214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Whispering Oaks RV Park (Formerly Columbus KOA) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (979) 732-9494
CGID14383

Whispering Oaks RV Park (Formerly Columbus KOA)

Camp Information
Sites
53
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   7   7   5   9   5   10   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$33
This is a good overnight stop. I wouldn't consider it a destination stop but there are many things to see in the area. We stopped at another place in Columbus but it was quite a mud pit. The roads are asphalt and the sites are gravel and level for the most part with plenty of space between the sites for awnings and slides. I-10 and a railroad are close. We were outside when the first train went through and we were a bit concerned but once inside with the windows and doors closed they weren't an issue at all. I-10 noise wasn't an issue for us at all. There is a small store that doesn't price gouge like some parks do. The internet was solid but speeds wouldn't let you watch movies or TV shows. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2014
$37
The campground was clean and well maintained. The roads are paved with gravel sites. I gave this campground a 5 rating because of the frequent train traffic. The train tracks are about 150 yards from the campground boundaries and the trains come through about every 2 hours night and day. The free WiFi initially was good but after 24 hours, we were prompted to sign in again and the "free access" button was gone, with no Wi-Fi password provided by the office. So basically the free Wi-Fi is only for the first day of your stay. Easy on, easy off, except the entrance to I-10 W was extremely short with a 90 degree turn. We felt it was too tight for a 40 ft RV so we drove 7 miles to Weimer TX and got on I-10 there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$30
Former KOA campground. Nice spacing of sites with some shade trees. Some spaces can be challenging to enter without running over the grass since they are at near 90 degree angles to the access road. Mostly gravel access roads with gravel sites. Moderate highway and train noise (frequent trains with horns). Power ok, did not use other utilities. Campground staff did not know the wifi password, so no working wifi (next morning talking to the owner he indicated he's increasing the bandwidth). Moderate Verizon cell signal with ok data rates. Most sites would not have problems with satellite access. Good overnight stop. We will stay here again when needing an overnight in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$33
Nice and friendly campground. Some long term residents sprinkled throughout the park. Noisy with highway and train. No cable TV and poor local reception. We have stayed here several times, not sure we will stay again. Price is too high for what you get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$33
This was a hard one to rate. We only spent one night, sandwiched between Interstate-10 and a very busy, very nearby railroad track. Didn't sleep at all. But our site was a nice, level pull-thru with a shade tree. The lady in the office and her husband were delightful and helpful. We didn't use the shower, but I'd bet it was clean. If the railroad noise isn't a problem, this would be a nice stop. This was the most expensive campground we stayed at on a 6-week trip and it was not worth it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
This is formerly the Columbus KOA. The mailing address is Weimar so that is the city I listed it in. The electric was solid, water pressure was good. The roads are asphalt and sites are gravel and level. The sites and roads are wide enough that a big rig should have no issues at all. WIFI was fast, and we had no hiccups with it. As with any RV park along a major highway there is a railroad nearby. If you are outside they might be noisy depending on their direction and the wind direction. Once we got inside with the TV at a normal volume we could barely hear them. It is right at I-10 exit 689 so easy off & on, but the road noise is not an issue. One shower/bathroom. We have an RV so we use our own facilities, but I went in and it was very clean. The dog walk and playground were KOAish. There is also an area to the rear of the dog park that people had their dog out in. We were tired on our arrival night so we tried their pizza. We expected a cardboard frozen pizza you normally find, but it was really good. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$32
We stayed here one weekday night the second week in October. We normally would not stay at a park without a pool this far south at this time of year, but an unusually cool front had the temps down to 70F. About half the park is in the trees and appears to be occupied by long term/extended stay customers. We stayed in the all most empty open (good for satellite reception) half and had a FHU pull through with decent WI-FI. There is no cable. The sites are OK and the staff was nice. The biggest problem I had with the park itself was that there is only ONE bathroom. It is a room with a sink, toilet, and shower. If there are any more than a few customers (like tents and popups), needing to use the park bathroom there could be long waits. The park is by itself at the interstate exit - you will need to drive to shop or eat. For light sleepers, the night we were there the train horns blared half a dozen times between sunset and sunrise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$38
Nice asphalt roads throughout park with level gravel sites & grassy areas between. Easy satellite access so no need for cable. Unisex bathroom was clean, but most people use their own in this over nite park. Easy on/off access to I-10. Friendly helpful staff and owners live onsite. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
This park is located about 2/3 of the way between San Antonio and Houston and a good place to stop for the night. The sites are large, gravel, level, and the setting feels like you're in the country: even though it's close to I-10 and a train track. Nevertheless, the trees provide a good buffer and we didn't find it loud at all but rather peaceful. Being a KOA, there's a small playground and a large old tree that has a swing rocker. There is only one bathroom/shower. There is a small dog run: in front of a large fenced forested area for a large unofficial dog park. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$36
My wife and I picked up trailer in - Austin and stopped in Columbus for first night out -real newbies. Camp staff knew this and came by several time during arrival and departure to be sure we were not having problems. Quiet park and very enjoyable first experience to world of RVing. We would stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$36
Easy on/off from I-10. Nice big sites both long and wide. Sites have grass with gravel parking. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$34
We found this to be a great park to spend the night. Yes, there were trains, but we are used to trains so they didn't really bother us. We liked the wide, pull through spaces with tables. Nice park to walk one's dogs in. There is even a small enclosed dog run. Park is located about five miles from a town in either direction along the I-10. You can find just about anything you need in Columbus. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$26
Have stayed here at least 10 times. Is really good. There are very few parks on I-10 between Houston and San Antonio that are true RV Parks as opposed to campgrounds, so cannot be too picky. This is flat, high, and dry and just 50' off of the exit. It is also 1/2 of the way between Houston and San Antonio or 90 minutes to each. Great place to stop to miss morning traffic next day or before evening traffic. Great new owner who is putting a lot into park. Our 45' bus was fine here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
Just off the 1-10 freeway, so handy for a one night stop over. Level pull throughs, Noise from the freeway, and a train runs along the back of the CG. Only one restroom, seemed a little odd to me. We ate in town, " Schobels Restaurant". would not eat there again. Wi-Fi fair. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$32
Great long level sites for all rigs. Asphalt roads leading through out the park to rock sites, good for taking a stroll or riding a bike around park. Owners/staff all very helpful and fun to chat with. Yes, there are trains, but we just turned a fan on and that solved that problem. We did not use the bathroom, prefer to use my own RV. Nice little store with propane available and great BlueBell ice cream! Enjoyed a nice wooden swing tied to a big tree overlooking a pasture for relaxation and getting some fresh air. Recommend it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$32
What a people and dog friendly park this is. Easy access to sites on paved roads. All sites are big rig ready. Used our satellite TV and propane is available onsite. Yes there are trains, but there's also a big pasture with cows to watch from a homemade swing hanging from a big tree. The owners live onsite and are very hands on with all aspects of the park. Would definitely recommend to friends. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$32
Between Interstate 10 and railroad - would recommend earplugs if you are a light sleeper. Grave narrow sites but long enough to handle the biggest of rigs. Very friendly staff. Used it as an overnight stop and for that purpose it was fine. There are several other RV sites in the area that might be worth checking out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$34
Conveniently located to I-10. You can hear the freeway and a train go by from time to time but the noise is not enough to disturb your sleep. Park is clean. Sites are level, very large, but are not paved. Staff is friendly. Unlike the Kerville, Texas KOA..the hook-ups are where you can easily access and actually use them. We would definitely stay at this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$32
Nice clean & shady campground to stay in and we would stay again. Park is located next to train tracks and could be bothersome if you are a light sleeper. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2009
$35
Sites are level and large enough for 40ft rv & trailer. We were tired when we pulled in and the person showing us where the site was argued about how to drive the rv so as to avoid hitting the fire rings. They are well placed and not in the way. We have been full-timing on the road for years, and did not want the help. The water is bad. It tastes as if there may be sulfur in it. We would stay here again,but only after trying another park first. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2008
$31
The access to this park is very convenient. It is right off I-10 a few miles west of Columbus. You probably won't need a reservation to stay here as it is not particularly crowded. A very friendly staff. We were shown to our pull through site conveniently located for easy in & out for our overnight stay. The host assisted in positioning our rig on the site. Clean restroom & shower, but is a single unisex edition. Gravel site required no leveling. Now for the trains. They started at around eleven p.m. and seemed to come through every hour. From reading other reviews this may be more frequent than normal. There is a crossing requiring them to blow their whistle nearby, which is impossible to drown out with an air conditioner fan. I would recommend this place as a friendly and convenient place to stop, but you may lose some sleep. I can't say we won't stay here again, but we may look for other alternatives when passing through the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$31
Great in/out stopping place for big rigs on Interstate 10.Super friendly people with very clean facilities.There are trains close. Owners live on site and very accommodating. Small country store and propane. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$26
Great stop over. Easy to get to. The park is very clean. The train whistle! The track is behind the park, horn sounds at 4, 5, 6 am. It is a great alarm clock. You will not oversleep here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$29
This campground has now changed it's name to Columbus KOA. We turned off just to check it out and were glad we did. It's very neat and clean. Also the sites are long pull through sites and you won't need to unhook. The Wi-Fi works good and the owners are very accommodating. We definitely recommend this park for a stopover or if you have business along I-10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$24
Good for only a one or two night stop. Trains several times a night except, for the weekends, and then there are less. WiFi not all that good at present time: there are days I couldn't use it at all. The owners are trying to fix things up: pool, putt putt golf, new internet provider in the plans. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$28
Very friendly, clean park. Close to freeway and train tracks, so there is some noise. Very good for stopovers. Exit off freeway has a rough turn on it, so be careful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2006
$28
This is a nice looking campground, but beware. The campground is squeezed between the interstate and railroad tracks, with a crossing about 100 yards away. Besides the constant noise, be prepared to be startled by very loud train whistles day and night. Even though their advertisements say recreation hall, restrooms, and showers, there is only one large bathroom with a shower and toilet in the same room, shared by men and women. This has turned out to be very inconvenient, to say the least, for those of us who are not completely self contained and do not want to share a facility. The recreation hall, advertised with restrooms, is only open for large parties as it is not worth turning on the AC for just one or two people, the managers say. They also do not spray their oak trees, so those who have a shaded site here in April are fighting a battle with hundreds of worms falling on the camper and vehicle, as well as the droppings from same. Don't try and get anything from the office, as it's rarely open. Needless to say, this is our first and last stay here. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$28
Stopped overnight. Passport America campground. Nice park but since it is right next to I-10, somewhat noisy - especially with nearby train track. Good for stopping while traveling. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2004
$25
They don't tell you about the line of trees that cover the RR tracks and that the trains run every 45 minutes round the clock. The wi-fi is down more than it is up. Very nice people that run the campground. This is a good place to stop just for an overnight visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com