberry but you felt out away from it all. Wi-Fi service wasn't good at our site. They are up-front about it and tell you that moving closer to the office area will improve it, so we had to use a closer picnic table to access. Lots of hiking/nature trails, I almost got lost on them! There is a large playground for kids, nice shower house / bathrooms. A good way to experience the quiet solitude of the Upper Peninsula. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$26
I would have rated this park much higher if it weren't for the terrible mosquito problem. You just could not go outside your rig without literally dousing yourself in repellent. Plus the wifi hotspot is right at the office so if you want internet access you must take your laptop to the office. Sites are nice and level and tv is ok. Highly recommend if the owners do something to abate the mosquitos. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$23
The park is very nice and quiet. I would rate it higher, but we are full-timers and relay on cell phone and WiFi. No Verizon service and their WiFi, router in office,was not working. DirecTV was OK. We were here a couple days to see the local sites. Made day trips to Soo Locks, Whitefish Point and Tahquamenon Falls. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$23
Scenic quiet campground that is centrally located in the UP. Friendly helpful owners. Easy in and out and level lots. WiFi is available at the office but very weak or impossible at your site. CG is also well maintained. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2008
$23
The campground is in a nice, treed setting with good space between sites. However, we had been accessing many campground WIFI systems during a 6 weeks trip and this is the first place we could not get a WIFI signal, even when right next to the antenna outside the office. Another disappointment was that the water temperature for the washing machines was set so low that a hot wash cycle was barely tepid at best. Not the park's fault, but we didn't spend much time outside because the bugs and "skeeters" were really thick! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$25
Very nice campground. It is a few miles out of town so it is very quiet and peaceful. Cathy, in the office, was very friendly & helpful. We enjoyed our stay very much & will recommend it to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$16
Owners are on site and friendly. Sites are roomy with fire rings and picnic tables. There are some satellite friendly sites, but most have trees. Very quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$25
Stayed here near the end of the color season and near the end of the camping season. 5" of snow on the last night. People running it very friendly and helpful. Sites very big. I had a pull through with full hookups. Good 30A service. Real grass on the sites, but to keep it that way, mats of any kind are not allowed. Facilities clean and nice. Small library in the office. I would stay there again, and have recommended it to friends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$18
The sites here were very large with fire rings and plenty of room for a family. We almost had enough room for another RV. The sites were grass and gravel and the roads were gravel. The management is on site and very helpful and the park is quiet and comfortable. The security is very good. The negatives are that I believe there is no 50 amp service and only a few full hookup sites. They charge extra for cable. All in all I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com