223604 User submitted reviews online!!
Magnus Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (231) 347-1027
CGID1439

Magnus Park

Camp Information
Sites
72
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   9   8   7   9   7   8   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$23
Perfect spot for a visit to Petoskey and surrounding area. Within walking distance to downtown. We were here in Sept and there were lots of sites available. I assume that sites would be hard to come by in high season. Right on the water with beautiful sunsets. Sites are grass with some low/muddy spots after rain which is the only reason for a seven rather than nine or ten rating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$23
Very nice lake front city park, that is well maintained. The 30 amp power was good and the water pressure was fairly high so I would suggest a pressure regulator. The baths and showers were very clean and but could use a little updating, however they were very acceptable. Excellent free campground Wi-Fi and our MiFi and satellite TV worked very well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$26
Really enjoyed this city park. It's right on Lake Michigan, a few blocks from downtown and right on the bike trail. We stayed here twice in the month. One site was electric (50 amp) and no sewer, and the other was full hookups. The full hookup site was not level but we made it work. It was in the trees on the back row and we could only get satellite with our portable on another person's site. Verizon data and cell was great. Quiet park and the price was great. They do charge a $4 reservation fee. Great area to visit and a great park for the price. There is a small beach, playground for kids, and picnic tables overlooking the lake. Fabulous sunsets. You can also put a boat in the water there. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
Rate is for 30 amp and water, back in site. Reserved here in February via the mail. Received several calls from the manager about site choice. Seems he was dealing with a larger than normal number of 'seasonal campers' so we were moved from a full hookup site into a power & water site. No problem, happy to be able to stay here for a week in July. Site was level with view out front and 'living room' of Little Traverse Bay. Park wifi is very good and we had no problems with cell or DirecTV service. There is a very loud hum, as others have mentioned, from the hospital which is located above the campground. After a day or two it became background noise and we didn't really notice it any more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$24
This campground is situated in a great location to visit Petoskey and the surrounding area. Some sections of the park appear more crowded then other sections. Some sites are within the trees and others are not. The tent section has been converted to accommodate both tents and RV. Some of the sites are below the air conditioner for the hospital while other sites face the water treatment plant. The interior roads are on asphalt and the sites are on grass. The electrical post and water hoses for two rigs are located somewhere in the back. They can be close to the rig or a long way from the back of the rig. This means that one of the rigs will have to run their water and electrical lines under the rig. Some of the electrical boxes contain 20/50 while others have 20/30 amp electrical service. The park has WiFi but we did not us it. Verizon air card and cell phone worked well here. The bath room and showers were OK but dated. We did not use them. It was surprising quiet at night. We would definitely come back here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$23
We love this park and keep coming back. In real estate, the mantra is "Location, location, location" and that is what this park has in spades. Our site, 14, faced the bay and the view was tremendous. We love to bike and having that access to the Little Traverse Wheelway is a big bonus. We found the restrooms and showers to be clean and functional though not luxurious. We were not bothered by the lack of a gate and would like to remind the reader that this a city park and the public has access to the park as well. We were never bothered by the people sharing the park with us. My minor concern would be the Wi-Fi that offered spotty connectivity and that is about it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$23
Tough park to rate! The pluses: easy to walk to the charming town. Close in enough that the restaurants will deliver, if you'd like to enjoy the pretty views of the lake. Big sites, with water and electric, plus dump station. $23/night is a reasonable fee. The minuses: No visible security or gate. Pickup trucks went through last night very late. Today two semi trucks pulled in and have partially blocked our view (thank goodness they stopped idling). Are they paid campers? Who knows. There are no windshield tags to identify registered campers. No paved/gravel pads means muddy sites after a rain, and generally unlevel to begin with. We've used up both bags of leveling blocks. Sewage plant on one end (we didn't smell anything) and hospital on other end (we could barely hear the noise as we were far away) ignorable, but definitely present. So, a real mixed bag. If we were staying longer, we would probably go to the state park and get a rental car (we don't tow), but because we were only here two nights, we focused on enjoying the very nice walk to town and ignoring the rest. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$22
Nice campground, right in town. Many spots are seasonal, and getting in, and out can be interesting (down long street, hills on entrance to the street). Great views, great sunsets, easy walk to marina, downtown. Some noise from Hospital cooling towers, and right next to treatment plant. But, these are minor issues for the view, and location. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$24
First, the highlights; this is a stunningly beautiful location for a campground with access to Lake Michigan, downtown Petoskey and the Little Traverse Wheelway. The sunsets from the beach are as spectacular as any I have ever seen and the 26 mile long paved Wheelway is a jewel. As for the negatives, the site we ended up in was the 3rd that we tried. The first two our 31' travel trailer did not fit in due to the site not being level. The site we ended up in still required 4" boards on one side to get us level. We were on the end of the park that was next to the sewage treatment plant and the odor was slight but persistent. On our site, we did not hear the hospital A/C units at all. Honestly, a few days with a bulldozer could fix the problems with the sites not being level and would greatly increase the accessibility of this park and would be money well spent! We will return but will be much more picky about which site we will stay on. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$24
Magnus Park is a real gem. We were on the second row with a FHU (30 amp: they only have one 50 amp site), and we had a nice view of the water. Sites are grass but we needed boards to level. We were a 30 second walk to the shoreline. Bathrooms and showers were very nice and there were good areas to walk the dogs. We hiked 30 minutes into the downtown area and had lunch at a very good Thai Restaurant but there lots of other eateries. We were parked below the hospital and the hospital A/C was of no consequence-noise wise. Same with the sewer plant at the end of the park. No sewerage odor AT ALL. The park is right on the 26 miles bike path that leads to Charlevoix. Really neat. One suggestion is place a few extra trash cans around the campground and keep a supply of 2x6 boards to help unprepared campers level their rigs. At the suggestion of our camping kin folk, we drove to The Side Door Saloon ( head towards the KOA on Rt 31North ) and ordered 3 Olive Burgers. At 1/3lb per burger, one apiece would have been sufficient. The park manager and his staff does a great job and they have people returning for over 20 years for lengthy stays so book early if you want a site here. Yes, we would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
If you want to be near Lake Michigan, basically lake front, close to city park, green way, bike trail, easy access to the town of Petoskey, this park will suffice. There are not a lot of extras, but for an easy place to camp, be left alone, it is certainly acceptable. The folks complaining about odor from water treatment plant-it was not a problem to us. Issue with hospital air conditioning noise, was not a problem to us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$24
This is a great park with great location if you are looking for inexpensive camping. Sites are not all level and park is located within a short distance of the city wastewater treatment plant (it's at the end of the park). We did not notice the smell unless you were right next to the plant. Sites are fairly close together but still enough room to put awnings out without encroaching on your neighbor's property. Fire pit was right by our door, we weren't able to use it. There is a fantastic bike path, the Little Traverse Greenway that runs along the city's park. The city hospital is right behind the park as well, so you can hear the hospital's power plant running. We really weren't bothered by that. Great location to city's restaurants and parks, within walking distance. Rated a 6 because of site conditions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$26
Very high winds the time we were here, but nice to be near the waterfront anyway. What few sites that had direct waterfront view, were taken up by seasonals, though if you are fine with a w/e only site, you may have a better choice. We asked for a full hookup site and were placed way in the back with 2 rows of RV's to look at, wishing we had toured the park before being placed, as we had minimal views of the water. Bathrooms, though dated, were clean. The showers always seemed to have a mess in them though I do liked the individual shower booths for convenience and privacy. Town of Petoskey is a perfectly laid out to enjoy a walking tour and a nice place to visit, as is the pretty community of Bay Harbor a couple of miles away. Great paved bike/walking path along the waterfront that goes through the CG, and all the way into town. Sites are gravel with some grass, though our's was all dirt and gravel and not level. As previously stated the "poo poo plant" at the end is quite pungent, though at the other end, the loud A/C units off the large hospital on the ledge above us is very loud. Pick noise or smell, your choice, but the waterfront and location for the money is a value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
This park is very convenient to the town of Petoskey. It could be a very nice park, but it need some attention. The roads are pretty rough. The worst part is the sewer plant at the end of the road. It really smells bad if you are close to it. The views are fantastic and the marina and Bayfront Parks are great. I would stay again. Just make sure you are away from the sewer plant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
Clean park, right on the lake. Sites are sand and grass. All of the waterfront sites are taken with rigs that stay here all summer. There is a hospital on the hill behind the park that has a very noisy A/C system. I would stay here again because it is very convenient to Petoskey and Mackinac Island. If the City spent a few bucks and a little time, this could be a great park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$21
Great small regional park right on Lake Michigan. Mixed sites with/without all hook-ups and satellite access. We were able to exercise our dog in the lake each morning. This park has a leash regulation: use one on your dog at all times. Remember if we break the rules, parks will begin to deny pets as guests. Thanks! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$18
Location very convenient to the beautiful City of Petoskey and right in the middle of a bike path running between Harbor Springs, Petoskey and Charlevoix (I think). Beach is extremely rocky. Showers were private rooms with a changing area, very clean. Sites are right on top of one another but easy to get in and out of. We were able to get our Internet satellite dish pointed, but there is a hill behind the park that would makes this difficult or impossible from many sites in the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2005
$22
This park is located right in Petoskey. Excellent access to the bike trail and marina area. Waterfront is within sight and easy walking distance. Beach is very rocky. Nearby sewage plant can give off foul odors if the air isn't moving. Our "pull-through" site was fairly large but low-hanging limbs caught my vent cover and I spent one afternoon replacing that. I backed out of this "pull-through". We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$18
Located on the shore of Little Traverse Bay. Close to historical shopping area. Operated by the city of Petoskey. Very clean and pleasant. Nice waterfront for hunting Petoskey stones or swimming. Was some construction going on next door this year and some large trucks going through but not at night. Will be sure to stay there again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com