223325 User submitted reviews online!!
Straits State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (906) 643-8620
CGID1453

Straits State Park

Camp Information
Sites
270
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   9   8   9   9   8   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$28
Stayed two nights in the lower campground site 102 to view the bridge at night. The site was OK but in the forested area muddy and damp. We moved up to 169 in the top campground and it is great. You need to fill with fresh water at the RV dump at the entrance to the either camp. We will always stay here when in this area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$28
A typical well cared for Michigan state park. If you're a resident the annual passport for state parks is $11. A quirk in the system is that motor-coach owners have to buy a pass for both the coach and the toad while trailer towers only need a pass for the tow vehicle. If you're not a resident of Mi the annual pass is $39 per vehicle. Verizon mifi is the strongest we have encountered. Will stay here whenever in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$28
We stayed here twice. First time when arriving in the Upper Peninsula and the second time before returning to lower Michigan. On our first visit we stayed in the lower section to the left at the bottom of the hill. The section is good, yet hilly and the sites vary widely in levelness. This section is quieter as it is farther from I-75. There are tremendous views of the Mackinac Bridge and the Straits of Mackinac. The sunsets are spectacular. St. Ignace is a quiet tourist town that we found much more enjoyable than Mackinaw City. All three boat companies offer service to Mackinac Island from St. Ignace. The second time we stayed on the upper level. The sites are larger, more level and many pull thrus. Verizon cell/MIFI extremely strong. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
We stayed in site #254 in the Upper Campground. There was plenty of room and a couple of nice walking paths. Though the freeway (I-75) was a few hundred feet away, we could hardly hear it. Verizon cell was good and Verizon LTE was also good. A well-cared for park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
We have stayed here many times and just love this park. Although the big rig section is not near the water, the sites are gravel and fairly level. My Verizon 4G aircard attained download speeds of 30mbps and upload speeds to 15mbps. The rate was higher due to the reservation surcharge of $8. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$23
Absolutely in love with this park. Stayed in site #225, large corner pull through site in the upper campground. Most of the sites over here are well shaded, private and have a nice gravel camping pad. Really glad we chose the upper side: no way we could have navigated the lower (lake view) area with our rig (38" fifth wheel). There were some larger spots, but getting around down there and trying to navigate parking would have proved difficult. Upper had only a few other campers so we enjoyed a peaceful weekend. The 1-mile walking trail from upper sites to bridge overlook was nice and appreciated. We got some amazing photos. Already planning a return trip this summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
Nice roomy gravel sites accessed by asphalt roads.  Sites on Lake Huron were separated from the rocky wet beach by a thin area of bushes.  Our site was the closest to the lake with electricity, and was one of the few sites with brush separating it from neighbors.  We enjoyed the views of the Mackinac Bridge from the lake, and from the overlook.  We used the laundromat in town.  We spent a day exploring the Lake Huron lake shore.  Our second day was spent on Mackinac Island, hiking the paths, exploring Fort Mackinaw, taking the  horse-drawn carriage tour, and enjoying the ferry rides.  It was nice to have bins to recycle plastic, metal, glass, and paper - the first state park campground to take all these.  We hope to come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
A gorgeous campsite. Who can argue with a view of Lake Huron from your bedroom? We stayed in the lower loop that is closest to the bridge. Yes, there is traffic noise, but fairly constant, so you get used to it. We had a 50 amp site, back-in, grassy, fairly level. Good antenna TV and AT&T cell signal. The showers here were the best I've ever seen in a state park, individual rooms, fully tiled, well-designed, clean, and plenty of hot water. We have a great shower in the trailer, so I rarely venture out, but these showers were worth it. Only drawback for us were the zillion campfires. Most campsites are back-to-back and there is no escape from your neighbor's fire. If you are sensitive to wood smoke, you will have a problem, at least in the busy months. Otherwise, this is a wonderful place, with a grocery store within walking distance and the charming town of St. Ignace to explore. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$26
We stayed in the upper campground, sites 254 & 256, due to the size of our travel trailers. The noise from I-75 was not too much for sleeping or enjoying the trails and views of the Mighty Mac. Saturday St. Ignace had a free concert and we ate at one of the many restaurants in town. A grocery was just outside the park as were all other types of shops. Stayed here due to Silver Mtn. Disc Golf course closeness, and enjoyed walking the area for two days. Park was very clean, grassy, shaded, with the classic UP feel. Power level was good and got several clear TV stations. Good cell reception. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
Again this is one of the nicest "big rig" parks in the MI state park system. We have stayed here many times and the park is always clean and well maintained. If you camp in the early spring, the rate is only $16. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
This is one of the nicest state parks in the MI system. Big rig pull through sites are easy to pull in and leave and relatively level. Verizon has a cell tower almost next to the park so the cell phone internet signal is exceptional. Download speeds at 3G were in excess of 100k per sec. We stayed here 6 times this summer and will stay next year also. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
This was our first stay at this campground. We were in the upper level, which was very quiet and relaxing. Good views of the bridge were within walking distance. As others have stated, lock your personal belongings up at night. We were fortunate and only lost a towel. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Rate is daily rate for a 50 amp electric pull through site in the upper level. Roads are asphalt, site gravel with grass between sites. Sites are relatively close together in the lower section, further apart in the upper section. Lower section has a far higher occupancy rate than the upper section. The pull thru sites were open and we had excellent satellite and Verizon reception in site 128. Park has a dump station for each section and they are laid out so it is easy to dump either on the way in or way out. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Several campers (including us) had their ice chests stolen from their site overnight during our stay here. Apparently this is common at this park--so lock up your cooler when you turn in for the night! No water at sites so fill up when you arrive--there is potable water at the sanitation station. Big rigs are no problem at the upper campground, where we stayed, but I would not want to try to get into the lower campground with one. Upper is much quieter, lower is busy--lots of families and tent campers. There is access to the lake from the lower campground, but it is an easy walk from the upper campground also. Convenient location for exploring Mackinac Island & Soo Locks Area. Out of state visitors will need a MI parks permit $29, but it gets you into all the state parks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
The rate reflects the daily vehicle charge. Can't fault the park itself for anything in particular. The interior roads are only 10' wide and if you have a tall moho or 5'er, you had better look up as you drive around. The lower loops are doable with a large rig if you a careful. With the wind in the wrong direction there is a very noticable noise of traffic on the bridge. Also the bridge maintenance yard borders one of the lower loops. That can also be noisy to that loop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
This excellent campground is heavily wooded and will be a challenge for the novice driver of any big rigs. You will have to be sure to declare big ready to get those specific sites, as the area we were in tested the maximum length of our landing jacks to remain level! There are sites right on the lake and then there are sites you get to peak at it if you hold your head just right. All sites are in easy walk distance of the view. Stay on the East side of the park, if you are on the west loops you are just a few trees away from the busy highway. This is a state park, so you need to have a park sticker for an additional $29 non-resident. We had not considered that in the price of the night and should have in our campground comparisons. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$33
This is a beautiful state park. While we were scheduled to stay in the lower campground on Lake Huron, the sites were still muddy from a week of rain, we were quickly moved to a pull-through site on the upper campground. The facilities were well-maintained and the park patrolled on a regular basis. Just a mile from the center of St. Ignace, it is a great place to stay if visiting Mackinac Island. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
We camped here this past weekend, the price was for an electric hook up site rather than a tent only site, which we found to be cheaper than another campgrounds tent only site. Showers and bathrooms were clean, very easy access to them. The campground was very family friendly, very pet friendly, and had a great atmosphere at night. I would highly recommend it to anyone in the area. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
This was a premium state park and we loved it. We got a great site. Our 2 kids went swimming in Lake Michigan. It is a great launching place for MacKinaw (which we did.) It was rustic and beautiful. Hosts were great and groceries and supplies were very accessible. Good price and we would gladly stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
We loved this campground. The volunteer workers were very helpful. Got picked up by the ferry service to go to Mackinac Island. Beautiful view of the bridge. Close drive to the soo locks. Sites are wide and not too crowded. Enough privacy. The only negative point I have is that the sites have no grass and if it rains it can get muddy easily. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
A decent state park but not great. Some sites can be very out of level. It had rained prior to our arrival and some of the lower sites were quite muddy. A good location to explore Macinaw Island from however. The price we paid does not reflect the "car fee" that is charged for entering MI state parks. We had bought a annual pass earlier that is a much better value if you go to a MI park more than once. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
Really great park. Has nice sites, very clean restrooms. Quiet and a great view of their Mackinaw bridge. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
We had a spot in upper section. It is backed by the interstate. It is real noisy. I think it is not worth the money for non Michigan residents. It is almost $50 per night when all is said and done (towing a van). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
We stayed on lower level with walking access to water. There is a nice view of the bridge. Nice back-in sites. There were hardly any campers in late September. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
We camped in the upper campground to avoid the road noise from I-75. We had a large pull-through site and found it to be level and wide. A number of the lower campground sites looked quite narrow and not very level. The staff was helpful and friendly. One very nice feature was each shower house has four private and lockable showers. In our shower house, one was fine, but the other three provided only scalding hot water. This lasted our visit of five days. A neighboring shower house was fine. Bathrooms were clean. Very convenient to I-75. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
Quiet tree lots some with sight of Lake Michigan. Nice water access but very rocky and not a place to do a lot of swimming but a nice place to walk in sight of the Mackinaw Bridge. Bathhouse was very clean and had been recently remodeled. Firewood was available for purchase at a reasonable rate, however, had to walk a long way carrying it. Sites are large and roomy and having paved roads keeps the dust down within the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
Friendly staff. Very visible DNR rangers. Very scenic campground. Lakeshore spots primitive only. Almost walking distance from downtown St. Ignace, and ferry boats to Mackinaw Island. The reason I rated low: too close to ‘Big Mac’ road noise all day, all night. (If you’re deeper into the campground, those sites are a bit quieter). Water level in the lakes is very low, and the shoreline suffers from it. Had site 83- huge, but had a pretty good slope to it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
Nice state park on the shore of Lake Huron. Some sites a pretty close together, while others have more space. It's the luck of the draw during crowded times. We stayed in the lower campground and had a large shaded site. Due to recent rains, the site was muddy and didn't drain well. We are not Michigan residents so we had to purchase an annual state park pass for $29, $24 for residents. If you don't purchase the pass, it is $8 additional for each day you stay. A little steep for a state park. The pass is worth it if you are staying for an extended period of time or more than 3 days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
This park is very convenient to I-75 and the Mackinac Island ferries. Since this is a popular tourist spot, we made a reservation for the camp site. This was not necessary; possible because it was after Labor Day. There were many sites to choose from. There are two areas in the campground: the upper and the lower. Most of the larger sites for big rigs are in the upper area. We reserved an extra-long site in the upper area of the campground and were very pleased with it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
A nice park with great views of the straits and the bridge. The beach at the park is rocky but a short drive on US 2 will take you to beaches that make you think you are in Mexico. There are great walking trails in the woods and the town is walking distance away. The road get a little noisy at times but it was not a bother. I would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$26
We had a site on the East Loop (17) with a bridge view. The sites are close together and small. However, we did not mind as our neighbors were quite nice. Our site had quite a slope to it. I had to crank the tounge jack all the way down to level the camper. Very nice camp hosts. The beach is pretty rocky, but the water is shallow. We'll stay here again when we want to explore the Mackinac area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
Expensive even without including the required motor vehicle permits ($58 total for MH and car; yearly passes made sense for us otherwise it's $8 per day for the MH and $6 per park for the toad) and they don't have water at the sites but once you get over that the park isn't bad. We had site #258 with 50 amp electric in the area away from the water and were basically happy with it. It had a gravel pad, some trees for afternoon shade and was level if you backed into the left side of the site. The sites near the water were jam packed with tents and people, not at all appealing to us. The roads in the campground loops are in good condition but extremely narrow but not one way, fine for our 30 ft class A but heads-up for oncoming traffic. The bathhouses were decent and had private individual showers that were fairly clean, even over the weekend. The park has a couple of nice views of the bridge and an easy day trip to the Soo Locks in Sault St. Marie. Dump is easy to access and has fresh potable water that you can reach while dumping your tanks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$24
Outstanding campground! We stayed here on the last two nites of an 11 day trip to Toronto from Wisconsin. This park was exactly what we needed. Everything was clean and very well maintained. Nice BIG fire pits, nice big sites. Roads are paved and sites have gravel parking pads. Pads are level. Quiet at nite and lots to do during the day. Just a very nice and relaxing camping experience. We will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$24
Made reservation online. Did not like the site once I saw it. The girl in the office gave me a list of all available site and told me to let her know which I took. The "gravel pad" sites have been grass seeded over. Stayed in the lower campground. The lower area is not very big rig friendly, but it is possible. Bathrooms and shower were great. Right next to Mackinac Bridge ($5 for 2 axel trailer) and only a mile from the shuttles to Mackinaw Island. Well maintained. Prices are $22-$24 plus you have to have or buy Mich S.P. window decal for each vehicle(s) - $24 for annual resident, $29 annual non-res. OR purchase by the day. Very friendly staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$19
Best state park I have seen. Been a couple years since I have been back. They were not taking reservations in 2003 and pretty booked in 2004. Newly renovated so I can't wait to see the improvements. Had to mark I don't knows in the amenities section since the updates might have changed that. Awsome view of the Mackinac Bridge at night and just a quick ferry ride to Mackinac Island. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com