215029 User submitted reviews online!!
Petoskey KOA was rated 9 out of 10 based on 56 user reviews. Phone: (231) 347-0005
CGID1440

Petoskey KOA

Camp Information
Sites
176
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$58



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   8   8   8   10   5   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$58
Overall excellent KOA. They had a very friendly staff who were extremely helpful. The sites are immaculate and well maintained. The store is well stocked and clean. Bathrooms and showers are in excellent condition. Family activities for older kids and teens are limited. Activities are focused on younger children. The dog park is a bit out of the way but in good condition. This KOA is very close to all sorts of activities in the local area. Only strange thing was the firepits are below ground to make mowing easier. I would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$58
We made reservations at this campground at the last second because of a terrible mosquito problem at Tahquamenon Falls State Park. We arrived on a cool, overcast (56) windy day and were still able to enjoy the pool because it was heated to about 85 degrees. There were quite a few kids activities throughout the weekend. This is a well cared for campground with newer structures and nice landscaping. Roads and sites were paved. The kids loved catching frogs at the small pond. The staff was very friendly and the staff frequently drove past our site for area garbage pickups or a friendly smile and wave. The only plausible complaint during our stay is the playground could be updated. For us, this is a campground we would enjoy returning to for a week long visit to the Petoskey area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$53
This is an excellent park. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We were guided with no problem to our Big Rig Site #94. Cement pad and patio. All the facilities are clean and well taken care of. Full hook-ups. Plenty of room for our RV and car. Close to Lake Michigan, Little Traverse Bay and the Bay Front Park & Marina. Beautiful area. We had advanced reservations which we would recommend, especially if going during the summer. We stayed here for 2 days, and the next time will stay much longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$51
This is a very well operated KOA. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Our site was paved, but some sites are gravel or grass. The paved roads were a little tight for our 40 foot rig. It has a nice heated swimming pool and a jacuzzi. The laundry was clean and reasonably priced. There are activities for the kids. On Wednesday and Saturday morning, they sell fresh warm donuts. The campground is very close to the Little Traverse Bay Wheelway, a bike path that runs between Charlavoix and Harbor Springs. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$48
This is a busy RV park. It appears that the staff works hard at keeping the grounds nice. Paved roads, parking area, and patios - very nice. Many sites have good shade which we like, but there are sunny sites too. Season lease people are in a separate area and are not as "trashy" as some parks' seasonal sites. We had a multifamily group in cabins near our site for a portion of our week-stay and they were very noisy. Understandably this is not something that a campground can control. There are not enough bathrooms for those who will use them so they are not kept as clean as they should. The site size is average for this type of RV park. The site rental rates are high but since they are busy they must be competitive. They have lots of weekend activities if you like those. Staff is very friendly. Wi-Fi was not real great at our site's location - especially using an iPad. When going to this area in the future we will likely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$55
This campground is the nicest campground we visited. The staff is very helpful. The facilities are exceptionally clean and well maintained. Although, they did clean the bathrooms late morning which was inconvenient. The pool is on the small side but clean. The sites are average size and paved. About 1/3 to 1/2 of them are shaded. I like camping in nature. So, I deducted a couple of points for lack of trees and the abundance of concrete. The campground is gated and you are given a hotel room key type card to get in. They have pizza and ice cream available. We loved it here and will definitely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$48
Very clean. An excellent park. Close to Petosky and Mackinaw. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$55
This is a very nice KOA. Beautiful grounds and well maintained. Very small lots, No privacy and very packed in. Fire rings are built inside the ground with no grate over them, I am very surprised about that because it was a major tripping hazard. While we were there dogs were barking everywhere, I think people left them in their RV's. Some people had 3 dogs. Petoskey is a beautiful place to visit. We love the state park there so that is where we will stay the next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$58
This is a beautiful campground and is definitely one of the nicest we have stayed in. The entire campground is immaculate: very clean, neat, and with beautiful flowers and trees. The people are very friendly, and there is plenty to do on days when you don't have plans to go somewhere. Our kids enjoyed the playground and had a big enough area near our campsite to fly their kites. There is also a volleyball court, basketball court, and doggie playground. The pool and hot tub looked nice, although we didn't use them. The laundry facility was very clean and convenient. The cafe has great food and ice cream. The cement pads are nice for parking your RV, and then there is grass to sit around the campfire. The sites are definitely closer together than they are at most of the State Parks, but they are still very nice, and you have full hook-ups and wonderful amenities that you don't get at the State Parks. There's so much to do in this area, this is a perfect location. We came up for the Mackinac Bridge Walk over Labor Day, so rates were a little higher, but definitely worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$49
One of the best campgrounds and the best KOA I have ever stayed at. I originally planned to stay for 3 nights--ended up staying for 6! Petoskey is conveniently located for day trips to Mackinac Island or Charlevoix or the other cute towns on the upper NE side of Lake Michigan. The park is very large, very well-run, and very secure (card security gate access). The back-in sites are fairly level and some-what shaded. The site placement gives one the feeling of spaciousness. The office staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The laundry, showers, and bathrooms were unbelievably clean. The Wi-Fi was very good. KOA's are kid-magnets, so need to be careful of kids playing and riding bikes when driving the internal roads. The pool looked nice, but was totally overrun with kids--would be very nice if they expanded their "adult only" hour to include the evening instead of just the morning! If you visit the park, try Mim's restaurant across the street...the Friday fish fry is WONDERFUL (as are the onion rings)! Food is cooked to order; portion sizes are large and the prices reasonable. It would be best to call ahead, place your order, then run across the street to pick it up and take it back to your site to enjoy with an adult beverage of your choice (no alcohol at restaurant). Also, if you have tire problems, Richards Tire Repair is across the street and VERY helpful and reasonably priced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$58
This is a very beautiful park and we were struck by the extremely well maintained grounds and the friendliness of every staff person we spoke to. The park has two well defined areas, the front where we stayed was very open will little shade except around the edges but it made it very 'big rig' friendly. The pull through sites were all concrete pads with a patio apron and very level. The sites in the back are, for the most part, shorter but very well shaded. The staff knew very well which sites would accommodate what size trailer and were very helpful in showing us where we would fit. The pool, showers and bathrooms were all sparkling and attended to quite often. I never saw a single shower that was left in an unkempt condition. The Wi-Fi also should be praised. It was provided by Tengo Internet and worked perfectly where we were (site 8) but there was another thing that helped it stand out. Petoskey is a destination that has people come in and stay for a while. Nobody drives through there on the way to much else so people tend to stay here longer and there are few overnight stays. What does this have to do with internet access you say? When you sign on, you are given a 30 day login! Not having to login in over and over again each time you want to look something up. Bravo!!! Now for the tough part, would we camp here again? Maybe is the best answer that I can come up with. Our earlier stay was at another park (see my review from the beginning of July) and the park was no comparison in terms of the beauty of the grounds and the staff. The problem was that the location of the other park, right on Lake Michigan, would outweigh for us these factors and compensate for the negatives of the other park. If we could not get a reservation at the other park, we would stay here and not be sorry, it just would not be our first choice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$53
We spent the weekend here and had a FHU, pull-through, end site with 60+ channel cable TV. WIFI was Tengo, but free. I had to go back to the office for help (instructions) on how to connect with Tengo. This informtion should have been given at check-in. As others have said, this is a very good RV resort. It is attractive and well kept with fine facilities and amenities (pool, limited snack bar, playground, weekend ativities, etc.). There are dozens of individually owned newer park models, numerous seasonal sites, and a variety of cabins for rent. So there really aren't 176 sites available. When this park is fairly full (which is most of the peak summer season), the facilities (the pool, laundry, and bathrooms) are inadequate for 500+ guests. There is only one secondary bathhouse besides those in the main building. It had at least one unflushed toilet when I tried to use it. The smallish pool had at least 15-20 bodies in it every time I checked it during our stay. Not all available sites are FHU (maybe 25 are W&E only) and many sites are not satellite friendly due to trees. I must compliment them on their fairly extensive recycling bins at the front of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
With several exceptional Campgrounds in the Petoskey area I feel my choice of the KOA was a good one. From a courtesy phone call the day we were scheduled to check in, to a very helpful staff who assisted us with some email and fax issues, we felt totally at home. As has been said by others, this is the nicest KOA we have camped in. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
Beautiful campground. Super clean. Lovely landscaping with many flowers. Very friendly and helpful workers. Escorted to site. Will definitely return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$42
Just stayed here for 5 days while visiting upper Michigan. This was one of the nicest campgrounds we have ever stayed in. Everyone was friendly and the grounds were immaculate. Pool and hot tub were wonderful. We are planning on coming back. Good job KOA Petoskey. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$53
This has to be one of the nicest KOA'S in the system, with long, level paved sites and interior roads, fast, strong Wi-Fi, resort quality facilities, and a beautiful setting. If it weren't for the hard, smelly well water, I could have easily forgotten that still an overpriced KOA, after all! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
This is the finest campground we've visited in three years of traveling! Quiet, lots of trees and shrubs blocking others, easy drive in and out, clean-clean-clean and very accommodating staff. Garbage is picked up all morning and small food supply place prepares good from 1:00-9:00 daily. Pizza, hamburgers, ice cream - all the essentials. It is close to town and just plain THE BEST PLACE WE'VE EVER STAYED!! and we normally avoid KOAs for the obvious reasons. Wi-Fi is the same hook up we had previously in Mackinaw City, but here it worked. Here it is FREE and I never had a problem with the service. We have stayed in Trailer Life campgrounds that were rated 10/10/10 that weren't up to the standards of this campground. We would stay here again in a hear beat, in fact, I would plan a vacation trip to return to this place. It is the BEST!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$53
This is a nice park for the most part. We were escorted to our site upon arrival, and the gentleman helped us get situated on our lot. The lots in the back portion of the park are shaded nicely, though the ones in the front are not. The lots are too small for me to give a perfect rating. The pool area was clean, but it was crowded at times. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$54
This is a nice park. The roads and sites are paved and the areas are kept clean. The cable TV was good and the WiFi was excellent also. The sites were pretty level and the hookups were in good shape and well located. We enjoyed our stay here and used it for a jumping off place to Mackinaw Island and to areas South as well. There is a lot to see in this area. The negatives were that the sites were a bit close together and the interior roads are a bit tight but navagable. The price seemed a bit high to us also. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$38
This is a very classy RV/cabin park, and the back-in sites are the nicest, in my opinion. However, our rig is too big for those, so we were in the pull-through section, which is pretty open and lacks the woodsy feel of the other sites. Cabins are perhaps the best here: some of them are deep in the woods, practically hidden from view! A beautiful setting, with paver paths and pretty landscaping. A couple grassy tent sites; other small-rig sites are graveled and have attractive shelters over the picnic table (with light and electric outlets). The entire campground is neat and tidy, and the sewer hookup worked ok for us. We did need to use our "accordion" hose support. Facilities were clean with the best bathhouse was up by some of the cabins. Shower rooms in the main building were a bit small and tight, but clean and functional. Security is good: campers are issued a coded card to open the entry gate. All in all, an attractive campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$50
Park has nice level, pull through sites for big rigs on pavement. Attentive staff. All amenities worked great: electricity, water, sewer, cable TV and Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$58
A very clean and well maintained campground. The pool is rather small for the amount of sites they have. There is a very small playground; nice wooded sites and the staff was very friendly. I liked the cafe: with everything from ice cream to pizza served here. We might come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$62
One of the nicest KOA properties we've seen. We were in the premium back-in spots, which were spacious, well landscaped with a feeling of privacy: backing up to the woods with a fire pit area set in the trees. Very nice pool, fantastic looking park everywhere you look. It is obvious that these people have really put in a lot of effort to make this place look great, and feel comfortable. A couple of warnings though. The sewer hook-ups were put in by somebody who felt he was an artist with concrete. There is a raised lip around the threaded pipe, so a standard threaded elbow fitting will not fit! Because of this we had to improvise with a rubber donut and a $10 extender, and ended up with a situation where the sewage is flowing uphill and the hose needs to be emptied by hand: gross! They need to tear these out and start over. Also, they have free internet which is pretty good until you start downloading files: then they throttle the speed back automatically. So if you are somebody like me who needs to work on the internet it is basically worthless. Other than those 2 issues I give this park high marks. And since the Petoskey area is the nicest in Michigan, in my opinion, this park is really worth trying. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$50
This is our second time staying at Petoskey KOA, we stayed last year and returned. We really like the location, very convenient to downtown, the beaches, Boyne area and shopping. The Sites: The campground is well maintained and landscaped, there are many large trees and many sites are wooded. There are many different types of sites to suit most preferences. Most sites are paved or have paved patios, however, the sites are much smaller than other parks in the area and this chain, our smaller travel trailer and tow vehicle hardly fit on the paved site. Some sites are very small, pick wisely. The roads are paved but very tight given the size of sites. Larger Rigs I would recommend the pull through sites in the lower numbers. The park has a very “sub division” feel as there is a seasonal section with super nice cottages was nice to walk through. Amenities/Activities: I was disappointed with the significant reduction in the amount and types of activities included from our previous trip. In the four days we stayed, I think there may have been one scheduled activity (outside of the cafe being open). The pool is nice and well maintained. The playground is nice, but very small. The ice (Over $2 per bag) and firewood ($6 per bundle) were way more expensive than any other park we have stayed. Staff: The staff was very friendly and nice. They seemed to be everywhere with their yellow shirts and electric cars. However, I was surprised that in the morning during checkout, my estimation one of the busiest times, the desk/store was staffed with only one person answering the phones/taking reservations and taking care of the long line of customers buying items and checking out. Bottom Line: This is a great resort in a great area. If you are looking for a well maintained, clean, paved, friendly park this place is for you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$56
One of the best maintained KOAs we have been stayed. All the work campers we met during our visit we extremely helpful and friendly. One even delivered a cherry pie to our trailer. Neighbor had awning blow off while away. Staff came right over and worked on trailer. We stayed in an area with pull through sites. Site we were on was very tight for the trailer and truck (both had to be on concrete drive). Roads are very tight. WiFi was strong and we had good cell phone signal. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$52
We spent 5 nights at this campground and it was wonderful. The staff were friendly and helpful. Many of the staff members are seasonal work campers. The pool and hot tub were great. We swam during the one hour morning adults only time. We camped in a travel trailer and would return to this park if we are back in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$60
The folks who run this park are very nice. This campground was very large with many activities for kids. They also have a small dog run. The bathrooms were clean, but the showers need to be cleaned twice a day. The park is too large to keep them clean with one cleaning. I took a shower with three different insects. Two were alive and one was not. The owner's kindness certainly made up for any shortcomings to the shower situation. I'm not sure we would stay here again due to the high cost. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$59
Nice level sites. Very courtious and helpful. Escorted me to site and guided me into site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$60
This park remains the nicest KOA in the entire system, in our opinion, but you now pay more and get less. They have dropped the daily newspaper delivered to your site and switched over their own former excellent free Wi-Fi system to a free system operated by an outside firm, but it is not nearly as good. Despite all this they have bumped their rates up to almost $60 per night for a full-hookups pull through site. My gosh, this ain't California. And, my biggest gripe with them, is that they recommend an outfit called Ranch RV as an on-site repair firm. I don't know if they get a kickback or what, but this firm is bad...bad...bad. They totally ripped us off. Good park, but consider the price and the problems. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$47
This park is one of the nicer KOAs we have been to. It has nice eye appeal with flower beds, etc. The roads and sites are paved and there are trees and grass. The sites are not large as is common with KOA. The staff is friendly and helpful. Nice pool and activity center. The WiFi works well. Convenient location near Petoskey and other day trips. It is a very pretty area with lots of visitors in summer. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$60
We stayed here for a week and were very pleased. The campground is very well maintained and the staff was very friendly and helpful. It had a lot to do for our 4 year old son. They had several daily activities and a nice pool and playground. The campground is conveniently located to Petoskey and other northwest Michigan sites. The campsites are not the biggest and the camp store is not that big. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$60
Wow, in a time when we are looking to spend quality vacation time with "real value" this fit the bill. This campground is first class and worth every single penny with it's great amenities and activities. We found the staff to be unbelievable and the surrounding area is full of activities. Some of our family members used one of the kamper kabins and they were very clean, neat and set in the trees. For the times we used the main showers we found them to be perfect, very clean and private. They have a great seasonal area separate from the rest of the park where you can rent a really deluxe lot for the whole season. We are considering that for next summer to come and go in the car and enjoy this resort all season long. Thanks for a great vacation we will remember for a long time! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$63
It's a nice park like others have said, but it's too expensive. Sites are on the smaller side. Some too short for your tow vehicle and RV together, and some fire pits are all but unusable due to proximity to your neighbors RV. There are many kid friendly activities but not that many kids as we found out. I can only assume this is because of the "extra" nightly charge for kids. Restrooms and showers are smallish, and dated, but clean. The park has a very high ratio of seasonal campers, and seasonal cabins which made us feel almost like outsiders most of the time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$41
We enjoyed our fall harvest weekend here. Free cider and donuts, fall themed activities and nice hosts. After reading the reviews, I did expect it to be bigger/nicer. The sites were tight as were the circular roads. You have to do some circling around to be able to exit because of the way some some sites slant. There are also some blind corners where we witnessed a motorhome and a 5th wheel coming in on opposite sides and the motorhome had to try to back up because the road was too narrow for both of them to pass. Our site (#36) was nicely treed, but we were unable to put out our awning and the site was VERY unlevel. There was a small pool and playground near the office. Services include trash pick up, firewood delivery, pizza delivery, and a guide to your site. The bathrooms near the cabins were flooded and quite dirty during our whole stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$58
This is an excellent campground! We could not have been more pleased with our nice level site (up front/same side as the office) and how clean and well-maintained the campground was. It is an easy 10+. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$58
Would love to keep this part quiet, have heard wonderful things...thought it would be bigger. Can't say enough about the owners, staff and park in general. The sites up front (near seasonal) are TIGHT, but otherwise... excellent! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$48
This is one of the best RV parks in America. It has been run by the same family for many years,and is outstanding in every way. Clean as a pin, with everything you could possibly want in a campground. My only bad experience, and it was not with them but a vendor they recommend, was having my RV repaired by Ranch RV Sales. Do not use these people under any circumstances. They were supposed to fix three things on my motorhome and I became somewhat suspicious when I called them and the first thing whey wanted to know was my credit card number. I asked why and they said they had to have it in order to come out and they would bill my credit card for repairs. Long story short, they fixed none of the three items, refused to come back and do them over, and billed my credit card for over $400. I have filed a dispute notice with the credit card company and am trying to get the charge disallowed. This is not the RV park's fault, however, and I would highly recommend you stay there--just avoid this "repair" shop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$50
This is a very nice park, close to the city of Petoskey. The park is very clean and the staff is great. The sites are maintained well and the pool and hot tub are great. You must be careful on which site you select because some are very tight to each other. We found that all the sites around the bush line were perfect while some in the middle were either too tight or too open. There are allot of activities close by including stores for quick supplies. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$57
I understand that this park is one of the highest rated KOA's and I would agree. It is all anyone could want in an RV park but it was by far the most expensive place I have ever stayed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$37
Stayed 2 nights. I had asked for a water and electric site and after I parked they noticed I only had 30 amp and asked if I wanted 50 and I said yes and they moved me 2 sites over and I then had full hook ups and 50 amp at the same price. We used the laundry and showers and they were very clean. Very pleased with our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$50
Overall, a very nice park. The only complaint we have is that some of the sites are a little too close together. Most are large enough to extend your awning without hitting your neighbor's slides; but some of them offer very little privacy. We stayed at site 40 and had a good amount of room on our awning side, but site 39 next to us was very cramped and we felt sorry for them. Otherwise, the place was spotless, the hot tub was actually a little too warm for our taste but the pool was heated just right; and the customer service was excellent. We left our trash at the curb at various times of the day and it was always picked up within minutes. The activities center showed movies and had inexpensive breakfast and pizza on certain days. The camp store was modest but seemed to have what you might need. Firewood was $5 a bundle that lasted us about two nights. The park is very well landscaped and maintained. While some may consider $50 a night a bit much, you have to consider what you get. Clean, modern facilities with many activities and amenities. We stayed at a state park for a couple days prior and paid $32 a night once you factor in Michigan's daily entry fee and online "Reservation Fee" they charge you. Furthermore, the sites were just as close together and not level and paved like they are at Petoskey KOA. Furthermore, there was no comparison on the cleanliness of the restrooms. The state parks restrooms were mediocre; Petoskey KOA's were hotel room clean. I think the extra money was worth it! Just be willing to accept the fact that some of the sites are not very large if you choose to stay here. Great family park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$36
This is a very clean campground. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$45
I have stayed in RV parks where I paid $18 per night and left feeling like I had been cheated. This park costs $45 per night, and I feel like I am getting an absolute bargain. I am no KOA fan but this park is absolutely top notch in every respect. Huge paved sites with paved patios, gorgeous landscaping, top notch staff, wonderful free wi-fi, excellent free cable TV, a daily paper delivered to your site, and on and on and on. This park is everything you could want. And, when you leave here, you will feel good about paying $45 per night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$45
Not a big rig park. Over rated at 10-10-10. A very neat park for travel trailers and shorter rigs. I was assigned a site that required I back out and then turn into a hillside to make the exit road. Very well maintained for smaller rigs with excellent landscaping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$60
Sites so close together you couldn't extend your awning without hitting the neighbor's slide. Small strip of grass between sites. Picnic table on neighbor's sewer hookup. Expensive overnighter. Nice laundry and pool. Spa not well heated. Not the best KOA we've stayed at. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$45
Of all the KOA and private campgrounds, this is BY FAR my favorite. The grounds are very clean and well landscaped, the staff is friendly and the camp store is fully stocked, clean and organized. There was a special Mexican dinner one night and breakfasts both weekend mornings. The laundry room was immaculate and everything in the park is conveniently located. We travel with our dogs and enjoyed walking them on the paved walkways and roads with plenty of green areas. This park is close to great restaurants and shopping! We will be back here for sure! We camped in a motorhome and had room for our awning and a nice level site with a grassy area! A total class operation! Restrooms are also clean! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$55
This campground was very nice. Paved roads, paved parking sites and concrete patios at each site. We stayed in #30 along the woods. Site provided good privacy with fire ring behind trailer and set back in opening in the woods. Staff were friendly - maybe a bit over the top in some cases to the point of seeming fake. Grounds are very clean, well-landscaped and maintained. Bath houses are relatively new. Each bath included a toilet, shower and sink with nice room well decorated. No paper towels in baths however which I find rather annoying. I like to use them for general hand-washing on a quick stop or for wiping up my own mess after using for the next person. WiFi worked well throughout our stay. No facilities on-site for fishing although there are numerous places close by. Park seems to be a favorite of big rigs but many smaller units including pop-ups. East side of park is much more seasonal with numerous park models and well-kept seasonal sites. Would definitely stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$48
Great C.G. We have stay here a few times. One of the best in Michigan, and we have stayed in a few. The staff, mostly family, were great and went way out of their way to make our stay great. Don't miss the weekend breakfast; well worth the time/cost. Store, Pool, Kitchen-area, Game room, Bathroom were always clean and well stocked. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$41
I have to agree with the others that this is a first class place. If the wifi went down, we just went to the desk, and they got it up and running. But at night, you just had to live without it, no biggy. Staff very willing to give tips on the area for things to do. One other comment. Our trailer is wired for 50 amp service and we got a 30 amp site. When ac and microwave were both on at the same time, power was on the low side. This isn't the fault of the campground, but just to say if you have a 50 amp camper, you'd be better off requesting a 50 amp site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2005
$40
I generally do not like KOAs, but this one is the exception. It is very neat, very spacious, and is immaculate. Spaces are paved and have large patios. The people who work here are marvelous. My only complaint is that the free wi-fi worked only part of the time, but that is minor. Overall, I find myself in complete agreement with the TL Rating (a very rare event), and agree this place is a 10/10/10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$52
This is a very clean, well kept campground. It is pricy though. The biggest issue we had was they charge a $3 per day fee for each kid. Seems like they are trying to detract from having families stay there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$35
Our first experience at a KOA and it was incredible. We recommend staying in the kabins (as we have no RV. ) RV sites were unfortunately close together without much privacy. The camp was very clean and better maintained than some hotels I have stayed in! The kabins were quiet and private with trees/shrubs between them. Playground for kids and nice pool/jacuzzi. Petoksey KOA has a very nice store with many gift items to buy. They had activites for kids and movies each night. A pavilion for washing dishes, cooking, etc was at the center of the camp, very nice. The bathrooms were cleaned twice a day and close to our kabin. Kabins and bathrooms were well maintained. Do yourself a favor and stop here when you can. We camped here in a .

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2004
$40
Have stayed here a few times, great park, great staff, just a fun place to park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$25
I agree with the previous reviewer comments and ratings. This is a first rate campground, nicely landscaped, impeccably maintained facility with very clean restrooms and showers. This campground would serve a role model for all campground operators. Family run with very helpful and friendly employees who took the time to call Makinaw Island ferry hours and other UP campgrounds for us. We camped in our new CampInn teardrop trailer so we made extensive use of their restroom facilities and very grateful for it's cleanliness. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$43
This campground is in perfect condition, with paved roads, level sites, exceptional washrooms! Located just outside Petoskey and within an easy drive of Mackinaw Island. If the sites had a little more room, it would be perfect, but the pull thru sites are very close together. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$31
I have stayed at Most all KOA's in Michigan and this by far is number one in my book. The location was perfect close to a lake. Not sure the lake name but it was decently clean and fun. Must add: we went tubing. This campground had a beautiful pavilion provided with sinks, and stoves. The bathrooms and showers were clean and conveniently located through out the park. There was a decent size play area, recreation area, and nice pool. The only thing that I saw as a downfall was the parking for the camping cabins. Some cabins you couldn't park in front of. There were three cabins in a row and you could only park on an angle at the first cabin, so if you had the back cabin then you had to carry your belongings farther. The staff was very friendly. This is a campground that I will be visting when we want to visit Mackinaw Island. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com