221618 User submitted reviews online!!
Grand Canyon Camper Village was rated 5 out of 10 based on 71 user reviews. Phone: (928) 638-2887
CGID145

Grand Canyon Camper Village

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$43



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   6   8   10   6   1   7   7   5   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2014
$43
This place needs a lot of TLC. All gravel, very little grass and some shade. But most sites were level. Restrooms and showers were not clean and in bad shape. Price is way to high for what they offer. If you can, try to avoid this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$58
We stayed for 2 nights. Sites were not concrete. The 40 AMP kept going on and off. Terrible internet, but I think this is due to the area, not necessarily park.If you want to go to the Grand Canyon it is fine for a few nights. It was very convenient in location to Grand Canyon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$52
We were very pleased with this campground. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our site was a pull-through with 50 amp full hook-ups and had plenty of room for our 43-footer. It is only 1 mile from the south entrance gate to the Grand Canyon and 5 miles from the Grand Canyon Visitor Center. The shuttle bus to the visitor center is less than 1/4 mile from the campground. The town is small but does have a general store with basic needs while camping. We would definitely stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
We have been to Grand Canyon and stayed outside the park. I highly recommend staying inside and taking advantage of the wonderful bus system and walking. It gives a whole different feel. This park is wonderfully situated and the sites are roomy. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$58
Not bad. Close to GC South Rim park entrance. Close to town. Bathroom could be updated. The sites are a little worn. Dusty dirt from gopher holes. No CATV, no air channels. WiFi limited to 1 MBS. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2014
$6
We read the reviews on this place and passed for camping (glad we did), but we paid $6 to use their dump station. There's nowhere to clear your tanks between Mather in the park (200 sites, one station), and the KOA in Williams. Should've hauled it out. Dump pipe sticks up about ten inches in the air so everyone was doing the slinky squeeze. There's no catch basin, and there was lots of "water" around it. Water spigot close, but no hose. Disgusting. AZ Health should cite them, and owners should be ashamed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$56
The last review is very accurate. It's a lot of money for what you get. Apparently, the park changed hands in the last year or so and the previous owner hadn't done much in years. The sites are rough gravel, but they had a tractor out yesterday leveling some of them. They're a bit close as well. Many water spigots leak. Temps dropped to 19 at night once in a while so I made sure to fill the tank and roll up the hose. We didn't use the showers/restrooms, but although old, they were well maintained. Not much room for dog walking except for empty sites. The staff do a great job meeting your needs. Get here early...it fills up fast. Unbelievable the number of rental units on the road. They've got you because it's the only private park in the area and it's only one mile away from one of the most fantastic natural sights in the world with 3-5 million visitors a year. Try the GC Jeep morning tour for the best all around tour of the South Rim. We're not hikers or bikers, yet Scott made it seem like we saw it all. Only one gas station in town and the diesel pump is old and works slow, poorly, and it was expensive at $4.29 a gallon. We'll stay here again, but not for a while. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$34
Checking the reviews before staying at this campground, I noted that previous reviewers had complained about the pay showers, dirty restrooms, and high prices. However, this was the closest private campground with hookups/restrooms/showers to Grand Canyon National Park. This quiet campground is located behind the General Store in Tusayan, about a half a block east of the main street, and about four miles south of the south entrance to Grand Canyon National Park. The spaces are gravelly, relatively level, some with some small patches of grasses, picnic tables, some sites with small shade trees, a few sites with pines. We stayed two nights in mid-March, before the tourist season. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and knowledgeable about what services were available in town. The sites appear to be mostly pull-through. The WiFi worked very well. The restrooms are older block buildings. I saw at least four; the one we used was clean and trouble-free. The mens restroom had two each sinks, toilets, and shower stalls. Each shower stall consisted of the shower stall itself plus a small ate-chamber for dressing. A shower cost $2 (put in eight quarters) for eight minutes; it is not unusual to encounter pay showers in areas where water is limited or expensive. The hot water was plenty hot, and eight minutes is quite a long shower (I’ve seen paid the same price for four minute showers). The shower water pressure was quite low, and I first wondered if I was going to get wet all over, but found the eight minutes more than ample to deal with this issue. The area is at high elevation (above 7000 ft), and arid, with limited water supplies (the campground depends on a well). The restrooms were cleaned daily. The price for a 30 amp site with full hookups was $34 per night, pre-season. Although the full hookup part was moot, since the water was turned off to avoid freezing the pipes at night. We found Grand Canyon Camper Village a pleasant surprise, but I am sure that if we arrived at this or any other campground during heavy use periods, we could find things to complain about. The pizza place attached to the General Store and the RP Stage stop (coffee house) both had good food at reasonable prices. A note to fellow travelers: campgrounds in National Park gateway communities have something of a captive clientele, and so are often more expensive than the norm, and have fewer amenities. They also get very heavy, and often thoughtless use during tourist season, leading to plumbing and trash problems. During our stay, more than one person pulled in quite late then left early and didn’t pay for their stay. It only takes one thoughtless or malicious idiot to jam up a toilet so nobody can use it. Water, electricity, WiFi time, and general maintenance all cost money. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$51
We were shut out of the National Parks, so stayed here instead. Nothing special, and simply average or slightly less. Attendant tried to direct us to sites suitable for a 30' RV - don't think he realized that with a tow vehicle a 29' fifth-wheel ends up closer to 47' overall length. We found a level, longer site. Use their WI-FI signal to make alternate travel plans - worked okay, but bounced me out a few times. Note that we don’t carry a TV around so no cable service is necessary. We use the fifth-wheel primarily to have a comfortable place to sleep, a toilet and shower that don’t offer surprises, and someplace to store food. Other than that, we live outside! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$34
Pretty Spartan RV campground. Site was too short for our 38 foot RV. The Wi-Fi did not work properly. The campground would be better if it had cable TV but we used the sat TV. It is very close to the Grand Canyon and the staff is very helpful and loaded with a lot of advice on how best to see the Canyon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$51
We camped here during the government shutdown after being kicked out of the campgrounds at Grand Canyon Village inside the NP. There is very little shade over most spots and not very much formal landscaping. Many of the lots are overgrown with weeds and some kind of thistles that stuck to our dogs coats. It was fairly noisy during the day because it is right under the helicopter and airplane main flyways for the airport about a half mile away. (That was only a problem during the day.) The for-pay showers that other campers reported are now gone - they have been replaced by simple shower curtains. Haven't used them yet so don't know about the water temp stability. There is no TV and no radio stations unless you bring a satellite dish, but I am typing this over the campground WiFi so no complaints about that. My own FreedomPop hotspot can't get enough of a signal to do DNS resolution so the campground WiFi comes to the rescue of connecting me to the outside world. $51.00 per night for 30 amp full hookups is way too high. That is what I would expect to pay for a fully landscaped park with paved roads and all the amenities. They really need to price more reasonably.! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$52
Was old and a bit run down. Staff was just ok. Hated the bathrooms and how run down they were. Did not like the showers being coin operated, $2 for 8 mins. Took 1 min just to warm up then the temp fluctuated to scolding hot to chilly depending on toilets flushing etc. Showers should have been free for that expense of over $50 per night and did not even choose full hook-ups. Had a lot of tent camper groups of kids which were loud. Thought I would like being in the grand canyon village but ended up driving the RV everywhere instead of using the shuttle. I wont go back there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$46
The good - it is at the entrance to Grand Canyon N.P. and the sites are level. The not so good - very pricey for what you get - $46 for W/E with so/so WiFi, no cable, pay showers and a pay dump station. Add $10/night if you want full hookips. Even with the negatives would stay here again because of the convenient park access. Staying in trailer village in the park is a better option but requires reservations months in advance for a multi day stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$46
We stayed here one night as everything else was full in the area. Arrived late, did the night registration, found one empty site and I presume it was empty because when we tried to hook up to the 20 amp circuit for our site it was dead. We plugged in to our neighbors site to get power. The place was packed with rental RV's. The campground was what you would expect next to a National Park like the Grand Canyon. No one comes to the campground they come for the Grand Canyon so it was a place to park for the night, pick up some water and move on. We stayed the next night at the Ten X down the road where we had a reservation. The campground supposedly has wireless but because we checked in late we did not have access to a code in order to use. They offer a multitude of site options. 50 Amp, 30 amp with full hook up, 20 amp water and electric only and 20 amp electric only. They do have a dump station on site. We stayed in a 20 amp water and electric site that was level and we were able to get our 34 trailer and 21 foot truck on the site without having to unhook. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$37
Monday & Tuesday, May 13 & 14 - Grand Canyon Trailer Village, Grand Canyon South Rim, AZ. This is the full hookup campground located in the village of the Grand Canyon – South Rim. There are some trees but not much shade,it is mostly like a parking lot. All sites are pull-through, paved with a picnic table, barbecue grill, 30 or 50 amp, cable, water and sewage. It costs$37 per night and park passes are not accepted. The Mather NPS campground is right next door with more shade but no hookups and the two campgrounds share shower and camper services. It is a must to reserve a site for both and calling the campground to see if any sites are open would be advisable. You are paying for location in the Grand Canyon. There is a shuttle stop here that takes you around the Village but you will have to get off to get to where you are going since there are three loops for the shuttle. A market place, grocery store, deli, and food court are available within walking distance or the first stop on the shuttle. Great place to stay but be warned the shuttles start to get mobbed around 10 in the morning heading west into the village and then in the afternoon around 3 heading east. In the morning three Elk were in our campsite and I was able to go outside and take some great pictures. They are use to people and they love this campground. They are overpopulating the park and some campers are feeding them. One ranger told us that sometimes at night they even try to look through the window of the RV’s and watch TV. Their racks were huge and there are not any flowers left in this area because they are eating them all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2013
$47
We had reservations at a campground in Grand Canyon National Park, but that campground does not have hookups. We spent one night, then an early April snowstorm drove us to find power when overnight temperatures dropped to the mid-teens. Since the campground with hookups within the NP was full, this campground was recommended by the ranger on duty. It's convenient to the south entrance of GCNP, and that is the ONLY reason to stay here. Muddy dirty sites which badly need more gravel and leveling. Staff was friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2013
$51
We have traveled extensively in the past 16 years and this has got to be one of the worst ever. For $50 a night I expect more. The site is so unlevel that our from wheels would have to come off the dirt to make us level. And talk about dirt; the dust is so bad that you can hardly see across the lane. Although we do not use the restrooms we did look in them and say that, even though we paid $50 for a night of 30 amp, you would have to pay 25 cents per minute to take a shower. The sites are very close. We checked in at 10 am, and even though the sight was empty, we were not allowed to move on to it until 11 am. The WiFi is good. The clerk was pleasant but hemmed and hawed about finding us a site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$34
Very convenient to Grand Canyon National Park, closest private campground to park entrance, walk to stores and restaurants, Tusayan is small though, not a lot of choice. 30 AMP pull through sites were rather narrow, but long enough for our 60'. All gravel, level sites, friendly and helpful staff. Some permanent RVs in sites around the periphery, a few of which looked a bit tacky. We would return here. Rate is off season, no discounts. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2013
$27
We stayed here overnight for one night so we could go back to the Grand Canyon. It's very close to the Grand Canyon Village. Park is all dirt with a lot of ruts. It's very early in the year, and they may have improvements planned before their season begins. It was a bad winter there. No level sites. Water was turned off because of freeze warning, so we were not charged for full hookups, electric only. (We had plenty of water in our tank so no problem for us.). No TV at all, so we watched a movie. OK for a quick overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$34
Very close to Grand Canyon National Park. No discounts. Price is for 30 amp FHU. Staff are friendly and helpful. Mostly level gravel sites. Short walk to two restaurants and a grocery store which contains a post office. Quiet. Amazing single stream recycling bins on site! Two bar Verizon signal, 35 pounds of water pressure making it weak and slow. Wi-Fi is free. Nearest TV station is 200 miles away. Wetook a break from the Awful News. We would stay here again. Gasoline at nearby station is $1 more a gallon than we have been paying. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$55
This campground is close to the entrance to Grand Canyon National Park. Other than serviceable Wi-Fi, that is the only positive. Even being close to the entrance to the national park, it is overpriced. Over the air TV is not available and the park has no cable. During our two day visit, the park was practically empty. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Price reflects 30A FHU w/Good Sam Discount. We stayed here overnight on a bit of a whim. I was concerned because the park does not accept same day reservations (??) but it wasn't a problem since we arrived before the office closed. If you're interested/need a 50A site, be aware that there are not that many available. Our site was almost completely level and no problems with the hookups. There isn't much shade around, but the bonus was that setting up the satellite dish was a snap. The park was quiet after 9pm or so and there isn't much noise from the main street just on the other side. I didn't realize how tight the sites are until we woke up the next AM and saw how close the neighbors were parked overnight. No big deal even with triple slides, but "tight" is accurate. Other reviews mentioned the higher cost of things in Tusayan. It is what it is (about 10% more) so come prepared and well stocked if that's a problem for you. I personally prefer this campground to (the other one) in the park. The sites are more level, the park is more spread out, and there is more room to maneuver your rig in/out and around. The $25 vehicle pass is good for a week and you have to buy it even if you stay at that other park. The drive to the visitor center is about 5-10 minutes depending on traffic. The elk that wander through the park at night and early in the morning are a sight to see! This campground is a great place to stay when seeing the Grand Canyon and we would definitely return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
This is a nice park just outside the south entrance to the Grand Canyon. They do charge 25 cents a minute for showers, which could get pricy if you don't have a shower of your own. Fill up your gas tank and bring your own groceries, as everything is outrageously expensive in the area. My favorite part was the elks grazing on the grass strips in front of the parking lot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
This campground is just outside Grand Canyon National Park South Rim. It is mostly dirt and gravel but the sites are fairly level. There are very few 50 amp sites but those sites are quite large. There is very little grass or shade. No cable but Wi-Fi is available although it is slow. We had large elk come into the campground one night. We would stay here again because of the proximity to the National Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$43
Spaces are tight but utilities are good and the free shuttle to Grand Canyon is right across the street as is the Imax. Great location for seeing the GC. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
We stayed here because we could not get reservations inside the Grand Canyon, and boy were we glad with how it worked out. This is a great campground. Highly recommend it. Large, semi-level sites. Pretty dusty when we were there. Shop prior to arrival (Safeway about an hour away) but there is a general store. Very easy access to Grand Canyon. Highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$50
This was an okay place to stay. The layout of the park is sort of haphazard. It was difficult to park where I could reach the sewer. The bathrooms/showers were clean enough. The showers take one quarter per minute and if you are the first in you will use one quarter go get the water hot. The biggest plus to this park is that it is a short walk to get to the free Grand Canyon shuttle. I would be willing to camp here again because of the location. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$55
Large dirt field with hookups. We had a extra wide site but most sites are very close together. Staff was nice. No grass and no shade! While we were staying here a number of large motor homes including a semi pulled in pulling car trailers. They parked the car trailers in front of other motor homes blocking their view. Looks like the staff should have had them park the trailers in the storage area of the RV park. The park is close to the entrance to Grand Canyon National Park. We stayed here because we were unable to get reservations inside the national park. Would stay here again only as a last resort. We camped in a motor home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$50
Attempted to use on-line reservation, but they never replied. Called and left a message and it was never returned, finally called and reached a live person in order to get a reservation @ $50/night for a side by side hookup. No cable, no TV signals available, Wi-Fi slow. Arrived at 11:24AM and was told that check-in was at 12 and that they had to make sure the site was open. We could see out the window that it was. Returned at 12 Noon and found the office closed. Make sure you stock up on food and fuel before you get to this area. Unleaded fuel is $3.99 and up, diesel well over $4/gal. Groceries are VERY expensive. I was told that 2 families own all the land and most businesses in the area so there is little competition, hence the high prices. It's called "soak the tourists." Shower was $.25 minute (didn't use it, had my own). Propane $4.75/gal + tax. Very dusty place but seeing the elk graze nearby in the evening was a plus. Only about 1 1/2 miles from the entrance to the park so it is convenient. Would try to find an alternative in the future. Enjoy the Canyon, it is fantastic! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$50
You definitely pay for proximity to the entrance of the Grand Canyon. You are very close to the entrance, but $50 seemed like a lot for this place. This is a big dirt field with hookups; not all were level, but fixable with blocks. The clerk said they "grade" as much as possible, but it seemed unlikely. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$50
Hook ups and Wi-Fi worked fine. Site was level. This is an open field with no amenities. Showers cost $.25 a MINUTE! Bring your supplies. A gallon of milk at the local market is $6 and a box of Triskets is $5. Propane is $4.50 a gallon. However, you are only a mile from the park entrance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$50
The office ladies were very nice and helped me out of a jamb when I had a problem. Other than that this park is very over rated. I know we are here early in the season but the park was not well maintained. Sites not level and very close together. It seems they depend on overflow from the National Park and take advantage of folks with no other place to stay. I guess I can't blame them but this is about $20 a night too expensive for what they have. The sorry thing is that it could be a very nice park with some TLC. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
I liked the location of this park: only 6 miles to the entrance of the Grand Canyon and within walking distance of everything. There's a general store right in front of the park ,and in the same shopping center is a restaurant "We Cook Pizza and Pasta" that has good pizza and beer. Across the street is National Geographic's IMAX theater with an interesting show about the Grand Canyon: the RV park had coupons for that. There's also a nice little information center in the next shopping center over with really helpful staff. Our site was level and my only two complaints were the Wi-Fi connection and the showers. I couldn't connect to the Wi-Fi despite having the password they provided when I checked in. The signal was apparently too weak. As far as the showers: when we went to use them really early in the morning, we found that they required 6 quarters for 6 minutes!! I think this is ridiculous. (I'm new to RV camping so maybe this is normal and I just don't know it, but I've been to several camps and haven't seen this anywhere else yet.) But my main complaint is that I had no heads up about it, and no quarters. Also, I don't think I've taken a 6-minute shower since basic training. I can just see myself fumbling around with a bunch of wet quarters, paying $6 for a shower I thought was included in the cost of the camping site. Other than that, I liked the park, especially the proximity to the Grand Canyon. Just a warning: be careful when entering the Grand Canyon park entrance station that you have enough overhead room. My motorhome is 10' 4" total. The ranger indicated I had barely made it and told me he's had many motorhomes crash into the roof of the station and he's had to call law enforcement. I don't know exactly what the height of the station roof is. (Sorry I didn't think to ask.) Just be careful! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$45
Not a bad place, but not as great as it could be. It's a little dated, the sewer hookup was cracked and leaking, and for $45 a night, should have been more. We didn't stay when I'm sure it was peak season and full, and I would imagine it would be a little tight. Pretty level gravel pads, otherwise just kind of dated. Close to the park, but I would pick the park's RV park over this next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$50
we arrived, we did not get the sites that we were told we had reservations and confirmation #'s for. I was told we don't guarantee specific sites. Why the confirmation #'s with the site #'s??? Any ways, after check in and paying for our stay, I was informed that the owner is having his annual fish bake tomorrow night and the whole city and any one else that wanted to come was welcome, including us! I asked how many was expected, last year they had over 700 people show up and ran out of fish early. And it is free to every one! This all was taking place in front of our site! I said I was not told about this at the time I made reservations in May, they said oh well. Being the only place big enough with full hook ups in the area, we were stuck. I asked about how they were going to handle the traffic and parking, they said don't worry about it, you will not have an issue at your site. Well we were very surprised when the festivities started and took place. It was very organized, parking was regulated very strictly to the designated area on the other side of the park, even though the band was almost in front of us, they were respectful and played music that was not offensive or acid rock type. The crowded never came close to getting out of hand. I actually met the owner/host, very pleasant person and seemed to be very community oriented. At 10 minutes after 10:00, the band was silent. And by 10:30 the crowd was gone and all was quiet. The staff picked up a little and retired for the evening. We were impressed. It rained every day of our stay, sometimes very hard. The drainage could be improved, water did run through our site and the ones next to us. Once the rain quit, the puddles disappeared quickly, there was some mud, but you could avoid it for the most part. We will stay again, and might even plan for the fish bake. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
Friendly staff. Shuttle stop to Grand Canyon at walking distance. Campground's shop very limited but "General Store" just around the corner with a big variety of food and souvenirs. Site (slightly) not level. Wi-Fi free but slow. Very good as a campground closest to the Grand Canyon. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
For $45.00 a night what a dump. Bathrooms were horrible, pay showers. A lot of group camping. Noisy people and animals. Helicopters and planes overhead at 6:00 am. Will NEVER stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
We found this campground to be a great place to stay when visiting the Grand Canyon. You can't beat the location, with shuttle buses to and from the National Park passing every half hour. The staff was friendly and helpful. We worried that they would have our reservation since NO DEPOSIT is required. When we arrived, all was in order. There are lots of shopping and eating locales within easy walking distance. Our only minor complaint would be that our site was kind of narrow and not too level. We would certainly go back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2011
$52
Big disappointment! Dusty parking lot environment. Sorry I didn't make reservations elsewhere! Won't stay here again! Over-priced. They have "got you" if you didn't make reservations within Grand Canyon Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
I had a confirmation # for 2 sites for 3 nights. Upon arrival I was told my confirmation # was only for 1 site for 1 night! They did accommodate us but I believe they put us in the "overflow" area. The staff member was excessively rude, and refused to give me his last name when I asked for it for my complaint letter. There was no shade and back to back hookups. 1 Ladies restroom wasn't cleaned in over 24 hours and several stalls were without toilet paper for the same time period. The pay showers in the restroom near us were out of order and my husband's shower was cold when he finally found one that actually worked (3rd restroom building). We would never stay there again. The cost was way overpriced for what they provide. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2011
$40
A real rip off re pricing. Wi-Fi not available at any site (central location only). Very basic amenities and dirt sites. It is the closest park outside the Grand Canyon sites. Anywhere else it would be a $20 site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$45
No frills park with great access to the National Park (FYI: there are paved bicycle trails from Tusayan all the way in to the Canyon Village). Quiet. Pay-showers. Wi-Fi is available only at a few sights, and we were lucky to have asked for and gotten one of them. We stayed two nights. We would stay again, mainly because there is not another good option so close to the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$50
We liked this campground for its location close to the Grand Canyon, and we were very pleased. The check in went smoothly and employees were very helpful. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$45
The location was fine but I was disappointed that the Internet was so weak. A small investment in the right equipment would easily solve the problem. Travelers now days expect Internet at this price as well as a non-fee shower. The park is in the shadow of a strip shopping center and could do with more trees and landscaping. I will be looking for another option when I visit this area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$45
Location location location. Highest local price and no discounts at all, because you are two miles from the Grand Canyon Park entrance. We figured the price of mileage and it was the same as staying for less but fifty miles away. No reservations on day of stay but staff took our name and arranged for a large shaded site. There are Grand Canyon materials/maps at the main office but not offered, just ask. Facility has grass (more like mown green stuff) and decent enough space for awnings and slide outs. Quiet at night! Bathrooms are older need some maintenance but acceptable. Pay showers at $45 a night! Didn't see a laundry. Next door is a strip mall with a food mart, ice cream shop, pasta and pizza. IMAX right across the street. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$50
Stayed here since there was no space in the National Park. OK to stay here to visit the Grand Canyon, but we moved as soon as we could into the NP campground. Sites are very tight. For $50 a night they could do a lot better. It was only worth $25 a night. Needs some competition. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
I was hesitant to stay here after reading previous comments. I must say I was pleasantly surprised. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. We've stayed in many campgrounds along our journey and this definitely wasn't the best nor the worse. The sites were gravel but large enough. Our first site had no shade so we asked to switch to another site and were given one with no problem whatsoever. I didn't need to use the shower facilities but did check them out. They were all clean. During the mid day none were in use. I did notice that in the morning there was a small line to use the showers: no more then two people though. This park is very handy for walking to the movies, local general store, restaurants and the Grand Canyon Shuttle services. Also very handy if you choose to drive into the park yourself. My one pet peeve: they seem to shut the Wi-Fi off around 9 PM. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
Stayed here overnight since there was no site available within Grand Canyon village. First RV park we found outside Grand Canyon so we stayed here since we were tired. Dirt parking but fairly level. Bathroom and showers were okay. Had to pay to use the showers. $40 was a bit high for a below average campground, but it was the closest we could find that had an open site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$50
Park was perfect for seeing the Grand Canyon as you were only a mile or so from the entrance to the Park. Park was clean and quiet with ample room between sites. Restaurants and grocery store within walking distance. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2010
$45
Office person was curt and not very thorough. He didn't ask if I wanted WiFi, which is only available near the office, so put us nearly as far from the office as one could get. When asked about the site placement there was no offer to change sites. So: if you want WiFi at your coach specify ahead of time. Sites are not very level, are all dirt and dusty, and are side by side. I now have a 5th wheel next to us so we can look into each others windows! This park is totally overpriced for the amenities provided. OH, if you want to take a shower, be prepared to pay $ 1.50 for 6 minutes. Water pressure at your coach is about 35 lbs. We will not be staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$34
We've stayed at worse KOA's, so I'm confused why the Grand Canyon Trailer Village would get any negative reviews. The pad was basically level, the site was clean, all hook ups worked and the campground is nestled among huge Pinion Pines. Our satellite dish easily picked up all channels and the free canyon shuttle stops right at the campground entrance to take you any and everywhere along the canyon rim if you don't have a tow. We walked across the street from our campsite to hike (walk) into the woods with our 2 golden retrievers and saw elk and 1 fox: the dogs loved that and got a great run because of it. For the price of just $34 and the location, the Trailer Village is wonderful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2009
$43
This park is way over-priced. The only reason the rate is able to fly, is that it's location is just outside the National Park. They have 200 sites, but only 8 sites with 50 amp power, per the woman who checked us in. Not great for big rigs in the summer. Even though the gravel parking lot that serves as campground appears to be level I assure you the north end is not. We really don't care to lift the rear wheels of our motorhome off the ground and did not. We seldom use the showers in most parks, but after paying $43 for the un-level site, we felt $1.50 for 6 minutes of water for a shower was over the top. Many of the sites have back to back hookups, which is also a negative to us. If we ever choose return to the area, we'll reserve a 50 amp full hook up site in the National Park for several $ less. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$43
We had a shaded site that backed up to the forest. The pine scent was wonderful. There are sites that back up to the back of stores. We had no problem getting level. No individual campfires but they have a group one. Internet at office. We did not trailer our car so we appreciated the convenient shuttle service just outside the campground. We only slept at the campground and spent all our time at the Grand Canyon. The food at the south rim Grand Canyon cafeteria is about $6 to $7 for a meal and delicious. This campground is great as a base camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$43
First clue should have been at check in when the guy behind the counter questioned the number of nights I was staying. "Are you sure you want to stay 4 night instead of 3?" The sites are narrow and not level. We left an RV resort just prior to coming here with half the rate this place charges for no amenities. My advice, plan ahead and reserve a spot in Trailer Village inside the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$43
It is a nice RV park not an RV resort. If all you are here for is to see the Grand Canyon then you're fine. This place definitely does not have cable or local TV. There is also no place in town to rent movies. So if you plan to relax in the evening by watching a little TV or watch a movie you better bring some. The park is clean but needs some updating. The spots are tight you can have a conversation with your neighbor and not even have to leave your RV. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Your only a mile from the main entrance to the Grand Canyon which is nice but there is not much to do in the town and the restaurants are expensive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2009
$43
In an effort to be charitable let me start by saying that based upon other reviews I've read, the current staff here is making an effort to improve conditions. Everyone I spoke with (which was often) has been helpful, courteous, and accommodating. Sites are reasonably spacious, but the entire park could benefit from several loads of gravel and some serious grading. It was very difficult to level my Airstream. The grounds are fairly clean and utilities are good. My biggest complaint is that there is very little printed information available about the campground which prompted my many questions to the management. If there is indeed cable TV here, I can't find it. One thing which should be noted. This campground should not be confused with the campground inside the National Park. Grand Canyon Camper Village is located in the town of Tusayan which is one mile south of the National Park entrance and six miles south of the South Rim. We would probably stay here again since there are very few alternatives. With any luck conditions will continue to improve. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$48
They had very tight spots here. Camping is not what we were here for so it was OK with us. Check-in was open until 9:00 pm. and we arrive at 5:30, but the attendant had the door locked for some reason, he acted quite put out that we were checking in and I had to open the locked door for two others trying to check in. Saw at least one person a day walking throughout the RV area picking up trash, so it was clean. No camp fires are allowed in this park, but there must be somewhere because the grocery store sold fire wood. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
Agree with the previous review. They are trying to get this straightened out. Staff was very friendly. Restrooms clean and supplied. No Wi-Fi in camp but available in all of the cafes (free). Good spot for visiting the canyon. I would not have any problem going back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$36
Great News! They are gradually fixing up this campground. The owners are the Helicopter Tour company, and they seem to own a lot in the area. I was told they just took it over a month ago, and hired new people to run this camp. Now don't get me wrong this is by far not a perfect campground, the showers are $1.75 for 8 minutes, and in the men's showers, the wires were covered in electrical tape. They were working on the first of three bathrooms when I was there, and I saw areas where they had done repairs to the sewer system. The power boxes still need repair, the water system worked fine. The odd thing is there seems to be 4 sewer connections per site. I walked around the camp and there was no horse droppings anywhere. The dumpster was overflowing, but just as I noticed that, the truck came to empty it. One other thing that I noticed was a worker cleaning up sites. The sites are not level as of yet, but as the host at the counter stated, the owner realizes that this is a great opportunity, and is gradually working to get everything working. I will tell you after reading the reviews I was very concerned that this was going to be terrible. It was nice to have full connections, and frankly we spent the majority of our time at the Grand Canyon. I probably wouldn't go camping here just to get away, but I would recommend camping here if you want to be close to the Grand Canyon, and couldn't get into Trailer Village. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2006
$49
This campground is a dump, horse droppings everywhere, weeds over grown, power outlets are loose and about to fall over, and way over priced. Looks like full timers live in park or park help live in very bad looking RV's. We would never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2006
$49
We stayed at the campground as it is close to the Grand Canyon's south rim. I had stayed there 2-3 years ago and it was well kept and relatively full at that time. This stay was much different. The campground was un-kept, overgrown weeds, debris blowing around etc. The campground was 75% empty. There was a group of foreign men in there twenties ,approx (6) drinking and having a loud good time, down several spaces and across the street. That was ok until about 8pm when they started to take naked pictures of each other in front of all to see and then, began streaking around the campground, yelling with accents, I'm STREAKING"! I did not have any children with me, but I felt bad for the few other campers who did. I was unable to call the police as the cell phone get no reception there. I informed the exchange student in the office the following morning about the incident. He appeared surprised, but maybe because he didn't make the party..:) We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2006
$28
The park was close in and handy but old and not that well maintained. There is no cellular or Internet service to be had. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2006
$50
I contacted this campground about the poor reviews listed on this website. I was told that ownership had recently transferred and things had improved, but when I asked further follow up questions (including more details), I received no response. Overall, we have to say that it does not look like things have improved much. They do accept credit cards, and the restroom appeared clean when I popped my head into it. Otherwise, our experience here has been fairly poor. Neither of the 2 15A outlets (normal plug outlets) at our site did not work. I had to use my motorhome to plug any normal cords into after hooking the 30A circuit to my RV. The campground is very unscenic with very few shade spots or areas of shade. It was very windy here, making it impossible to BBQ outside or spend any comfortable time outside at all. One huge drawback here is that there is no cellular phone service available for Nextel or Cingular anywhere near this campground. Talking to locals, it doesn't appear that any of the big cellular providers (Verizon, Sprint, etc) work out here. This campground's website states that they provide discounts to some local businesses, but they provided no information to my wife about this at check-in. I ran down to get more info about this before we went out to eat. But, I arrived at 6:02pm, and they were long gone (they close at 6:00pm). So, they will not stay a second over closing time to help guests. Our gravel site was not level, and my hydraulic leveling jacks were unable to get me to level to the degree that I am used to at private campgrounds. For the prices they are charging here, the sites need to be leveled, 50A service needs to be added, and some work needs to be put into improving the ambiance. It is way overpriced for what you are getting. The only benefit to this campground is that there are several places to eat (and a general store) right next door to the campground. The pizza place we tried wasn't excellent, but it was acceptable for a family not wanting to cook after a long drive. I would only consider this campground if you absolutely cannot get a spot inside the park and cannot change your vacation dates. We certainly will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2006
$45
Absolutely the worst value for our dollar I have ever encountered. We arrived at 4:45, after going into the park and finding no space available inside, and the office was closed. Hours posted were 8a-6p, but another camper also at the office door said he had been there 3 nights and the staff was never there until 6pm. Only 2 of the 5 restroom/showers were open and they were in terrible shape-we refused to use them. My wife was very unsettled when she saw the sign in the restroom informing campers not to visit them unattended after dark. If we hadn't had our 90 yr old grandmother with us we would have dry camped ANYWHERE. We saw perhaps a dozen campers enter, check rates and leave. The only previous post I saw that I did not experience was that our only option was cash or check, no credit card option. We will never stay here again, and would NEVER recommend this campground. 37' motorhome with toad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2006
$50
I cannot believe it. I wished I would have read the reviews on this site because the other posters were not kidding. This place is an absolute dump. For $50 we had water that had very low pressure and electric that was way under voltage. We also looked at the CG info paper left in a box at the office (no one was around) and on the paper it said "Do Not Go to the Showers after Dark Alone". Who would want to? They are filty dirty and they charge you 75 cents for 6 minutes. In the morning, the office still wasn't open and not a soul could be found. We packed up and left and will never return. The State of AZ should be ashamed of themselves for not shutting this place down. For those who are going to be in the area, there are other campgrounds. Do yourself and your family a favor and don't even stop at this place. It is horrible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2005
$45
I had read the previous reviews and was very concerned since we already had reservations. Staff were international exchange students. When we checked in, they were friendly and helpful. They gave us an escort to open sites and let us choose. They did accept credit cards and gave a discount for AAA. They also suggested we only pay for a few nights in case we wanted to leave because there were no refunds. Sites are only 30 amp, were very narrow, gravel and only a few with trees. We did not use them, but the bathrooms and showers were filthy. There is a sign in both male and female restrooms to travel with a companion at night! Park is in the flight pattern of airplane and helicopter tours, but they don't fly at night. It is within walking distance to merchandise shops, restaurants and a market. There are no fires and old picnic tables. The sites are not well marked. We stayed for six nights. On our last night, the staff parked someone right next to us and they were facing in the opposite direction. There was not a double hook up for the electric, so the office came and asked us to move our power cord. The new folks moved to a more adequate site, but stated they had visited this park for 5 years and the price has gone up but the quality has gone down. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2005
$45
We stayed here in 1999 - good campground. We were absolutely shocked at the difference in 2005. It has turned into a real dump. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2005
$40
According to the AAA Campground Book, this campground is supposed to accept all major credit cards. When we arrived this was not the case and were forced to go get cash. The site we had was shaded, though we had to remove the horse waste before we could set up camp. The bathrooms were infested with flies and bugs and had no soap for handwashing. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2005
$42
Way over priced for what you get. Before I pulled in I expected a really nice place for the price. When I arrived, the place reminded me of a bad "drive-in movie" theater. I would never stay here again. We did find a nice laundramat located behind the Best Western Motel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$25
Not very well mantained - had trouble with a staff member upon checkin (bad attitude, didn't seem tocare that she had given us a site that was occupied by someone that had no intention of checking out that morning). Problem was quickly resolved when mgr came in. No immediate competition, too bad. Will stay in park next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2002
$26
The only choice near Canyon outside the park.(?) Walk to good restaurants and store. All dirt; dusty, no supervision. We only had 20 amp. electric. Overpriced. Stayed 2 nights ONLY because tired after sightseeing. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com