206886 User submitted reviews online!!
Soo Locks Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (906) 632-3191
CGID1447

Soo Locks Campground

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   5   8   10   2   8   1   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
A very pleasant place right on the river. Family owned for decades. Rate varies with distance from the river. Very convenient to the locks and museums. Kind of long for a walk, but easy by bike to everything that matters. We were there two nights (long for us) in a small motorhome. The morning coffee is a real nice thing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$29
Our stay was at the beginning of the season, so sites were readily available. Wi-Fi was good; fun watching the tankers going up and down the river. Very clean and well maintained campground. Would recommend it for overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
Its hard to review this campground because the people running it are all very nice people, and knowledgeable, but the park is what it is.. SOO Lakes Campground is an older one with infra-structure that needs updating, so those nice people must be very frustrated, as were we. This Labor Day weekend the park was nearly full so its apparent that it will survive, but not without problems. The electricity is inadequate throughout much of the park with only 30 amp connections, but worse than that, when a few air-conditioners begin to run on warm days the voltage gets pulled down drastically, potentially causing situations which could cause electronic damage to newer rigs. One camper had an electrical management system which was designed to cut off power to his motorhome at 104 volts, and that system terminated power to his rig four times in about twenty minutes. He used a voltmeter at the pedestal and verified that his system was giving accurate voltage readings, confirming the cut-off point. The owner of the park used his voltmeter and the two readings were almost identical. Voltage below 104 volts could adversely affect the air conditioning units that most RV's have, for example. I wouldn't want my HD TV sets running on voltages that low. There is also very high water pressure in this park, and pressure regulators are a must, but there was no indication from the owners of this high pressure which we think is somewhat negligent on their part. We actually saw two hoses explode while visiting the park. At a minimum, a notice posted by the campground when checking in the campground concerning this water pressure could be posted to help prevent this situation. The Wi-Fi in the park seems to be non-functional most of the time, and we were forced to use a Verizon card which had nearly reached our monthly data limit. The campground's system would have been very helpful if it had worked, but alas it did not, for us anyway. Other RV owners that we talked to confirmed this situation. On the positive side, there are about fifteen sites facing the St. Mary's River which are beautiful sites. and are available provided reservations are made in advance. We suggest several weeks ahead, and some folks stay there for the summer and actually book those sites months in advance. We might stay here again, but would want to know that the site that we selected had an upgraded electrical system. Otherwise, we cannot recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
We had a site on the third row, but could still view the freighters going by. Our site was grassy and fairly level. A lot of summer regulars that were very friendly as well as the staff. No sewer but dump station available. Only about a mile from Soo Locks, so convenient to visit them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Found a good spot to call home for a few nights & I'm glad I found this one. Good electric, great wi fi (I asked for a site with powerful wi fi signal), good water pressure, level. That was all I was hoping for. I got it all, plus a GREAT view. Enjoyed a meal a few blocks away (at The Antlers). Can't think of anything more I need. I'm a low-demand guest, working from my RV & taking in some local sights. Chose this park for its convenience for walking to sights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2012
$29
Campground is tiny, and site hook-ups are awkward, with water on driver side, electric on the other. Do not bring children. They will be bored to tears. There is no bike riding, rollerblading, or skateboarding in the tiny park, no swimming or wading in the water, 4 swings make up the playground, arcade from 1986, and really nothing to do for them but sit at camp. Do not count on this campground being children friendly. Every sign you see is another rule on something you cannot do. You can tell the facilities have not been updated since the early 1980s, and they are not trying to update anything. I would not come back. We booked a two night stay, and are leaving a day early to head to Brimley State Park where at least the children can have something to do. If all you want to do is sit in your RV and watch boats, then this is the place for you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
We spent three nights at this park in September when the weather was absolutely perfect which may be one of the reasons it was so enjoyable. The park has a great location right on the banks of the St. Mary's River and a terrific place to sit and fish or just watch the large ships as they go in and out of the locks. Friendly staff, a very nice place to sit and drink FREE coffee in the morning. Large, clean restrooms and good showers. The park is large and they use every inch to get another rig in. There are no full hookups and the lack of at site sewage causes more than usual campers in the showers and rest rooms. Most of the campers are staying for weeks or months and the desire not to fill the tanks is apparent. We liked the park and would visit again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
Would not recommend this park for the riverfront sites. We stayed in #40 & #45 and both sites the power was less than 108 volts. The first night we unplugged it was so bad. Site #45 was a little better but not by much. If you don't check your voltage before you plug in here you may end up with damage to your RV. I can't speak for the off river sites. When we stopped by the day before to make a reservation we were charged $2 extra for making the reservation which I thought was odd but didn't question since we were excited to be staying on the river, that was before I knew about the power problem. When we went to the office to see if we could move the manager said the park was built in 1977 and they haven't redone the electrical, but offered no refund or apology. Would I stay here again NO ! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$24
The location is great for touring the area, and it is nice to watch the river traffic while relaxing at the campground. The rate is reasonable. There were some issues though. First, the road leading to the campground is closed due to construction. We called the day before our arrival, to confirm directions, staff did not mention the construction. Our site was not level front to back, so much so, that we never got perfectly level. We were in the front, grassy area. Our 30 amp power was consistently good. The WiFi signal was strong, but connection was very slow, so slow, we used our Verizon aircard. Overall, a decent campground in a good spot to tour the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
Interior roads and some sites were paved. Some sites were gravel and grass. Office staff was personable. Wi-Fi worked great. Verizon cell had 5 bars and Sat. TV was no problem, because there are few trees in the park. 30 amp and water was included at our site. There is a good central dump station. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
Meet real nice people at this campground. One gentleman took me out fishing. We will most definitely go there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
True, about half the park is a parking lot with really wide spaces, and the sites are close together. But it's in a great location (I walked to downtown in less than half an hour), has a great view, gets great breezes, and I had no problem with the WiFi or power. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
Very welcoming staff! Sites were very ample and well located for a view of the river. Very quiet and close to town and the locks. Nice little store with some basics as well as a gathering room with free coffee! Would have given a 10 if they had a pool. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
Free WiFi and friendly staff while we were here over the July 4th weekend. They have a common area by the lake; can take your chair and watch the Canada Day and July 4th fireworks on the lake. A lot of sites back up to the nice lake. I would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$26
This is an older park that is very popular. They have fishing and many boat slips. It is right on the St. Mary's River and all of the ships locking through come right by: very interesting. It only had 30 amp service. A lot of the campers are repeaters. We talked to one lady who had been coming for over 30 years. I fished for salmon which I always wanted to do. I didn't catch any but saw others catching them right off the dock. It is about 5 minutes from the bridge over to Canada. We took the tour train in Canada and it was great. We were to stay 2 days and extended it to 3 days. The management does tend to have a lot of little signs around, but I expect it is from the mistakes by campers. All in all we would go back. Don't miss the eatery down the street called Antlers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$24
Paved roads with mostly grassy pads, some paved (near office - like parking spaces). Some large trees for shade. Some sites along river, most have view - can see large ships go by. Campground is a "No" campground - notices posted everywhere stating NO parking, NO dogs allowed, NO wet feet, NO garbage, etc. Not full so no one near by, but could be crowded if sites are full. Fairly tight along river. East of town, but close for restaurants, Soo Locks, etc. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
We have been here for a few days. Had I read the reviews regarding the power I might have stayed elsewhere, but with cool temps the power on the river's edge sites has been running 115 to 122. All the sites along the river are occupied. Unable to say if there has been an improvement on the power but at this time it has not been a concern. Park is in good condition. There is no drinking water available at the dump stations nor is there a way to hook a hose to flush your tanks. The drinking water hose there is only good if you have a way to pour water into your tank. We would likely return here if in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$28
This campground was the best my family has came across in the Upper Penninsula of Michigan. It had a beautiful view and was very clean. I would recommend this campground to "big rigs" and tenters. Although I have read reviews on the electric fluctuating periodically, it wasn't really much of a concern when there were so many other things to appreciate. I am happy to say that even though I am just a beginner to the camping world, I know that every summer I will make an effort to return to the Soo Locks Campground. I was very pleased to know that this year they established a web page. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$28
We were hoping that the owner had fixed the electricity grid since the last reviews on here two years ago. No such luck. We stayed here because of the great water view. We wanted to stay a week but left after one day because the electricity was so bad. It fluctuated between high and way low. We were afraid to turn on anything in the RV for fear it would be ruined. Stay here at your own risk. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$26
This campground is an old campground without 50A or sewer. Wi-Fi has been added this year. On the positive side, it has a great view of the lake freighters on the St. Mary's River. There is a lot to do in the Soo area of Michigan/Ontario. The campground is clean as are the rest rooms. I feel the positives out way the negatives. Some areas have better electric service than others. You just have to decide what is more important to you. The river side sites seem to have the poorer electric service. We're up in the upper area and don't have an electric problem, but, it has been cool, so demand is down. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2005
$26
I've been going to this park for several years. Unfortunatley, the owner keeps raising the rates, but, has not made any infrastruction inprovements. During this visit, most of the time, electrical voltage was under 100v. The electrical boxes would be so hot they would burn your hands to the touch. Many campers were running generators. When this matter was disscussed with the owner (also in past years), the owner just says there is no problem. THERE IS! The only thing the CG has going for it is the view. Many campers are indicating they are not going back there because of the low voltage. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2004
$24
This park is not "Big Rig Friendly". It has water and electric only. The electricity is not good either. We will not return to this park because of the electric problems. The view of the St. Mary's River was why we stayed there in the first place and the only good thing about the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$25
Great View, right on the St. Marys River! Side by side hookups, up in or backin! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$24
We were very happy with this park. Arrived about 30 minutes after closing time and found myself greeted by the owner who helped my find my site. Our site was a pull through and actually quite roomy for our 34' motorhome. In one section of the park, the sites are quite small and it's nearly like an asphalt parking lot. They seemed perfectly functional though. The facility was very nicely kept and the staff friendly. It's a very nice setting where you can sit on the waterfront and watch the freighters. I called the Aune-Osborn RV Park first, but they don't take reservations and wasn't willing to risk it on a mid-summer weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$22
Reserved a site with view arrived and said that they had no record of view site wanted. Very tight for big rigs. Said they had strong 30 amp no fluctuations. everyone complaining low voltage and running everything on gas, and still tripping brakers with fans. Have to use power cord extension,(electrical connection on patio side and behind next site, four sites per power post, Staff not friendly. Would not ever return. Use Aune-Osborn Campground or city campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$23
Well maintained and clean park. Sites are small and cramped, especially for big rigs. Excellent view of river where you can watch freighters and other boats. Soo Locks are nearby. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com