221698 User submitted reviews online!!
Aune-Osborn Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 71 user reviews. Phone: (906) 632-3268
CGID1445

Aune-Osborn Campground

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   8   5   8   7   8   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$29
Excellent place to stay, right on the river. Wi-Fi was excellent. Verizon coverage was good. Over the air TV was good. The view of the passing freighters was wonderful. I would definitely stay here again. Wish we had more than just one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$29
Easy access, leveling easy, good interior roads, utilities worked, satellite from roof came in. Great closeup of freighters going to Soo locks, some 1000 ft long. Great grassy area on river bank to walk dog. No sewer but 2 dump stations with easy ingress and egress. Would stay here again. Big rig friendly. Verizon service was good for Mi-Fi and phone. Had picnic table. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$27
The sites are big and level. Big rig friendly. The park is clean and open, right on the river. You can watch the ships going by. There is no sewer hookups, just two dump stations. None of the campgrounds along the river have sewer hook ups. WiFi, cell and MiFi was good. I would recommend this park to anyone and stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
We had a back in grassy gravel site. It was level with shared pedestals for 30 amp service and water. The water pressure was high necessitating a flow restrictor. The roads were poorly maintained with large potholes which filled with water from the rain. The park is convenient to town and the locks. It was enjoyable to watch the passing ships from our site. Overall it was a pleasant stay with adequate room between sites and quiet neighbors. We would stay here again if returning to the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
We booked our site by mail in February. We had a back in 50 amp and water site on the river - view out the back not the front window of our coach. There is a row of back-in, river facing sites that we would try to get into next time. With the exception of the river front sites the park was not full during our visit. The 50 amp voltage was low and our coach ran more like it was on 30 amp (one appliance at a time). Verizon worked and we had no problems with our roof mounted satellite dish. Dump stations easily accessible - one for rigs going out, the other for rigs coming in. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$27
Generous size sites, with level hard gravel pads. Picnic tables and fire rings. Utilities work well. Benches on the river front where you can watch the ships approaching and leaving the locks. Clean laundromat, but only 3 washers and 3 dryers. One of the washers was out of order our entire stay. Manager says no local repair person for their brand (Speed Queen). Would rate higher if sewer were available and if the laundry were sufficient. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$29
Very nice RV Park right on the river where, from many sites, you can watch freighters (some 1000 ft. long) approach or depart the Soo Locks. Our site (#8) was spacious for our 40 ft. rig and had a nice view of the river. Water and electric only. A dump station is on-site. Needed electric cord and hose extensions to reach the outlets. Free (but slow) Wi-Fi. Verizon 3G, so data was also slow. Showers were clean. Short drive or bike ride into town to the Soo Locks Visitor Center where you can view the freighters close-up. Biting bugs were almost non-existent, even in July; however, we did need heaters several nights. A very good Park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$27
Very nice city park, right on the river. Sites are plenty wide with firm packed gravel for parking. The bathrooms and showers look new and are very well maintained. Two dump stations with easy access. Lots to do in the area including the Soo Locks. The freighters come within 200 yards of the shore as they begin to turn the corner of the river right in front of the campground. Need to book early if you want one of the premium sites right on the river. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$28
We love this place! It was our 4th visit over the past 20 years. We had a magnificent river-front site with 60 amp service. No sewer hookups. But, the view of the river and the big ships makes this a great place. Also, the restrooms/showers are absolutely excellent. Showers are in private "cells". We WILL return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$29
We had a wonderful site right on the river. We could sit out and watch the freighters go by. It was really cool. Sites were close together and no trees. They were level and there were no low hanging trees. Great location for visiting the locks and sight seeing in Sault Ste. Marie. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$42
We arrived the weekend after Labour Day and the park was full, only 4 spots left. It's a nice park, lots of places to walk the dogs. We had a shaded spot along the road, but the rest of the grounds were quite open. There are park benches along the water to sit and watch the huge ships passing by. It was easy access to the locks and other points of interest. The park was clean. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$29
We stayed 4 nights and really loved this open park. It really IS on the river and can see the 800 ft freighters go by. The only drawback is no sewer but we would stay here again in a heartbeat. The washer and dryers were newer and the room was immaculate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
This is a great park, well located to allow us to watch ships traveling up and down the river on the way to the Sault Ste. Marie locks. The park staff were extremely helpful and prompt when dealing with issues. We had problems with the power to our site when we arrived, and they had an electrician out and the repair completed within 30 minutes! The only reason I didn't rate this park a 10 is because there's no sewer hookup at the sites. There are, however, two dump stations on the grounds that are easily accessed. We'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$29
Stayed here for two weeks this July. New campground managers this season. Grounds look terrible. Tall grass/weeds. Outer area of campground is mowed, but sites are not getting mowed if occupied. Bathroom went 3 days before paper was picked up in toilet stall. Generally clean after that, but could be better. Shower stalls were bad! Can tell they do not sanitize these at all. Smelled bad every day. Pieces of used soap laid on the shower floor several days. Globs of hair remained for days. Waste baskets not emptied daily. Office area is no longer friendly environment. Felt like I had to get in and get out. Internet - just forget it. Very bad! The park needs to install a commercial grade Internet connection and then add repeaters around the park. New software is being used to track reservations, but I talked to several fellow campers that have had to move from one site to another because there reservations were screwed up. I had to confirm dates on mine several times via phone and email before the dates were what I originally specified. The email address on the website for Roger (new operator), doesn't seem to work anymore. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$29
There are new people running the campground this year. They were friendly and helpful. Restrooms & showers were nice and clean, grounds were well kept, sites were flat and grassy. The only reason for the 9 was the WiFi was really, really bad. I was told by another camper that the old operators left and took all their WiFi repeaters with them. Yes, I would stay again and recommend this campground to others. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$29
Great place! Laura seems to run the place and is superb! Park is what others should try to be like. Super view of passing ships, nice sites, good utilities, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
Very nice place to stay and visit the area. There are no sewer hook-ups and the sites can get a little tight in spots, but the view of the river makes it well worth it. The dogs loved their walks along the water and the park next door. The parks WiFi is just OK, hard to get on during busy time. Our Sprint phone/Hot Spot worked OK. Paved streets with level sites. The place gets booked up, so be sure to make reservations early. We would stay here again, we stayed in a 36' Motor-home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$24
Love this place! Absolutely the cleanest campground and facilities ever and the staff was wonderful. We were in site #34 with a full view of the ship activity and fabulous sunsets. This is a great base camp to visit attractions on both Lake Superior and Lake Huron. The campground is like a large parking lot and I'm sure it can be uncomfortable if it is very hot or very cold. Our weather was perfect, so that boosts it's score. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
Nice RV park on the St Marys River to watch lake freighters. No sewers, but good dump station. We had 30 amp and water site, power was good. No trees so rooftop satellite TV dish worked well. Sprint cell phone worked well, data & hotspot was very poor. Free Wi-Fi worked good, sometimes had trouble getting on when busy. We had no trouble maneuvering RV in the park. Antlers restaurant 1 or 2 miles away had good food. Soo locks about 3 or 4 miles away. Very few children, lots of seniors, several campfires at night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
The lady that currently has the contract to run the place is doing a SUPERB job. The city did a fine job selecting them to run the place. Now, who is in charge of capital improvements to this place? It needs trees, trees, and more trees. The contractor stated that some RV folks don't like them because they hit their RV's. Why not hire a professional to recommend tree placements in this place. It is nothing more that a rock filled field. Placement of fire pits is horrible and need to be redone. As much money as the city makes on this place you would think they could soak a few bucks back into it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Nice site, but could use some more shade trees. Great views of St. Marys water way and passing freighters coming to and going from Soo Locks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$29
Very nice campground with clean showers and rest rooms. Great views of the St Mary's river: can watch freighters go past campsites. Some sites can be tight getting into. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
Sites can be a little difficult to back into based on where your camp site is located. The interior roads are good and the gravel/grass sites are fairly level. The bath room and showers are extremely clean. Traffic noise is almost non existent. There are many river ships traveling up/down the ST Mary river to/from the locks and you will get an up close view of them as they go by. The staff was friendly and helpful. WiFi was good. The water and power connections are a little different in that they are located to rear and between camp sites. Based on your site, you could need a 40 foot water hose and electrical connection. There is a nice golf course just across the street. We played a round of golf: nice course. We were here 10 days. We would certainly camp here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$27
This campground is basically a big parking lot but it's a great spot for watching the big barges and ships move down the St. Mary's River on their way to Lake Huron. You get excellent views from almost anywhere in the campground. The office staff was very friendly and the grounds are well maintained. Be sure to visit the "Soo Locks" while here! Seeing the barges, etc. move through the locks to and from Lake Michigan and Lake Huron via the St. Mary's River is not to be missed! There's a ferry next door to the campground that runs back and forth to Sugar Island. There is also a hamburger joint walking distance from the campground. This campground is also fairly easy driving distance for sight seeing around Whitefish Point on Lake Superior and the Tahquamenon Falls state parks. Seeing this area was a highlight on our seven week long trip. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$29
This may be one of the cleanest places we've stayed, and Laura, the manager is outstanding. It is located right on the St. Mary's river and we happened into a site right on the water. We watched the huge ships pass through to and from Superior. The view of the Canadian side was beautiful at night. It is convenient to everything--the locks and local sights. A great place to stay while sightseeing. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$29
Hookups were sometimes difficult and seemed placed wrong, a long ways from the RV. No shade and all sites were exposed to the winds coming off the lake. Lake scenery was interesting with big boats headed for the locks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
Nice campground on St. Mary's River to watch the ships go by. Gravel sites are level, clean and large. Great staff. Lots to do in area. Stayed here 10 days and could have stayed longer. Need sewer hook-ups and paving to get a 10 rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
This is a great park. Stay there each year especially to see the ore boats come through the locks. The bathrooms are pretty much new and cleaned everyday. The staff is so friendly and the park is a must if you come to the UP of Michigan. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
This was our first visit to this campground. We stayed in the third row off the river. The bathrooms and showers were very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. They were in the process of installing new Wi-Fi equipment, which worked very well. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
The city is not taking care of this place. Grass (really nothing but weeds) not mowed, no updates, no trees, just the same old place. The view is fantastic if you have waterfront but the rest of the place leaves much to be desired. Management is great. It would be nice if the city planted some trees and rearranged fire-pits as needed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
Excellent location for viewing the freighters of the great lakes approaching to leaving the Sault Ste Marie locks. When you reserve a site there is a $2 reservation fee in addition to one night's site fee. There are no sewer connections, but two easily accessible dump stations with drinking about twenty feet away. The restrooms were some of the nicest we've seen this year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
This park is outstanding for those interested in a riverside environment. Fantastic close up views of the Great Lake ships. Even though we were in the 3rd row back from the shore, we had a decent view of the river since the sites are staggered. And, not all sites are back in as another reviewer mentioned. In fact most motorhomes were situated facing the river. Some 5th wheels had to back in due to some sites proximity to the shore. Modern, clean restrooms and showers. Showers are secured with a combo and are private. No notice of any odors as mentioned by another reviewer. We stayed three nights and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$23
If you visit Sault Sainte Marie to view the ships, this is the place to be. Bulk carriers traveling through the locks pass within several hundred yards of your campsite at this city park on St Mary’s River. There are some drawbacks. Sites are crowded, there’s very little shade, the 30-amp power service may exhibit low voltage levels, and the Wi-Fi service ranges from good to unusable, depending on the load. On the other hand the park is operated by a pleasant, helpful staff, it’s located within a few minutes of most of the visitor sites on the Michigan side of the river and offers reasonable rates. The rate shown represents the weekly fee. If you are considering using this campground as a base for exploring the Canadian side, be aware that the wait times to re-enter the United States may be an hour or more during peak periods. Check with those knowledgeable about the crossing when making your plans. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$23
Very nice park with friendly staff. Rate is based on a weekly rate; park does not offer a discounted monthly rate. Close to facilities. Has great views of the river and the freighters. Would rate this park higher if it had sewer connections. The older section of the park had low voltage at times. There is standing water after rainfall. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Lovely city municipal park right on the river. There are virtually no amenities other than being on the river. But the prices are very reasonable and the sites are fairly level and nicely spaced. The office staff is very nice and helpful. Due to the proximity to the river, there are no sewer hookups, but there is a dump station. It is awesome to be doing something and look up to see a huge tanker moving silently by your campsite! The Saulte St. Marie Locks visitor center has a listing of approx. times for the ships to be moving into/out of the locks so you can plan your time to watch the big ships. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$27
Rate is daily rate for 30 amp electric and water, back-in site. Asphalt roads, gravel pads. Pad size varies depending on location. Right on the St. Mary's River with an excellent view of the large ships in the river. Table and fire ring at each site. Exceptionally clean bathrooms and showers. No trees so excellent satellite and Verizon reception. Park Wi-Fi was good. We found it be an excellent park to use as base while visiting the Sault Ste. Marie area for a few days, and we would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$27
Stayed here 3 nights. Wasn't able to get a waterfront site - didn't make a reservation. We could see the ships coming by and then walked the short distance to the shoreline. Great place to stay while in the area. Clyde's Drive-In within walking distance - HUGE 1 lb. hamburger. The downtown area is under major construction - take an outside route to miss it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
Stayed here a couple times a year for the last 4 years. Excellent place if you are a BoatNerd! Park has Wi-Fi, but it can be sketchy the farther your site is from the office building (They need to have someone work on better coverage). Restrooms are brand new and very clean. Showers are private and very clean. Staff is very friendly. It would be nice if the city would begin planting trees to create shade. There are very few trees and you will most likely be in open sun. Camp sites are not bad size with water hookup and 30amp (with some 50amp) service. If you want to get a riverfront site a reservation is a must and then good luck as they are usually in high demand and given to the multi-month stay for the whole season people. Campground says this isn't true, but if you are there enough you see the same people on the same sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
This campground is located on the St. Mary's river, and offers good views of the river and passing freighters. Bathrooms and showers are very clean. The campground itself is mostly open without trees, and tends to flood somewhat during rainstorms. Also, due to it's location on the river it tends to be very windy. Lastly, it is located next to the sewage treatment plant, which can make some days a little less enjoyable. Not recommended if you are looking for a more rustic campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
Aune-Osborne Campground is the city park of Sault Ste. Marie. It is on the US side of the St. Mary’s (Ste. Marie) River and one can easily watch the 1000 foot iron ore freighters heading to and from the Soo Locks. Their sites are gravel with grassy lawns between sites. Only 5 of their 99 sites are 50 amp, the rest are 30. We requested a water view site and told them we had a motorhome. The site they assigned, as is the case in just about every waterfront site, was a back in only. (That won’t work for a motor home unless you can look through your rear of the rig closet.) Fortunately they were very accommodating when we asked to move. Gave us site #8 which offered both side and front window views of the river plus a nice front lawn. Sites come with a fire pit and W/E but a dump station in lieu of site sewers. Not a problem. It rained the entire time we were here but we entertained ourselves with visits to the locks, the Point Iroquois light station and local restaurants. Surprisingly fuel (diesel) was less than at Mackinaw City (our last mainland stop). Park has good Wi-Fi signal and our Verizon cell and Mi-Fi also showed 4 bars. Showers here are individual stalls, spacious and first rate. As an aside we were departing just as their “Engineer Week” was starting up. This includes a once a year walk free through the locks, over the international bridge (w/passport in hand), a pancake barge, fireworks (it’s the Canadian version of the 4th of July) so we arrived a few days too early. Such is life. In Sept we understand the salmon (Kings, Chinooks and Steelheads) run and the fishing is superb. Again we’re early but not a problem so this information is included for our camping friends who might want to ensure their timing is better then ours. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
Arrived on a rainy day, and the sites weren't as swamped with water as some earlier had indicated. Rig parking is up on somewhat elevated stony pads. Great view of the river and ships. We were self-contained so didn't sample the showers, but office and laundry were nice. Probably the best place to stay in the Sault area, with very reasonable rates. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$29
Very nice campground on the St. Marys River. Can watch the big ships go by. Site was on the river. WiFi did not work well inside the RV, but worked well outside on the picnic table. Very clean showers, bath and laundry. Laundry was reasonably priced. No concrete pads, just gravel, muddy when rains. No sewer, but had a dump station. Very friendly staff. Great place to stay while in the Soo area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
Very nice park. It was clean and well run. The sites by the river have great views of the passing ships. There are adjacent park lands where you can go for a pleasant stroll in the evening. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
Despite its glowing reviews, this campground was a disappointment. Muddy sites, very close together, no shade, and not much of a camp store. Our check-in was handled by a staffer who appeared really not to care if we stayed or not. The superb restrooms/showers and the view of the ships going through the locks were about this campground's only saving graces. We had considered staying for several nights, but after seeing our campsite, we moved on to greener pastures. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
This is a fantastic park for viewing the freighters on the St. Mary's River. Rating would be higher if there were sewer hookups and better drainage of sites during heavy rain periods. There was an unusual amount of rain when we were here and there was mud and large puddles of standing water everywhere and on the sites. Quite a few sites were not useable because of that. There are no sewer hookups because of the proximity to the river (within yards). Very clean restrooms and showers. Front office staff is very helpful and very friendly, you are made to feel very welcome when you check in. Having a 40 foot rig was not a problem getting into the sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
I cannot rate a park with only 30 amp and no sewer higher than a 6. Thin grass between sparse gravel pads. Muddy entrance to the pad from the narrow paved access roads. Very little available as far as RV accessories. Nice views of the river for a few if you reserve months in advance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
This is a decent campground and the location is good. I need more amenities for a 10 rating though. The pads are sparse gravel and dirt, and there is no sewer hook up. The sites are oddly set up though. The pad is kind of centered in the space, but the electrical and water hook ups are at the edge. You will need long hoses and electrical cord to hook up. And by parking on the pad you will have 20+ feet on your back side. On the patio side, your neighbors electrical post is very close to your door. The views are nice and the water is close. There is a boat ramp right next to the park. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
It is tough not to give this place a solid 10, but I almost never give a 10 rating. I came close to doing it here, especially for what you get for the $27.00 price. Great location on the river with large sites, though no privacy, it is wonderful to see the locks and the river from most sites. We enjoyed watching the sunrise over the river, with the freighters moving past in front of us towards the locks. Bathrooms and showers were very modern and extremely clean. Check in was a breeze, and location to the cute little town and the Wal-Mart/grocery stores/gas stations and I-75 access was perfect for an overnight. Two dump stations were very nicely placed, and paved roads through the park were also appreciated. Golf course, and 2 boat launches were right next door. The only reason I would not give it a 10, is there is not enough grass on the sites, and no landscaping in the park. Also, though the individual showers were wonderful and set up well, there were not enough for the whole park which is easily full and busy. Waiting lines for the showers in the morning looked quite common, and we were here during a weekday. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
Easy access from Sault Ste Marie. Great views of ships passing through. Flat, easy sites with access for big rigs. Lots of mayflies in July! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
This was an excellent stay! The only drawback was its newness. The campsites are close together with a few small/ young trees. Getting a campsite on the river is a must! Beautiful views. Facilities are new and outstanding! Has private clean showers and easy access to the campsites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
We had a site on the river but the weather didn't cooperate. Was cold, windy and very wet. The sites are very close and are mimimal in what they provide. Most of the time the electric was in the very low range per our voltage meter, so we were lucky not having to use the A/C. The water tasted like iron so bring a filter. We would not stay here again: too open and exposed. It's like staying in a giant field with roads. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
For a city park, this place is wonderful. Nicely tiled bathroom and showers, view of the large ships travelling from Huron to Superior via the Soo Locks. Although we did not get a river view, the view is wonderful no matter where you stay in this park. The staff is absolutely fabulous. We would stay here again. Don't forget to visit the soo locks in town, it's about a 10 minute ride via bicycle, lot's of viewing towers for large ships that go through the locks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$26
What makes this campground so special is the view (including proximity to the big lake freighters that glide right by the shoreline), and the relatively new, very clean and pleasant bathhouse. Staff are friendly and helpful too. The place is popular, and even midweek in September, was almost completely full every night. Sites are well-spaced for the most part, and grassy. Utility placement is a bit odd: many sites will find their water or electric pole on the wrong side, or needing extensions to hook up. And with no sewer hookups, expect a bit of a wait at the dump station. Wi-Fi is very spotty. But the view, the nice bathrooms, separate shower rooms and clean laundry area, make up for it. We would definitely stay here again if visiting the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$27
We love this park. This was our 3rd visit over several years. Since our last visit 50 amp service has been added to several sites, a very nice new building added, housing the bathrooms, laundry and office. We made a reservation about 2 weeks before arrival and got a 30 amp waterfront site. Great for watching the huge ships coming to and from the Soo locks. Also a great view of watching seaplanes take off and land. Our site was level and very large as is most sites. Do not believe there are any sites with sewer. Very few if any bugs or flies!! We definitely will visit here again and it's a bargain at $27 per night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
This is a very nice park right in the river with great views of the passing ship traffic. There are 50 amp sites and river front sites but we made our reservation a bit late and had an interior 30 amp site which was just fine. Sites are level and grassy. The Wi-Fi worked great at our site but does not necessarily reach to the whole campground. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
This campground was a pleasant surprise: located right on the St. Mary's River, just east of the the "Soo Locks", with enormous freighters steaming right in front of the campground in both directions. When one checked in, you were given an informational sheet that showed the identifying profiles of each type of ship, their length, tonnage, and an explanation as to what each carried. The campground was clean and well-cared for. We would definitely stay there again. Coming from the south there is a "short-cut", eliminating the need to go through the middle of town, but if coming from Ontario, you must cross the international bridge and go right on the main business street to get to the campground, which is just 2-3 miles east of downtown. That said, there are no sharp turns necessary for big rigs. Our 36' motorhome pulling a car had no difficulties. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
Nice park, right on the river. Great views of the passing ships. Very few 50 amp spots. The only negative to this park is the lousy wireless internet. Constantly up and down and not designed to handle 100 campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
We came to Sault Ste. Marie specifically to see the ships, and we were not disappointed. Although we were not able to get a waterfront site, the visibility from other sites was excellent. When reserving, you get a specific site, and the staff gave us a site with good visibility. The sites are reasonably spacious and level, grassed with gravel under the rig. There is no shade, but the rate includes all the electricity you might need for AC. No site is sewered; there are two dump stations for camper use. The campground is municipally owned and operated by a contractor. WiFi worked very well for us, with occasional delays. Adjacent to the campground are two boat launch sites and a recreation park. Although there are no obvious seasonal sites, some of the campers appear to come here regularly. Everyone was very friendly, both the campers and the staff. There is a nice path right along the river with park benches for watching the activity and chatting with other folks. It is only 3 miles to the Soo Locks where one can watch the big ships locking through; not to be missed. We stayed here three nights, logged some two dozen boats and ships, and would definitely stay here again when in the area. We rated the park a 9 instead of 10 due to the lack of sewers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$26
The reasons I didn't rate this campground higher are the lack of grass [it's pretty barren], no sewer and very slow wifi. The waterfront sites are great for watching the river traffic [we had one.] TV reception is sparse unless you want to set up a dish. Sites are level and easy to maneuver in and out of. We had a 50 amp site but are 30 amp. The guy in the office loaned me an adapter. Good service. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
Camped here over Memorial Day weekend. The View of the Ships passing the campground was tremendous. Not more than 100 yards from our site. Wi-Fi was available but extremely slow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$27
This is our fifth time vacationing at this campground. The service/shower/bathroom build is two years old and kept very clean. The employees are friendly as are most of the campers. Many of the campers are regulars there. The sites are well marked and very level. I only marked it down a notch due to the lack of shade trees. The view of the river is fantastic and so interesting watching the laker ships passing by. Close to the Soo Locks and area attractions. New power hook ups and 50 amp service at some sites. Owned by the city so well cared for. Sites are good sized also. Again, this would be a 10 except lack of shade trees, but that's only in my opinion. GREAT PARK. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$29
We loved this campground. We traveled with three other big rigs. The sites were not crowded. Two of us were riverside, the other two still had great views. We watched U.S. and Canadian ships go by as well as the local boat ramp traffic. We thoroughly enjoyed all of the activity and the very friendly people. The only reason I gave this a 9 and not a 10 is because there was no sewer and we did not have 50amp, although some sites did; I would not let this deter me of staying here again, I did not want to leave this time and would look forward to coming here again. We stayed 4 nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
This is a nice park right on the St. Mary's river with views of the passing ships. Paved roads, grass sites. Wifi worked well. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
Very nice park right on the St. Mary's River. Many sites have view of river and one can watch the ore boats go by. I thought the boats would be noisy at night, but I never heard them. Very convenient to town; many attractions, including the Soo locks are within 1-3 miles, convenient for biking. Wi-Fi available: my site was quite far the office and I had 3 of 5 bars (Wi-Fi signal strength). Staff very nice and helpful. Restrooms and shower have very nice tile, require code to gain access, and are very clean. I will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
If this campground had sewer hookups I would have given it a 10. Excellent shower and bathroom facilities. Great view of St Marys river and all of the big boat activity. Close to Soo Locks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$29
We love this park. Showers & toilets are new & kept spotless. River front sites are very popular & great for watching the freighters. Close to downtown with shopping, dinning and the Soo Locks. We found the people running the park friendly. Reservations are a good idea. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$22
A very spacious park. The WiFi works well. Our site was well away from the river but we could still see the passing boats. The river sites are wonderful. I drove through the Soo Locks RV Park and found it to be rather crowded. I will stay at Aune Osborne again and try to reserve a riverfront site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
Superb views when you have waterfront site on St. Mary's River. Great for watching Ore Boats. New system of allowing reservations is a great improvement over old system of wait for opening. WIFI has been added. Was real dry and dusty. City needs to put money back into campground with landscaping and trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$23
This city-owned park has been upgraded, with a new central bathhouse, new reservation system, and free WiFi throughout the park. Word is that the operating contract has been awarded to the owner of the crowded nearby Soo Locks Campground -- it will be interesting to see what that means. Waterfront sites are well worth the premium $27 per night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$18
Private park (might be city or county owned)open from May 15 to October 15. Very large sites with view of St. Mary River and Soo Locks ship traffic from many of them. Bathrooms old but clean, 2 dump stations. Will definitely return. Lots of history and sight seeng in area We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$21
This is a city operated campground with very large sites that are located on the St. Marys river. Although it is not a plush facility, the views of the boats on the river are outstanding. It is very easily accessible and is, in our opinion, the best facility in Sault Ste Marie. You will hear boat whistles if there is fog. This is an area where the temperature will drop very quickly at any time of the year. There is minimal activity for children. The locks boat trip is nearby. The Corp of Engineers viewing area and downtown are approximately 3 miles. We try to visit this facility every year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com