223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Forest Ridge Campground and RV Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (207) 664-7070
CGID14322

Forest Ridge Campground and RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
62
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   9   8   8   8   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$32
We were visiting Acadia NP and wanted a site w/ running water/shower. Based on the reviews of this campground, we booked for our visit. After the visit, I can't agree with the high ratings that previous posters gave Forest Ridge. Our assigned site was mostly under water when we arrived. Give credit to the owners, we were re-assigned a different site. Nothing "special" about the campground. The bathrooms were not dirty, but were never cleaned in the the time that we stayed. And it's a haul to Acadia NP. 20 miles doesn't seem like alot, but the speed limit is no higher than 45 mph. Acadia is "special", but if we return, Forest Ridge will not be on the list. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
We stayed at Forest Ridge Campground for two weeks and enjoyed our stay. The owner and staff were very friendly and helpful, and the facilities were every bit as good as any campground that we have visited. It is ideally located for exploring the Acadia Park region. It is an easy drive to the park or any of the neighboring islands and coastal communities. The cable and Wi-Fi were perfect, most of the sites were pull-through and long enough for most rig sizes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$34
This park is an excellent place to use as a base camp to explore the area. The sites are spacious and the Wi-Fi is excellent. When calling to make a reservation the owner gave me a site number, said he took credit cards but not over the phone. Told me to come in and setup as he would not be there and we could settle up later. What service!!! Next time I'm in the area I will stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$37
This nice, small campground is fairly close to Acadia Park and Bar Harbor, but far enough away to avoid the crowds and busy roads. It is off the highway far enough to avoid any road noise. Interior roads and sites were gravel, our site (#15) was nice and level. Site spacing was fair, and many of them were long pullthroughs - great for big rigs towing cars. Fifty amp power was strong, water pressure was adequate. Sewer, cable, a fire pit and table were included. My wife reported the free Wi-Fi was very fast. Personnel in the office was extremely helpful - he basically helped us outline all of our activities while here AND recommended the best restaurants in the area. The laundry room consisted of 3 washers, 4 dryers and a small folding table. It was clean, as were the bathrooms and showers, which were a bit dated. The showers had chairs and hooks outside of the stalls - nice. The nearest grocery stores were approximately 3 miles away and Bar Harbor was a 40-minute drive. This campground is centrally located to at least 3 beautiful scenic drives in the area, just ask about them at the office when you arrive! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
Nice family campground located in Ellsworth. Full hookup 50 AMP, water, sewer, and cable sites that were nicely maintained and level. Park is very treed with a state park feel to it. On site owners that are helpful and friendly. We stayed a few days here while waiting for a new refrigerator for our unit. The park was recommended to us by Ellsworth RV as it was near the shop. They are great to work with. The only negative to this the park was that it was a little off the beaten path if you were in the area to sight see Acadia. There are several seasonal sites, but they were all very neatly maintained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
New ownership as of August 2012 and improvements are ongoing. New husband/wife owners are "hands-on" managers who are on the property all day every day. Gravel interior roads and parking areas with grassy sites. Each site has a picnic table and fire-ring. Some sites are in shade, some in sun. Far enough off the road to be quiet but conveniently located a mile or so from downtown Ellsworth. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
Our first visit to Forest Ridge was an accident, quite literally. We had reservations at the KOA on Mt. Desert Island, but cancelled due to a blow out on our way. After a tire change, we found a great RV mechanic in Ellsworth who got us patched together and ordered a couple of parts to repair us fully. So we decided to stick close by. He suggested Forest Ridge, and we can't thank him enough. Host took great care of us. We had full hookup (including cable TV with NESN- a must for us Sox fans) and a nice shady spot. For those of you who prefer the open space for a satellite, they have those too. The Wi-Fi worked fine. It wasn't super fast or super slow, but we had a smoking signal on the Verizon card and LTE on AT&T so we hardly attached to the Wi-Fi. We had a nice picnic table and a fire ring. The sites were not huge, but quite large for the area. Almost, if not all of the sites were full hookup and pull-through. This campground is quiet, especially at night. They are pretty particular about it, and we loved that. We loved everything about this place. We loved it so much, we extended our time to 2 weeks and are already scheming how to come back for our second visit and make it a season. We are resisting the urge to rank this place low so no one finds this gem. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
Quiet campground nestled in the trees with very friendly and accommodating staff. Close proximity to shopping and 18 miles from Acadia NP and all it has to offer. Great value for the area and is the perfect home-base for a long-term stay. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com