219007 User submitted reviews online!!
St Ignace / Mackinac Island KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (906) 643-9303
CGID1452

St Ignace / Mackinac Island KOA

Camp Information
Sites
141
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   5   8   8   5   5   6   8   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$14
Nice clean campground close to town. Older facilities, but well kept. You can see the lake from some of the sites. Friendly staff. Gave it a low rating because we came here specifically for the Wi-Fi and it didn't work. They didn't give the code at check-in so had to call contact number because office was closed. Could sign in, but signal so low it was unusable. Rate reflects Passport America discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$53
Expensive for a KOA but that's because of the location. 50Amp pull thrus are nicely spaced and perhaps 80' long. Pull thrus are level side to side but incline front to back. All roads are gravel and sites are gravel or grass. Well laid out campground with easy in/out. Cable was extra $$. Many sites were good for satellite. ATT signal was weak but Verizon was strong. Fellow who checked me in was not personable and I never saw any staff beyond that so I couldn't call them friendly. Nice game room. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
This campground was simply OK. Our site was narrow, and we were unable to use our awning with being so tight between trees. The camp store was well stocked, open late, and had very friendly customer service. The pool was clean and warm, but the playground was extremely outdated. A nice large playground with age appropriate equipment and wood chips would have been welcomed seeing how many families camped here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$48
This campground is a little run down and in need of upgrading, however, it did have everything we needed to be comfortable. The sites are grass and gravel and not very level. There is a pool, but we did not use it. The Wi-Fi was slow at times. The laundry was adequate. It is close to the ferries to Mackinac Island, with complimentary pickup and return to the campground. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Nice park in a nice area. We extended out stay. Pool is great and office help is nice and helpful. Roads are dirt and tend to be dusty. But not a big deal. This is a VERY LARGE campground! Would definitely stay here again. FREE SHUTTLE to the island boats is a plus! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
KOA offers an expected quality and this KOA did not have quality. The staff was very friendly. Granted, this is the beginning of the season but the grass was not cut, much of the facility needed a coat of paint, the sites were not level, and the entire campground had worn-down gravel. It is convenient to the shuttle service to Mackinac Island. The plus is the dog kennel nearby for trips to the island. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$43
Really not worth what they charge. I had water and electric, no sewer. Pool nice but small. Sites gravel and grass. Uneven sites. The one they assigned was to narrow and trees to close for slide outs. I used the site next to it but still had to run the right wheels up on boards. Slope was so bad front to back I had to drop the trailer off of the truck as the angle front to back was to much. It was a pull through site but not a convenient one as truck needed to be disconnected to level trailer. I would not stay here again. Other RV places in area more reasonable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
This park is ok and is nicer than some of the others in this city. The sites are on grass or dirt, with nice cable and WiFi. Bathrooms are ok. The pool seems to be the most popular amenity and there were lots of kids here in August. We were able to catch a free shuttle to the ferry boat to the Island. This is a typical KOA. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$50
Nice campground. The sites were nice size, but the electric/cable TV hookup was too far for us and we needed extra cords. Other than that it was nice. I would stay here again if we decide to visit the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
We camped here for one night only this past weekend on our three night trip up north. The rate was for a tent only site,which was expensive compared to the other campground we were at. The mosquitoes were terrible, sites were close together. We were in a tent, but looking at the RV sites they were very tightly packed in. The bathrooms/showers were clean, but there were problems with spiders in them. While I understand that I'm camping in the woods, I don't want to shower with spiders. Staff were friendly enough, but we did check out a night early and return to another park. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
Nice pool, overpriced laundry, many sites (both shaded and open). Sites aren't particularly level, particularly the elec/water only ones. Not as much road noise as many KOAs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$49
Overpriced and just OK, but other parks in the area are much better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$52
The sites at this campground were very tight, just did have room for our slides. Noticed other people in big rigs returning to the office for a different site. Not really a good cook-out area. The staff was helpful and pleasant. It was just a little run-down looking. If I were in the area I might look for a different campground next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$37
Stayed over July 4th Weekend. The site was neither paved nor gravel, but grass and not recently mowed. Our site as reasonably level, not all are. No sign of staff outside of office the whole time we were there. Showers and restrooms clean and showers themselves OK. Needs updating. It was disappointing for the price. Price we paid was water and electric. The location was very good. Free shuttle service to Ferry was available. The staff was friendly. Laundry facility was good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$52
We were disappointed with this KOA. The sites were small, narrow and uneven. The interior roads were dirt-gravel and very muddy. The pull-through sites resembled a parking lot at a RV dealer. The park did have 50 amp, full-hookups and cable TV but cost $52 a night (we did receive one night free with six nights). We didn't try their internet, use their pool or putt-putt (extra charge). We thought that this park was not up to KOA standards. We did enjoy the campground's closeness to attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$47
Nice wide shaded spaces; wifi had problems that were being worked on—but we had some access, nice management, heated pool, pretty level sites, putt-putt golf, convenient to the Soo, free shuttle to the ferries in St Ignace to Mackinac Island, nice drive to Whitefish Point. There were some noisy campers one night, they were thrown out the next day, but we were disappointed to learn there was no management on site at night—not even workampers. We expect more from a KOA—working wifi and quiet--and especially for the money. We would probably look elsewhere next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$31
We had a fairly level gravel site [#109] with a nice view of Lake Michigan (though not the bridge) out the front of our motorhome. Dish came in great at the south-facing site, as did their free Wi-fi. Staff was nice. It is not a lakefront campground, but across the road there are no houses between the road and the lake. St. Ignace is a 10-minute drive where all the passenger ferries to Mackinac Island leave. It is an expensive campground area, and although this camp is $36, you can save $5 by paying cash and not hooking up your sewer (there is a dump). That brings it on par to even Straits State Park. It is on an uncrowded loop road so it is very quiet. Negatives are many of the sites are gravel and uneven; high price; not actually on the lake; sites close together (but wide). I did not use the facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$50
The campground had nice appeal and a good layout. The wireless Internet (WIFI) did not work; the guy at the counter said it had been out for a few months and that they hoped to fix it in the future. (They did let us plug into a cable in the laundry, which worked OK.) I would have rated it a 8 or 9 if the Internet worked. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$45
Not a great park. Roads are tight and poorly maintained. The hookups are really screwy. In half of the sites the electric and cable are on the right side of the coach and they are really a stretch. Wi-Fi works occasionally and office staff is not real helpful. This could be a nice park with some work. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$42
We stayed in sp.#28. We thought it a very nice site, next to restrooms, however, never visited them. WiFI was excellent, four bars, however, couldn't get satellite. Good cable. Owners were very nice. Lake Huron's bay front only a couple miles from park, ferries to Mackinac Island which was very enjoyable. Lots of rear space in campground for walking our dog. Would definitely stay here again if in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$45
Roads and sites just dust and dirt which does not justify a nightly rate of $45. Wifi and cable are good. Handy to town and the ferries for Mackinac Island being about 3 miles away. Not an attractive park and we would be looking elsewhere if we returned to the area. Met friends here who were staying at Mill Creek RV in Mackinac City, on the waterfront and paying $31 for water & sewer hookup. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2007
$41
Signage to campground limited compared to many KOA's. Office friendly but not efficient, they recorded us on the wrong site. Access roads OK, but many sites not level and very scruffy. Electricity pods very erratically placed with one pod between two sites. Sewage hook-up point very far forward. Garbage bins full to overflowing. Rustic to the extreme and seemingly little maintenance. Very expensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$41
Price was for 3-way hookup, no cable TV. This park has the second strangest hookup I’ve ever seen: water and sewer are normal but the electricity is shared between two sites, requiring a 50-ft cord. Unless your extension is rated at 30 amps, it will limit you to 20. Sites are lightly graveled mud and only some have cable TV: ask for it specifically if the 6 stations received on the antenna are insufficient. The WIFI cuts out maddeningly often. You can buy tickets at the park office for the catamaran to Mackinac Island, and the company that runs it will pick you up at the park. We took advantage of the service and had a fun day in this resort area which doesn’t allow vehicles other than bicycles and horse-drawn. Back at the park, restrooms and laundry were clean, fairly modern and very nicely heated: much appreciated in freezing temps! Friendly, helpful staff; overall a good (albeit over-priced by about $ 10) place to stay while exploring the Straits of Mackinac. I originally rated the park as a 7, but increased it to 8 when, on departure, I drove around it and found some absolutely beautiful sites further in, some with room for an RV plus a tent. Don’t know what the hookups are like or whether the WIFI works back there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$38
Very convenient to area attractions and it even had a shuttle to the island ferries. The full hookups were nice, but they were not nearly as shaded as the water/electric only sites. A few weeds and piles of leaves detracted from the overall appearance. One of the bathrooms was having toilet issues, but that can happen anywhere. We would not hesitate to camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2000
$24
Not very fond of KOAs but this one wasn't too bad. At least the trees were trimmed for adequate height and width clearances. Good pull thrus. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com