223488 User submitted reviews online!!
North Rim Campground (NPS Campground) was rated 9 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (877) 444-6777
CGID144

North Rim Campground (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$9



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   8   10   8   9   7   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$9
The location is fantastic, both the North Rim and the campground. Very spacious, light and airy. Good shade from the tall pine trees. We were there late September during a warm spell, didn't need any heat whatever. AT&T cellular phone and data nonexistent (someone did have coverage, perhaps Verizon, as we saw roaming available. The drawbacks are no hookups (but an excellent 2-position dump station), sites mostly unlevel (some very seriously enough I had to wonder how anyone could get level), could be tough for large rigs to enter/exit the pull thus because of large pine trees at one or both ends of the pullthrus. The pullthrus are paved, off both sides of the paved roads; they are semi-circles, not traditional pullthrus (see the campground map). If you are in a site on the left side of the roads, your RV door opens to the road, not to the side with the picnic bench (as we were in site 69). The negatives are minor compared to the beauty of the location and the feeling of not being at all crowded. Restrooms were kept very clean, didn't use showers or laundry. A very pleasant 2 nights (campground full every night). Rate reflects senior discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$9
We were staying at this park during the Great Government Shutdown of 2013. It is a lovely park with no hookups, but good paved roads and driveways. The pads were unlevel, and after we spent some time leveling, we entertained ourselves watching other rigs go back and forth trying to level. The spaces are large and it is only 1+ miles to the Lodge and visitor center so it is very convenient. An absolutely beautiful setting. We would stay in this park again. Price indicates Senior 1/2 price rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
Wow, this park is great! There are 78 campsites and another 12 tent-only sites, all dry camping. This is the North Rim Campground and operated by the National Park Service on the north rim of the Grand Canyon which is the same location as the North Rim Lodge and Cabins, operated by a concessionaire and location of the U.S. Post Office. I make this distinction because I have seen reviews that associate the North Rim with Jacobs Lake and the DeMotte campground. DeMotte is a few miles away and acts as a sort of overflow for North Rim. North Rim is booked full every day, way in advance. Make your reservations early, like a year early. North Rim Campground is way off the beaten path. Yes, the campground, lodge and cabins are booked full for the entire season (May to October) but the number of people making it to the North Rim is one-tenth the numbers that the South Rim sees. The drive from Flagstaff to North Rim took us about 5 hours with our 5th wheel. The drive to the campground is beautiful and almost worth it by itself, but once you cross Lee’s Ferry Bridge in Marble Canyon it is about 30 miles of uphill. Some sections are long and steep enough that it will push your transmission temperatures about as high as they should go. North Rim Campground is an old, CCC built facility. Technically, there are pull-through sites but don’t let that fool you into thinking your big rig can get in. The pull-throughs are just curved driveways alongside the road. And the curves in many spaces can be very tight with large Ponderosa Pines lining the drive so closely that even pop-ups, Casitas, Scamps, and A-liners sometimes have to be unhooked and positioned by hand. Also, when making your reservation, be mindful of the side of the road your site is on. If you are tent camping it won’t make any difference, but if you have any kind of RV that you want the entry door to face the picnic table & fire ring then you need to pick a site on the right side of the road. The streets are all one way so you can’t (if the rangers catch you) come down a road backwards so you can be turned the right way. But enough of that, this place is gorgeous. There is a mix of Ponderosa Pine and Aspen, wildflowers peak in August, and there are more views of the canyon than you can see in the one week limit of the campground. If you are a hiker they have trails of every kind. Everything from paved walkways on flat ground to canyon rim trails (no railing!); to the multi-day hike to the South Rim. Days are mildly warm, 70’s and low 80’s. Nights are cool. In our few days we have seen anywhere from 41 to 61 for overnight lows. August is monsoon time. There have been frequent downpours and more lightning than I care to be around. This is one of those campgrounds that you have to go to at least once. It is worth the effort. WiFi is available but only if you walk to the campground store and get in just the right spot on the porch. No AT&T phone at all, Verizon is text capable sometimes. If you want to make a call you have to hike out to a point that can see the South Rim where the cell tower is, ten miles away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$9
The North Rim is a hidden gem, not nearly the number of tourists you'll find at the South Rim, and much prettier. The elevation is 8200 ft. Thick ponderosa pine forest, clean, sweet air. You can even schedule a mule ride into the canyon, on the spot, where as the So Rim you would need a 6 month reservation. The sites are all pull-through, with lots of space in between sites. You get a picnic table and fire pit. The park service store is great, lots of groceries, camp equipment, clothing, expresso and soft serve ice cream. We were surprised at their prices, very reasonable. We saw deer, buffalo, and antelope. The lodge and cabins are historical and well kept. There were ranger programs and nature walks avail. Will definitely stay here again, only longer. We got in without a reservation, but it's best to go online and reserve ahead of time. I think we just got lucky. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$13
Wednesday, May 15 – North Rim Campground, Grand Canyon North Rim, AZ. This campground is about ten miles down the park road once you reach the fee station. The road down from Jacob Lake is about twenty five miles down through the Kalbab National Forest. We were there for opening day May 15, so everyone was just coming into the park. Nice campground with 78 sites plus 12 tent only sites set along the rim with aspen and ponderosa trees providing ample shade. Shower and laundry building for a fee at the entrance of the campground. A market with supplies and gifts nearby. Trails along the rim lead to the Visitor Center and Lodge. Beautiful spot to camp and our site overlooked the rim. Cost is now $25 per night without hookups and half that with a pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$18
We stayed in space 20 for 5 nights and were happy with it but would have liked just a bit more shade. I think you can book a year in advance online now so if you want to visit, book it as early as possible. Plus if you have a big rig like us, there are only 7 or 8 spots that are large enough. This place is a great camping experience. Tall trees everywhere, beautiful canyon views, great weather. The spots are quite large with plenty of privacy although navigating the campground itself can be a little hairy as very narrow roads in some parts. We didn't even attempt the dump station, it was that tight. I would stay here again even with no hook-ups and the restrictive generator policy. And they do enforce this policy. They drove around everyday after curfew to make sure geny's were turned off. Highly recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$18
This is a very nice national park campground. No hookups of any kind, but water is available is several places in the loops. Paved roads and sites were not real level but doable. The sites in the outside loop are much bigger and easier to get into with a larger rig. The dump station is a little tight to maneuver so watch the trees. Lots of great views of the canyon not far from the campground. The lodge, store, and various shops are nice, albeit a bit pricey. Mid October and the campground and lodge were still selling out. Make reservations even at this time of year. We tried to make a reservation for dinner in the Lodge dinning room the day before, but the earliest seating was for 9 PM! Many of the sites can be a bit tricky if you like using satellite due to the very large trees. The campground generator hours were a bit screwy too. 2 time periods generators are allowed, 7 to 9 AM and 6 to 8 PM. In order to bring the battery bank up enough to keep things running I had to fire the generator at 7 AM each day. Not something I would normally do. Fortunately the sites are far enough apart not to interfere with your neighbors activities. Also beware of some low hanging limbs as you navigate the campground roads in a high profile vehicle. We were in site #20, which was one of the longer sites. It was probably 80' from end to end. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$17
The campground was excellent, great store and bathrooms in every loop area. The only drawback was the pay showers have no heads on them in either men or women side. Water comes out a open pipe and is very forceful. Sites are uneven and require front and side leveling. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$18
Wonderful experience! No hookups, No pool, No activities, but what a place! Well kept NPS campground, very busy, but not hectic. Lots of shade in the tall pines, and very cool for being in the AZ desert. Hope to go again soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$12
Beautiful forested campground with 5 of the sites overlooking the North Rim (83 total sites). Very quiet and peaceful, even though it was full. Only about 5 sites will accommodate a 40' RV, but all sites are paved. Generator use restricted to 2 hours in morning and 2 hours in evening. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$18
We camped here because of the proximity to the GC North Rim, knowing that there wouldn't be any hook-ups. Beautiful place! However, a few things to note. First, if you have any breathing problems or problems with altitude (~8,800’/~2,700m), you might want to reconsider staying here. Maybe you just want to visit and then camp at a lower altitude. Second, there are very few sites for 40’ motor homes. You’ll definitely need extra boards/pads to get level due to how they’ve built the sites. Getting through the tree-lined streets to the site wasn’t too bad. Also, they assign spaces on a first-come/first-served basis, and you may see some of the more big rig-friendly sites taken up by a tenter. Grr! Finally, if you need to use your generator, be aware that they can only be used 7am-9am and 6pm-8pm. Other than these items, this was a nice Natl. Park campground and served our purpose nicely. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$15
Premier destination with large, well spaced, pull through paved and well shaded sites. Sites not quite level but not bad. Bring your levelers. No water or electricity at sites. Several water faucets about, and a dump station. Adequate bathhouse but no showers. Pleasant campground host. It is well known there are no water, electric, or showers for National campgrounds so OK, but for rating comparison an 8. The trail from the campground to the lodge gave spectacular views. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$1
When we arrived, there were no available sites. We hovered at the registration area and learned that a camper was leaving a day early and he said we could take his site, which he had reserved last November. It was the best site in the park (site #18) with a clear view of the Canyon and easy access to the trails. Huge, private area in front of the camper. Literally, you could throw a stone and it would go into the Canyon. The strength of this park is clearly location, location, location. The setting is beautiful, and frankly, we think this is what camping is all about. Be prepared for limited electric and water. Generator hours are limited to two hours in the evening and two hours in the morning. Bathrooms are clean. You have to pay for showers and laundry. If you don't have a reservation, plan to get there at 9 a.m. and hover at the registration area. Don't be afraid to take a chance, as there are plenty of other options outside of the park, both in the national forest and shortly outside of the gates. There is no question that this is a fabulous campsite. For those very adventurous, there is a shuttle that takes you from one Rim to the other. If you want an exciting experience, plan to hike Rim-to-Rim. The record Rim-to-Rim trip was a little over 3 hours and has stood for decades. Plan for it to take a little longer, but you can easily get shuttled. A lot of pets in this park. (That was the only negative aspect for us!) Beautiful stars. Gas station in convenient location, and nice store within walking distance of the sites. Check the corner gas station for the nightly cookout. Plan to eat at least one meal at the Lodge, because the view is fantastic. Morning sunrise at the Lodge is a high recommendation. Plenty of Ranger programs available for family. The staff and the volunteers are simply the best! (Almost makes me proud to pay taxes!) Without a doubt, we will stay here any time we travel to the Canyon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$18
Weather was perfect so no electric wasn't a big deal. Great campground with the lots very spread out. When we were there, there was no vacancy, but it didn't seem crowded at all. We met two other families that had been to the South Rim and they said the North Rim was so much better. It was less crowded and cooler. We were in lot 47. Lots 14, 15, 11, 12, 13 (in that order) would be better picks. They have a view, but also have a steep hill behind them. Might not be a good choice with small children. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
As National Park campgrounds go, Grand Canyon North is great. You get no hookups so polish up your boon docking skills, but camping in the quiet forest 100 yards from the canyon rim makes up for skimping on water. The campground store is friendly, very reasonably priced and has wireless internet access. I don't know if it's an "official" store service, but the store has an outlet strip where you can plug in to charge batteries. We camped there beginning on opening day of the season so the contracted staff was still working out the kinks in the coin-operated showers ($1.50 for 7 minutes). The shower quality and consistency improved over the four days we stayed there. The laundromat worked fine. All the RV sites are paved: our hybrid travel trailer required a single 2x8 under the right-side tires for leveling. I recommend this park and the North Rim in general to anyone looking for a laid-back way to enjoy the Grand Canyon without the crowds of the South Rim. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$18
As far as National Park Campgrounds go this one is good. Nice trees and a quiet place with a forest feel. The roads are black top and in good shape. I just wish when they paved the sites they had leveled mine #12. It took four two by sixes under the right side tires to get the fifth wheel level and the front to back was off quite a bit too. I did notice some of the sites were pretty level so it’s a roll of the dice on getting a level one. But then again it is a Park Service campground and the scenery and surroundings are worth any problems. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$18
This campground is located inside the National Park in the Ponderosa Pines. A few of the sites sit on the rim of the canyon with a limited view of it. There is a trail out of the campground to the Lodge (1.5 miles one way) that has some spectacular canyon views. All of the sites are pull throughs and will accommodate any size unit. We had reserved 2 nights and had no problems adding a third after we arrived. The campground has a dump station w/fresh water, pay showers, laundry and a store which should have anything you may have forgotten. Generator hours are from 7-9 am & 6-8 pm and the sites are shaded enough that our solar charger was not able to recharge our batteries. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$15
What a beautiful location! Widely separated sites under the tall Ponderosa Pines. All RV sites are paved pull throughs, although ours was very unlevel. No hookups, but a good water fill-up point and dump station are at the entrance. Flush toilets are available and a nice general store, pay showers, and laundromat are very close by. The lodge and visitor center are about a mile away. The CG is only open during the Summer and Fall and reservations must be made a good bit in advance with payment in advance. Many sites are for tents only. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$15
My first impression of this campground was the wonderful pine scented aroma as we searched for our campsite. We had campsite #11, which was on the outside perimeter of the campground with beautiful sunset views. Even without any hookup facilities, this was by far my favorite campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2001
$15
Beautiful spacious sites. Reservations a must. Book early to take advantage of outer rim sites. They are pull throughs parrallel to the road so that you look out into the woods instead of at your neighbors. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com