215029 User submitted reviews online!!
South Higgins Lake State Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (989) 821-5930
CGID1443

South Higgins Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
400
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   6   5   3   5   10   7   1   3   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$27
This is a beautiful park with an excellent beach and boat launch. The campsites are small but most of the state campgrounds are the same. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
Crowded, noisy, and rumors of a big fight the night before. Hey, it's a party place with plenty of drinking, barking dogs, and noise. Fairly level, shady, and asphalt roads breaking up. Big rigs could be challenged. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
We haven't been here for many years, and were apparently remembering it differently than it actually is. The sites were VERY small, tight, poor roads, with people running all over everyone else's site. In any event, this campground is more suited to tents, popups, and other small campers, and to younger folks with kids. If you're looking for fun with the kids, this would probably be the place for you, but if you're looking for peace and quiet, it isn't. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2012
$29
South Higgins Lake State Park for many years has been one of our favorites. It has recently declined in appeal. The park can accommodate large rigs and many sites are very spacious. There are a lot of shady sites if the weather is hot. Most any size RV can be accommodated but check the site description to make sure your getting the size you need because they vary considerably in size. A very popular park so reservations are a must here. Boating, jet ski's and the beach are the strongest points in the park. Our experiences have been over many years and the park has changed. Swimmers Itch is prevalent every year making it miserable for both the children and their parents. The staff is friendly but unable to handle large summer crowds that get out of hand easily. We've decided to move on due to the problems we've encountered over the past several years. This was our favorite park for over 15 years for our family camp out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$26
This campground has turned into a party campground. If you stay in the area near the boat launch, be aware that the people camping near you will be rude and crude. The lake front was taken over by boats big and small and it was loud with the boat engines and the radios from the boats. If you are planning to come here for a family get away you may want to think again, or go to the North Campground. Restrooms were only as clean as the people who used them. It was disappointing to see beer bottles, used condoms and other crap that people wouldn't throw in the provided trash cans. This once beautiful park is now party central. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
LOVE IT! I've been coming here since I was a kid with my parents and now I'm camping with my children. Love it!!! The water is absolutely beautiful and clean! This is my favorite place in the entire world and my family feels the same way! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
We actually quite liked this campground. Granted, it IS quite crowded, but then Michigan has a large population and this campground is easy to get to from the Detroit Metro area as well as Saginaw area. We did have some rather loud 20-something campers whom we had to ask to turn down their music, but for the most part, they did. They were late sleepers, as well (imagine that!). We camped in Mini-Cabin which was small and standard (nothing fancy at all!) but did include a microwave, fridge and full-length mirror. (Wall heater, too, but it was in the 80s and 90s when we were there). Swimming wasn't a problem at all. No swimmer's itch. There are a lot of jet-skiers and boaters with rather loud engines and stinky exhaust fumes. So if you want a quiet place to go, stay away. But for a family of four, it was quite nice. The ice cream at Park Store is awesome, HUGE and CHEAP!!! Order single-scoop only! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
I am so sad. We have camped with a large family group at Higgins Lake for over 25 years. In the last 7 years we switched to Old Orchard Park in Oscoda for our annual trip due to the increasing difficulty getting sites and a rumor of swimmer's itch. We missed Higgins so we recently went with a small family group to camp there over the 4th of July. After two days we packed up and went to Oscoda to finish our camping. Our family was ABSOLUTELY COVERED in swimmer's itch marks ! DO NOT SWIM IN THE SHALLOW WATER IF YOU CAMP HERE! Each mark from swimmer's itch is where a little larvae bores into your skin and dies. It itches terribly. Even taking Benedryl and using anti-itch lotion our kids were miserable for the rest of the trip. My small children were only in the water for an hour and had some marks the next day. We will never take the chance and camp here again. We are very sad. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2006
$29
Beautiful location was one of nicest parks in Mi. Campground has gone downhill; restrooms and showers not cleaned as often as should be. Encountered many rude campers riding dirt bikes down roads, playing electric guitars after quiet time, and partying all night long. No rangers to be found. This park used to be my one of my favorite destinations but after this trip I will not return for some time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$27
My favorite campground. Beautiful lake good fishing. I would try to avoid camping on weekends though lots of rowdy weekend warriors. Also I try to keep coolers under lock and key on weekends. The beautiful beach seems to attract a lot of riffraff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$27
Very nice campground. Beach and lake was very nice and clean. Great place for families. We would go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$27
Very nice state park, we've been staying here for years and always have a great time. Sites are good size and most are nicely shaded. Newer bath houses. Love being so close to the lake and the camp store has yummy ice cream too! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2004
$25
Beautiful campground, divided into an East (162 sites) and West (292 sites) segment. Lots to do including boating, fishing, swimming, etc. , in clear, spring fed lake. Lots of state forest land around for hiking, wildlife viewing. Make reservations early (over phone or on website at michigan. gov/dnr), as campground is very popular in the summer. There is also a North Higgins Lake campground on the opposite side of the lake, which I am not as familiar with, but is also nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$20
Great campground, friendly people and close to Lake. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com